HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Sue Candelaria Bogota Hostel

Carrera 3 # 12c-18, Bogota, Colombia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 95%

Safety 92%

Staff 89%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 95%

Safety 92%

Staff 89%

Value 89%

Showing 11-9 of 9 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We booked a private room, which was a little walk away. But we ended up having a whole apartment to ourselves with a great view over the city and mountain and a hammock. Location is great.

Disliked: The breakfast (but lots of great restaurants around!)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We booked a double private room with ensuite which was located around the corner from the hostel. It was more like a studio apartment as we had plenty of space and a small kitchenette area. The hostel provided a good free breakfast and the hostel staff were very helpful in assisting us with activity planning.

Disliked: No dislikes.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a clean and well-located property...The staff are very kind and I liked most everything.

Disliked: The staff would talk quite loudly rather early in the morning, and it was not too cool. Also, we asked for a taxi to the airport, and one of the guys there drove us....but stopped to pick up like 10 other people (he had a van), and was taking them throughout the city before finally dropping them off and taking us to the aiport. Not cool.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: very well located, beautiful patio and every morning different kind of self made breakfast. friendly staff, tv room, table tennis table

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were wonderful. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast made and served to you. Fast laundry service (2 hours ). Great location and tours. Good cross section of travellers in ages, countries.

Disliked: Breakfast only available for 1 hour between 8:30 and 9:30am.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were super attentive and always ready to extend a helping hand - there were three of them: Andrea, Lucinda(?) and a third one whom I forgot the name. Even cleaner, Miriam(?), took care of all our needs. The wifi was fast with no connectivity issues and the property is walking distance from Plaza de Bolivar. It's also close to Bogotá Bike Tours which is located between Carrera 3 and 12D. For $15.000 you get 4 hours worth of workout and tour around Bogota. Look for Fernando, he's one passionate and entertaining tour guide. :-)

Disliked: Bogotá is damp and chilly in July. The washrooms are detached from the rooms and the property has an open roof garden right in the middle of the dorms. Since the doors aren't fully sealed it can get REALLY COLD at night time when it isn't fully closed. The doors have hook locks installed and nothing more and the lockers are in front of the reception. This is not to say we didn't feel safe during our stay.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location and I liked their eclectic decorating touches.

Disliked: The most difficult part of our stay was staff ignoring the no smoking signs in the common area right outside our room. We informed them that the smoke was drifting into and becoming trapped in our room and that is was a problem for us. We also spoke to them about the late night "party" noise and load music right outside our door. They joked about both these issues and when nothing changed we had no choice but to move to a different hostel. Staff also seemed to be letting random "friends" sleep overnight in the common areas so using these spaces early in the morning was a bit uncomfortable. The kitchen stove, refrigerator, pots and pans all have seen better days and are overdue for replacement. The extension cord for the refrigerator was often accidentally unplugged. Bath mats in the shower had black mold and needed to be thrown out. When we inquired about tours featured on their hostel brochue we were informed it was our responsibility to find 3 other people to make the trip possible. There are so many other hostels in the area why stay where staff ignores your concerns and comfort?

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I stayed in a single room, which was clean, comfortable and affordable. The staff was very helpful with directions, sightseeing tips, calling taxis, and they provided a reliable laundry service. I felt like I definitely got my money´s worth at Hostel Sue and I would definitely stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff was friendly, bar on site. Felt safe in the surrounding area.

Disliked: A bit difficult getting by with limited spanish. (thats my fault, but still useful information)

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Ok rooms with good blankets. Good tv room.

Disliked: To crouded. Only two bathrooms, alot of people sharing these. Staff not so helpful. To noisy.

Check Availability