HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Wuhan hostels

Reviews of Wuhan Pathfinder International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No. 368 Zhongshan Road, Wuchang, Wuhan, China 430060

73.5% Overall Rating

55 out of 66 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2013)

Wang Ying thinks…

"It was nice place to stay , the locaiton is great ! 5 min to the nearest metro station. deco very nice, people really friendly ~the most amazing things are you can ask for umbrella if you incase…"

Read all Wuhan Pathfinder International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.24
  • Towel USD 1.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wuhan?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

55 out of 66 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wuhan Pathfinder International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 54 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people.

Disliked: It needs a thorough cleaning.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: Location was good, easy enough to get to

Disliked: Staff were not terribly friendly, bedding was damp, rooms next to bars so quite noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danli chen

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 November 2013 danli would recommend this property

Liked: 装修很特色,员工很热情。推荐驴友们入住。

Disliked: danli left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chainarong Sothornnopabutr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Chainarong would recommend this property

Liked: Satffs are helpful even though some of them cannot speak english well

Disliked: Not so clean

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013

Liked: this hostel seems to be the only hostel with more than 10 reviews in Wuhan...

Disliked: I was in Wuhan on Dragon Boat Festival. I booked the hostel two weeks before and find it quite interesting that hostelbookers is the only possible website to book this hostel while every chinese booking website(including offical YHA website) said the hostel was full. So I called the hostel for room information on that day and the stuff also claimed it's full. However when I checked hostelbookers, there were actually so many beds left for the whole week, which is weird. so I guess maybe the hostel want to offer rooms to expats other than Chinese, which some hostels in china actually did, and that's just sarcastic. Also i find the room very dirty. The pillow seems like it hasn't been washed in a year...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Apirak Kwanchitpitak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: I book room for dorm 4 beds without bathroom but while I'm check in , Hostel offer to upgrade to 4 beds with bathroom but you need to pay more. I'm very surprise.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very friendly and helpful, atmosphere is pretty chill and laid back

Disliked: not the best location of all, it is really in the middle of no where. theres not a single grocery store around.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joshua Horton

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to crash.

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wang Ying

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013 Wang would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice place to stay , the locaiton is great ! 5 min to the nearest metro station. deco very nice, people really friendly ~the most amazing things are you can ask for umbrella if you incase didnt bring one but rains suddenly , and they have hot water supperly~

Disliked: The place is not really that clean , women bathrooms really far from the room , even need to go across the balcony which means if it is rain, you will wet for going to the bathroom. And they dont have warm tape water~

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalya Benjamin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2013 Natalya would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere and how it was decorated. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way to help me and my friends when we were going out. One of the workers waited up late for us so we could get in after the doors usually close. The food was good, price was great and it was very clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christine Estrada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012

Liked: nothing much really.

Disliked: the hostel directions of getting there are really complicated and after wondering around for 30mins in a neighbourhood where no one spoke english, we finally had the fortune of a woman taking us personally there. Once there, the place was really cold and staff was pretty indifferent. Dorms are spacious but beds are super hard and internet does not work. They have the weirdest hours for food (for ex. breakfast only starts untl 9am) and dinner is done at 9pm...not really traveler friendly if you ask me. Bathrooms were not that clean and they were outside, which during the winter is a hassle. not really worth the troube it took ti get there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian Bartrum

Alone

City break

23 October 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean hostel and great for meeting other travellers.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were good (though squat toilet in private double). Staff were very helpful and friendly. Plenty of space in common rooms for using computers, watching films, eating and drinking.

Disliked: Difficult to find - we ended up being sent in the right direction by a nearby security guard. I got badly bitten by mosquitoes or similar in the common room area - needs some mosquito coils in common rooms!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, staff and location

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast though they needed 1h to provide the requested 3 cups of coffee and 3 sandwiches.

Disliked: Not clean at all, bathroom for private 3dorm was awful, we used the ones for multiple dorms. Not worth the money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Horton

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Very colorful place; unique art as well as design; the backyard is fun and interesting. This is a great place to stay if you come to Wuhan. WuChang has many things to see and do. I will stay here again. Don't believe the posers that give this place a bad wrap. If your traveling and want to find a cheap, clean, safe place to stay in Wuhan, this is it.

Disliked: The location is a little difficult to find, but not impossible. The staff is more than willing to help you, just give them a call.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dora Reed

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Dora would recommend this property

Liked: It had some nice common areas which would be lovely in the summer but were freezing in January!

Disliked: There isn't a lot in walking distance of the area, and we found it difficult to find somewhere that was open for food when we arrived, and then late afternoon. The attached bathroom to our dorm had the shower directly above the toilet which made showering slightly difficult.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Herb Volin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Herb would recommend this property

Liked: Moderate-size dorms, somewhat clean, stinking toilet room, slow wi-fi, no lockers. However, the city is worth seeing for a couple of days, and Pathfinder is ok if you make allowances. At least the staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: --

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere. It was decorated nicely.

Disliked: It was not very clean in the washroom or bedroom.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and near wucheng train station

Disliked: A bit too far away from the main parts of town. The staff were extremely unfriendly. They had a kitten as a pet there, very cute but unfortunately one staff member was extremely cruel to it. Throwing it across the room and laughing, hitting it very hard on the head several times. when we told her it was too small to be thrown around that way she replied, 'it doesnt matter, its only a cat.' just a bit shocked by this to be honest. The staff are quite dismissive and any questions we asked them about the area/transport etc.. was as if we were interrupting and annoying them. All in all didnt feel very welcome there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Karla Barahona

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: Full of art, nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Disliked: The outside of the rooms, like halls and common areas were a bit dirty...they had cats in the eating area so sofas full of cat hair.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

James Gladman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011

Liked: The staff offered their help whenever they could. They were more than apologetic with the room mix-up. They helped to sort out our train tickets for the next destination.

Disliked: The rooms were dirty with unwashed sheets on the bed. The toilets were disgusting and were not cleaned once in the whole time we were there. They didnt inform us that there restaurant closed at 8pm before we left to sort out our train tickets, so when we returned we had no food. Not normally a problem but we had just spent the last 2 days not being able to eat. The Wifi was dodgy, sometimes it worked and othertimes there was nothing and the computer they have is far too slow to even play solitaire. Not helpful when you need to arrange onward travel and accommodation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no comments

Disliked: no comments

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious quirky common area and seperate chatting/dvd rooms, staff were very friendly, nice arty feel to the place, rooms were clean as was bedding, also moved our room without problems when we said about noise.

Disliked: Location a bit out of the way, unclean toilets and showers seperate in courtyard (dorms), really noisy common area until 2am (avoid rooms with windows onto it if getting up early), animals freely roam around and get onto tables trying to eat leftovers or even your food, dog urine in the eating area.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor in the chill out area is ok.

Disliked: Bad bathrooms. Staff Get annoyed at more than a couple of questions.


See all Wuhan hostels