We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Zhangzhou Wei Qun Lou Inn

Guesthouse | Ta Xia Village, Shu Yang Town, Nan Jing county Zhangzhou, China 363608

84.8% Overall Rating

7 out of 9 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2015)

Marco Blieweis thinks…

"It was very authentic and a one of a kind experience to be able to sleep in one of those round houses. Mr. Zhang was very friendly and helpful. He arranged a driver for us to pick us up from the…"

Read all Zhangzhou Wei Qun Lou Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zhangzhou?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

7 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zhangzhou Wei Qun Lou Inn'

Atmosphere
93.3%
Location
88.9%
Facilities
68.9%
Cleanliness
93.3%
Staff
88.9%
Value
71.1%
Safety
88.9%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 9 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marco Blieweis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015

Liked: It was very authentic and a one of a kind experience to be able to sleep in one of those round houses. Mr. Zhang was very friendly and helpful. He arranged a driver for us to pick us up from the airport, and also organized us daytrips to all nearby sights. I don't know if Mr.Zhang is aware of his dad's activities, and how the driver treats the customers by taking their money, and not returning refunds.

Disliked: 1. Mr. Zhang (the owner of the hostel) arranged a driver for us (group of 6) to pick us up from Xiamen airport. It was a 3-hour drive from the Airport to the hostel. When we arrived at Xiamen with a 30 minute delay our driver was already expecting us. It was about 6.00pm when he picked us up, and slowly getting dark, as we were driving on the highway we saw that the driver seemed a little tired. When we entered a tunnel our driver looked down at his feet and closed his eyes. (At least that's what we saw - judging from the view onto the rear mirror). We shouted to wake him up, but he didn't react. Thankfully he woke up after we grabbed him - and luckily nothing happened to us or the car. We stopped at the next gas station and asked him if he was tired, but he said he wasnt... We bought some cold drinks and some food, and fed him to stay awake. The drive continued for 2 more hours, and we arrived safely at the hostel. Shortly before we arrived we encountered some sort of "border control" - which was nothing more than a ticket office for this area - we had to pay 100Yuan per person in order to pass the gates, and continued our journey to the hostel. We weren't sure why they wanted 100Yuan from us, we figured everything out after we called Mr. Zhang on his mobile phone - he assured us that those were just tickets we needed to buy in order to pass. - It would have be useful to have know this beforehand. 2. We were asked by Mr.Zhang if we wanted to have breakfast at the hostel, it would be 10Yuan per person - it seemed to be a fair deal and we agreed to have breakfast at Zhangzhou Wei Qun Lou Inn the next day. The next morning Mr. Zhangs dad already expected us and prepared breakfast for us. It was very good - we had vegetables, bread, noodles and a plate of scrambled eggs. After we almost finished eating we asked for another plate of scrambled eggs - which Mr.Zhang father brought us a few minutes later. -Later that day Mr. Zhang's father asked us to pay for the breakfast - and suddenly he wanted to get 20Yuan per person, just because we ordered an additional plate of scrambled eggs - we paid it but later told him to not have breakfast or lunch again. (He seemed to have been ashamed afterwards, maybe because we found out about his scam - I don't know if Mr.Zhang himself knew about this - but I don't think so, and Mr. Zhang's father only wanted to make some extra money) 3. On our last day our driver (the same one who picked us up from Xiamen), brought us to another famous sight, and asked us to give him the money for some other tickets. We counted and gave him 700Yuan exactly, those would have been the total fare for 6 persons. He wanted us to wait infront of the ticket office's entrence, which we did for half a minute but later went inside the building to see what he is doing. He was paying our tickets - and then we saw him taking 200 Yuan and putting them in his pockets. We asked him about those 200Yuan, but he didn't want to answer us - then we asked the woman at the front desk how much money he just gave her - he gave her 540Yuan for a group ticket, and wanted to keep the 160Yuan without telling us! We insisted that he would give us back our money, which he (after some discussion) did... After 2 hours of sightseeing when we returned to our bus but the driver wasn't there. Thankfully we had a telephone and called Mr.Zhang, asking for the driver. He gave us the telephone number of the driver and we called him so he would come back to the bus. While we were waiting at our small bus, we discovered that the windows weren't locked, and that anyone could have easily breaked into the bus and steal things from all our luggage. - Thankfully everything was still there. All in all, we felt very annoyed that Mr.Zhang's assigned driver and his dad tricked us. Thankfully we spoke a little mandarin so we could talk to them, and to the cashier at the ticket office. otherwise it would have been much more difficult. If there's still anyone going to this hostel I can highly recommend to ALWAYS accompany the driver if he's trying to buy tickets for you. If you want to have good breakfast in the morning, just walk out of the hostel, down the river for 200 meters and you'll have excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner at one of the restaurants on the left side. We were very delighted by the delicious food they served, and too much lower prices than the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was in an amazing little village called TAXIA, which was surrounded by green trees, rocks and a river passes by the village. It's wonderful to come for seeing some tulou's and live in one of them. The village looks amazingly beautiful in the evening. We came on foot from another cluster about 10 km away from Taxia and next day we went on foot to further clusters also about 8 km away from Wei Qun Lou Inn. I would recommend it to all nature lovers, hikers and travellers interested in Chinese history and culture, as by living in the tulou you can feel yourself back in time: even at the hostel you can see ducks and chickens in the yard, you can have some local foods right there at the hostel and look at the blue sky through the open space of the round building.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ria McCaw

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 February 2014 Ria would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed at. The rooms were clean and big and warm. The people that run it are really nice. I was expecting to get ripped off because of previous reviews but I had a completely different experience. When we arrived the person that runs the hostel gave us tea, made sure we were comfortable and showed us the room. His sister in law then brought us cooked yams and then took us to a party. A really enjoyable stay in a family atmosphere.

Disliked: A little difficult to get to on public transport but not impossible and well worth the trek!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013

Liked: The extended family were lovely The location and property were beautiful

Disliked: VERY hard bed, painful to sleep on after a fee nights Mr Zhang didn't speak a word of English although it states he was an English guide Internet was non exsistant Mr Zhang didn't tell us there was no card facilities and no ATM in the village even though we had asked him in an email several days before, he didn't reply We felt that he was trying to rip us off at every turn

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ralf Klimt

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2012 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: It's a unique place. To stay in a real Toulu is a very nice experience and the village is a perfect place to chill and relax from the hectic in the cities.

Disliked: Its quite difficult to get there and the offered services are very expensive (Toulu- Round Trip for 400 RMB + entrance)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Stefan Mosig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: To live in a round house while visiting the Fuijian Toulou area is a special experience that makes the trip more authentic. The owner was able to organize private bus trip to the Toulou area (unfortunately there is not for sure a bus connection). Very friendly and nice guy who really tries to deliver service.

Disliked: 80 km from the train station Nanjing county - shuttle price: 150 (the owner who tgave me a lift back without cost). Unfortunately the price for the booked room was not - as booked - 60 but 180 RMB what I was told after arriving. For small budgets this is in a whole no recommendation or you chose the dorm solution!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ives van Neck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Ives would recommend this property

Liked: It's very authentic in a real Hakka building. Nicely located in inside China. They have an excellent kitchen/dining located in the building.

Disliked: The bed's were rock hard, not nice to sleep on. Also, not easily to reach from air or train or bus. Owner was really friendly but gave us the feeling that he was charging us to much.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Victoria Hacker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The stunning scenery and the fact it appears to be a genuine traditional roundhouse. Rooms were pleasant,clean and comfortable with plenty of tissue & toothbrushes available! The staff were friendly.

Disliked: The staff couldn't speak English and the menu was in Chinese (very pricey too) which made ordering food particularly difficult. There was no listing of entertainment available so the evenings are very quiet for non-chinese speaking guests.