We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel

Hostel | Calle 9 No. 2 - 81 (antigua), La Candelaria - Centro, Bogota, Colombia s/n

92.7% Overall Rating

111 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2015)

"Fantastic property! Staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful. You had to pay upfront including a tip which is a bit shocking but you understand why at the end of your stay. The staff are very hardworking and…"

Read all Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Musicology hostel
7.14 USD

Hostel 83.4% 45 reviews
Hostal Sue Candelaria
9.92 USD

Hostel 88.9% 77 reviews
Alegria's Hostel
8.73 USD

Hostel 87.2% 95 reviews
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
11.51 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Sc House
9.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Swiss Hostal Martinik
10.32 USD

Hostel 84.5% 89 reviews
Hostal Mr Warrot
7.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Masaya Bogota Hostel
8.73 USD

Hostel 90.4% 66 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

111 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 99 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, friendly and helpful staff. walking distance to most attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had originally only booked for my first few nights in Bogota, but I ended up extending my stay for the duration of my week in the city.This place has loads of character. It's ideal for those whose days of staying at 'party hostels' are over. Contrary to what you might expect from a place that can be so tranquil, I met some great people over breakfast in the communal kitchen or hanging out in the courtyard; some guests seem to keep to themselves, but there are opportunities to socialize if you're looking to do so. The staff are friendly and helpful too.Generally, the area is safe, but I'd recommend taking a cab back to the hostel if it's late at night - but I'd suggest the same for any of the hostels in the Candeleria.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa White

24 March 2010 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful place full of character. Maria who runs the place is amazingly friendly, although she doesn´t speak much English which might be diffciult if you don´t speak Spanish. The rooms are clean, comfortable and with the best hot showers ever. Breakfast is lovely and served at a good time and the location is great. I stayed here with my aunt who ius slightly older and it was a wonderful place to be. Not really a place for backpackers but more for couples or older people looking for a guest house type experience. Well worth it though.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady at the hostel was very welcoming and friendly. I had to leave early in the morning for the airport so she booked me a taxi. She also offered me tea and breakfast although i was leaving at 6am. The dorms are very nice - lots of wood and blankets if you like that kind of thing and well spaced out. All in all very tranquil place to stay. Not a party hostel at all...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Effros

07 January 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the most beautiful hostels I've ever stayed at! The grounds are immaculate with several beautiful courtyards with lush gardens and comfortable hammocks. The bathrooms are spacious and clean with plenty of hot water. I stayed in the dorms which are quite nice and a great deal (not sure the private rooms are worth the extra) and my fellow hostelers were very quiet and respectful. Cozy common kitchen with a wood stove and tea/hot water available all the time. Staff is very helpful. I highly recommend this hostel for your stay in Bogota!

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Flynn

21 December 2009 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Clean. A peaceful place.

Disliked: Charles left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

14 December 2009

Liked: My flight was delayed by a day & they kindly charge me for the night I missed after a friend called to tell them the situation. There is no English spoken by most of the staf so beware i you have no Spainsh - they also informed me the road it was on was very dangerous!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the garden in the middle of the hostel. I can spend half the day sitting and reading and simply enjoy the the view..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Chalklin

10 October 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The gardens are amazing, a really beautiful place to relax

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 September 2009

Liked: It was a nice, clean old house with lots of open air. I did not think it was worth the money for a private room though as the tv in the room did not have cable and the hot water barely worked the 2 days I took a shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coutyards and gardens with hammocks let you sit outside in the sun. Kitchen is very warm with fire which was needed as Bogota was cold

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building, lovely friendly staff, gardens, atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This has been the most amazing place to stay, beautiful gardens, atmosphere so peaceful, calm, quiet, friendly, a must stay for anyone looking for this kind of tranquilty. Staff are so so nice...showers amazing, tea at all times, best sleep in fantastic dorms, I can't say enough about how nice this place and the owner and staff are.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clive Stanton

21 April 2009 Clive would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with large rooms in a beautiful building right in la Candelaria. Very secure. Can leave your valuables in lockable chests in your room. Lovely staff and good kitchen facilities. One of the best places we have stayed in South America.

Disliked: Clive left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ola Nerhus

19 April 2009 Ola would recommend this property

Liked: Liked that the hostel was a very old house that was beautiful, and loved the garden and the people that worked there

Disliked: Ola left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Menz

21 December 2008 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Calm, nice place, wonderful gardens. Clean.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cory Latimer

06 September 2008 Cory would recommend this property

Liked: Great people.

Disliked: Cory left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanne Goodman

31 May 2008 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and the room and gardens were lovely

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, homely atmosphere. friendly, helpful staff, we will stay here again when we return to Bogota

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Annette Sargent

07 May 2008 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: The house is very old and very beautiful and has 2 central courtyards and a flowering garden at the back. Great for relaxing in. The staff are very pleasant, kind and helpful. The location is excellent being siutated in Candalria, which I found to be very safe, and perfect for visiting museums, galleries etc. It is a hostel that you can just stay in all day and relax if you feel like it. Hang in a hammock in the garden or sit in the common room where the fire goes all day and you can drink as much tea as you want, free of charge. The beds are a little hard but there are plenty of blankets and even a water bottle to keep you warm. A very enjoyable stay.

Disliked: Annette left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: if you want to be on your own and get away from it all, go here. if you want a party hostel avoid like a plague carrying monkey!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 April 2008

Liked: staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karol Butler

13 March 2008 Karol would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were genuinely very nice and helpful and people there were dead on too

Disliked: Karol left no negative feedback.


See all Bogota hostels