We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Shanghai, China

91.8%
243 reviews Book Now 
1

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Hostel
6F, No. 350, South Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China 200001

233 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 91% Facilities - 86% Safety - 94%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 93%
MOHAMMED SAQIB
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
97.1%
MOHAMMED would recommend this property 13 August 2014

Located at the Bunk, the prime tourist spot of Shanghai. Got amazing company to explore Shanghai :)

Layla Abdulaziz
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Layla would recommend this property 30 May 2014

Staff were friendly, the common room was a good place to meet people, clean facilities and plenty of shared toilets/showers.

90.5%
169 reviews Book Now 
2

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.278,lane 615,ZhaoHua Road, (opposite No.551 WuYi Road), At the side of KaiYuan School, Shanghai, China 200050

164 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 89% Facilities - 91% Safety - 93%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 September 2014

Very nice building/rooms/athmosphere. The location is nice, but quite a long way from the subway station, if you have a lot of luggage, on the outskirts of the French Consession.

Melanie Shevlane
Alone
Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Melanie would recommend this property 06 September 2014

I loved the peaceful atmosphere! I have been to Shanghai several times and always stay somewhere new, but I may now have found my "spot"! It is quite accomplishment to find somewhere like this - an oasis - within such a hectic city! I loved my deluxe room (with terrace!). I felt like I was in Bali, I'm not joking!

88.6%
85 reviews Book Now 
3

Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Hostel
No.55 Xianggang Road, Shanghai, China 200085

78 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 95% Facilities - 84% Safety - 92%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 18 September 2014

They gave me a free upgrade from single shared bathroom to a double with ensuite (with Western toilet) which was great. The staff were really nice & helpful. It is a short walk to the bund.

Sergio Lobos
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Sergio would recommend this property 18 July 2014

The room and bed perfect! Showers and bathroom very clean! Staff... Jesica and Ana... I love this girls! Location perfect!

85.8%
571 reviews Book Now 
4

The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel
17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

528 out of 571 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Phoenix Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 83% Facilities - 80% Safety - 89%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 July 2014

The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It is within walking distance of People's Square, the Museum, Pedestrian Walk, and the Bund.

Ian Wright
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Ian would recommend this property 04 July 2014

A couple of days after my stay I found myself 'stranded' in Beijing for 12 hours between trains. Went to Dragon King and asked if they had a room. They didn't as they were fully booked. However, they let me hang about and even gave me a towel for a shower. When I asked what should I pay for this, they said nothing- happy to help. Wasn't this nice of them

84.7%
654 reviews Book Now 
5

Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel
55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

613 out of 654 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 80% Facilities - 77% Safety - 89%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 87%
Jang Won Choi
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
57.1%
29 August 2014

It's CHEAP!!! And it's near the Renminguangchang station so you can get anywhere easily by subway.

Brent Swann
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Brent would recommend this property 25 August 2014

Very close to Metro/Subway/Underground. Lovely Character and lovely reception ladies.

82.6%
179 reviews Book Now 
6

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

169 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 76% Facilities - 80% Safety - 84%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 84%
Irene Illa Font
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Irene would recommend this property 24 August 2014

Really good location and the staff was very helpfull. Clean bathroom, very convenient number

Jemina Bouma
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Jemina would recommend this property 19 July 2014

Excellent location, great WiFi, friendly staff, comfy bed for two. Really couldn't have asked for better.

80.3%
309 reviews Book Now 
7

Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel
Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

277 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 73% Safety - 88%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 84%
Rafael disfrutar
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Rafael would recommend this property 01 September 2014

Very good hostel. Clean, made kind of for western people. A few locals life there. Friendly and helpful staff.

Alex Giardino
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Alex would recommend this property 27 August 2014

A very friendly atmosphere with an array of different rooms to suit your budget as well as your comfort. I've come here multiple times and have never had a bad experience.

80.1%
231 reviews Book Now 
8

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200021

205 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 83% Facilities - 75% Safety - 81%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 74% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Shopping
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 23 June 2014

It is great that rooms have no windows at all so that it is quiet. Very central location.

Schmolck Natalie
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Schmolck would recommend this property 21 December 2013

I really liked the hostel. Although it is highly recommended to install some more windows or at least air refreshing tools. Besides the not-so-fresh-air the hostel is nice, well-located, the staff is really helpful and the wifi works well.

79.7%
54 reviews Book Now 
9

Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.210 lane 490 Dongchang Rd,, Pudong Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200120

49 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 81% Facilities - 74% Safety - 85%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 81%
Zuzana Hlinková
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
Zuzana would recommend this property 18 December 2013

The location was really good, although it wasnt easy to find it (continue straight from exit 4, cross the street and then turn left to the tiny street, where the hostel is located). Its not like 2, minutes from the exit, rather 10.

Customer review
Alone
Family Holiday
54.3%
Customer would recommend this property 18 August 2013

Location is convenient to metro, ferry and walking to Pudong sites. Did have a laundry area to dry clothes.

79.4%
186 reviews Book Now 
10

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel

Hostel
Bldg. 36, 319 Jiaozhou Road, Shanghai, China 200040

173 out of 186 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 73% Facilities - 76% Safety - 82%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 79%
Marco Allegri
With friends / other travellers
City break
34.3%
21 April 2014

The reception staff is not really friendly. Part of the hostel is under refurnish and there is smell of solvent everywhere. They trying to charge you up to 3% extra money if you pay with debit or credit card because of the bank commission, that's ridiculous... Just trying to get extra% profit Around the hostel there are several hotels where you can book a better room for a lower price and no problem to pay by cards

Danielle Reeder
Alone
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Danielle would recommend this property 05 January 2014

Friendly atmosphere, convenient location, a reliable place to stay for a traveling through a big city.

Shanghai

27 Hostels from 6.50 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Shanghai hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Shanghai. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Shanghai

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Shanghai. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter