We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Xiamen hostels

Reviews of June Hostel

Hostel | No.475 ZengCuoAn, Siming district, Xiamen city, Fujian province Xiamen, China 361000

85.1% Overall Rating

11 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2014)

"Staff friendly & helpful. Tastefully furnished. 2 cute cats. Near lively Zeng Cuo An where you can wander & buy seafood, fruit, souvenirs etc., yet peaceful. Easy to get to beach, & buses anywhere e.g. airport. I really…"

Read all June Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Xiamen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Xiamen

Antelope Inn
12.99 USD

Hotel 91.1% 18 reviews
Baijiacun International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 80.8% 72 reviews
Xiamen Old Town Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 80.8% 22 reviews
Lody Inn
1,039,568.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Xiamen Wall Inn
37.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mola Mola Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 71.0% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

11 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'June Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
83.1%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
83.1%
Staff
92.3%
Value
86.2%
Safety
90.8%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly & helpful. Tastefully furnished. 2 cute cats. Near lively Zeng Cuo An where you can wander & buy seafood, fruit, souvenirs etc., yet peaceful. Easy to get to beach, & buses anywhere e.g. airport. I really enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, but would offer the following advice: get a taxi there, or if you go by bus, phone the owner who will come & get you, it isn't easy to find. I was happy with my dorm bed, but if your luggage won't fit under a bed, you may be better with a private room. You can get instant noodles, biscuits & Chinese breakfast nearby, but if you want coffee or bread early, better to bring it. There aren't a lot of grocery shops nearby, but there is hot water available .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooftop Terrasse.

Disliked: Very loud from the street.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. They helped us to organise transportation to the railway station north.

Disliked: If you stay in the shared room with shared bathroom, there is only one bathroom including shower and toilet. Sometimes we had to wait, but all in all, it was no problem.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jie LIU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 July 2013

Liked: The area is nice, though the hostel is at the far end of a narrow street, it takes ages to find it.

Disliked: The stuff is dishonest and very unhelpful. Very bad attitude.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013

Liked: The hostess and owner were helpful once we made it clear what we needed. The two resident cats.Access to a refrigerator.

Disliked: Very hard beds - we've slept on Chinese beds before but these were unusually hard.. No toilet paper, no mugs, no towels, no hangers, no hooks or lines on which to hang clothes. The table in the room was so small as to be almost useless.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alejandra Vasquez Delama

Alone

Events / festivals

13 February 2013 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a very nice neighborhood with plenty of nice cafes, small stores and restaurants ... yet the area where June hostel is located is quiet at night, so it is a very good place for having a nice rest.

Disliked: It might be a little difficult to find, so you need to have all the details and a map.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

yaojun fang

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

28 August 2012 yaojun would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great, in the middle of vallauge, many cute shops and restaurants around... also walking distance to the best beaches

Disliked: they need to clean the room more often...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Hatfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you could possibly need is more than available. If you're not a stuck up prick then you'll love it. The staff are also all so great.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephen Lovejoy

Alone

City break

07 April 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property with plenty of character, close to the beach and in a cool part of the city with lots of nice restaurants and bars. The staff were great, in particular Chantal. She speaks great English and is quite possibly the most helpful hostel owner I've ever experienced. My Chinese isn't very good, so normally travelling in China comes with a lot of stress and difficulty. But Chantal spoke to my taxi driver when I arrived to direct him to the hostel, showed me good places to eat every night, told me which buses to catch to go where, booked me a place on a tour to see the Tulou (highly recommended), booked my train ticket back to Shanghai for me, and even went with me to the bus stop when I left to make sure I got on the right bus! What's more I'm 6 foot 3 and when she saw how tall I was she was worried that I wouldn't fit into the dorm room bed, so moved me to one of the double rooms that was available at no extra cost! Great value for money too. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Quite a quiet place, and not a particularly great place for meeting other travellers (particularly other English-speaking ones). Oh, and I wouldn't recommend the dorm room. Had to stay there in my last night, and it's lacking the great character of the other rooms in the hostel and you have to walk upstairs for the bathroom. Plus there are no lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Wessling

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 February 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Chantal is very nice and helpful- it was nice staying there, lovely atmosphere! Most rooms have balcony, and rooms are clean. The location is close to the beach.

Disliked: For winter the room was too cold for me, even though Xiamen is not getting very cold. Most of the rooms have a balcony, but you feel like in a cage when you look outside. The matress is hard and the bothroom can be improved.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Siemen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful stuff, i unfortunatelly came in january so couldn't enjoy the beach which is in 10 min walking distance

Disliked: nothing, have to take a bus to the city center though

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peggy Yau

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 January 2012 Peggy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff Chantal is very kind and helpful. We like the location, very quiet.

Disliked: The hot water boiler's temperature is not enough

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chantal! A very kind and courteous host who will pick you up from the bus stop and personally take you to the hostel. Speaks excellent English - a pretty important quality to have if you don't speak any Mandarin while travelling in China. Property was also very clean and quiet - two things very hard to find in China!

Disliked: It was VERY cold, I guess because it was winter and right across the beach. Could use a heater or two, although the blankets provided in the room were warm. Hot water system a bit bizarre - it heats up to unbearable temperatures in the beginning, and you just have to wait it out until it is body temperature to shower - but then it gets cold and freezing FAST. And no idea how to get it back to hot again or turn it on without help...


See all Xiamen hostels