HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of XiaMen Baijiacun International Hostel Xiamen Hostel

Liao Hua Road20#, Xiamen, China

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 67%

Location 87%

Safety 76%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Tub
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.30USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Xiamen?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 67%

Location 87%

Safety 76%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very average

Disliked: I stayed 3 nights in a 4-bed dorm. The room was not directly located in the house, but in a build-on. The room was very messi and the bed was sooo hard, really uncomfortable. There was no towel although the description said so and the lockers were full with some other stuff. I am not really sure, if they really change the sheets, everything seemed pretty used. The door could be opened by anyone via the window, which didn't close properly. The shower was a bit dirty and no aircondition, so the air was really hot in there. The wifi was slow and unstable. The restaurant was nice, but pretty expensive and only a small variete of food. Afterall the worst hostel I've stayed in, but good enough though.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location,

Disliked: No description how to get from North Station to the hostel. If you take a cab it is expensive around 70-80RMB. Bus nr. 950 stop er shi (二市站) is probably closest from north station. You also have to bring your own lock to the safety deposit closets in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Liked: The character of the old building the hostel is in is very interesting and the local street is authentically Chinese. It's relaxing to walk along the street and into Zhongshan park. The staff are helpful and one girl speaks very good English. She can give you any advice that you need about local buses and attractions. Which is very necessary in China. They also have three dogs that live in the hostel and they are very friendly. Great if you are a dog lover. It's a no-hassle experience, pay for your room, leave a deposit and that's you. Just remember to keep the receipt to get your 100 yuan deposit back the next day.

Disliked: The bar/restaurant is slightly expensive but they also have a garden area where you can hang out so that makes up for it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I like the location of this hostel as well as its character and atmosphere. A very pleasant and reliable place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing really

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The shower was sectioned off. They offered toothbrush and paste,small packets of shampoo and conditioner.

Disliked: Room wasn't cleaned when we got back from our day long excursion.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well set up. Big dorm rooms with A/C.Nice social area and yard.

Disliked: Bathroom was dirty. Bring your own toilet paper.Bring your own map of xiamen beforehand. As the staff have no useful maps or advice. The English skills are weak.Get the address of the hostel in Chinese before you arrive. It will make getting here a lot easier.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was located in a relatively quite area of Xiamen, not far from bus stops that serve to many places of interest, notably Xiamen univerisity and the main shooping road, ZhongShan Road.

Disliked: The dormitory room I was sleeping in had a faulty lock. I was told it was going to be replaced the next day, however this wasn't the case, and so we all had to open the slide window in order to extend our arm to the inside door hanlde, disturb someone inside or hope someone was awake inside.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I liked the bar and associated choices to eat. Most of all the owner/bartender was a great person to hang out with. He was friendly and fun an let us select our own music, played games with us and got involved. The atmosphere in the bar at night was fantastic.

Disliked: The girls at the front desk were a little uninviting also we had a group of six people but only could get 1 key card for the room unless we payed an extra 100yuan deposit for each card which was a bit strange.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easy-going atmosphere

Disliked: Damp and a couple of roaches in the room

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are great, amazingly helpful and friendly, they work so hard, and I felt so welcome. Their English is not perfect but they are so willing to help it doesn't matter. One of the girls even showed me around the local area. The hostel location is good, not far from Zhongshan Road shopping street, and the bus routes. The hostel itself it pretty atmospheric, leafy and quiet with nice outdoor seating areas. The dorm rooms are nice, quite large and good solid beds (a little hard but ok). Also, they helped me organise a trip to the Tolou Roundhouses for a reasonable price.

Disliked: The shower/toilet could have done with a little updating, the internet was a little slow. Minor issues though. Also, they have two small dogs and kittens, if you're allergic. Though they mainly stay around the reception area and not near the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions, we will continue to work hard. And welcome to our hostel next time ^_^

Check Availability