HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Xiamen hostels

Reviews of Xiamen Old Town Youth Hostel

Hostel | 24 Jiutiao Alley - 九条巷24号, Kaihe Road 开禾路·& Xiahe Road 夏禾, Xiamen, China 336100

80.8% Overall Rating

16 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Matthew Ireland thinks…

"The proprieter is nice, and good to chat to. The location is fantastic, right in the old town and near a lot of food places etc. The hostel is really secure, with electronic locks on the front door.…"

Read all Xiamen Old Town Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Xiamen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Xiamen

Baijiacun International Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 79.2% 71 reviews
June Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 85.1% 13 reviews
Antelope Inn
12.99 USD

Hotel 91.1% 18 reviews
Lody Inn
1,039,568.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Mola Mola Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 71.0% 6 reviews
Xiamen Wall Inn
37.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

16 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Xiamen Old Town Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.4%
Location
92.7%
Facilities
68.2%
Cleanliness
79.1%
Staff
86.4%
Value
78.2%
Safety
84.6%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Ireland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The proprieter is nice, and good to chat to. The location is fantastic, right in the old town and near a lot of food places etc. The hostel is really secure, with electronic locks on the front door. Good view from the roof.

Disliked: Only little lockers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting conversations with the hosts. Very kind people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location amidst labyrinthine alleyways of the old town. Great markets nearby, close to Ferry terminals and the foreshore. The owner is very friendly and kind.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 February 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Leslie Sheets

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location, right in the middle of a very large market. Plus it was a convenient walk to the ferry.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean or fresh.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012

Liked: This place has great character. Old-school place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: Okay, before I list all the dissatisfactions we had about this hostel, let me sugar coat it with some positive features: One, it's conveniently located (about 10 m. walk to the GuLangYu Ferry Port). Two, the owner picked us up when we arrived well past midnight. And three, the hostel offered some good and helpful suggestions about key destinations to visit in Xiamen. But notice that I do not have more than three compliments for this hostel!

Disliked: Now onto the bad features of this hostel: One, even though it was conveniently located to GuLangYu Ferry Ports, the fish market, and some local eateries, BUT it was in a narrow pathway that was dangerous (for two girls) to navigate during the night time. Two, yes, the owner picked us up well past midnight, but she insisted for us to pay her an extra fee when she did not state clearly in hostelbookers that an extra fee (60 RMB) will be charged for post midnight check-ins. But after some back and forths, we did not have to pay for this hidden fee! Third, THERE WAS NO INTERNET for an extended period of TIME. Fourth, this hostel is SEVERELY UNDERSTAFFED; more than half the time, you will not see the owner at the reception desk. Fifth, there are two floors for customers in this hostel. Guess how many common bathrooms there are for its customers? ONE on the first floor. Maybe another one on the second floor? But regardless, one bathroom per floor? For more than two handfuls of people? Sixth, imagine having to store your important luggage in a locker that is well above you that you would need to reach with strain. That was what we had to deal with (for anyone under 5'4'', you would need to stand on a chair to reach the locker). Seventh, screaming child? Loud street noises coming from all angles? Pots clanging against one another all day long (especially in the morning)? Yes, you will surely experience ancient Xiamen if that is the old town feeling you are yearning for. As a result of our multiple dissatisfactions with this hostel, my friend and I checked out after our third night even though we had originally booked this hostel for FIVE nights. Never had I ever been sooooo dissatisfied with a hostel before! If you want a pleasant stay in Xiamen, please do not put yourself in this troublesome situation of living in Xiamen Old Town Youth Hostel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kuo hui chun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 kuo would recommend this property

Liked: noon

Disliked: noon

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012

Liked: Good location, very close to the ferry to go to Gulangyu island

Disliked: it was written on the website that dormitory are mixed, but when we arrived, it wasn't and the guy who was travelling with us had to sleep in a different room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hsiao-chih Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Hsiao-chih would recommend this property

Liked: The bed, for a city that rains often. It smells clean and nice. And the staff is welcoming.

Disliked: Hsiao-chih left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anessa Liew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Anessa would recommend this property

Liked: Hosts knew a lot of local knowledge and encouraged just going out there and exploring (which is the best way to do it even if you're not feeling confident about where you are!). Other people I met there were very friendly and overall, the place had a very homey feel to it.

Disliked: The only thing I'd say would be the slight sewery smell coming from the bathroom drain but I think that's a Xiamen infrastructure thing perhaps rather than the hostel itself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a nice place in Xiamen old town, close to the ferry to the island, close the bus, etc. The people are very nice and friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Owww, errrr, ummm,................ I don't know, nothing maybe!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Beata Ulman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2011 Beata would recommend this property

Liked: it is located in an old part of town near the night market just near to anything really (train station, ferry terminal, pedestrian shopping street, bus stops for further location). We really liked the small maze of alleys that is located in and it is not that difficult to get there at all ;-) Phil and Maggie are great hosts and will make you feel very welcomed for sure. It feels very safe as well.

Disliked: it could do with a bit of makeover and maybe more of a hostel rather than guesthouse feel but rather than that it is a great place to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a typical Chinese home in an authentic Chinese neighbourhood. The place has a relaxing rooftop where you can just relax in the evening and have a beer. The owners are very helpful and friendly. Phil is a laidback guy and has an incredibly broad and accurate knowledge. Also they have an adorable little daughter.

Disliked: The beds are also typical Chinese, i.e. a bit hard to sleep on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyla Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Kyla would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very nice family-run hostel. The staff are very friendly and helpful! The location was perfect, there are lots of cheap places nearby to eat. It is only a 5min walk to the ferry station where you can get a boat across to the beautiful Gulang Yu, also 1min walk to a very convenient and fast bus service, 5 mins by bus to the train station. The area that the hostel is in has lots of character as does the hostel itself. There are lots of winding alley ways which I loved, but it is also very close to a main road. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: There was nothing that I dislikled

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jasen Boko

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Jasen would recommend this property

Liked: Realy friendly Chinese-American couple, ready to answer any question and help in whatever you might need... Home atmosphere and feeling of real life in the heart of the old city... wonderful

Disliked: It's not easy to find in the maze of small alleys but owners are ready to help and pick you up somewhere around...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guy Aust

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: I have to say of all the places I have stayed in China, over the past 4 months, this would be top of the list. It was a real experience in the middle of the old town, and also very central. The location was excellent, with the hubbub of the local market, and an ideal base to explore Xiamen. Phil was an impeccable host, and helped us in every possible way. We arrived on the day of Mid Autumn festival, and we were immediately invited to have dinner with him and his family! We had a great night, looking out over the roof tops of Xiamen, whilst eating our moon cake! Not only did Phil help explain where every thing was, he even, when my friend got lost at 5 in the morning, gladly came out to find him! If I get the chance to visit Xiamen again, I will definitely not be looking around at where to stay, I know where I will be!

Disliked: Having sat here for some time, I honestly can't think of one thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George FM Oosthuizen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 George FM would recommend this property

Liked: AUTHENTIC CHINESE LIVING & LIFESTYLE!! Mingling with locals on the doorstep!! ABSOLUTE value for money!! OWNER (Dr Phil) and his family are amazing people and hosts!! We just loved this place and people!!

Disliked: Nothing - REALLY!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location in a collection of fascinating old backstreets, fairly clean, & the guy who runs it s American so English communication clearly isn't a problem. The rooftop access is also a nice feature, although it is still really hot during summer & you may have to fight your way through the washing.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities are minimal - only 2 in the whole place & these are combined toilets & showers, also the shower pressure is really bad. The security on the main door is good, with 24-hour electronic access, unfortunately apart from a lock on the room doors themselves there is no other security as there are no lockers in the rooms. Also, it is a home as well as a hos tel and this, along with the consequences of the great character of the surrounding streets, mean that it can be quite noisy, especially early in the morning. Overall its a decent place but rather pricey for what you get.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located within the old town

Disliked: thin mattresses...


See all Xiamen hostels