We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel

Hostel | Calle 9 No. 2 - 81 (antigua), La Candelaria - Centro, Bogota, Colombia s/n

92.7% Overall Rating

111 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2015)

"Fantastic property! Staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful. You had to pay upfront including a tip which is a bit shocking but you understand why at the end of your stay. The staff are very hardworking and…"

Read all Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Musicology hostel
6.94 USD

Hostel 84.3% 46 reviews
Hostal Sue Candelaria
9.37 USD

Hostel 87.5% 78 reviews
Alegria's Hostel
9.02 USD

Hostel 87.1% 96 reviews
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
12.15 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Sc House
6.07 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Swiss Hostal Martinik
8.33 USD

Hostel 84.5% 89 reviews
Hostal Mr Warrot
6.25 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Buenavida
8.68 USD

Guesthouse 67.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

111 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 99 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Kirchhof

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2015 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place. One of top three hostels I stayed

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic property! Staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful. You had to pay upfront including a tip which is a bit shocking but you understand why at the end of your stay. The staff are very hardworking and professional - the hostel employs single mothers and the tips go towards helping them further (there is a sign in the communal kitchen area). Our room was cleaned, beds made and towels changed everyday as well as common areas cleaned and bathrooms (ALL 6!) maintained constantly. You have to be buzzed in and out so its very safe. Wifi is great everywhere you go and there are lots of communal relaxing areas to choose from. We were offered the room right next to the door and after reading other reviews, we asked for one at the back and they were happy to oblige. Kitchen had everything you needed and you could store your items in the fridge. Lots of books available, DVDs (we had a TV and player in our room) but you could use the communal area to watch them and computers as well. We extended our stay here because it was so peaceful and relaxing!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice chilled out hostel. Not a party hostel. Big spacious rooms around three courtyards with hammocks. Wifi everywhere with 4 wifi options you won't have a slow connection or any other issues. 6 very clean bathrooms to use so enough for those sharing! Good breakfast and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming, extremelly helpful and nice staff.

Disliked: Since it's an old house, the facilities are somewhat basic. But it's the price you pay for the experience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Guhr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Anandamayi is a great place to stay! I loved the patios and the garden with all the hammocks, it is really quiet and relaxing but still easy to chat to the other travellers in the kitchen. Breakfast is sufficient and you get different teas and coffee for free all day long. As they had lots of spare blankets it did not get cold at night

Disliked: The bathroom windows are small but have no glass, so it can get quite cold in there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is relaxing and peaceful. The property is kept exceptionally clean. The staff are very friendly. Love the assortment of teas and coffee. What a delight to have a hot water bottle to sleep with each night to hedge off the Bogota chills!

Disliked: Does not invite much conversation between guests--its harder to meet people than other places Ive met, and meeting people is one of my favorite parts of staying in hostels. Could be warmer! Its nice that they have space heaters in the kitchen, but it would be awesome if they were in the bathrooms or dorms. Cold water only in the sinks! Wouldnt bother me as much if it were warmer (the showers were great temperature=}).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucie VINET

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: Avant bogota nous etions chez des amis a Caracas. La colombie c'etait le debut de l'aventure tous les deux . Nous avons adoré L'hotel Anandamayi a tous les points de vu : 1 = La situation géographique dans le quartier historique de bogota , la Candelaria, proche de bcp de choses a pieds ( supermarché , distributeur automatique , musées... ) 2 = L'hotel en lui meme , magnifique , typique, paisible, propre et peint en vert d'eau ( ma couleur préferée ... ) 3 = Le personnel tres gentil et discret toujours pret a rendre service. Bref j'ai hate d'y retourner :p !! Encore merci a toute l'equipe d'Anandamayi !

Disliked: NOTHINGS

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The availability of different teas and coffee at all hours of the day. We enjoyed the hammocks around the property as well.

Disliked: Very little english was spoken on property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Malinsky

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Trendy, funky and cool

Disliked: The acoustic insulation is minimal so noises can be heard throughout the hostel. Luckily it isn't a party hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 March 2012

Liked: Very clean and maintained well.

Disliked: The hostel is not in the safest area even though we did we were told it is safe not to walk around the area at night and most of the people there seemed to just stay inside and read books..... why?? Zona Rosa is the area to be.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Hood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff, good breakfast and beautiful garden area. Lots of character (and hot water bottles for bedtime!) Great place to relax (not a party hostel!)

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, relaxed atmosphere and super friendly staff!

Disliked: More reliably hot showers would do wonders in Bogota's climate.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were all very friendly & helpful; they don't hesitate to do anything that will make your stay here just as nice as can be. The facility is very old & charming and the grounds are a little bit of heaven on earth.

Disliked: The only negative would be that its not in a particularly safe neighborhood and its not a good idea to go out alone after dark. The facility itself is very safe & secure so there is nothing to worry about inside the facility.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, quiet, peaceful little place run by some lovely women. Warm and comfy beds, and nice big showers and bathrooms with lots of hot water.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morris Puegner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 Morris would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the nice atmosphere of Andanamayi. It has friendly staff (the employees are single mums), free WiFi, lockers in the dorm and lots of books. And the hammocks in the garden are great to read and relax as long as the wheather in Bogota is fine. Furthermore it feels absolutely safe and secure. Would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: The dorm is quite big but it was never fully booked when I stayed here. Could do with a travel organisation desk but I'm not sure if this is usual in Colombian hostels (since this is my first).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a beautiful place in a beautiful area of town

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a clean vintage feel with plenty of hammocks to longue in. The staff were very helpful, particularly in arranging an early moring taxi to the airport. The breakfast was substantial. It was in a nice part of the city.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best ever stayed in bogota

Disliked: not safe to go back to the hotel by foot at night. but that's a problem of the city not the hotel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivier Ysewyn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2011 Olivier would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the historical centre in a nice neighbourhood. Very clean rooms and lovely courtyards with hammocks. Free thee, coffee and wifi all day long.

Disliked: Depending on the weather, rooms can be a little cold, but with a warm water bottle (free to use) this shouldn·t be a problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice building, staff and atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful atmosphere to escape from Bogota's hustle and bustle, good breakfast

Disliked: Nil!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere -- we loved chilling in the hammocks and hanging out in the kitchen/dining area. The staff was super friendly and helpful, especially Maria! She is the best! We had a great time here and will be sad to leave. I'll definitely stay here again when we come back.

Disliked: Nothing. We loved it!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good Location was easy to get to all the Bogota sites Staff were friendly Good shower

Disliked: Staff didn´t speak very good English, and weren´t able to suggest an English tutor or school even though I´d emailed in advance about Spanish courses and they said they could sort on arrival. The hostel was very cold. No heating and Bogota was very cold at the time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Albarran

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Cold Room, but they had warm water bottles.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Lynch

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2011 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: stay here it has such a homely atmosphere, the staff are amazing, it's so clean, the breakfast is great and one of the most uniquely furnished I have seen. The standard is set for Columbia

Disliked: Nothing it's all amazing


See all Bogota hostels