We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Alegria's Hostel

Hostel | Calle 9 # 2-13, Bogota, Colombia 0571

87.2% Overall Rating

84 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2014)

Cristina Martin Cuadrado thinks…

"It is a lovely old colonial building. I stayed in the double room which was spacious and bright. Quite cozy. Staff are friendly and helpful. They offer a nice breakfast."

Read all Alegria's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.81
  • Towel USD 2.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel
17.37 USD

Hostel 93.0% 112 reviews
Hostal Sue Candelaria
11.41 USD

Hostel 88.3% 73 reviews
Musicology hostel
7.94 USD

Hostel 83.0% 42 reviews
Summer C
12.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
14.89 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Hostal Mr Warrot
8.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Masaya Bogota Hostel
10.92 USD

Hostel 89.8% 62 reviews
Swiss Hostal Martinik
8.44 USD

Hostel 85.9% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

84 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alegria's Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 91 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is really friendly and helpfull

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

humberto perez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 humberto would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente and Fun!!! The best. i love it. Thanks :)

Disliked: Perfect

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best quality for a great price, i had a perfect time during my stay at Alegria´s Hostel. Very highly recommended, all the staff are fantastic. This hostel is a perfect place to stay. . . Very comfy beds, delicious BBQ, a very nice chill area and a big kitchen. Thanks for every thing!

Disliked: More hammakas and dvds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love everything about Alegria´s Hostel. The owner is a bewtyfull girld that know everything about Colombial and Bogota, she live at the hostel and she is backpacker so the hostel have what we need, full information. Gorgeous dorms with fire place and big good duvets and lots of blankets. Hot perfect showers. Nice colombian breakfast. Wonderful staff, friendly atmosphere and very cheap, I realy dont know why... Thanks!!! I will be back soon, I love Bogota.

Disliked: Nothing, the hostel is the best!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ana leiva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 ana would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the house is an amazing property in the must colorful neighborhood in Bogota. The owner was really helpful and a lovely person as well. I would recommend this place to everyone who wants to stay in a cozy place and meet nice travelers from around the world.

Disliked: nothing it is a lovely place

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011

Liked: pretty hostel, in an old beautiful house. great hot showers.

Disliked: how do i start? even though its in La Candaleria, the taxi driver had a great deal of difficulty finding it. when we got there we found out that the hostel was robed by 4 armed men just the previous night. all lockers were cleaned up. and they couldn't offer us a safe solution for our valuables, even though the Barrio isn't the safest and you're not supposed to take them outside. so not a safe place. in addition to that, the so called free breakfast is indeed free, but only served until 9am, a joke for backpackers life.they didn't have running water (at all) for the whole evening, and kept saying will have water, but that only happened late. not recommended if you wish to feel safe or to have an enjoyable experience of Bogota, cause this isn't the place you want to come back to at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Brookman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Work / volunteering

24 January 2011

Liked: the cool dog that hung out on the couch. friendly staff

Disliked: no lockers to lock bags in, they didnt call the taxi for the morning eventhough i asked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was nice and the staff were especially friendly. its a good deal and have direct tv and nice living rooms AND ponchos you can wear while watching tv so you dont get cold! Nice dog.

Disliked: I think the cat might be a vampire.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2010

Liked: Had wi-fi and fairly comfortable beds. Cool dog. Nice to chill out if you want somewhere quiet to stay.

Disliked: A couple of members of staff were nice, but others were not. The only English-speaking member of staff made no effort with travellers who were struggling with non-English speaking members of staff. Also wasn't friendly or helpful at all. Limited bathroom facilities. Absolutely no party or fun atmosphere. There were numerous robberies on the same street as the hostel in the space of one evening.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, Camila, a student from bogota who came visiting and is a great company and can help you with information for your journey in Colombia

Disliked: everything is all right

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nigel Searle

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

24 November 2010 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: We have stayed here a number of times,it's always great to be here we recommend it highly, you could not pick a better spot in Bogota

Disliked: Nothing it's all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hyun jee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 hyun would recommend this property

Liked: Here is great place. very safe, good wifi, kindness staff. good bed! so I was enjoyed bogota!!!

Disliked: never

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing. Of all the hostels I stayed in, in 10 months in South America, this was my favorite- I stayed for 7 weeks. The kitchen is great for cooking- has most things you'll need-even an oven. The beds are VERY comfortable. The staff is very friendly and loves to talk to the guests. There are 5 common areas that are very comfortable. The place is VERY chilled-out. There are obviously rules, but they aren't in your face at all. The Wi-Fi is quite good.

Disliked: The showers are pretty lousy. Sometimes the water only trickles out, very often its cool to cold. If it's hot, it's boiling hot and you have to adjust the temp. the whole time you're in the shower. The door buzzer (located in the kitchen) makes a horrible sound-that I couldn't get used to in 7 weeks. The dog can be quite annoying when you are trying to eat/cook (but great at all other times).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap private room

Disliked: no contact with anyone

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lucia Schmidberger

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 September 2010 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the breakfast is verry less, kafffee is water, stuff can´t speak english

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kal Bakash

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2010 Kal would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff. Ver clean, secure and safe environment. Just a few blocks from the heart of downtown. Spacious rooms and toilet facilities. Good hot water showers. Wonderful backyard to sit and relax. Free lockers to protect your valuables. It is a good idea to bring your own lock with you. Free Colombian coffee all day. Very good value for your money ( just US$ 10 ) per day for a spacious dorm room. Very good place to stay while you in Bogota. You will not be disappointed.

Disliked: No dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Kelley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Breakfast isn't much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived at 8pm on a Saturday night and they did not have the double we had booked. However they gave us a FREE night in the dorm and thn a room in the Casa Roja (part of the hostel) for 2 nights. The casa Roja is lovely. The staff were great. My only complaint is the cats. I am allergic and it is pretty selfish to keep cats in a hostel. It was very clean but I still sneezed at times. Great location though amd big TV with cable.

Disliked: Cats

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful house, very charming. hamac, big kitchen, terrasse, garden, breakfast included (even if it's basic)

Disliked: the neighbourhood is nice during the day, it's the old center but in the night..it's empty and everybody says it's not safe (even if nothing happened to me). but if you go out in group and in taxi , there's no pb

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 June 2010

Liked: Did not really like this hostel. Booked a private room which had no windows and felt characterless. To be honest we were looking for a quieter hostel and this place had music blaring upstairs until about 5 in the morning. Could hear people vomiting in the shared bathroom on numerous occasion. Also, a few cats seemed to roam the place freely and i saw them on top of the cooking facilities. Overall, not a bad hostel and prob a great place to meet people and party, beds were comfy enough but if you're looking for a quieter place then i'd stay away from here

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alegria is the best host ever, she will tell you where to go if you want to experience bogota´s nightlife! the hostel is so clean, nice, and the people is so cool..! I do recommend it to anyone who wants to have a good night sleep and a place to meet people and go partying after...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARTINEZ AGUDIEZ

04 June 2010 MARTINEZ would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people and really nice place. Just wonderfull

Disliked: MARTINEZ left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

john martirano

27 May 2010

Liked: I had reserved 2 nights well in advance through this site. When I arrived they had lost my reservation and were FULL despite that I had received confirmation via email. The owner brought me to a different hostel and assured me the next night they had a room for me. I returned the next evening after giving them plenty of time to prepare a room but the room was locked and no one had a key. The owner was off, and the staff continually assured me that she was coming with a key, they made excuses for her. I waited for several hours, left and returned and waited and finally found another hostel up the road. If they were properly managed, it would likely be a nice hostel, but as a result of their disorganization my only 2 days in bogota were WASTED and RUINED. Dont risk it.

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.


See all Bogota hostels