HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Shanghai, China

91.5%
238 reviews Book Now 
1

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Hostel
6F, No. 350, South Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China 200001

228 out of 238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 90% Facilities - 84% Safety - 95%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 94%
Layla Abdulaziz
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Layla would recommend this property 30 May 2014

Staff were friendly, the common room was a good place to meet people, clean facilities and plenty of shared toilets/showers.

HOI YAU
With friends / other travellers
Relaxation/spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
HOI would recommend this property 20 April 2014

Helpful and nice staff, try their best to solve my problem and no matter how trouble we are, they keep try to help us. thanks!!

90.1%
163 reviews Book Now 
2

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.278,lane 615,ZhaoHua Road, (opposite No.551 WuYi Road), At the side of KaiYuan School, Shanghai, China 200050

158 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 91% Facilities - 91% Safety - 92%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 95%
Matthew Ireland
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Matthew would recommend this property 03 July 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, it took me forever to find the place but the guy on reception patiently guided me there.Also they helped with train bookings. Beds are comfortable enough. Food is passable, but not great. Good value for money for Shanghai but would be too expensive elsewhere.

Jan Gajewski
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
91.4%
Jan would recommend this property 18 June 2014

Very nice hostel. I took a bed in a dorm. It was clean and quiet. The public area is very nice and confortable. Gives the opportunity to rest afret the noisy town.

89.4%
647 reviews Book Now 
3

Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel
55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

609 out of 647 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 88% Facilities - 83% Safety - 92%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 93%
Serafina Aquilino
With friends / other travellers
City break
88.6%
Serafina would recommend this property 04 July 2014

Very nice building in Chinese traditional style, nice and clean room and very helpful staff. Great location, less than 10minutes walk from People's square subway station!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 28 May 2014

Good location, house. 전철역 접근성이 좋고 중국 가옥의 분위기를 느낄 수 있다. 호스텔 안의 카페 음식과 음료는 가격대비 좋다. 전반적으로 깨끗한 편이다.

87.7%
80 reviews Book Now 
4

Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Hostel
No.55 Xianggang Road, Shanghai, China 200085

73 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 90% Facilities - 84% Safety - 92%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 88%
Sergio Lobos
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Sergio would recommend this property 18 July 2014

The room and bed perfect! Showers and bathroom very clean! Staff... Jesica and Ana... I love this girls! Location perfect!

Norman Markus
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Norman would recommend this property 05 July 2014

Excellent location ,very close to the bund and east Nanjing road ,staff are friendly , helpful and funny ,answered all of questions l asked ,they arranged a taxi for me even though it was very early at 4 am and always give me good advice about restaurant ,club ,how much it usually cost or so ,the bed was clean ,room was spacious ,highly recommend ,thanks to Ethan ,Jeer ,Anna and other staff ,hope see you guys again

83.9%
565 reviews Book Now 
5

The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel
17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

522 out of 565 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Phoenix Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 83% Facilities - 77% Safety - 87%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 85%
Ian Wright
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Ian would recommend this property 04 July 2014

A couple of days after my stay I found myself 'stranded' in Beijing for 12 hours between trains. Went to Dragon King and asked if they had a room. They didn't as they were fully booked. However, they let me hang about and even gave me a towel for a shower. When I asked what should I pay for this, they said nothing- happy to help. Wasn't this nice of them

Zhang Yingyu
Alone
Relaxation/spa
97.1%
Zhang would recommend this property 25 May 2014

The most thing that I love and I care about is the working staffs there are very friendly and hospitable. I tried many different kinds of hostels before and nothing is more important than feeling welcome and homely-like. They talk to me very often and ask me any improvement needed to be done in order to accommodate me better. One of the most good things is they won't give you the look if you don't feel like drinking in the bar.

83.0%
176 reviews Book Now 
6

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

166 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 76% Facilities - 81% Safety - 84%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 84%
Jemina Bouma
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Jemina would recommend this property 19 July 2014

Excellent location, great WiFi, friendly staff, comfy bed for two. Really couldn't have asked for better.

Dyna Madalag
Alone
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Dyna would recommend this property 16 July 2014

Awesome location...close to the subway station! I liked my room (#307, a 6 bed dorm type). I had a great time with my cute Korean roommates (they were full of energy). Thanks to the staff for allowing me to stay with other Asians. I'm thankful for the hair dryer and toilet paper that were provided. Air conditioning is great.The staff were nice. I was able to get the WiFi signal from the 4th floor. I may want to stay at the said hostel again next month.

81.4%
229 reviews Book Now 
7

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200021

203 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 85% Facilities - 76% Safety - 83%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Shopping
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 23 June 2014

It is great that rooms have no windows at all so that it is quiet. Very central location.

Schmolck Natalie
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Schmolck would recommend this property 21 December 2013

I really liked the hostel. Although it is highly recommended to install some more windows or at least air refreshing tools. Besides the not-so-fresh-air the hostel is nice, well-located, the staff is really helpful and the wifi works well.

79.5%
306 reviews Book Now 
8

Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel
Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

275 out of 306 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 81% Facilities - 75% Safety - 87%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 82%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Perfect hostel! I left my Pad in the lobby, one of the cleaning lady pick it up and gave back to me. Thank you so much! The manager is really cool, had an interesting conversation with him!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 March 2014

Nice stairs in the entryway, bar on site, great meat on stick place super close thats really cheap.

79.5%
185 reviews Book Now 
9

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel

Hostel
Bldg. 36, 319 Jiaozhou Road, Shanghai, China 200040

172 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 72% Facilities - 77% Safety - 82%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 79%
Marco Allegri
With friends / other travellers
City break
34.3%
21 April 2014

The reception staff is not really friendly. Part of the hostel is under refurnish and there is smell of solvent everywhere. They trying to charge you up to 3% extra money if you pay with debit or credit card because of the bank commission, that's ridiculous... Just trying to get extra% profit Around the hostel there are several hotels where you can book a better room for a lower price and no problem to pay by cards

Danielle Reeder
Alone
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Danielle would recommend this property 05 January 2014

Friendly atmosphere, convenient location, a reliable place to stay for a traveling through a big city.

79.5%
53 reviews Book Now 
10

Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Hostel
No.210 lane 490 Dongchang Rd,, Pudong Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200120

48 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 81% Facilities - 74% Safety - 85%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 81%
Zuzana Hlinková
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
Zuzana would recommend this property 18 December 2013

The location was really good, although it wasnt easy to find it (continue straight from exit 4, cross the street and then turn left to the tiny street, where the hostel is located). Its not like 2, minutes from the exit, rather 10.

Customer review
Alone
Family Holiday
54.3%
Customer would recommend this property 18 August 2013

Location is convenient to metro, ferry and walking to Pudong sites. Did have a laundry area to dry clothes.

Shanghai

28 Hostels from 7.29 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Shanghai hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Shanghai. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Shanghai

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Shanghai. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter