We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tongli hostels

Reviews of Wanshun Guesthouse

Guesthouse | No.177 Yuxing Street, Tongli, China 215217

91.0% Overall Rating

52 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2013)

"Location in the old town, friendliness and helpfulness of the owners. They speak no English but were happy to use the Internet to translate. Large flask of hot water placed in room each day for tea."

Read all Wanshun Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tongli?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

52 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wanshun Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Holcroft

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location and hospitality. What a wonderful experience.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location in the old town, friendliness and helpfulness of the owners. They speak no English but were happy to use the Internet to translate. Large flask of hot water placed in room each day for tea.

Disliked: Nothing. However as the local restaurants don't open early I wasn't able to find anywhere to have breakfast. It would be a good idea to take tea bags and muesli bars if you must eat early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Brooks

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Run by a nice couple (husband came to meet us so we didn't get lost) and good value for money. Right on the doorstep of Tongli as well, so you can see everything at a leisurely pace.

Disliked: Ross left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm staff, fantastic location right on the canal, very comfortable room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linus Löfgren

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Linus would recommend this property

Liked: Charming, genuine location in the old town of Tongli. Clean, fresh rooms and a very friendly host.

Disliked: Nothing to comment.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family run guesthouse, Very warm welcome, the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. Great location on the canal in the old town. Great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Margarida Farracho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Margarida would recommend this property

Liked: The furniture is very old fashion and you cant expect anything luxurious about this guesthouse. However, the room has everything you need, it is extremely clean and TV and A/C worked perfectly. The owner doesnt speak a word of english but is very friendly and google translation works perfectly to allow the communication. We would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Margarida left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

haijo zwager

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 haijo would recommend this property

Liked: nice place nice villidge

Disliked: noting

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ron Storey

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2011 Ron would recommend this property

Liked: owners spoke little English - we spoke little Chinese, nevertheless our welcome was warm and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable with an adequate shower room (say 6' x 4'). Great location in quiet part of town - easy to unwind after exploring

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic - very friendly. The location above the canal is just beautiful - we whiled away many evening hours just watching, and sitting in the cool breeze off the canal. A great place to get away from Shanghai. I definitely would recommend going mid- week if possible - especially in the evenings, life slows down to a fantastically peaceful pace.

Disliked: The overall cleanliness is good - but i would suggest that the walls and floors are about due for a really good scrub.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Sage

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Location - at the waterside, an easy stroll along the charming canal streets of Tongli and to the shopping streets and other attractions; very helpful owners (communicating through Google translate). Good size bedroom with working AC + ceiling fan.

Disliked: Just some simple notes in English would be nice (e.g. whether / what you might get by way of refreshment at breakfast or any other time of day).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: die Lage ist sehr schön

Disliked: nichts

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, friendly staff, very helpful

Disliked: bathrooms are very average, but clean though

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: expect it as a guesthouse not hostel. so there's no common room, kitchen whatsoever. yet the staff/owner was really friendly and helpful!! he picked us up at the main gate when we called him from the tourist information and said that we were lost. he couldn't speak english though. but thanks for his idea of having some "google translator" conversation, we could get an extra blanket easily!

Disliked: the toilet is chinese style, I didn't mind but you have to expect that. the building was old, but every building in tongli are old, so there's no use of complaining. overall, it was great :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The very friendly staff.

Disliked: It would have been impossible to find if we did not speak any Chinese.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ingrid Sandborgh

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 October 2010 Ingrid would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent, very clean and friendly, tranquile and atmospheric stay. Lovely chines couple doing all they can for you. If you don´t speak mandarine they use google translate to communicate with you!

Disliked: Maybe a bit too hard beds, lika any chinese bed though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Bjorn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2010 William would recommend this property

Liked: The two owners are very nice and friendly people who will go out of their way to help you. They don't speak English but they're quite good at getting information through the language barrier. The area's beautiful but the foods not great at a few of the places around the canals. Regardless, Tongli is a great place to visit, especially if you are tired of Chinese cities. The town is very close to Suzhou but definitely has a lazy vibe to it. Loved our stay and the hostel.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

17 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very nice, the room itself was clean, and the hotel is located in the heart of Tongli, on the bank of a canal : great thing !I really recommend this hotel, if you can cope with its major disadvantage...

Disliked: The toilet : squatting type (disturbing for us Europeans, I managed to sit on them anyway). The bathroom is very small : toilet + a shower, with no curtain or wand to insulate the shower from the rest of the bathroom. No kettle in the room so we could heat water : it is the only hotel in China we've been to that didn't have a kettle (but it's the cheapest one).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: C est un endroit vraiment tres mignon , plein de charme. Notre chambre donnait sur les canaux. Calme et volupte assures. Le proprietaire est tres accueillant et essaie de communiquer mais il ne parle pas anglais.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elise Vollweiler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

25 August 2010 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: The couple who run this outfit are super friendly - they were patient and good-humoured as we mimed our way to mutual understanding (we only have a little Chinese). Location is good too - if you turn walk down the street with all the restaurants nearby, you can get to a great wee cafe (Mimos?) and some of the loveliest attractions. Beds are really comfortable there too.

Disliked: A little noisy with the communal stairway, and (to be really picky!) we missed having a Western toilet. All in all, a really nice experience, though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the tranquil atmosphere of staying in the middle of this enchanting water town. The husband and and wife who have opened this home up to guests are very hospitable.

Disliked: The bathroom was rather small and only had a squat pot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner and great position next to canal

Disliked: Bit difficult to find

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tisorn songsermsawas

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010 tisorn would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lyna quemener

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 July 2010 lyna would recommend this property

Liked: The place was small but cosy, the owners are really nice

Disliked: lyna left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location: In the ancient town (very good)Cleanese: very goodStaff: cannot speak english but they try to help customers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Tongli hostels