We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Xiamen hostels

Reviews of Baijiacun International Youth Hostel

Hostel | LiaoHua road 20, Xiamen, China 361000

79.8% Overall Rating

64 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/08/2014)

Michael Drubetsky thinks…

"I liked the bar and associated choices to eat. Most of all the owner/bartender was a great person to hang out with. He was friendly and fun an let us select our own music, played games with us and…"

Read all Baijiacun International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Xiamen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Xiamen

Xiamen Old Town Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 80.8% 22 reviews
June Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 85.1% 13 reviews
Antelope Inn
12.99 USD

Hotel 91.1% 18 reviews
Lody Inn
1,039,568.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Xiamen Wall Inn
37.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mola Mola Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 71.0% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

64 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Baijiacun International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 65 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Timothy Bird

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Well set up. Big dorm rooms with A/C. Nice social area and yard.

Disliked: Bathroom was dirty. Bring your own toilet paper. Bring your own map of xiamen beforehand. As the staff have no useful maps or advice. The English skills are weak. Get the address of the hostel in Chinese before you arrive. It will make getting here a lot easier.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Drubetsky

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 August 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bar and associated choices to eat. Most of all the owner/bartender was a great person to hang out with. He was friendly and fun an let us select our own music, played games with us and got involved. The atmosphere in the bar at night was fantastic.

Disliked: The girls at the front desk were a little uninviting also we had a group of six people but only could get 1 key card for the room unless we payed an extra 100yuan deposit for each card which was a bit strange.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy-going atmosphere

Disliked: Damp and a couple of roaches in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great, amazingly helpful and friendly, they work so hard, and I felt so welcome. Their English is not perfect but they are so willing to help it doesn't matter. One of the girls even showed me around the local area. The hostel location is good, not far from Zhongshan Road shopping street, and the bus routes. The hostel itself it pretty atmospheric, leafy and quiet with nice outdoor seating areas. The dorm rooms are nice, quite large and good solid beds (a little hard but ok). Also, they helped me organise a trip to the Tolou Roundhouses for a reasonable price.

Disliked: The shower/toilet could have done with a little updating, the internet was a little slow. Minor issues though. Also, they have two small dogs and kittens, if you're allergic. Though they mainly stay around the reception area and not near the rooms.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Martijn Claessen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Martijn would recommend this property

Liked: Potentially a nice hostel, but badly maintained.

Disliked: Location not good. No effort made by staff to improve the bad atmosphere. Dirty and lacking in maintenance of buildings and surroundings.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shu-An Liu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Shu-An would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (near the ferry and ZhongShanLu) and nice staff.

Disliked: The directions on hostelbookers are NOT correct: there is no bus that goes from the airport to the hostel!!!! Also, the cab driver did not know the street thus it was pretty difficult to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ailadi cortelletti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 ailadi would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very nice, nearly bucolic I'd say :) Clean room, big beds, friendly staff, nicely located, silent, with a small garden.

Disliked: Nothing really bothered me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good. easy to reach zhongshan road and the ferry which were the famous tourist destination of this city. The building and facilities are pretty good and the bedding was clean. The staff can speak English and was friendly. I would stay here again .

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

breixo doval

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 breixo would recommend this property

Liked: really confortable

Disliked: some people of the reception tells all the information in the wrong way. is better to don´t ask. really

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2012

Liked: The location was quite central, but a number of taxis didn't know where it was, even though I had the Hostel directions on their printed business card.

Disliked: The hostel is rather old and worn. They were making repairs when I stayed there, hopefully updating the place, but this meant that their were workers around, most of the rooms were out of action, and when I arrived at my room the workers had just been there and had left all the mess they had created still in the room. The bar/cafe has no life - I went there looking for a drink at night and food in the morning - neither time anyone was around to help me nor when I could find someone did they have any interest in doing any work.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

VIRATI VIJITTRASAB

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 VIRATI would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect with much lines bus stop and in walkable distance to Zhongshan road. The air is fresh due to the hostel is opposite of the park.

Disliked: Please maintain the facilities to be in the normal work, such as toilet door on second floor didn't work well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the lady spoke english and helped me plan y onward journey and wrote out chinese script for me.

Disliked: they had cats - and i'm allergic

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Paulo Borges Biscaro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Joao Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find, beds and bathrooms were good

Disliked: The door of the bed-dorm didn't lock and the staff speaks poorly English. A staff in the morni couldn't speak any English at all and couldn't write in Chinese too. The hostel also couldn't offer any complementary services like bus tickets or train tickets but that seems to be the standard in China.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nathan bunn

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 April 2012 nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The beautiful building, the wonderful staff, the nice location, the best youth hostel in china!

Disliked: no problems at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Sinclair

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and willing to help us with directions - even writing it down in Chinese so we could show taxi drivers. The rooms were safe and lockers were provided. Really loved the Hostel as a whole.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at reception was super nice and patient.

Disliked: The Bathroom facilities.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Filip Jauce

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Filip would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cheap price, comfortable bed.

Disliked: Staff did not have basic knowledge about transportation for the main attraction in the area and I felt they did not care whether I will be able to get there or not.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wen Yong Ren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Wen Yong would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, the staff are all friendly and helpful. The location are really good, very convenient to walk to other scenics.

Disliked: hum....nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chen hong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 chen would recommend this property

Liked: The garden is very beautiful ,and it has free wifi ,the hostel near xiamen university and ferry ,i like the hostel.

Disliked: chen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hoffman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It's great! It is just what I was looking for. The staff is so friendly they helped me with everything. Location is very good!easy to go to ZHONG SHAN RD and the Ferry.

Disliked: nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: This place seriously sucks. Its probably the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. 1) The location is horrible. The hostel is really difficult to find. I live in China, and speak Chinese, and still had a hard time with it. Which brings me to my next point. 2) Nobody at the hostel can speak English. (I know, its a Chinese hostel, but its advertising itself on an English-language website.) 3) Aside from not speaking English, the staff is really unfriendly, and really unhelpful. 4) The place is infested with mosquitoes. 5) They have lockers for valuables, but they don't work. Instead, they just tell you that you should store anything valuable with reception. 6) The layout is horrible. The common area, where people were up all night singing songs, is directly outside the dorms. 7) If you press the flusher on the toilet too hard, it creates a weird sound that shakes the building to its foundation and doesn't stop for 20 minutes (seriously, I'm not making this up). 8) They don't change the sheets on the beds between guests. Highlighting how much this place sucks, here was my experience of checking in: First, they "lost my reservation" and only had a more expensive room available when I arrived. After an hour of arguing, they "found" an available bed in the dorms. So I went upstairs and went to sleep. Turns out they didn't find a bed, because at 2:00 AM, a really loud Chinese woman woke me up to inform me that I was sleeping in her bed. So the reception came up, argued for another hour, and then told me that I could sleep in some other bed, which was covered with clothes. When I asked them to change the sheets, they didn't have any, so they just swapped them with the sheets of another (occupied) bed in the room. All things considered, this place just seriously sucks. There are so many other good hostels in Xiamen, and cheap hotels. Just stay at one of them instead.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the staff. So friendly and helpful. We also loved the location and the building itself.

Disliked: The bedroom floor looked very dirty. The beds had coloured sheets on them and I like white ones (that way you know if the sheets are clean or not).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: green Graden!!!

Disliked: there's 2 cats& her babies~

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: bathroom is not really convenient to use and no tiletpaper.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Grace Mak

Alone

City break

05 July 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Zhong Shan Gong Yuan(Park), which was about 7 stations on the bus from Zhong Shan Road, where I was dropped by the airport express bus. It has a sitting area on the roof that I enjoyed spending time reading with some background music.

Disliked: No cooking facilities, not a lot of sitting area outside.


See all Xiamen hostels