HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Yangshuo 11 Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.11 Lianfeng Lane, Yangshuo, China 541900

91.3% Overall Rating

136 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

"Spacious and comfortable rooms with a great view of the surrounding town and countryside"

Read all Yangshuo 11 Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Yangshuo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Yangshuo

No Kidd Inn
5.67 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 127 reviews
Morning breeze Inn
6.48 USD

Hostel 77.9% 27 reviews
The Cosy Garden
10.53 USD

Hostel 97.7% 5 reviews
Yangshuo Tai He Zhi Hostel
13.44 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Showbiz Inn at West Street
4.86 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 183 reviews
Yang Shuo Senior Leader International Youth Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 85.1% 66 reviews
Charming Inn
6.48 USD

Hostel 89.0% 29 reviews
Climbers Inn
5.67 USD

Hostel 88.4% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

136 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Yangshuo 11 Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 138 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and comfortable rooms with a great view of the surrounding town and countryside

Disliked: Better drainage in the shower could have been a bit better

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Krzysztof Dopierala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop with great views, cosy common space downstairs.

Disliked: Krzysztof left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariia Savitckaia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Mariia would recommend this property

Liked: great location and great view from the rooftop nice cozy area downstairs, where you can meet and talk with many other nice travellers staff is very friendly

Disliked: rooms are a little bit too small and the view from private twin room is just a roof of other building..so do not pay for the view

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great. Right off west street and close to the river. The staff are incredibly helpful. We ended up staying three extra nights and they helped us with everything. There were twenty of us, plus some friends at the same hostel. It was so much fun. We love Ken and Yona too!!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brittany Munkres

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2013 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: They were so friendly and the location was so close to everything! Sucks great atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Brittany left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kaya hartley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 kaya would recommend this property

Liked: It's beautiful! So clean and nice

Disliked: Nothing it was perfect

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013

Liked: Most of the staff were friendly. The location was ok. The roof top had a nice view, though that's true of most hostels in that area. (Showbiz inn, monkey janes, mojo, etc). Travelling alone for this leg of the trip so let the below issues slide, but would've been deeply embarrassed if I'd booked this place for anyone else.

Disliked: The most unpleasant thing about this hostel is the masturbating receptionist. Came downstairs at 7.30am to find the receptionist not behind the reception desk, but instead on the public computer in the lobby, looking at porn and masturbating vigorously. Gave him a loud 'good morning' (in mandarin) at which point he looked at me, said nothing and returned to the task at hand...so to speak. Then a girl came down to the lobby, tried to warn her not to look, but she unfortunately saw him going for it as well. Told the day manager about this and he was shocked but did nothing about it. He did check the security footage - there is a camera pointed straight at the computer - and confirmed what we saw, but said the guy was a volunteer so they couldn't afford to fire him. In fact, the topic was so awkward, he didn't even addressed it with the guy, the manager is really nice, so I can see him struggling with this kind of situation. So if you don't plan on waking up before 8 or you're down with the receptionist masturbating in front of you, then give 11 hostel a look in. If you do stay there though, don't shake his hand, there's no soap in any of the bathrooms, so that hand has not been washed. Other things to note: Western style (seated) toilets Shower and toilet are one room (they take bath-room literally as a room that is a bath. Standard for cheap accom in china though) Ant infestation on the fifth floor The kid who works there took a nap in my bed after working on the aircon (according to one of the room mates who was there at the time) Bathrooms (shower toilets) are filthy and too few + once someone has a shower that toilet becomes so wet good luck using it for a few hours. Received some inaccurate information when seeking advice on how to get to one of the activities they sold me tickets for.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rohini Talwar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Rohini would recommend this property

Liked: Cute hostel. Staff very friendly. Offer much cheaper tickets for some attractions like the caves. A little tricky to find but right in the quaint downtown area.

Disliked: Rohini left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Lawrence

As a family with children

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: It's position. Friendly staff .

Disliked: Small common area but I did not go to spend all my time there so it was adequate . Otherwise no problem

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tim Crouch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel with incredibly friendly staff (Ken and Susy!), in a great location but where it's easily quiet enough to sleep. Free laundry services, borrow an umbrella when it rains, rooftop, etc. - everything that you need! I'd definitely return.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margot van den Bergh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Margot would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of those hostels where you just feel completely at home - the staff is very friendly, patient and efficient in answering all your enquiries and helping you to make other bookings etc. The location is ideal - a few minutes walk from the bus station and right at the most popular street in town and a minute's walk from the river. The hostel itself is clean with a very warm and homely atmosphere - big screen with 100s of dvds available, huge comfy couches, water dispenser (very much appreciated in China) and foosball table. Also the view from the top is amazing and it is very easy to meet people due to its size and the way the reception area/tv room is laid out! Lastly a very important point for travellers to consider - there is a washing machine free for you to use!

Disliked: Margot left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Coreen Sauriol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Coreen would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was easy to find, in a great location, offered lots of activities, and were really friendly. The manager went out of his way to help me with everything I wanted. It was one of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: It could use more washrooms. It would be nice if there was more than one free computer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jamie House

Alone

City break

10 June 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location. The rooftop had a nice view. There were a lot of nice travellers staying there. The staff was very friendly and easy-going.

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, amazing roof terrace, rooms are ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good, and has a nice communal area. Roof terrace had beautiful views

Disliked: The 6 person dorm rooms are really cramped. Also I was on the 5th floor which was rather loud due to people using the roof terrace and music from surrounding streets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Vayngrib

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good room with a great view, wifi in the room

Disliked: it's a bit humid in Guilin and the sheets can get a little damp and smelly after a day or two

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner and his family were really nice and friendly! the experience living here was unforgettable!! highly recommended

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Areil Larsen

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2013 Areil would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and comfortable and in an excellent location. I was really surprised attue quality of our stay for the amount of money we paid (it was so cheap). The staff was super great! The owner is so friendly and so helpful. We got him to play the game spoons with us one night and it was a blast. We had so much fun at this hostel and apparently they liked us, too, because our picture ended up on the wall.

Disliked: The stay was great. I have no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe place, great location, nice roof-top balcony, and friendly & helpful bilingual staff. There's always someone at the front desk 24 hours/day; and we can also leave our luggage prior to check-in, and after check-out.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JA PEI LEE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 JA PEI would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is very friendly and helpful, made us feel like home. Great location, just behind the main tourist street (West Street) hence cutting down the noise from pubs. Love the roof top view! Perfect choice! Will definitely visit again!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and roof terrace (nice that it hadn't been turned into a bar like some of the others).

Disliked: Our room was far too small for 6 beds - probably the most cramped hostel room I have ever stayed in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rui Lopes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: Staff definitively!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Just off West St, close to action but quiet enough to rest. Great lobby with loads of DVDs, free water fountain, individual bed stand light and powerpoint, great rooftop (pity no one really hangs out up the top)

Disliked: Dorm rooms were small, lockers only provided on second floor in shared room. Not enough bathrooms either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very accommodating; roof view spectacular; free laundry; clean room; bed was super comfy!

Disliked: We reserved two rooms, one of them on the 5th floor had a spectacular view, the other on the 3rd floor was about 1 meter away from the building next door, window-to-window. My only complaint is that I didn't want to climb to the 5th floor with all my luggage and ended up in a room without a view.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no tv in room