We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bogota hostels

Reviews of Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel

Hostel | Calle 9 No. 2 - 81 (antigua), La Candelaria - Centro, Bogota, Colombia s/n

93.0% Overall Rating

106 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"The atmosphere is relaxing and peaceful. The property is kept exceptionally clean. The staff are very friendly. Love the assortment of teas and coffee. What a delight to have a hot water bottle to sleep with each night…"

Read all Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bogota

Musicology hostel
7.81 USD

Hostel 83.0% 42 reviews
Hostal Sue Candelaria
11.22 USD

Hostel 88.3% 73 reviews
Alegria's Hostel
12.20 USD

Hostel 87.2% 95 reviews
Zohar Hostel / Hotel
14.15 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Summer C
17.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Swiss Hostal Martinik
8.29 USD

Hostel 84.5% 89 reviews
Hostal Mr Warrot
8.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Masaya Bogota Hostel
10.73 USD

Hostel 91.1% 63 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

106 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anandamayi Hostel and Hotel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 94 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rarely give anything 5 stars, but this hostel was wonderful. I loved exploring the city, but even the hostel itself with the courtyards and hammocks had a distinctly Colombian feel. It was very safe and the staff was wonderfully kind. Could stay for months there.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Rohrer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Charming location. Very clean and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nihal Mohammed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Nihal would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: Can't comment much, but the service wasn't the best!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In beautiful old house. Spotlessly clean. Great breakfast. Excellent location. Friendly staff

Disliked: No sheets for bed only blankets and beds a bit saggy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, friendly atmosphere. Lovely courtyard & gardens. Helpful staff. Good breakfast included.

Disliked: Would have expected ensuite bathroom for the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe and quiet, nice evening soup, good breakfast

Disliked: too few rooms with bathrooms (ensuite).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is one of the most beautiful hostels I've ever been to. It has so much character, I loved to start the day in it's homley kitchen and meet other travellers and chill out in the garden. The location too is excellent. I would highly reccomend it.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money. Breakfast very good and the rooms were very clean amd so were the rest of the facilities, located in a quiet area, but near to the city. It gets cold at night and there were plenty of blankets on the bed to keep you warm they also supplied hot water bottles for those who are really cold. The staff were vey friendly and helpfull even if you could not speak a lot of spainh

Disliked: no bad comments

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Leary

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: This is not the hostel for you if you're looking for a party hostel. On the other hand, if you are looking for a good, clean, quiet hostel this is an excellent choice. They have by far the best water pressure with hot water I had in 6 weeks in Colombia.

Disliked: no complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen yates

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It`s a beautiful property, lots of outside tiled terrace areas with plants and hammocks. The bathrooms are lovely too. The rooms have nice chests to lock your stuff in. Breakfast is good ' lots of weird and wonderful fruits to try out.

Disliked: Only one computer for internet, just a minor observation!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ohad Ron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2011 Ohad would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, great beds and blankets, great breakfast.

Disliked: 0

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Humphreys

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere -beautiful courtyards an gaden - plenty of places to relax

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a charming place to stay, being an oasis of tranquility and like minded people in a charming old colonial house with 2 courtyards and loads of character. cant recommend it enough

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely beautiful. Could easily be in an upscale travel magazine in terms of its charm. Everything was very organized and well run.

Disliked: The owner is helpful if not a bit cold. Order comes before warmth it seems but I would recommend this to anyone who doesn´t have to have a bathroom in their room. This place was way beyond my expectations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful, the room was great and the general feel of the place was good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Ayling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, wonderful interiors.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Robinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: All of the above

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Misha Grosvenor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2010 Misha would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very peaceful, it's a beautiful hostel. The location is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I wish I could have stayed longer!

Disliked: Misha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jérémie Gagnon

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2010 Jérémie would recommend this property

Liked: This place was what i was looking for a quiet not to expensive hostal. Today the cheap hostal seem to change in a bar at night. The anandamayi have been a peacefull place all the time a was there.

Disliked: Jérémie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marjolein Groot

05 June 2010 Marjolein would recommend this property

Liked: super sweet staff; beautiful location, at least during the day - did not go out at night but they recommend taking taxis; fantastic inner garden and sofas to chill out, communal kitchen with dvd and computer; great breakfast with a wide selection of fruits; hot showers - a pity that it is a bit above my budget, otherwise i would have stayed much longer! many thanks!

Disliked: Marjolein left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, friendly and helpful staff. walking distance to most attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had originally only booked for my first few nights in Bogota, but I ended up extending my stay for the duration of my week in the city.This place has loads of character. It's ideal for those whose days of staying at 'party hostels' are over. Contrary to what you might expect from a place that can be so tranquil, I met some great people over breakfast in the communal kitchen or hanging out in the courtyard; some guests seem to keep to themselves, but there are opportunities to socialize if you're looking to do so. The staff are friendly and helpful too.Generally, the area is safe, but I'd recommend taking a cab back to the hostel if it's late at night - but I'd suggest the same for any of the hostels in the Candeleria.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa White

24 March 2010 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful place full of character. Maria who runs the place is amazingly friendly, although she doesn´t speak much English which might be diffciult if you don´t speak Spanish. The rooms are clean, comfortable and with the best hot showers ever. Breakfast is lovely and served at a good time and the location is great. I stayed here with my aunt who ius slightly older and it was a wonderful place to be. Not really a place for backpackers but more for couples or older people looking for a guest house type experience. Well worth it though.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady at the hostel was very welcoming and friendly. I had to leave early in the morning for the airport so she booked me a taxi. She also offered me tea and breakfast although i was leaving at 6am. The dorms are very nice - lots of wood and blankets if you like that kind of thing and well spaced out. All in all very tranquil place to stay. Not a party hostel at all...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Effros

07 January 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the most beautiful hostels I've ever stayed at! The grounds are immaculate with several beautiful courtyards with lush gardens and comfortable hammocks. The bathrooms are spacious and clean with plenty of hot water. I stayed in the dorms which are quite nice and a great deal (not sure the private rooms are worth the extra) and my fellow hostelers were very quiet and respectful. Cozy common kitchen with a wood stove and tea/hot water available all the time. Staff is very helpful. I highly recommend this hostel for your stay in Bogota!

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.


See all Bogota hostels