HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Shanghai, China

92.6%
241 reviews Book Now 
1

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Hostel
6F, No. 350, South Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China 200001

231 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 92% Facilities - 86% Safety - 95%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 93%
MOHAMMED SAQIB
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
97.1%
MOHAMMED would recommend this property 13 August 2014

Located at the Bunk, the prime tourist spot of Shanghai. Got amazing company to explore Shanghai :)

Layla Abdulaziz
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Layla would recommend this property 30 May 2014

Staff were friendly, the common room was a good place to meet people, clean facilities and plenty of shared toilets/showers.

89.8%
165 reviews Book Now 
2

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.278,lane 615,ZhaoHua Road, (opposite No.551 WuYi Road), At the side of KaiYuan School, Shanghai, China 200050

160 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 89% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 94%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 06 August 2014

Quite fancy atmosphere, clean room and shower(I used twin room), helpful staffs. I didn't make a reservation as I arrived Shanghai earlier than plan A, but they called every booked guests and looked for cancelled room. My friend and I really appreciated that effort. Whenever I need help, they kindly responded.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 01 August 2014

It has a nice common area and it is very modern throughout. They have laundry machines but they also have a place for you to hang your clothes outside. The restaurant has good food.

88.5%
81 reviews Book Now 
3

Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Hostel
No.55 Xianggang Road, Shanghai, China 200085

74 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 92% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 88%
Sergio Lobos
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Sergio would recommend this property 18 July 2014

The room and bed perfect! Showers and bathroom very clean! Staff... Jesica and Ana... I love this girls! Location perfect!

Norman Markus
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Norman would recommend this property 05 July 2014

Excellent location ,very close to the bund and east Nanjing road ,staff are friendly , helpful and funny ,answered all of questions l asked ,they arranged a taxi for me even though it was very early at 4 am and always give me good advice about restaurant ,club ,how much it usually cost or so ,the bed was clean ,room was spacious ,highly recommend ,thanks to Ethan ,Jeer ,Anna and other staff ,hope see you guys again

85.6%
652 reviews Book Now 
4

Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel
55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

612 out of 652 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 83% Facilities - 78% Safety - 90%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 August 2014

For what I paid for it, it was very nicely located. The property was old, but everything looked clean! I would stay there again without a second thought. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with arranging my taxi and bus to the airport. I thought I would have to pay for a taxi but they told me about the airport bus and got me there in time ^_^. Wifi worked great, and the community area looked really nice, I wish I'd had time to go to the small restaurant and bar located at the hotel. But it looked like it had a really nice atmosphere. Also they had some of the best directions I'd ever seen for any hostel on their website! Kudos for that :) despite the fact that it was a bit hidden down that side street I managed to find it with the directions no problem.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
48.6%
Customer would recommend this property 05 August 2014

The comon area is quite nice. Big, with sofas, slow internet, billar, spensive bar and restaurant ... The location is perfect just a few steps from People Square's subway station. This is their only value. But the rooms and the shared bathrooms are hawful. All smells mold and the walls and the bed are really dirty.

85.6%
567 reviews Book Now 
5

The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel
17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

524 out of 567 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Phoenix Hostel

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 83% Facilities - 80% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 July 2014

The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It is within walking distance of People's Square, the Museum, Pedestrian Walk, and the Bund.

Ian Wright
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Ian would recommend this property 04 July 2014

A couple of days after my stay I found myself 'stranded' in Beijing for 12 hours between trains. Went to Dragon King and asked if they had a room. They didn't as they were fully booked. However, they let me hang about and even gave me a towel for a shower. When I asked what should I pay for this, they said nothing- happy to help. Wasn't this nice of them

83.4%
178 reviews Book Now 
6

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

168 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 76% Facilities - 82% Safety - 84%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 84%
Jemina Bouma
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Jemina would recommend this property 19 July 2014

Excellent location, great WiFi, friendly staff, comfy bed for two. Really couldn't have asked for better.

Dyna Madalag
Alone
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Dyna would recommend this property 16 July 2014

Awesome location...close to the subway station! I liked my room (#307, a 6 bed dorm type). I had a great time with my cute Korean roommates (they were full of energy). Thanks to the staff for allowing me to stay with other Asians. I'm thankful for the hair dryer and toilet paper that were provided. Air conditioning is great.The staff were nice. I was able to get the WiFi signal from the 4th floor. I may want to stay at the said hostel again next month.

81.4%
229 reviews Book Now 
7

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200021

203 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 85% Facilities - 76% Safety - 83%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Shopping
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 23 June 2014

It is great that rooms have no windows at all so that it is quiet. Very central location.

Schmolck Natalie
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Schmolck would recommend this property 21 December 2013

I really liked the hostel. Although it is highly recommended to install some more windows or at least air refreshing tools. Besides the not-so-fresh-air the hostel is nice, well-located, the staff is really helpful and the wifi works well.

79.5%
306 reviews Book Now 
8

Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel
Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

275 out of 306 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 81% Facilities - 75% Safety - 87%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 82%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Perfect hostel! I left my Pad in the lobby, one of the cleaning lady pick it up and gave back to me. Thank you so much! The manager is really cool, had an interesting conversation with him!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 March 2014

Nice stairs in the entryway, bar on site, great meat on stick place super close thats really cheap.

79.5%
53 reviews Book Now 
9

Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.210 lane 490 Dongchang Rd,, Pudong Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200120

48 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 81% Facilities - 74% Safety - 85%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 81%
Zuzana Hlinková
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
Zuzana would recommend this property 18 December 2013

The location was really good, although it wasnt easy to find it (continue straight from exit 4, cross the street and then turn left to the tiny street, where the hostel is located). Its not like 2, minutes from the exit, rather 10.

Customer review
Alone
Family Holiday
54.3%
Customer would recommend this property 18 August 2013

Location is convenient to metro, ferry and walking to Pudong sites. Did have a laundry area to dry clothes.

79.5%
41 reviews Book Now 
10

Old West Gate Hostel

Hostel
NO.115 Penglai Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 86

36 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Old West Gate Hostel

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 84% Facilities - 76% Safety - 87%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 72% Value - 82%
Lucy Andrews
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
54.3%
Lucy would recommend this property 02 July 2014

The best pool table so far in China (been travelling around China for 2 months) Sat TV (world cup 24/7) in our double room. Accessible to do laundry. Powerful shower.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
30 May 2014

the location in the middle of the old town- authentic chinese! a comtrast to the shiny bund and new town. this place is authentic, but its getting a little bit old and rusty...

Shanghai

27 Hostels from 8.11 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Shanghai hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Shanghai. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Shanghai

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Shanghai. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter