We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Trippers Carpe Diem

Hostel | Shi Ban Qiao village, nr 35, Yangshuo, China 541900

94.1% Overall Rating

80 out of 82 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

Mirka Erler thinks…

"I liked the calm environment, which is hard to find in a crowded city like Yangshuo. The staff was very helpful explaining day trips and called a Motortaxi for me (they asked me if I wanted a real…"

Read all Trippers Carpe Diem reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 43.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Yangshuo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Yangshuo

The Stone Bridge - Home Sweet Home in the Valley
9.42 USD

Apartment 96.5% 38 reviews
Climbers Inn
5.50 USD

Hostel 90.0% 24 reviews
Yang Shuo Senior Leader International Youth Hostel
4.71 USD

Hostel 84.6% 67 reviews
Monkey Jane's Roof Top Bar & Guesthouse 背包客栈
5.50 USD

Hostel 84.0% 20 reviews
Yangshuo 11 Youth Hostel
5.50 USD

Hostel 89.5% 150 reviews
No Kidd Inn
5.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 128 reviews
The Cosy Garden
9.42 USD

Hostel 96.2% 12 reviews
Yangshuo Explorer Hotel
7.85 USD

Hotel 79.1% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

80 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Trippers Carpe Diem'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 82 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomasz Antkowiak

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, location

Disliked: Tomasz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mirka Erler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2015 Mirka would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the calm environment, which is hard to find in a crowded city like Yangshuo. The staff was very helpful explaining day trips and called a Motortaxi for me (they asked me if I wanted a real taxi as well and offered me this cheaper way to get to the bus station). They also offered me to take a shower in one of their rooms even though I already checked out in the morning. A great place to stay.

Disliked: It is quite a long way from the city center but definitly worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Castello

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2015 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tasteful, simple, excellent value, helpful staff... this place was the best hostel I stayed in while in Yangshuo and the surrounding area. It's the perfect place to stay at night and take day trips from.

Disliked: Can't think of anything wrong with it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very very helpful and friendly. The receptionist helped us deal with serious bank problems. Very good food. Clean room with nice furniture. Computer with VPN on disposal.

Disliked: A little far away from the center.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Faye Woodhead

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Faye would recommend this property

Liked: Great peaceful location, ideal to cycle into Yangshou. Staff very sweet. Lovely Chinease food from their restaurant/bar, generous lockers in the room.

Disliked: The dorm room (room 206) was RIDICLIOUSLY hot at night! The website said air con. It did have air con but it was next to useless against the heat of the room. When we asked the staff about it they were very sweet and acknowledged the problem (and said people always say it's hot) but still hadn't done anything about it. This was kind of frustrating, and with only 1 fan in a 6 bed dorm it was too hot to sleep. The other rooms felt lovely and cold but avoid the sweat box dorm- it has a flat roof exposed to the sun all day and the air con is pretty ineffective.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Havelka

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is a little far away from town, but that is what makes it! It is quiet and nestled in the countryside! The staff was very helpful, but not overly pushy. The breakfasts are amazing!

Disliked: Just that if you walk one way it is like 20 minutes form town, if you walk the other it is miles and miles and miles (I exaggerate..) away.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: About 20 mins walking from West Street. People who love nature and quietness will enjoy this hostel.

Disliked: The tickets (bus to airport) they sell are a little more expensive than other places.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keegan Dollinger

Alone

City break

09 June 2014 Keegan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that the hostel was outside the hustle and bustle of Yangshuo. Although Yangshuo is smaller than Guilin, there is a lot going on. It was nice to be able to go out on West Street and then head back into the mountains to sleep. Also they're breakfast sets were great.

Disliked: Keegan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Redfern

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I love this place. The girls that work here are amazing. I was meant to stay for two nights and ended up staying six.

Disliked: Nothing. People said it's far from town but I much preferred being out in the country compared to town anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in village 20-25 min walk from west street. Bikes free after 1600. Excellent milkshakes.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place for those who love nature, calmness, nice staff, facilities, cleanness, surroundings to cycle, place to rent the bikes very close.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I absolutely loved our stay at Tripper's Carpe Diem. The hostel itself is beautiful with comfortable beds and the staff friendly and helpful. We booked multiple tours through them. The food is also delicious and very affordable. It is set in a quiet valley away from town which I initially was hesitant about but was only a 20 minute walk (very pretty walk too) and I ended up really liking being away from the noise and congestion of West Street. I had friends who stayed in hostels in town and were very jealous of our accommodations, and even switched for their last night. Our group probably caused some more noise and trouble than usual but it is an ultimately very peaceful place. I am already recommending it to friends and would definitely stay there again if I went back.

Disliked: Very little to complain about. Our main room light didn't work but I am sure it is fixed by now. Facilities were otherwise very nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Steven Nicolaou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, private room was big, cafe is cosy and arranged to make it easy to talk to others, like a big living room. PCs ran Windows 7 and in great shape. Good WiFi reception in the room.

Disliked: It's outside town in the next village. It's a good 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride, which for me was close enough. If you really want food, drinks and the nighttime buzz at your doorstep, find a place that's in town. The private room had a big mold problem. The air was moldy and the paint on half of one wall was peeling due to moisture. I stayed just one night so I could ignore it, but I would not stay here if I had to stay longer. It's so bad that I'm surprised it's just being ignored. The room was so big that even with the AC on maximum heat, it was still cold in January.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josie Prynn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff who helped us plan our stay in Yangshuo. Very good English spoken too. The food was good, and the communal area was comfortable and had some games and a pool table. We hired bikes, which were of a reasonable standard. The room was comfortable, and one of the few budget places we stayed in China with heating (important in December!)

Disliked: Hard to find when we arrived - the bus dropped us in the town rather than the bus station which didn't help, but when we phoned them they sent a taxi to collect us, which worked well. Slightly out of town, which was peaceful, but meant we didn't spend as much time in Yangshuo town as we might have otherwise - the walk into town wasn't lit and there weren't any buses, so staying for a meal in town meant a taxi ride or walking in the dark.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Napikoski

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: The beautiful surroundings, the deck/hammock/pool table/eating/drinking/relaxing space, the view of the karsts (espeially with the full moon rising above them, if you're lucky to be there at that time!), the many delicious beers, the great food options, the clean rooms.

Disliked: Well...it's a little bit out of the town center, I suppose, but really the walk was no big deal at all (and in town where it's crowded there are more cockroaches about, so I'm glad we weren't there.)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is out in the countryside and it's a welcome break from the city.

Disliked: Make sure that you do want to stay a ways out of town - you'll end up eating in the hostel more since other food alternatives aren't on your doorstep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, lovely staff, awesome selection of food and drinks.

Disliked: Our room smelt of mould :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dagmar Pilgrim

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Dagmar would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff, the location and enjoyed being able to eat delicious meals at the property. Good value for your money. We also booked all our activities through them. Very efficient. Miss you, Jane, Cindy, Jemma and Joanna! You girls did everything to make this a memorable stay for our family. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Disliked: Dagmar left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and the owner helpful. It is really a relaxing place. It was clean.

Disliked: The hostel is a little bit far from the center. It can be a positive thing (the hostel is in a calm countryside village which is nice) but also a negative side because when it is night you have to walk on a path with no lights at all and really you see nothing but darkness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nurmukhanov Bulat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013 Nurmukhanov would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was just perfect. Thanks for everything! You could recognize that owner of the hostel is not Chinese! Good price, good location. I would back there again, absolutely.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Hurtado

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They all speak English too. I like the fact that the hostel is away from town, away from the noise.

Disliked: The grill wasn't available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maja vestergaard jørgensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 maja vestergaard would recommend this property

Liked: We like everything about this hostel - one of the best places we stayed at our China-trip. First the location is amazing; it's not in the city center but more like on the countyside - but just walk or bike to the center. - but then is has a nice terrace with view over the mountains. second; the staff was so sweet and helpfull and happy - they helped with tourbooking and everything we asked for. - they seemed like one big family, and that cosiness spread.. third; the tours they booked for us was amazing; we went on a traditional bambooraftboat (not motor) for 2 hours down the river - amazing and relaxing; we want biking by their instructions to the moonhil and around the landscape; we went kayaking on the Li river - only 3 kayaks and no one else on the river - it was amazing just paddling there with waterbuffallos on the riverside. DO IT!

Disliked: NOTHING..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'espace commun et très sympa. En étant à juste 15min à pied du centre, on bénéficie du calme et d'une balade agréable le long du fleuve... A recommender

Disliked: Quelques soucis avec l'eau chaude de la douche mais ça a été réparé très vite

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, perfectly close enough to the town center only 15mins walk so lots of peace and quiet at night time as well a chill out time. The staff were amazing, get to know them as they are very sweet. They are also very organised and spoke excellent English and helped organized many activities for us. The food was great particularly the Chinese dishes and reasonably priced. The rooms and hostel were always kept very clean.

Disliked: The western breakfasts were good but some of the western main dishes were not so great, the shepherds pie had no meat filling it was more like a flat potato cake in a shallow dish and the steak would have been good if it wasn't so salty. The bikes you can rent need to be serviced properly as some the brakes didn't work, or the suspension jammed or problem with the gears.