We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Shanghai, China

88.9%
254 reviews Book Now 
1

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Hostel
6F, No. 350, South Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China 200001

243 out of 254 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 86% Facilities - 84% Safety - 91%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 18 June 2015

The service is good, especially the people at the counter are very kind. Also it is near the subway station and all other sightseeing sites of Shanghai, even though it is a little bit difficult to find the hostel at first time. However overall, I am satisfied for this price.

Jonathan Matthews
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Jonathan would recommend this property 10 June 2015

Entire floor for the hostel, with great facilities. Always people around to meet from all over the world. Staff were great as they put the football match on the projector even though it started at 3am and finished at 5am.

88.8%
106 reviews Book Now 
2

Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Hostel
No.55 Xianggang Road, Shanghai, China 200085

95 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 91% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 92%
samir cadavid
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
samir would recommend this property 18 June 2015

the staff is so helpful and friendly, wu tianxin was a sweetheart ! great location and very clean

Puti Puar
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Puti would recommend this property 23 April 2015

I booked single budget room and it's comfortable for me with such reasonable price (considering that I'm not tall). It even provides you towel and tootbrush. The staff are very kind friendly and they try their best to help the guests.

88.5%
585 reviews Book Now 
3

The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel
17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

542 out of 585 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Phoenix Hostel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 84% Facilities - 81% Safety - 90%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 92%
MARK MCCULLUM
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
MARK would recommend this property 19 July 2015

Great location, with incredible food at the restaurant on the ground floor and at most other places on the street, we had a double private and it felt like a mid-range hotel. We were really impressed.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 May 2015

Reasonably good location, 2 minutes from metro, plenty of restaurants nearby. 10-15 minutes walk from Nanjing Road.

85.3%
182 reviews Book Now 
4

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.278,lane 615,ZhaoHua Road, (opposite No.551 WuYi Road), At the side of KaiYuan School, Shanghai, China 200050

174 out of 182 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 85% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 88%
Jennifer Menzel
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping
97.1%
Jennifer would recommend this property 09 June 2015

This Hostel is amazing. The common area is really huge with comfy spots everywhere and a pond in the garden. The bar makes really good breakfast and the staff is extremely helpful. The rooms are big and really clean with beautiful bathrooms. You can wash your clothes here for small money.

Jack Lyons
With my spouse / partner
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Jack would recommend this property 26 May 2015

We booked the basic twin room and were amazed how spacious, comfortable, clean and beautiful it was. The room looked more like a hotel than a hostel room. The rain shower was incredible. We also loved the comfortable beds and how quiet the room was. If you want a good nights sleep I can defs recommend this place. The downstairs lounge area is incredibly cosy and very well furnished. We couldn't help but notice the beautiful furniture, overall design and lighting. Definitely recommend this hostel - its such good value for the money!

84.6%
657 reviews Book Now 
5

Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel
55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

616 out of 657 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 78% Facilities - 78% Safety - 89%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 18 February 2015

Convenience Location, good price Shanghai style house and lovely garden. Almost facilities are for rent. 55위앤의 6인 도미토리 묵엇는데,,, 위치. 가격. 옛 상해 건물 디자인 및 카페 라운지 모두 만족스러움. 잠만 자기엔 문제없는 듯. 데스크에 락커열쇠, 수건, 슬리퍼 등 렌트하여 사용할 수 잇음. 오래된건물이니 최근 수도꼭지와 세면대 및 변기 새것으로 교체된듯함. 샤워부스는 노후하나 사용에 문제없음. 체크인때 침대 및 이불 시트를 받주며, 직접 씌우고 체크아웃때 다시 벗겨 반납함. 1-2분거리 편의점과 과일가게가 잇어 필요한것 대부분 살 수 있음. 주변에 상점 쇼핑몰 많음. 인민광장역에서 걸어서4-5분

Jang Won Choi
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
57.1%
29 August 2014

It's CHEAP!!! And it's near the Renminguangchang station so you can get anywhere easily by subway.

83.9%
202 reviews Book Now 
6

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

188 out of 202 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 79% Facilities - 74% Safety - 84%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 02 July 2015

Excellent location. No long term stay which is good to avoid bunch of Chinese students/workers invading the building

Sonia Sereno
As a family with children
Family Holiday
45.7%
30 June 2015

Elejimos este sitio porque decian que recomendaban muchos lugares para ir sugerian actividades o excursiones para hacer, nada de eso sucedio en contra en nuestras camas habia chinches y no nos cambiaron de habitacion hasta la tercera noche. Cuando escojes un albergue para alojarte lo haces justamente por la atmosfera y por la capacidad de recimendarte lugares que ver actividades que hacer y un ambiente distendido. No hablaban bien Ingles y era muy dificil lograr recomendaciones e indicaciones.

82.9%
1024 reviews Book Now 
7

Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel
No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

954 out of 1024 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 83% Facilities - 77% Safety - 87%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 89%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
65.7%
16 July 2015

1/ Huge hostel so room available even when booked on last minute. 2/ Not too far from the metro. 3/ Big and confortable double room

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 30 June 2015

Friendly staff, good location and easily accessable with the meteo, good price for the value

82.4%
234 reviews Book Now 
8

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200021

208 out of 234 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 84% Facilities - 76% Safety - 84%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 74% Value - 87%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 28 February 2015

Stayed in double room - fantastically large, everything works nicely. Location is the most perfect place to experience Shanghai, with lots of authentic streets with real street food, Bund and People's Square nearby. Also nice decor in the hostel. Cheap cafe on the premises and wifi everywhere. Great people to chat with.

Customer review
Alone
Shopping
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 23 June 2014

It is great that rooms have no windows at all so that it is quiet. Very central location.

80.2%
310 reviews Book Now 
9

Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel
Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

278 out of 310 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 72% Safety - 88%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 84%
Rafael disfrutar
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Rafael would recommend this property 01 September 2014

Very good hostel. Clean, made kind of for western people. A few locals life there. Friendly and helpful staff.

Alex Giardino
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Alex would recommend this property 27 August 2014

A very friendly atmosphere with an array of different rooms to suit your budget as well as your comfort. I've come here multiple times and have never had a bad experience.

79.5%
43 reviews Book Now 
10

Old West Gate Hostel

Hostel
NO.115 Penglai Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 86

37 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Old West Gate Hostel

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 83% Facilities - 76% Safety - 87%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 74% Value - 82%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Work / volunteering
57.1%
11 September 2014

-it's quite central (but far from metro!) -Nice and clean bedlinen + towels -Place to hang out

Lucy Andrews
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
54.3%
Lucy would recommend this property 02 July 2014

The best pool table so far in China (been travelling around China for 2 months) Sat TV (world cup 24/7) in our double room. Accessible to do laundry. Powerful shower.

Shanghai

24 Hostels from 9.16 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Shanghai hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Shanghai. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Shanghai

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Shanghai. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter