HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Trippers Carpe Diem

Hostel | Shi Ban Qiao village, nr 35, Yangshuo, China 541900

93.0% Overall Rating

68 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"My friends and I absolutely loved our stay at Tripper's Carpe Diem. The hostel itself is beautiful with comfortable beds and the staff friendly and helpful. We booked multiple tours through them. The food is also…"

Read all Trippers Carpe Diem reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Yangshuo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Yangshuo

The Stone Bridge - Home Sweet Home in the Valley
7.77 USD

Apartment 96.1% 35 reviews
Climbers Inn
5.66 USD

Hostel 88.4% 20 reviews
Yang Shuo Senior Leader International Youth Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 85.1% 66 reviews
Monkey Jane's Roof Top Bar & Guesthouse 背包客栈
5.66 USD

Hostel 83.0% 17 reviews
Yangshuo 11 Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 91.3% 144 reviews
No Kidd Inn
5.66 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 127 reviews
The Cosy Garden
10.52 USD

Hostel 97.7% 5 reviews
Morning breeze Inn
6.47 USD

Hostel 77.9% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

68 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Trippers Carpe Diem'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 70 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I absolutely loved our stay at Tripper's Carpe Diem. The hostel itself is beautiful with comfortable beds and the staff friendly and helpful. We booked multiple tours through them. The food is also delicious and very affordable. It is set in a quiet valley away from town which I initially was hesitant about but was only a 20 minute walk (very pretty walk too) and I ended up really liking being away from the noise and congestion of West Street. I had friends who stayed in hostels in town and were very jealous of our accommodations, and even switched for their last night. Our group probably caused some more noise and trouble than usual but it is an ultimately very peaceful place. I am already recommending it to friends and would definitely stay there again if I went back.

Disliked: Very little to complain about. Our main room light didn't work but I am sure it is fixed by now. Facilities were otherwise very nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Steven Nicolaou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, private room was big, cafe is cosy and arranged to make it easy to talk to others, like a big living room. PCs ran Windows 7 and in great shape. Good WiFi reception in the room.

Disliked: It's outside town in the next village. It's a good 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride, which for me was close enough. If you really want food, drinks and the nighttime buzz at your doorstep, find a place that's in town. The private room had a big mold problem. The air was moldy and the paint on half of one wall was peeling due to moisture. I stayed just one night so I could ignore it, but I would not stay here if I had to stay longer. It's so bad that I'm surprised it's just being ignored. The room was so big that even with the AC on maximum heat, it was still cold in January.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josie Prynn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff who helped us plan our stay in Yangshuo. Very good English spoken too. The food was good, and the communal area was comfortable and had some games and a pool table. We hired bikes, which were of a reasonable standard. The room was comfortable, and one of the few budget places we stayed in China with heating (important in December!)

Disliked: Hard to find when we arrived - the bus dropped us in the town rather than the bus station which didn't help, but when we phoned them they sent a taxi to collect us, which worked well. Slightly out of town, which was peaceful, but meant we didn't spend as much time in Yangshuo town as we might have otherwise - the walk into town wasn't lit and there weren't any buses, so staying for a meal in town meant a taxi ride or walking in the dark.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Napikoski

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: The beautiful surroundings, the deck/hammock/pool table/eating/drinking/relaxing space, the view of the karsts (espeially with the full moon rising above them, if you're lucky to be there at that time!), the many delicious beers, the great food options, the clean rooms.

Disliked: Well...it's a little bit out of the town center, I suppose, but really the walk was no big deal at all (and in town where it's crowded there are more cockroaches about, so I'm glad we weren't there.)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is out in the countryside and it's a welcome break from the city.

Disliked: Make sure that you do want to stay a ways out of town - you'll end up eating in the hostel more since other food alternatives aren't on your doorstep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, lovely staff, awesome selection of food and drinks.

Disliked: Our room smelt of mould :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dagmar Pilgrim

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Dagmar would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff, the location and enjoyed being able to eat delicious meals at the property. Good value for your money. We also booked all our activities through them. Very efficient. Miss you, Jane, Cindy, Jemma and Joanna! You girls did everything to make this a memorable stay for our family. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Disliked: Dagmar left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and the owner helpful. It is really a relaxing place. It was clean.

Disliked: The hostel is a little bit far from the center. It can be a positive thing (the hostel is in a calm countryside village which is nice) but also a negative side because when it is night you have to walk on a path with no lights at all and really you see nothing but darkness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nurmukhanov Bulat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013 Nurmukhanov would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was just perfect. Thanks for everything! You could recognize that owner of the hostel is not Chinese! Good price, good location. I would back there again, absolutely.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Hurtado

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They all speak English too. I like the fact that the hostel is away from town, away from the noise.

Disliked: The grill wasn't available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maja vestergaard jørgensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 maja vestergaard would recommend this property

Liked: We like everything about this hostel - one of the best places we stayed at our China-trip. First the location is amazing; it's not in the city center but more like on the countyside - but just walk or bike to the center. - but then is has a nice terrace with view over the mountains. second; the staff was so sweet and helpfull and happy - they helped with tourbooking and everything we asked for. - they seemed like one big family, and that cosiness spread.. third; the tours they booked for us was amazing; we went on a traditional bambooraftboat (not motor) for 2 hours down the river - amazing and relaxing; we want biking by their instructions to the moonhil and around the landscape; we went kayaking on the Li river - only 3 kayaks and no one else on the river - it was amazing just paddling there with waterbuffallos on the riverside. DO IT!

Disliked: NOTHING..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'espace commun et très sympa. En étant à juste 15min à pied du centre, on bénéficie du calme et d'une balade agréable le long du fleuve... A recommender

Disliked: Quelques soucis avec l'eau chaude de la douche mais ça a été réparé très vite

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, perfectly close enough to the town center only 15mins walk so lots of peace and quiet at night time as well a chill out time. The staff were amazing, get to know them as they are very sweet. They are also very organised and spoke excellent English and helped organized many activities for us. The food was great particularly the Chinese dishes and reasonably priced. The rooms and hostel were always kept very clean.

Disliked: The western breakfasts were good but some of the western main dishes were not so great, the shepherds pie had no meat filling it was more like a flat potato cake in a shallow dish and the steak would have been good if it wasn't so salty. The bikes you can rent need to be serviced properly as some the brakes didn't work, or the suspension jammed or problem with the gears.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Shearer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good choice for our stay in Yangshuo - facilites and attitude of all staff was excellent as was the food which was well priced. We would highly recomment this hostel; though it is out of the main town, it's well worth the effort of getting there if you like peace and quiet after a day rafting on the river or biking through the villages !!

Disliked: The walk from Yangshuo needs a good LED torch if you are walking back in the dark, and the wet room facility as others we've found around China .....why IS the arrangement laid out so shower water has to circumnavigate the loo to reach the drain ?? !!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Willett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 October 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, great deck, nice view. Staff is really helpful, and the food is good.

Disliked: When they say twenty minute walk from town, they really do mean twenty minute walk through nature and wilderness and darkness... Once I got used to it that wasn't a problem, but I wasn't expecting it to be THAT far away.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicholas Gale

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: You get a great view across the awe-inspiring Yangshuo scenery from the hostel bar and balcony; the staff are helpful and polite (as well as friendly, although it seemed like a slightly more forced friendliness than elsewhere); the beds are comfortable.

Disliked: The hostel is slightly over-priced, as are the tours they run. The small bathroom shared by my dorm smelt constantly and could have been kept cleaner. Not really a complaint, but it's worth noting that the hostel is located twenty minutes' walk from the centre of town in a less developed area, which is in many ways an excellent thing but can be annoying when you want to get cash out or buy food in 34 degree heat.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, stayed there for the 2nd time, a little outside of town so its not too noisy but u can still be in the centre in 10min. Staff is really kind and helpful, I was sick one day and they immediately asked my fellow traveller why I didnt come down for breakfast. Food was good as well and sitting outside on the terrace in the evening and enjoy a beer is just nice!

Disliked: The bicycles could do with a little renewing and some of the windows were a broken but it didnt really matter, self-service laundry would be nice...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is above and beyond friendly/helpful! They gave us great recommendations for daily activities, so we didn't have to strictly follow a guidebook or have everything pre-planned. Also, the patio is nice and breakfast is great.

Disliked: Nothing- loved everything. Travelers should just know that this place is a 15 min walk uphill from town; the hostel rents bikes which is a great option, but bring a flashlight or headlamp for night walks : )

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area close to Yangshou. Perfect location for bicycle trips around Yangshuo. Nice food. Nice terrace.

Disliked: The cleanliness in the bathroom was not great. The staff was very friendly, but they messed a lot with food orders - especially for breakfast. The staff was openly flirting with young backpackers, and ignoring other guests. Not professional!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Flammang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The property is out of town (15-30 minute walk) in a quiet, yet developing (more houses...a hotel?) area. The rooms were clean and they offer good food. The staff were very helpful in suggesting things to do or with any questions we had. I was traveling alone but connected with another gal in Guilin, so we traveled together as we were both on a 3-day break from work and had similar itineraries. This is a good, quite place to hang out. Too bad we were only staying one night.

Disliked: Some people may not want to walk so 'far' into town but renting a bike at the hostel or elsewhere makes travel a snap. It is dark much of the way to the hostel at night, but I felt safe. Having a headlamp helps. :) I'm not saying these things because I dislike the property, but more of a 'heads up' for everyone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Pavanello Rossi

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 May 2012 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, food and rooms.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel on the outskirts of Yangshuo. We stayed here for 8 nights at the end of April/May. It was the perfect way to see Yangshuo, a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere, helpful staff and great food. If we ever come back to Yangshuo, we will stay here.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Stephen Ryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, beautiful view from the outdoor bar area, lots of services and activities (massage, tai chi, bike rental, bar and restaurant) on offer.

Disliked: Our room was damp and smelt a little of mildew.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIAN PLAINO

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 November 2011 MARIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! First night we have arrived in the evening with our backpacks and we thought it is a little far, but then we have realised it is not so far and also it is very quiet! The room and the service had proved to be excellent, not to mention the food that we have enjoyed a lot!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location out of the town. However I stayed at the new cozy hostel and village retreat part of Trippers which had new facilities and the best staff I have met Inc china. Especially Feya on reception.

Disliked: they use a sign to say you have to switch the electrical outlets on with the switch above the bed, would save time and energy thinking the sockets were broken.