HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Yunnan hostels

Reviews of Shaxi Horse Pen 46 Guesthouse

Hostel | No 46 Sideng Street, Yunnan, China 671302

93.9% Overall Rating

15 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

"Great hostel with nice atmosphere and a lot of character. We only stayed one night, but wish we had stayed longer. Staff was incredibly helpful in advance of our stay by organising drivers for us and answering all our…"

Read all Shaxi Horse Pen 46 Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Yunnan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Yunnan

Lijiang Senior Leader Youth Hostel
6.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Yuanyang International Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Timeless Hostel Yuanyang
5.68 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shaxi Horse Pen 46 Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
97.3%
Location
98.7%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
85.3%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with nice atmosphere and a lot of character. We only stayed one night, but wish we had stayed longer. Staff was incredibly helpful in advance of our stay by organising drivers for us and answering all our questions. We were picked up in Lijiang, visited Shibaoshan on the way, and driven to Lijiang airport the next day. All went smoothly. Location is great, right on the main square but peaceful and quiet. They organise all kinds of activities for their guests and rent bikes as well, wish we had more time to make use of them! This hostel and Shaxi are well worth more than just one night's stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very nice staff, converted horse stable with lots of character. Good big lockers, personal lights and chargers for each bed.

Disliked: The room (female dorm) wasn't very clean, looked like no one cleans the rooms, just the bedding. Toilets and showers (2 of each) are outside, but that's the nature of this town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Pedro Urrestarazu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Jose Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: This town is like heaven on earth. This hostel is located in the best place of it, in the main square. Time doesn't seem to pass there. The staff is lovely and very considerate. They had some issues with us, but they immediately reacted and did their best to revert the situation.

Disliked: Jose Pedro left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cheap, helpful staff, quirky rooms, very secure front door.

Disliked: Slightly odd having toilet and shower in the very small room! Don't get your YHA discount if booking through hostel bookers!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vilhelm Rothe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Vilhelm would recommend this property

Liked: Superb place, love it

Disliked: Nothing, onlyvsome of the other guests were very messy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lisa Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of character, fantastic location and friendly, helpful and informative staff.

Disliked: The place could do with a little tender loving care (without losing its character) and those dogs could really do with a good wash - as gorgeous as they were, they were smelly!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hedwich Van der steen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Hedwich would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money it is for sure. This hostel was the cheapest we visited during our trip in China and one of the cleanest. The staff is super friendly en helpful. It is not big, so the atmosphere is relaxed. The square in front of the hostel is like one out of a fairytale. I insist you to drink a cappuccino at the Old Tree Café at the corner. I love Shaxi!

Disliked: Hedwich left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bueatiful. A lot of places say they feel like a home, this one ACTUALLY does. I was only planning to stay one night I almost immediently decided to stay two, I never do that btw

Disliked: washrooms are far from rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very nice and quiet place, the house itself has an excellent atmosphere. very helpful staff.

Disliked: the raining season :o) (and the en suite room was quite funny, having the toilet and shower in the same room just half a meter from bed.. but it was nice still!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff especially the owner. The room was clean and plenty of hot water was available. Good location, just minutes away from the heart of Shaxi. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Although electric blankets are available the rooms can get chilly at night. Some heating, even if at a cost, would be welcome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cheek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing


See all Yunnan hostels