HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ming Han Tang International Youth Hostel Suzhou Hostel

Guangji RD, Xiatang 61, Suzhou, China

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 63%

Location 91%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Suzhou?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 63%

Location 91%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 71%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the dogs and how it is a pretty good location from the north coach station.

Disliked: I disliked that the doors had to be closed by a certain time.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is great

Disliked: Toilet and bathroom cleanliness can be improved

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff. Ready to help and keen to make my stay great.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Beautifully located in an historic building right on the edge of an atmospheric area of canals and backstreet markets. Very close to the Metro and easy to find, the constant hustle and bustle made this a really interesting and great looming place to stay. As a tip, you may be lured along the showbizzy side of the bridge by the red lanterns and shiny lights, but go under the tunnel by the bridge at the back of the hostel to see the canalside streets and markets that the locals live in. You'll see some great, and occasionally stomach churning sights for sure!

Disliked: Some people have complained on here that it's too far from some of the main tourist attractions in the city. I'd suggest that they take a cab or use public transport because shy of having to constantly avoid getting in the background of wedding photos I can't think of much to fault this place on!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Just the location.

Disliked: - extremely dirty ! - no towels- chaotic check in

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good! easy to find and just beside the santang street! people are friendly!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Location is very central, right around the corner of the beautiful (rather touristic) riverside and within walking distance from other major sights in SuZhou. WiFi is available and working quite well.

Disliked: The bathroom / toilet facilities are somewhat special: Small plastic boxes, toilet and shower together. They are entered directly from the hallway, so you have to Change into clothes directly after showering. But it is nearly impossible without getting everything wet. Also, if somebody goes inside there with street shoes everything is dirty. And this can not really be avoided, since they do not offer plastic sandals (unlike nearly all other hostels in China).

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Right off Shantang Old Street. Cute cats, especially Dr. Harvey.

Disliked: Got into an argument on arrival with the receptionists. They inflated the price and told me my hostelbookers confirmation email was incorrect. Then upon showing my YHA membership card, they gave me a very, very small discount and called it the "member price". Luckily, YHA China has been in contact with me and the hostel and apparently has gotten them to agree to refund me the difference, although I haven't received the money yet. It was one of the worst displays of customer service I've experienced in two years in China.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is in a very cozy part of Suzhou, even though a lot of tourists flock there, especially en the evening around 7-9. The hostel is though located on a street where no touists come. It has nice common area, the dogs and cats are very friendly and adds to the cozy atmosphere.

Disliked: The room we got was not that clean and the bathroom had ants running around on the floor and walls.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't the best

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability