We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Shanghai, China

91.5%
91 reviews Book Now 
1

Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Hostel
No.55 Xianggang Road, Shanghai, China 200085

83 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
duan dana
Alone
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
duan would recommend this property 30 November 2014

Good location, just 5 minuits to the Bund. Really nice staffs. it offers heater, hairdryer, refrigerator, and so on. its very comfortable staying there.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 18 September 2014

They gave me a free upgrade from single shared bathroom to a double with ensuite (with Western toilet) which was great. The staff were really nice & helpful. It is a short walk to the bund.

91.1%
244 reviews Book Now 
2

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Hostel
6F, No. 350, South Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China 200001

234 out of 244 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 90% Facilities - 85% Safety - 93%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 16 October 2014

Common area had nice, large indoor and outdoor areas. I liked the music they played in the common area and it was not too loud. Location was good, just a few minutes from Nanjing E rd metro station.

MOHAMMED SAQIB
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
97.1%
MOHAMMED would recommend this property 13 August 2014

Located at the Bunk, the prime tourist spot of Shanghai. Got amazing company to explore Shanghai :)

89.6%
170 reviews Book Now 
3

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.278,lane 615,ZhaoHua Road, (opposite No.551 WuYi Road), At the side of KaiYuan School, Shanghai, China 200050

165 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 86% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 94%
Sierra Clark
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Sierra would recommend this property 11 December 2014

New, modern. The private rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are the best we've seen in a hostel.

Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 September 2014

Very nice building/rooms/athmosphere. The location is nice, but quite a long way from the subway station, if you have a lot of luggage, on the outskirts of the French Consession.

84.7%
654 reviews Book Now 
4

Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel
55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

613 out of 654 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 80% Facilities - 77% Safety - 89%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 87%
Jang Won Choi
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
57.1%
29 August 2014

It's CHEAP!!! And it's near the Renminguangchang station so you can get anywhere easily by subway.

Brent Swann
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Brent would recommend this property 25 August 2014

Very close to Metro/Subway/Underground. Lovely Character and lovely reception ladies.

84.6%
575 reviews Book Now 
5

The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel
17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

532 out of 575 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Phoenix Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 83% Facilities - 79% Safety - 86%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 88%
James Ballardie
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
James would recommend this property 10 December 2014

Excellently located hostel near excellent food street. Walkable to lots of Sights and metro lines. Has a lift! And a cool little bar upstairs. The Shaanix restaurant on the ground floor is so good!

Roy Delaney
With my spouse / partner
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
82.9%
Roy would recommend this property 24 September 2014

As it was our first stop in China we were a little nervous about finding the place. But it was easy to find, and fantastically located right by People's Park, and on one of the best food streets in town. Lots of the city's headline attractions are in easy walking distance, and the restaurant downstairs is tasty and veg friendly. Excellent Chinese debut for us.

82.7%
181 reviews Book Now 
6

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

171 out of 181 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 77% Facilities - 80% Safety - 83%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 84%
Irene Illa Font
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Irene would recommend this property 24 August 2014

Really good location and the staff was very helpfull. Clean bathroom, very convenient number

Jemina Bouma
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Jemina would recommend this property 19 July 2014

Excellent location, great WiFi, friendly staff, comfy bed for two. Really couldn't have asked for better.

80.3%
309 reviews Book Now 
7

Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel
Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

277 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 73% Safety - 88%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 84%
Rafael disfrutar
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Rafael would recommend this property 01 September 2014

Very good hostel. Clean, made kind of for western people. A few locals life there. Friendly and helpful staff.

Alex Giardino
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Alex would recommend this property 27 August 2014

A very friendly atmosphere with an array of different rooms to suit your budget as well as your comfort. I've come here multiple times and have never had a bad experience.

80.1%
231 reviews Book Now 
8

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200021

205 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 83% Facilities - 75% Safety - 81%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 74% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Shopping
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 23 June 2014

It is great that rooms have no windows at all so that it is quiet. Very central location.

Schmolck Natalie
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Schmolck would recommend this property 21 December 2013

I really liked the hostel. Although it is highly recommended to install some more windows or at least air refreshing tools. Besides the not-so-fresh-air the hostel is nice, well-located, the staff is really helpful and the wifi works well.

79.7%
56 reviews Book Now 
9

Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.210 lane 490 Dongchang Rd,, Pudong Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200120

51 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 81% Facilities - 75% Safety - 85%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 81%
Scott Carpenter
Alone
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Scott would recommend this property 25 November 2014

This place was exactly what I needed and wanted and more. For location--virtually at the base of Shanghai's tallest buidings, in the financial district--it's a wonder it doesn't cost more. The rooms are clean, even unexpectedly nice. The place itself was cozy--walled in from the main street, with a small patio and outside-air hallways. Two of three staff I spoke with were exceptionally friendly and helpful. To top it off there were cats roaming all about, and even these were friendly. A little white furry one ("everyone loves him," the young woman at the desk told me) refused to let go of me when I tried to take him off my lap.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 20 September 2014

It was really close to the subway, in a nice quiet area and was clean and comfortable.

79.5%
43 reviews Book Now 
10

Old West Gate Hostel

Hostel
NO.115 Penglai Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 86

37 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Old West Gate Hostel

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 83% Facilities - 76% Safety - 87%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 74% Value - 82%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Work / volunteering
57.1%
11 September 2014

-it's quite central (but far from metro!) -Nice and clean bedlinen + towels -Place to hang out

Lucy Andrews
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
54.3%
Lucy would recommend this property 02 July 2014

The best pool table so far in China (been travelling around China for 2 months) Sat TV (world cup 24/7) in our double room. Accessible to do laundry. Powerful shower.

Shanghai

25 Hostels from 8.12 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Shanghai hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Shanghai. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Shanghai

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Shanghai. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter