HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sue Candelaria

Hostel | Cra. 3 No. 14-18, La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia 000

87.8% Overall Rating

63 out of 68 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/01/2014)

jonathan crosby thinks…

"This hostel is just exactly what a backpackers' hostel should be. Clean, decent beds, pleny of space in the dorms, good showers and toilets, secure, well located for the few things you might want to…"

Read all Hostal Sue Candelaria reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel
15.54 USD

Hostel 92.7% 110 reviews
Musicology hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel 83.7% 39 reviews
Alegria's Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 87.4% 90 reviews
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
15.54 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Swiss Hostal Martinik
8.80 USD

Hostel 89.8% 80 reviews
Hostal Mr Warrot
9.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lido Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Masaya Bogota Hostel
10.36 USD

Hostel 90.6% 53 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

63 out of 68 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sue Candelaria'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 67 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Wifi was nit so good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan crosby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is just exactly what a backpackers' hostel should be. Clean, decent beds, pleny of space in the dorms, good showers and toilets, secure, well located for the few things you might want to see in Bogotá, and knowledgeable, helpful full time staff. Laid-back and easy going but with everything you need including a tv lounge, bar, computers, good wi'fi, and a small but nice patio.One of the best city hostels I've been to (and I've been to a lot!), it's a shame that the city itself isn't quite so nice but that's another matter!

Disliked: Being really nitpicking the kitchen is a bit small if you want to do much cooking, though there's really no need to cook here... One more bathroom would also be handy. But overall this is a super place to stay in Bogotá and very well priced.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a private room, which was a little walk away. But we ended up having a whole apartment to ourselves with a great view over the city and mountain and a hammock. Location is great.

Disliked: The breakfast (but lots of great restaurants around!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double private room with ensuite which was located around the corner from the hostel. It was more like a studio apartment as we had plenty of space and a small kitchenette area. The hostel provided a good free breakfast and the hostel staff were very helpful in assisting us with activity planning.

Disliked: No dislikes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Grady

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: This is a clean and well-located property...The staff are very kind and I liked most everything.

Disliked: The staff would talk quite loudly rather early in the morning, and it was not too cool. Also, we asked for a taxi to the airport, and one of the guys there drove us....but stopped to pick up like 10 other people (he had a van), and was taking them throughout the city before finally dropping them off and taking us to the aiport. Not cool.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very well located, beautiful patio and every morning different kind of self made breakfast. friendly staff, tv room, table tennis table

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were wonderful. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast made and served to you. Fast laundry service (2 hours ). Great location and tours. Good cross section of travellers in ages, countries.

Disliked: Breakfast only available for 1 hour between 8:30 and 9:30am.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super attentive and always ready to extend a helping hand - there were three of them: Andrea, Lucinda(?) and a third one whom I forgot the name. Even cleaner, Miriam(?), took care of all our needs. The wifi was fast with no connectivity issues and the property is walking distance from Plaza de Bolivar. It's also close to Bogotá Bike Tours which is located between Carrera 3 and 12D. For $15.000 you get 4 hours worth of workout and tour around Bogota. Look for Fernando, he's one passionate and entertaining tour guide. :-)

Disliked: Bogotá is damp and chilly in July. The washrooms are detached from the rooms and the property has an open roof garden right in the middle of the dorms. Since the doors aren't fully sealed it can get REALLY COLD at night time when it isn't fully closed. The doors have hook locks installed and nothing more and the lockers are in front of the reception. This is not to say we didn't feel safe during our stay.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013

Liked: Good location and I liked their eclectic decorating touches.

Disliked: The most difficult part of our stay was staff ignoring the no smoking signs in the common area right outside our room. We informed them that the smoke was drifting into and becoming trapped in our room and that is was a problem for us. We also spoke to them about the late night "party" noise and load music right outside our door. They joked about both these issues and when nothing changed we had no choice but to move to a different hostel. Staff also seemed to be letting random "friends" sleep overnight in the common areas so using these spaces early in the morning was a bit uncomfortable. The kitchen stove, refrigerator, pots and pans all have seen better days and are overdue for replacement. The extension cord for the refrigerator was often accidentally unplugged. Bath mats in the shower had black mold and needed to be thrown out. When we inquired about tours featured on their hostel brochue we were informed it was our responsibility to find 3 other people to make the trip possible. There are so many other hostels in the area why stay where staff ignores your concerns and comfort?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a single room, which was clean, comfortable and affordable. The staff was very helpful with directions, sightseeing tips, calling taxis, and they provided a reliable laundry service. I felt like I definitely got my money´s worth at Hostel Sue and I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly, bar on site. Felt safe in the surrounding area.

Disliked: A bit difficult getting by with limited spanish. (thats my fault, but still useful information)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephen McClure

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the funicular that goes up to Monserrate. Nice breakfast and front desk was helpful and polite. Also, close to places to get inexpensive meals.

Disliked: Nothing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013

Liked: Ok rooms with good blankets. Good tv room.

Disliked: To crouded. Only two bathrooms, alot of people sharing these. Staff not so helpful. To noisy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nigel King

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I was transferred on arrival from the original hostel to the new operation around the corner. Aesthetically it still looked good, but the reality was that it was very cramped. It´s basically one long corridor with all the rooms coming off that. I had booked a single as I wanted some peace and quite. I didn´t get any. Party, party.........on the first night some pissed dude crashed thru the doors into my room at 4.30am. If you just want to sit around, talk innane drivvel and get pissed..............this is the place for you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super nice and helpfull stuff. verry good located

Disliked: the stuff doesn't speak english. the brakfast is really basic

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

FLORENCIA SAVY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 FLORENCIA would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free lockers, bar, wi fi, nice garden.

Disliked: I didn´t like the matress, too soft, felt like i was going to be abducted!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Rojas Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the place to stay in Bogota. Do not look for any other accommodation in the city. Locations is great and in a safe area, hostel is spotless and staff will treat you in such a nice and warm way that you'll fell like at home and you wont want to leave. The place is good to meet another fellow travellers and it is good to either party or chill out. Common areas are very comfy as well. At first I thought that breakfast was poor, but after travelling through Colombia for a month, it was the best breakfast I had (Colombian hostels do not normally include it for free) Thanks to all the girls working there (Andrea, Marce and Patri) for spoiling me during my stay - They are now like family to me! I will truly miss you!

Disliked: nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WEIRAN LI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 WEIRAN would recommend this property

Liked: It was totally out of our expectation. We booked a double room and it turned out to be a posh apartment in a really good location. absolutely friendly stuff and great for couples if you are planning to enjoy a bit of romance.

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, tv room, bar.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't great and often gone by 9:30. Freezing cold and no heating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, good location, and clean. Great job guys!

Disliked: There didn't seem to be a set quiet hour, so sometimes it was hard to get to sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sven van Eck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Sven would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good value and safety.

Disliked: only spanish speaking owners.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franziska Hollender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for the price - especially the double rooms. Super clean, during the day, the bathrooms seem to be constantly cleaned. Nice courtyard with hammocks to hang out in and the location is perfect. The attached bar means that even if you're too tired to make it to a party, you can still grab a beer.

Disliked: The basic breakfast really is just that, with the coffee being near undrinkable, but that is a Colombian problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, friendly stuff, free breakfast, free wifi& internet. great value! Absolutly recommanded!

Disliked: probably the walls are a bit thin, but doesnt really matter, because its quite calm there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cayl Garrett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 March 2012 Cayl would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and amazing nice staff! I would highly recommend this hostel.. Again the location is perfect and staff great!!! Very pleased.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amalia berastegui

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 amalia would recommend this property

Liked: they were SOOOO nice, i had problems with the booking and they fixed it all.. thank you SO much :D its a small hostel but the tv room is nice, wifi is pretty good too... the private room has tv with directv

Disliked: no lockers in the dorms


See all Bogota hostels