We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping., Yangshuo, China 541906

92.3% Overall Rating

160 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/10/2014)

Sally Marsh thinks…

"I loved the atmosphere- the hostel put on American movies in the lobby area during the nights we were there which made for awesome movie nights! The stone fired pizza was really great, although I…"

Read all Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Yangshuo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Yangshuo

Xingping Our Inn
9.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Yangshuo Xingping Southway Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Stone Bridge - Home Sweet Home in the Valley
6.50 USD

Apartment 96.5% 38 reviews
Trippers Carpe Diem
5.69 USD

Hostel 93.3% 78 reviews
Climbers Inn
5.69 USD

Hostel 89.6% 23 reviews
Beautiful Hutong
5.69 USD

Hotel 89.3% 4 reviews
Monkey Jane's Roof Top Bar & Guesthouse 背包客栈
5.69 USD

Hostel 83.2% 19 reviews
Yang Shuo Senior Leader International Youth Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 84.6% 67 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

160 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 162 of 165 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sally Marsh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2014 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere- the hostel put on American movies in the lobby area during the nights we were there which made for awesome movie nights! The stone fired pizza was really great, although I wish it was cheaper. I am a fan of cheap, good meals- there wasn't much by way of street food/night market food anywhere nearby the hostel, so we ended up paying lots at surrounding restaurants, and for the pizza. The hikes and scenery around the hostel were great, there are lots of short hiking trails that were fun to explore. Overall though it was very decently priced, and only cost 7 yuan to get from Yangshuo South bus station to Xingping.

Disliked: The location wasn't as great as I had anticipated. Not a lot happening in the city. The dorms were a little grim with awful lighting. Beware of the plethora of ladies outside the hostel asking, "Hello! Bamboo?" everytime you leave the hostel ;)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location by the Li river.

Disliked: 6 bed dorm was a little damp

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the downtown of Xingping. Convenient to get around. The travel tips they provide were helpful. The staffs treated the guests like friends. It was the hostel I like the most in China.

Disliked: The female dorm I stayed was really small.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Ni Mhairtin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and common area withy tasty pizza. Hair dryer in common shower area was a nice touch!

Disliked: Damp smell in the dorm room. Also a bad smell from,the common squat toilet - especially when the door was left open (which happened quite often)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel in one of the most beautiful areas in China. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the view from the rooftop was amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the roof was beautiful. the staff were helpful and personable, the room was hotel-quality (big, bright, and immaculately clean), the information for self-guided hikes were clear, and said hikes were steps away from the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. The only thing is their profile on HostelBookers indicates an 8:30am check-in time, which seemed generous, and then we were unable to check in until 1pm, when the previous guests checked out at noon. No big deal.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and clean rooms. Cafe/restaurant variety. Advice on hiking and ways to spend your stay.

Disliked: Noisy at times.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Whelan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the hostel is clean and spacious, the staff are super helpful and friendly and there is lots of information to help you plan your trip.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Astrid Heinemeier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014

Liked: Very cozy, great atmosphere! Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing negative to add

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfy beds and the dorm room in general i stayed in was very clean and new, bathroom contained in the room was spotless( ask for a room in the new wing). Delicious pizza on offer in the common area. The view from the rooftop terrace is spectacular.

Disliked: It would be nice to be able to have breakfast in the hostel, all thats available is pizza after 12pm. When i stayed it was very quiet and the atmosphere was lacking somewhat, I didnt find it great for meeting other travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff with great English, stayed in a three bed dorm, comfortable beds, nicely decorated. Room can get a little cold un winter, but room is equipped with AC and warm blankets are provided. Hostel is 50m from the Li River and has great atmosphere, would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Sometimes no toilet paper in the shared facilities.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pui Yee Leung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Pui Yee would recommend this property

Liked: At first, I booked a 4-bed dorm with private bathroom. When I arrived the room, I found that the "wall" of bathroom was made with frosted glass and there was a small gap between the bathroom door and the glass. If you are staying with friends with same sex in the room, it will be fine. However, there was already a guy staying in the room, it's inconvenience and embarrassing for me to stay. Therefore, I changed to a 3-bed dorm without bathroom, it's still very nice.

Disliked: Pui Yee left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly, helpful staff were full of ideas about things to do, the hostel was cosy and clean, the pizzas were tasty, free lockers, lovely warm shower, and the rooftop terrace had great views. Easy to meet people, felt very safe. Great value for money, plus a discount if you're a member of YHA.

Disliked: The internet was a bit patchy, not suitable for Skype, but it was throughout the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian Mounsey

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good, staff are very helpful with good English. Many other travellers stay here so you can hear about places to visit and things others enjoyed.

Disliked: I have no dislikes

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique style and character, location, roof top terrace and breakfast terrace, pizza oven

Disliked: Dorms in the old building have a bit of a smell, also they are not exactly spacious and could be cleaner. Especially the mattrasses, pillows and blankets (not the sheets) are very dirty and should be removed. I hear, that the dorms in the new building are excellent, though, also, staying in one of those old dorms is, I must say, quite an experience of its own.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Harvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I love with this place. Best hostel and destination I have stayed at in my six weeks in China. So much to do, helpful staff, amazing views from the roof top, and delicious pizza.

Disliked: The roof or air con had leaked in my room and one of the beds was sopping wet. It smelt very strong of mildew. The other side of the building is new and looks a lot better, just so long as you do not have this room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel to relax some days away from the big cities in China. It's in a small old village, but there are so many things you can do. I recommend the Rafting trip, its so much fun!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Taylor

Alone

City break

07 October 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff, great atmosphere and amazing location! I will definitely recommend this hostel

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Some of the offered activities' description was misleading.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Florian Perrinjaquet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and view, very helpful staff, good atmosphere, great room and cheap beer

Disliked: Florian left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joost Molenaar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Joost would recommend this property

Liked: Watching movies on the big screen!

Disliked: Promoting other restaurants at the old street, because there are a lot of very good restaurants.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff,good location, great atmosphere, the common area is nice to socialize and watching moving at nigths

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only relaxing place we stayed in China

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bettina Storck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Bettina would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place, perfect service, perfect experience!

Disliked: Bettina left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

cedric reculé

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 cedric would recommend this property

Liked: The woodfired pizza is delicious! We stayed in a double mountain view, and the bathroom was excellent (great shower). They also have a very nice rooftop terrace with a great view on the river Li.

Disliked: Some staff members weren't so helpful (especially the ones who didn't speak english that well). The bicycles we rented weren't in good shape. Also, the bike tour they promote at the hostel isn't worth the money. We stayed in the new building and were not able to get internet in our room.

The property's response is...