HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Alegria's Hostel Bogota Hostel

Calle 9 # 02-13, Bogota, Colombia

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 89%

Safety 92%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 17.21USD
  • Towel 1.72USD

Important Information

Please note that if you pay with credit card upon arrival, there is a tax of 10%

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 89%

Safety 92%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

Showing 11-11 of 11 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good breakfast. A staff that finally responds when one is having issues with the hostel, but it did take some blunt statements on my part. They did let me leave early without charge.

Disliked: Being left in the street late at night, dirty bathrooms with tufts of toilet paper and hair all over, general lack of order, saggy bed with clean sheets but several pillows without pillowcases, nary a hook or hanger anywhere in my room, wifi internet not working.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: We were delighted by the cool, quirky communal areas and outdoor seating areas which made Alegria's a really social, friendly place to be. We met lots of interesting people during our stay. The two dogs Moka and Poker are very friendly and fun, but are also there for security purposes and can get pretty loud if they feel uncomfortable. This was a positive thing for me as La Candeleria is pretty rough at night. We arrived very early (about 6am) and even though check in wasnt until 1pm, we were allowed to make ourselves at home in the comfy communal areas, sleep on the sofas, shower and eat breakfast... it was a nice start after 30 hours travelling! Staff are very friendly and accomodating and patient with those who dont speak spanish ( although the boss Alegria speaks perfect English and is around alot). Great place, we will definately stay here again when we come back to Bogota.

Disliked: The propery was great, the staff were great, but the location was a little dodgy at night. La Candeleria is beautiful during the day and very well policed , with a big police presence which makes you feel pretty safe. At night however, the long streets are pretty quiet and it can be bad for street-crime. That said, the hostel will book you a taxi to wherever you want to go which is cheap and safe, and there are plenty of small bars and restaurants nearby so its ok if you wander out as a group.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed in a beautiful private room with white washed walls, fireplace and a super comfortable bed. The common area and kitchen were cosy and well equipped, and the shared bathroom had the best shower I've had in months. Our favourite hostel to date!

Disliked: It seems to be a common problem judging by the reviews, but when we arrived they didn't have a room available for us the first night although we had a reserveration. The reason given was that other guests had extended their stay. They secured a room for us in another hostel near by, paid for the difference and taxis, and had a room available the following day. While it was a bit inconvenient, the owner handled it very well and we liked the place so much that when we returned we extended our stay by 3 nights.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The house is just beautiful and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The location is all right, close to many restaurants, bars and public transportation.Theres is always things (activities) to do organized by the hostel.Thanks to Alegria, this is a place with so much fun. Sure I´d come back!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly, comfortable beds, adorable dogs, great location within walking distance to many sites, and the wifi had a great signal.

Disliked: The shower was leaking and was cold. It eventually warmed up near the end but pressure was poor. Also, we were told there would be a game the next day so we stayed but nobody notified us when it was cancelled.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good kitchen, very centrally located

Disliked: Rooms are all located around the reception and the bell is quite loud - therefore rooms are loud in the mornings and evenings

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: comfortable beds, pleasant and helpful staff, well equiped kitchen, ample hot water, decent coffee although not always enough of it

Disliked: no smoking apparently not enforced by staff so I had to ask smokers to butt out. They always did.. Breakfast couil be more generous.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: set in a nice location.staff are nice and friendly, even though some don't speak much English they are still helpful.

Disliked: not enough bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was great and the most helpful staff, great place will stay again

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: private room we had was very clean and spacious with a decent bed and linen.Ruen who worked nights at our location (there are 2 in the same street) was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: if no one was onsite, you might have to wait for someone to let you in, didnt happen often, but did happen

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability