HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel Yangshuo Hostel

No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping, Yangshuo, China

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 92%

Location 93%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Yangshuo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 92%

Location 93%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: very helpful and great location

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere and a really cute place

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Perfect location with roof terrace looking out over the river and mountains! The rooms were beautiful and romantic with views of the peaks. Staff were honest and very helpful. Food was great too.

Disliked: Only negative comment is that the tours were on the expensive side. But he hored some bikes from them and did our own exploring. You can also climb some of the peaks yourself so no need to worry if you are on a budget.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, amazing staff

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was great and the staff was wonderful. And they had woodfired Pizza.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the pizza of course. It was a really relaxing place to spend the weekend, it was a really quiet area too.

Disliked: Outside of the window that was supposed to be a mountain view there were some quite unattractive buildings.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere they create was my favorite quality of This Old Place aside from its location.

Disliked: Everything was above expectations.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: value for money - very cheap.

Disliked: Staff couldn't always answer our questions. They came across a bit clueless. The cafe owned by the hostel did not open for breakfast.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: ....

Disliked: ...

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the atmosphere- the hostel put on American movies in the lobby area during the nights we were there which made for awesome movie nights! The stone fired pizza was really great, although I wish it was cheaper. I am a fan of cheap, good meals- there wasn't much by way of street food/night market food anywhere nearby the hostel, so we ended up paying lots at surrounding restaurants, and for the pizza. The hikes and scenery around the hostel were great, there are lots of short hiking trails that were fun to explore. Overall though it was very decently priced, and only cost 7 yuan to get from Yangshuo South bus station to Xingping.

Disliked: The location wasn't as great as I had anticipated. Not a lot happening in the city. The dorms were a little grim with awful lighting. Beware of the plethora of ladies outside the hostel asking, "Hello! Bamboo?" everytime you leave the hostel ;)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability