HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Xining hostels

Reviews of Lete Youth Hostel

Hostel | 16th Floor 5# Building, Building International Village, Jiancai Street Xining, China 810000

79.7% Overall Rating

43 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/12/2013)

"We booked a double room and were upgraded for free (without asking) as the staff said the booked room would be too cold. The apartment we stayed in was certainly warm. The room had a small kitchen, washing machine,…"

Read all Lete Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Xining?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

43 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lete Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caroline Buttet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and nice living room! I would really recommend it.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double room and were upgraded for free (without asking) as the staff said the booked room would be too cold. The apartment we stayed in was certainly warm. The room had a small kitchen, washing machine, large corner sofa and TV so we didn't really need or use the shared facilities. The location was fine and several staff members spoke good English. We couldn't get the shower to work (and realised too late at night to get help from the staff) but the water from the tap in the basin was hot.

Disliked: As above we had trouble with the shower. Otherwise the only complaint would be that the room could have done with a better clean. The bathroom and sheets were ok but the kitchen was a bit grubby and the floor quite dusty with rubbish under the sofa.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, nice room, English speaking host, service, nice backpacker atmosphere, facilities and shops nearby

Disliked: The room is nice but good be tidier. Same for the bathroom

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hang out areas, short walk into town.

Disliked: Hard to find, the directions are misleading. Shower less than amazing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ka yan chan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 ka yan would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is nice

Disliked: There is only 1 toilet at 1 floor!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, room was a good size.

Disliked: The shower took a long time to heat up. I thought the cafe food was a bit expensive, but the pizza did taste really good!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seating areas were nice.

Disliked: Noise carried easily throughout the hostel. Showers and toilet areas weren't very clean in comparison to other Chinese hostels of the same price. Our standard room was just bunk beds in a small room, the twins looked nice though. Food wasn't particularly good. Hard to find from their directions. When you get off the bus keep on walking in the same direction the bus was travelling (south-ish). Take a right on the next big road and from their you can use their directions.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private room, good facilities, lots of common areas - would be excellent for a group

Disliked: Only two complaints, both minor - hot water kettle was not clean - wish there was clearer communication about adding on breakfast option (at discount?)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Aurélien Massieu

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Aurélien would recommend this property

Liked: One woman from the staff was very helpful and spoke Good English. Our room was spacious and comfortable regarding the Price we paid.

Disliked: We slept in a small Apartment, in which the kitchen was dirty and smelly. The shower was leaking and after every shower we took the bathroom was full of water. The air in the room was warm and we did not find out how to regulate the temperature. Last but Not least, being in Xining in a non-touristy period,the activity of the hostel was low, and we could not get any breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff, Hearty western-style breakfast available. Free wi-fi. Great view of the city but 2 or 3 km away from the crowded, commercial district. Close to authentic Tibetan, Hui and Chinese restaurants. Easy access to taxis and city bus lines.

Disliked: Night manager didn't speak English and our Chinese is quite basic, so some questions had to be saved until morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, great TV room and other rooms to chill out in. Pool table and great views from the top floor.

Disliked: The directions given to get the hostel were not very good/accurate

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yana Gorbovskikh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Yana would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Nice and central, if somewhat confusing, location: make sure to have a good map of the area to be able to find your way back if you are returning late. A very spacious room and bathroom. The view from the window is unbeatable. A nice little souvenir corner selling beautiful creations of Amdo Craft project.

Disliked: Yana left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is nice and relaxed, he staff is helpful, the cafe is cozy and has great Western food. I enjoyed my stay a lot.

Disliked: The bathroom never seemed to be very clean despite being cleaned every day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people, helpful, looking in any case and situation for solutions. We come again and can highly recommand it.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, a natural hangout for travallers. Laundry, free pool table, free wifi, free water and nice common areas are available. General cleanliness and hot water are not an issue. The on-site restaurant serves what might be the best pizza in China. At 50Y the single rooms are great value.

Disliked: Beds are hard and getting to the hostel involves climbing a one-storey staircase. The location is a bit far away from the center of town and the train station, but there are a few nice dining options within walking distance

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

kotaro ono

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 kotaro would recommend this property

Liked: very kindness staff. And we can use hot shower all the time. They have very large and comfatble common space.Very good hostel for this value.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Babbage

Alone

City break

30 April 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place with lots of socialing space, a pool table etc, not too far from the centre, also sells pizza and other food which is great!

Disliked: The curtains were a little thin!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good communal areas - roof top, TV room etc.

Disliked: The showers weren't always hot, the bathrooms/toilets whilst really clean are a little run down. Charging 10 Yuan to use the kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place to stay

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011

Liked: staff were nice and pleasant and they speak english well

Disliked: it was too noisy for an early to bed feller like me. both peple and traffic

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People there were cool. Had lots of fun!

Disliked: The beds were REALLY hard

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Friedrich Vavra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Friedrich would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar and pool table are a great addition and the breakfasts are great value.

Disliked: there seems to be a lack of interest in getting travellers to hang out. there is a lack of travelling vibe about the place

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable

Disliked: The staff was not friendly at all, she told us the cab fare to the train station was 60RMB when in fact it was only 15RMB.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place. The on-site cafe is a meeting place for local foreign residents. A good place to make connections.

Disliked: No problems


See all Xining hostels