HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Xian hostels

Reviews of Xian Qixian (7 Sages) Youth Hostel

Hostel | Cortyard 5 of QiXianZhuang, NO.1, BeiXin street, Xian, China 710004

91.7% Overall Rating

255 out of 276 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

Judith van de Bovenkamp thinks…

"Beautiful hostel situated in a traditional courtyard. The (double) rooms are clean and equipped with basic tools incluing slippers, glasses, a water boiler and towels. The beds are very comfortable…"

Read all Xian Qixian (7 Sages) Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Xian?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Xian

Silkroad Hotel( Tian Shun)
21.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ancient City youth hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 92.5% 8 reviews
Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 88.6% 497 reviews
Han Tang Inn
7.28 USD

Hostel 94.3% 587 reviews
Xian ShuYuan International Youth Hostel
6.47 USD

Hostel 92.1% 507 reviews
Han Tang Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 91.2% 140 reviews
Sino Pearl Hotel
29.12 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Xi'an Your Tour International Youth Hostel
6.47 USD

Hostel 77.1% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

255 out of 276 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Xian Qixian (7 Sages) Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 234 of 254 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Architecture was very Chinese, with the traditional courtyards and arches

Disliked: Hollywood Movies playing in common area took away from the traditional/chinese feel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Allan Jeffrey PLATE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Allan Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything accept the WiFi .

Disliked: WiFi only avaiable in the common areas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith van de Bovenkamp

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2013 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel situated in a traditional courtyard. The (double) rooms are clean and equipped with basic tools incluing slippers, glasses, a water boiler and towels. The beds are very comfortable and I like how you have your own room in the courtyard. Very good value for money. The common areas are nicely decorated and give a comfy feel. The common space inside has a traditional stove which makes the room very comforable and warm. Free books to read and regular movie nights and other activities. Conveniently located near the train station and at walking distance from the city centre.

Disliked: The 'western' food is obviously Chinese-style western food, but it is sufficient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, close to the old city wall, railway station and buses to the Terracotta Warriors. In house restaurant and bar was great. I loved the courtyard style layout and the common areas were you you could sit and enjoy the peaceful setting.

Disliked: nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is nice! You're in your own hutong with all the little houses/rooms. Very nice and quiet. The rooms were quite small but clean. Hot water at any time. Boiling water for tea/ coffee available or water boiler in the private rooms. Nice bar and nice outside sitting facilities although I can imagine that it might be a bit cold there during winter time especially in the dormrooms when you have to walk through the yard to shower. But all nice and clean! Pretty close to the train station and the city wall. Nice environment with little food streets and shops...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Callum Mackie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Stunning location, very nice rooms.

Disliked: Callum left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sinead flannery

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 sinead would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, friendly people comfy bed, great staff and so close to station

Disliked: food was ok. Not fantastic

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PINGSHEN CHANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 PINGSHEN would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is fine!

Disliked: If wifi could be used in bedroom would be better!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Because a lot of people used this hostel, the facilities were a bit worn-out. Deposit for towel. Not enough western toilets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most beautiful hostel i've ever seen!

Disliked: Our dormitorys (on the second night) were located between the restrooms and the showers... You can imagine how noisy it was all night long... Mind to get another room!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi in common areas, beautiful historic property

Disliked: The food is honestly terrible. What is served is not what is on the menu. For example if you order muesli- you instead get yogurt with watermelon. If you order a Ceasear salad- you instead get a salad with bacon and fried chicken. It's a bit bizarre. My boyfriend would also suggest the the mystery meat labeled ham be avoided at all costs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Cairns

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013

Liked: Very helpful staff, wonderful atmosphere in a quiet part of town, within walking distance of the main railway station,, very clean with a good restaurant/cafe, especially their Chinese food. really good value.

Disliked: A little far away from the main sites but still close to bus routes. Good walking distance to main sites in the cooler months.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I stayed so far in China! Great atmosphere, located in a nice , scenic courtyard house. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Good location, within walking distance to the main train station and bus terminal to the terra cotta warriors and Hua shan. The single room was very nice and clean, only a bit small. The rental bikes are a bit old and crapy, but cheap and they almost have some old school style. And okay to get around in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is an ancient chinese building, the patios are really lovely, you feel you are in real China. Very close from downtown. Single and double room are full equipped. I loved it, thank you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonia Koperdanova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, very helpful

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ana Lopes

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The place itself is fantastic, with a great area outside with seats. The rooms are very good.

Disliked: Lack of storage in the room - no shelves nor a small cabinet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really nice stay in a shared dormitory. Staff were fairly helpful, not always there to answer our questions or willing to talk to us, but the hostel itself is beautiful. Really lovely courtyards. Showers were hot and we were able to keep our baggage in their luggage room after we had checked out.

Disliked: The map is really misleading. We went on a bit of a trek to find the hostel and we got lost a few times. There is a much easier route that we found that was quicker from the train station. Also, the bikes they offered us to use were dreadful, so we didn't use them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the common room, was warm & inviting, along with oriental feel, also quite closer to the station.

Disliked: i disliked instructions given toi find hostel it was a little difficult to follow at the street names a similar yto ones given but not exact.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013

Liked: The atmosphere is cool. No complaints in the aesthetics department.

Disliked: To be honest, I have never met such unfriendly and low-quality hostel workers. Several times when I went to the front desk, the worker had a miserable look on his or her face and my questions were answered in short responses that reflected indifference. Also, each time I wanted to order food, I had to go and get menus, select my items, and then go back to the counter and wait for someone to eventually help me. In addition, there was a sewer smell outside of my dorm room, and it smelled like cat urine inside of my room. My dorm mates were young Chinese females, and one of them had her underwear handing from one of the coat hangers. It was there the full two days that I stayed in the room. I'm a laid-back person, so for me to leave a review like this reflects how upset I really was with the service at this hostel. This is the first place I've stayed that I would not recommend to other travelers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has got to be one on the most modern and cleanest I have stayed in. Very modern, private rooms are more like little hotel room. Food is good and drinks reasonably priced. Bar is cosy and warm all the time, staff good with English. Really enjoyed stay here...

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was warm and thoughtful. I very much appreciated the small celebration they hosted on Christmas Eve.

Disliked: Bathroom smelled like mildrew.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and clean room. Shower separated from the rest of the bathroom. Wonderful shower! Clean public areas and good atmosphere. The staff at the reception was very nice. One of the best hostels we stayed in!

Disliked: The pizza was not that good. The tour to the terracotta warriors and banpo village was not good at all. It was like a promotional tour. He rusehd us through banpo village, brought us to some terracotta factory, where a sales lady gave us a tour and offered us different souvenirs to buy. When we finally arrived at the terracotta warriors, our tour guide put us into a souvenir shop, so he could get the tickets. A sales lady jumped on us and tried to sell us some sovenirs. When our tour guide came back, she told him in chinese that we were too young and thus not interested in buying souvenirs...so I guess he has got a deal with the shop?! He stopped being friendly afterwards. After the warriors we went to some tomb, which was closed so you could just take a walk in a park. Our last stop was a "restaurant", where they offered paintings to the customers. Don't book the tour!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ni XIAO

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Ni would recommend this property

Liked: security and safety and beauty of the hostel

Disliked: the toilet was not cleaned as soon as possible

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jasdeep Rajan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2012 Jasdeep would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty central to most things.

Disliked: The washrooms and showers were a bit inconvenient.


See all Xian hostels