We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel

Hostel | No. 239 Daming Rd, Hongkou, Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200080

74.0% Overall Rating

10 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

Claire Sheppard thinks…

"You were given a secure locker which was activated only by your key card. Also the hostel was 24 hours opened."

Read all Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Check-out time at 12:00 noon Passport is required for check-in Please inform us in advance if something changed about your reservation ,otherwise will be cancel the reservation if pass the arriving time Any reservation of private room can save 20RMB by taxi fee, please take the invoice to reception when check-in. We DO NOT guarantee to allocate dorm beds in the same room for multiple beds booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 88.8% 89 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.7% 181 reviews
Shanghai Naza International Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 76.9% 36 reviews
Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 79.7% 56 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.0%

Overall Rating

10 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
65.9%
Location
88.2%
Facilities
69.4%
Cleanliness
65.9%
Staff
75.3%
Value
74.1%
Safety
78.8%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Sheppard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: You were given a secure locker which was activated only by your key card. Also the hostel was 24 hours opened.

Disliked: The people in the hostel, were nice but they had really Brocken English. So it is hard to ask them for help.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014

Liked: The location.

Disliked: There were mold and fungi growing in my room. I guess that says it all.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014

Liked: The location was excellent.

Disliked: the hostel was grubby, the bed was uncomfortable and there was no WiFi in the room we stayed in.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 May 2014

Liked: The staff were helpful and efficient.

Disliked: Lack of cafes around the area or places to go, it is noisy, smelly and unclean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

anthony messenger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014

Liked: hard question- ermm the 2nd floor mess and Claudias smile on reception

Disliked: the directins are the worst i have seen, to the boss- you CANNOT say metro exit 4 walk 5 mins, thats RUBBISH, you have a choice from exit 4, left or right but u give nothing AND, the hostel is not even on that road, so here are some directions to print on your page,. FROM EXIT 4, TURN RIGHT, WALK 100 METERS , SEE THE BIG UGLKY YELLOW BUILDING, AND TURN LEFT ONTO THAT ROAD, WALK 150 METERS, AND TURN RIGHT, U WILL SEE HYATT INFRONT OF U. WALK 300 METERS AND THE HOSTEL IS ON YOUR RIGHT, U WILL SEE THE HOSTEL INTERNATIONAL SIGN.......... THATS HOW U GIVE, DIRECTIONS.. The plumbing whistles, the card and locker key system sucks, and the place is dimly lite, NO TOILET PAPER.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 April 2014

Liked: The location was close to the Bund and as a place to literally drop your bags and sleep it is ok.

Disliked: There are some fantastic hostels across China but this one wasn't one of them.There was only one staff member on when we were trying to check out but another staff member wandered around shouting at customers and when we asked him for help he ignored us. The bed in the room was like a rock. Very noisy plumbing. It was as though someone were showering in our room. The toilet in the reception was extremely dirty. We couldn't pay with a Chinese bank card. Cash only and a massive form to fill out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jinelle Graves

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Jinelle would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how friendly the staff was and how nice the hostel was. They kept things so clean and they even have air conditioning.

Disliked: The only problem I had was with the girls we roomed with. They were loud and rude but that's not the hostels fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: The weak WiFi!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rita Ferreira

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013

Liked: It was a 10 min walk to the Bund. The recepcionists (two of them) they were very nice, even if they didn't speak very good english.

Disliked: I booked a room of 4 with private toillet for two nights. they put me in a room with 3 chinese girls that were LIVING there... so everything was a mess in the very tiny room. Clothes in all the palces, no free space, the toillet was a disaster and there was no hot water, because the system was brooken... i had to take shower with cold water.. very nice for winter time... I was felling so bad there! The second day i asked to change room and they put me in a room with other chinese girl that was living there... everything was dirty bu t at last i had more space. The cheats of the bed were clean! i cant complain about that! the recepcionist told me that this hostel doesn't have a lot of backpackers, but more of chinese people that work in shanghai... i dont know waht to say about that... Than the hostel is faraway from the subway. like 20 minutes walking... anyway i dont recomend you to come here.... NOOO

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Bund

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 就那样吧. Everything was pretty typical, not much to say about it in terms of facilities. The location was pretty great, walkable to Nanjing Road, the Bund, etc. I would stay again, it was definitely good enough, which is all I wanted.

Disliked: The staff member on duty made me fill out my own police registration form, which I've never done at any other hotel, hostel, or anything in China. I felt that was kind of rude, hence the poor marks in friendliness and helpfulness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013

Liked: Really nice hostel! Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice and clean rooms. The guy who was at the reception, gave me private room instead of room in a dorm, that I booked (with the price for dorm), because he lived in my country in the past . It was really nice! Thanks again guys!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john michael tan

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 February 2013 john michael would recommend this property

Liked: It's worth your money, near the bus stop, safe, very friendly and accommodating staff, English speaking, clean rooms, can guide you about the tourist spots in shanghai, has a 24hour convenient store beide the hostel, it's the best you can find in shanghai

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...