We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tianjin hostels

Reviews of Tianjin City Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.2 Tianguili, Hongqiao District, Tianjin, China 300000

57.5% Overall Rating

26 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2013)

"1. The overall evaluation The Hostel itself no vibrant, I think this hostel is not typical hostel that we hope, but if you want a quiet room you will be satisfied with this hostel. I stayed at single room for 3…"

Read all Tianjin City Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.99
  • Breakfast USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Once your booking is successfully completed please send an email to the property or call them to advise your desired check-in time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tianjin?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.5%

Overall Rating

26 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tianjin City Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
60.0%
Value
61.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013

Liked: 1. The overall evaluation The Hostel itself no vibrant, I think this hostel is not typical hostel that we hope, but if you want a quiet room you will be satisfied with this hostel. I stayed at single room for 3 days. It was so so for me, price is good, I slept well but there are a few problems, no air conditioning and bed sheet and bedcloths are so dirty, but it wasnt cold without air conditioning,I dont know how is summer season. 2. Location if you dont wana take bus or taxi, I recommend another hotel where is located in good location.This hostel is not located in the central of Tianjin city, but we can take bus 10 minutes to Tianjin station, main shopping street and Italian town. There is no convenient cheap restaurant close to hostel,but we can buy many staff in big super market() near to hostel,we can go to there in 3-4 minutes walk. 3. Staff So friendly and nice. When Im tired they will keep a distance with me, Id like to thank for their consideration. 4. Bathroom and Toilet So clean and with free toilet paper. The cleanliness of the toilets are much higher than the level of this country, so I moved too much. We can take a shower with hot water. I think this hostel is good. If you can do everything by yourself, if you like to find new things, I recommend you choose this hotel.

Disliked: bed cover, bed sheet and location. I hope your hostel move to the central of Tianjin.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

FRANCISCO ASSUMPCAO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013

Liked: The location is ok.

Disliked: No breakfast, internet is bad, no heater. Staff really not friendly.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012

Liked: It is one of the few cheap options in Tianjin.

Disliked: Not all of the staff speak English. No computer in the common room. "Matresses" were only about 2-3cm thick.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was reasonably priced and easy to find from the directions. Staff did their best to help

Disliked: One of the 2 toilets was blocked

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chor Yen Yap

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Chor Yen would recommend this property

Liked: Simple, no fuss.

Disliked: Lacking in ventilation of the rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Toilets need to be cleaner. They were reeked of urine smell on the first day I arrived. I told a staff about it but she said that's the way it was. Two days later, the toilets were clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

martin donato

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011

Liked: location and easy to find

Disliked: I guess that 90% of the people staying there are either going or coming back from the ferry port. having this in mind, i cannot believe that this hostel does not help at all to book tickets, or help to get there, or provide any sort of information. they do not help at all. the guy on reception during the day speaks a bit of english, but the night and early morning person is helpless. if you are a couple you are better off in a hotel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better rooms than advertised

Disliked: Location was hard to find, staff didn't speak English

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andy Liu

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 May 2011 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: It is convenient at a reasonable price.

Disliked: Shower needs some upgrade otherwise everything is satisfactory

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011

Liked: the staff were so unhelpfull with no english skills at all. especially the older guy he was rude sometimes and always give a chineese comments what i actually cant understand. inside outside was so dirty, the room dark and cold, the bed linen and pillows also dirty. i stayed here only because nothing else around. highly not recommended! one of the worst..

Disliked: just about everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Clean. Hot shower. Near a big supermarket (E-Mart). One bus ride to train station.

Disliked: WiFi is a bit temperamental (probably because the receptionist is hogging all the bandwidth with streaming videos). Room is a bit cold. Not really walkable distance into the centre.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Susan Lee

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 November 2010 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to get to this hostel from the train station by public bus, and the cheapest place to stay in town (50 yuan for a dorm bed). Close walking distance from the picturesque river as well as some wonderful new buildings and shopping areas. Fabulous local food stalls within a few blocks provided heavenly meals and there is a huge grocery store only 2 blocks away.. I stayed off season and there were only three of us at the hostel. Laundry was cheap, there were lots of DVDs to watch and books to read in the common space. Helpful, friendly staff at the front desk.

Disliked: Nothing.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010

Liked: I met two very nice Chinese girls there.

Disliked: The facilities are very dirty, especially the toilet and the shower. The receptionist working there in the night and the morning was very unfriendly and yelled at me for not speaking Chinese with him. He could not speak a word in English.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Family Holiday
Shopping

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap price.

Disliked: 1) location ( taxi driver also don't know yet ) 2) equipment not integrity. ( don't have air conditioner and television .)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rob Best

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2010

Liked: It isn't too far from some of the major tourist sites by bus or on foot and it is pretty cheap.

Disliked: The toilets have a plumbing problem whereby it will reek of excrement in the bathroom area including at the sinks in the evenings. The place was not very clean or well kept up, and the other patrons were not so friendly. Also, there is a lot of construction ongoing in Tianjin so the directions on the website for finding the place are wrong since bus routes have been redirected and streets are closed.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2010

Liked: nil

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010

Liked: The property was ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Almost everything espcially giving wrong information so as to make guest confused

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: The surrounding atmosphere

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

05 July 2010

Liked: Very near to the bus station

Disliked: The cleanliness

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Arnaud van Galen

28 June 2010

Liked: Close to busstop 5

Disliked: Arnaud left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kimberley Drury

12 May 2010 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: this was the only hostel in tianjin we could find - we needed to stay overnight to fly out the next day. the hostel isn't anything spectacular, does the job for a night. the staff are good. wasn't much to do around the area or at the hostel. when theyr say internet, you need to have a laptop, there isn't computers available there. we needed to go get our food and everything down the road. its a resonable place, we were just at the end of our trip were ready to go home

Disliked: Kimberley left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Chumpol Phuawiriyaphan

22 April 2010 Chumpol would recommend this property

Liked: I have another type of the room that I have booked and the room is verydirty and the bath room have not water the service is very bad and locationis very far from downtown

Disliked: Chumpol left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Pedro Henrique Thibes Forquesato

27 February 2010 Pedro Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: Acceptable place to stay, but not much more. If you are just looking for some place to crash while you stay in Tianjin, its good, but if you are looking for something more, you might be disappointed.

Disliked: Pedro Henrique left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 October 2008

Liked: Clean big rooms, but location isn't great and they gave away our room for the last night of our stay because we didn't arrive by 6pm!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Tianjin hostels