HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Zhangzhou Wei Qun Lou Inn

Guesthouse | Ta Xia Village, Shu Yang Town, Nan Jing county Zhangzhou, China 363608

87.9% Overall Rating

7 out of 8 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2014)

"The place was in an amazing little village called TAXIA, which was surrounded by green trees, rocks and a river passes by the village. It's wonderful to come for seeing some tulou's and live in one of them. The village…"

Read all Zhangzhou Wei Qun Lou Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zhangzhou?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zhangzhou Wei Qun Lou Inn'

Atmosphere
92.5%
Location
95.0%
Facilities
70.0%
Cleanliness
97.5%
Staff
95.0%
Value
70.0%
Safety
95.0%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 8 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was in an amazing little village called TAXIA, which was surrounded by green trees, rocks and a river passes by the village. It's wonderful to come for seeing some tulou's and live in one of them. The village looks amazingly beautiful in the evening. We came on foot from another cluster about 10 km away from Taxia and next day we went on foot to further clusters also about 8 km away from Wei Qun Lou Inn. I would recommend it to all nature lovers, hikers and travellers interested in Chinese history and culture, as by living in the tulou you can feel yourself back in time: even at the hostel you can see ducks and chickens in the yard, you can have some local foods right there at the hostel and look at the blue sky through the open space of the round building.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ria McCaw

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 February 2014 Ria would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed at. The rooms were clean and big and warm. The people that run it are really nice. I was expecting to get ripped off because of previous reviews but I had a completely different experience. When we arrived the person that runs the hostel gave us tea, made sure we were comfortable and showed us the room. His sister in law then brought us cooked yams and then took us to a party. A really enjoyable stay in a family atmosphere.

Disliked: A little difficult to get to on public transport but not impossible and well worth the trek!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013

Liked: The extended family were lovely The location and property were beautiful

Disliked: VERY hard bed, painful to sleep on after a fee nights Mr Zhang didn't speak a word of English although it states he was an English guide Internet was non exsistant Mr Zhang didn't tell us there was no card facilities and no ATM in the village even though we had asked him in an email several days before, he didn't reply We felt that he was trying to rip us off at every turn

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ralf Klimt

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2012 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: It's a unique place. To stay in a real Toulu is a very nice experience and the village is a perfect place to chill and relax from the hectic in the cities.

Disliked: Its quite difficult to get there and the offered services are very expensive (Toulu- Round Trip for 400 RMB + entrance)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Stefan Mosig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: To live in a round house while visiting the Fuijian Toulou area is a special experience that makes the trip more authentic. The owner was able to organize private bus trip to the Toulou area (unfortunately there is not for sure a bus connection). Very friendly and nice guy who really tries to deliver service.

Disliked: 80 km from the train station Nanjing county - shuttle price: 150 (the owner who tgave me a lift back without cost). Unfortunately the price for the booked room was not - as booked - 60 but 180 RMB what I was told after arriving. For small budgets this is in a whole no recommendation or you chose the dorm solution!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ives van Neck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Ives would recommend this property

Liked: It's very authentic in a real Hakka building. Nicely located in inside China. They have an excellent kitchen/dining located in the building.

Disliked: The bed's were rock hard, not nice to sleep on. Also, not easily to reach from air or train or bus. Owner was really friendly but gave us the feeling that he was charging us to much.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Victoria Hacker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The stunning scenery and the fact it appears to be a genuine traditional roundhouse. Rooms were pleasant,clean and comfortable with plenty of tissue & toothbrushes available! The staff were friendly.

Disliked: The staff couldn't speak English and the menu was in Chinese (very pricey too) which made ordering food particularly difficult. There was no listing of entertainment available so the evenings are very quiet for non-chinese speaking guests.