We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Suzhou hostels

Reviews of Suzhou MingHanTang International Youth Hostel

Hostel | guangji RD Shantang ST., Suzhou, China 215008

71.0% Overall Rating

69 out of 80 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Roy Delaney thinks…

"Beautifully located in an historic building right on the edge of an atmospheric area of canals and backstreet markets. Very close to the Metro and easy to find, the constant hustle and bustle made…"

Read all Suzhou MingHanTang International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Suzhou?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Suzhou

suzhou taohuawoo international youth hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Scholars Inn - Jin Men
46.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Scholars Hotel
63.97 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Joya International Youth Hostel
8,121.63 USD

Hostel 80.5% 17 reviews
Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 76.5% 177 reviews
Suzhou Watertown Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 85.0% 138 reviews
Pingjiang Lodge
43.37 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

69 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Suzhou MingHanTang International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
75.2%
Value
68.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 64 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roy Delaney

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2014 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully located in an historic building right on the edge of an atmospheric area of canals and backstreet markets. Very close to the Metro and easy to find, the constant hustle and bustle made this a really interesting and great looming place to stay. As a tip, you may be lured along the showbizzy side of the bridge by the red lanterns and shiny lights, but go under the tunnel by the bridge at the back of the hostel to see the canalside streets and markets that the locals live in. You'll see some great, and occasionally stomach churning sights for sure!

Disliked: Some people have complained on here that it's too far from some of the main tourist attractions in the city. I'd suggest that they take a cab or use public transport because shy of having to constantly avoid getting in the background of wedding photos I can't think of much to fault this place on!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Danny Peeters

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014

Liked: Just the location.

Disliked: - extremely dirty ! - no towels - chaotic check in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gu XiuZhu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Gu would recommend this property

Liked: Very good! easy to find and just beside the santang street! people are friendly!

Disliked: Gu left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is very central, right around the corner of the beautiful (rather touristic) riverside and within walking distance from other major sights in SuZhou. WiFi is available and working quite well.

Disliked: The bathroom / toilet facilities are somewhat special: Small plastic boxes, toilet and shower together. They are entered directly from the hallway, so you have to Change into clothes directly after showering. But it is nearly impossible without getting everything wet. Also, if somebody goes inside there with street shoes everything is dirty. And this can not really be avoided, since they do not offer plastic sandals (unlike nearly all other hostels in China).

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2013

Liked: Right off Shantang Old Street. Cute cats, especially Dr. Harvey.

Disliked: Got into an argument on arrival with the receptionists. They inflated the price and told me my hostelbookers confirmation email was incorrect. Then upon showing my YHA membership card, they gave me a very, very small discount and called it the "member price". Luckily, YHA China has been in contact with me and the hostel and apparently has gotten them to agree to refund me the difference, although I haven't received the money yet. It was one of the worst displays of customer service I've experienced in two years in China.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Karina Vejlin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: Location is in a very cozy part of Suzhou, even though a lot of tourists flock there, especially en the evening around 7-9. The hostel is though located on a street where no touists come. It has nice common area, the dogs and cats are very friendly and adds to the cozy atmosphere.

Disliked: The room we got was not that clean and the bathroom had ants running around on the floor and walls.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alfredo Donadio

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: This place it's amazing! The location can't be better, it's just in front of the canals and the rooms are located in a traditional chinese house. The staff it's super friendly and they have a small place for relax and have a beer. It's so close from the train station, just take a cab and it can't be more than 15 yuans. The breakfast it's not the best but at least they have the own version of an american breakfast.

Disliked: Alfredo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't the best

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's surrounded by some great culture. The staff was nice and patient with our questions.

Disliked: Not much of a get together and all hang out hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - nice lounge area with beamer - friendly staff - cheap bike rental

Disliked: - very weak WiFi - no bug blocking window - google maps shows a wrong location, it is more southernly (from Train station use bus 522 or 7, 4 stops)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012

Liked: Good location. Cute animals.

Disliked: The staff were useless. We felt we were interrupting their QQ time. They seemed reluctant to have to deal with us. We asked if they had electric bikes available for hire and they said yes. We even asked again to make sure we could hire them and they said no problem. We had planned our next day around their info but the next day she said there was nothing like that. The computers didn't work adn they didn't ry to help us sort it out. They gave us wrong bus information and locaion information. Pretty much everything they told us was wrong. The dorm rooms are tiny.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Antonio Perez Vazquez

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 June 2012 Daniel Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: it's cheap and you can rent a bike for only 20RMB per day, which is the best way for strolling around the city

Disliked: the beds are absolutely terrible, looks like sleeping on the floor, mattresses are 10cm thick. The showers seem a bit dirty as well. The directions for getting there are not good enough, if you put the address on any online service (google maps for instance) it will say something else than where the hostel actually is, please correct this because it took me a while to find the place

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joseph Simons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is totally awesome and helpful in every way possible. I had a wide range of requests for them during my stay and the staff handled all of them in a friendly and eficient manner. In one instance one of the staff rode with me to the train station to help me buy my tickets. Not only were they good in a proffesional capacity, I was able to talk, hang out and make friends with them. They are all really super nice and helpful. The location is very good because one of the main walking/shopping streets is right outt the front door, and the train and bus station are also very close. This is the cheapest hostel you can book in Suzhou, and the experience does not reflect that, as I have stayed at more expensive hostels and not had the treament even close to what I had here.

Disliked: This hostel is a little run down, the owner really should put up the money for some upgrades. The beds are not the most comfortable (read hard) it is difficult to get hot water in the shower and there is no toilet upstairs, where a majority of the rooms are. However, for the price I paid it was adequate, after all I am backpacking in China and paying a few dollars for a bed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and common areas are Ok, and good location

Disliked: but the corridor to the room is very dirty smelly and the toilet and showers also

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Dunlop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: clean and central

Disliked: you have to be back pretty early.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2011

Liked: nice communal areas, good looking

Disliked: helpfulness of staff, atmosphere, disgusting toilets poor showers

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Michal Cicala

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011

Liked: nice location near old street

Disliked: no kettle for boiling water, bathrooms disgusting,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Erratt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Nice waterside location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food is decent value Bus No *1 goes between the train station and the hostel area past some of the main tourist sites.

Disliked: Squat toilets only (for men anyway).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michelle Ives

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quiet, lovely cafe below it and right on the canal, lovely antique furnishings, good rooms in general, softish beds, can walk to Tiger Hill (30 mins), great bathroom with instant hot water., nice communal area

Disliked: Our room had a lot of mold, the receptionist couldn't speak or understand much English, location is out of the main tourist areas. We booked on-line for a twin room and got there to find they didn't have one. The on-line booking price is twice as expensive as rack rate - the rack rate is per room, the online price is per person.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amos Ong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Amos would recommend this property

Liked: it is located right beside the famous Shan Tang street and u can to places with bus. The entire place is really like a mini venice of the east so staying right beside the canal would probably add a nice touch to the experience. The showers and the toilet door locks were faulty though so they might have to work on that.

Disliked: perhaps the description could have been more clear on where to stop with the buses leaving from the train station because when i told the bus driver i was going to Xin min bridge, he stared at me blankly. Fortunatedly, there was a helpful local who helped me.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Scott Rentell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the local area. The food was also very tasty.

Disliked: The food took far too long to cook when we were the only people staying in the hostel. The chef must cook dishes one by one. The staff were helpful at times but didn't go out of their way like in other hostels we have stayed in.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jonathon Gelsthorpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011

Liked: Very little

Disliked: This place is absolutely filthy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sunmi ha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Sunmi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just perfect! Right next to shantang street, which has all the beautiful canal, historical buildings and restaurants. Nice lounge on the ground floor and kind&cheerful staff.

Disliked: toilet was quite smelly and just one on the second floor where about 20 people stay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011

Liked: they have a cleaning team, who comes every day and make the beds, helpful staff

Disliked: the beds were quite hard (no matrices, only sheets) at least in the 4 dorm and

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location ... great atmosphere and nice people ... i definitely recommend this hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Suzhou hostels