HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Xiamen hostels

Reviews of Xiamen Gulangyu International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.18 Luqiao Road, Gulangyu Island, Xiamen, China 361000

85.8% Overall Rating

31 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2012)

"Emplacement idéal à deux pas du ferry, cadre agréable, réception serviable et sympathique, dortoirs corrects"

Read all Xiamen Gulangyu International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.29
  • Towel USD 0.65

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Xiamen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Xiamen

June Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 85.1% 13 reviews
Antelope Inn
12.94 USD

Hotel 90.7% 15 reviews
Baijiacun International Youth Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 79.9% 67 reviews
Xiamen Old Town Youth Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 80.1% 21 reviews
Lody Inn
1,035,581.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Xiamen Wall Inn
36.89 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mola Mola Hostel
6.15 USD

Hostel 71.0% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

31 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Xiamen Gulangyu International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Emplacement idéal à deux pas du ferry, cadre agréable, réception serviable et sympathique, dortoirs corrects

Disliked: Pas de petit déjeuner, pas de changement de drap

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2012

Liked: It's very close to the ferry, so it's convenient travelling between Xiamen Island and Gulangyu. Nice staff.

Disliked: There are lots of mosquito in the first night I stayed there, so I didn't sleep well. In the second night, it's OK because the mosquito coil worked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is conveniently located near the ferry. The staff are helpful and the general feel of the place is good. In comparison to other accommodation options on Gulangyu, this hostel is significantly cheaper.

Disliked: It is a bit dark in the rooms and a little dirty.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice general atmosphere, cozy bar, free amenities, helpful staff

Disliked: The 6-bed dorm I was in was woefully small, barely enough space to put your luggage. The toilet didn't have functioning lightbulbs, you can see how that would be a problem at night. The location isn't great by itself but a bus stop closeby can bring you downtown for 1 yuan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a nice scenery, great terrace to sit outside in the evenings, spacy dorms

Disliked: Staff a little confused when we arrived and didn' t find our reservation first. Hostel is a bit difficult to find because the description how to find it is not too precise

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2010 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming place, staff are so helpful and location is great.

Disliked: not so comfy beds..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Heaps of outdoor common room - great to relax and/ or down a few frosties and chat. Good location near the ferry terminal, plenty of restaurants etc and short walk to the beach. Relatively cheap as well

Disliked: Impossible to find, as it's located on the most confusing street in the world - which is actually a heap of different streets all with the same name! Some found it right away but many like me walked around half the island before stumbling across it

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian Klepacz

01 February 2010 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and good place to stay

Disliked: Sebastian left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

24 November 2009

Liked: This hostel has the worst beds of any I've stayed in the past few months. They shake and make noise when you move on the upper bunk, are hard and lumpy. I haven't had probs elsewhere. I like hard beds normally. The bigger dorms are not good because of the layout and the toilets, (the shower is in the toilet (literally on top). The dorms are also mixed which is another hassle. Advise the small 4 bed dorms here and the bottom bunk if you're staying. They're fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karl Haussteiner

10 November 2009 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: good location, big common area

Disliked: Karl left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dan Schou

16 September 2009 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good doggy

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its good place to stay while visiting gulangyu

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Hawes

18 May 2009 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: awesome lovely place

Disliked: Naomi left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

penny johnston

14 April 2009 penny would recommend this property

Liked: Nice outdoor garden with chairs, hammock, and large spaces to sit down. I found though the staff were not aware of things to see and do on the island, nor in Xiamen and not that helpful. The staff also like to sit and watch tv and lounge with the hostellers because they feel it is their home.

Disliked: penny left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mara Maass

10 April 2008 Mara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very nice building, very helpful staff

Disliked: Mara left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff who went out of their way to help me. Peaceful and atmospheric location. A friendly dog and many adorable and clean (!!) cats. This hostel may not be ideal for the allergic to cats crowd or the party crowd, but is great for those looking for relaxation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Good location 2. Friendly & helpful staff 3. Nice and clean place 4. Good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AH CHEE HUI

11 March 2008 AH CHEE would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good service provided

Disliked: AH CHEE left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace to relax in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt toy

18 February 2008 matt would recommend this property

Liked: I liked a lot of things. I didn't like the fact that they kept the doors open, as it was freezing cold, or that it is also a 'sight' on the island, so during chinese holidays it has tourists wandering thru, being nosy and noisy! Still, a good all round hostel...

Disliked: matt left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ashley davies

23 November 2007 ashley would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived at Xiamen late at night and found out that i could not change any money, this was a problem as my visa card was not working at the ATM and i had no Chinese money at all. After a while of panic i managed to get the airport staff to ring the hostel to tell them my problem. In order to help me out a member of staff...on her day off! travelled over from the island to meet me at the ferry port and pay my taxi, furhermore when we arrived at hostel she took me out for something to eat and even got me an apple on the way home! All of this to help me out even though it was so late and was her day off! The service off the staff to stay the least is fantastic, and my stay here was extremely enjoyable, so much so i extended my stay.My room was clean and quiet, and i even had a plasma screan in the lounge and a big sofa, this was shared with the other room however. The island and the Hostel are a must, especially if you are visiting Xiamen.

Disliked: ashley left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jaap Hofland

05 November 2007 Jaap would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, and you can sit outside.

Disliked: Jaap left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 August 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: silent, familiar athmospherelocation

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurence Birch

11 May 2007 Laurence would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are lovely... so friendly, accommodating and helpful.. it´s difficult not to rave about them loud or long enough! Nice setting too.

Disliked: Laurence left no negative feedback.


See all Xiamen hostels