HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No.239, Da Ming Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 65%

Location 88%

Safety 77%

Staff 68%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Check-out time at 12:00 noon
Passport is required for check-in
Please inform us in advance if something changed about your reservation ,otherwise will be cancel the reservation if pass the arriving time
Any reservation of private room can save 20RMB by taxi fee, please take the invoice to reception when check-in.
We DO NOT guarantee to allocate dorm beds in the same room for multiple beds booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 65%

Location 88%

Safety 77%

Staff 68%

Value 71%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It was convenient to downtown Shanghai.

Disliked: One bathroom for six people is not convenient. The bathroom was not very clean.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Ceiling leaked, bad smell in the hallway and the room, staff had a very low level of English, room was dirty, hole in the floor boards was poorly covered by a ugly carpet job, carpet was also dirty. All in all there are more cleanly and humane prison cells.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The stuffs r not welcoming at all. But since most of the shanghaiese r rude and arrogant, im not that suprised. I stayed in the 4 floor for the first night, 6 bed room, really nice view. And the location is great.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: You were given a secure locker which was activated only by your key card. Also the hostel was 24 hours opened.

Disliked: The people in the hostel, were nice but they had really Brocken English. So it is hard to ask them for help.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location.

Disliked: There were mold and fungi growing in my room. I guess that says it all.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was excellent.

Disliked: the hostel was grubby, the bed was uncomfortable and there was no WiFi in the room we stayed in.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were helpful and efficient.

Disliked: Lack of cafes around the area or places to go, it is noisy, smelly and unclean.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: hard question- ermm the 2nd floor mess and Claudias smile on reception

Disliked: the directins are the worst i have seen, to the boss- you CANNOT say metro exit 4 walk 5 mins, thats RUBBISH, you have a choice from exit 4, left or right but u give nothing AND, the hostel is not even on that road, so here are some directions to print on your page,. FROM EXIT 4, TURN RIGHT, WALK 100 METERS , SEE THE BIG UGLKY YELLOW BUILDING, AND TURN LEFT ONTO THAT ROAD, WALK 150 METERS, AND TURN RIGHT, U WILL SEE HYATT INFRONT OF U. WALK 300 METERS AND THE HOSTEL IS ON YOUR RIGHT, U WILL SEE THE HOSTEL INTERNATIONAL SIGN.......... THATS HOW U GIVE, DIRECTIONS..The plumbing whistles, the card and locker key system sucks, and the place is dimly lite, NO TOILET PAPER.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location was close to the Bund and as a place to literally drop your bags and sleep it is ok.

Disliked: There are some fantastic hostels across China but this one wasn't one of them.There was only one staff member on when we were trying to check out but another staff member wandered around shouting at customers and when we asked him for help he ignored us. The bed in the room was like a rock. Very noisy plumbing. It was as though someone were showering in our room. The toilet in the reception was extremely dirty. We couldn't pay with a Chinese bank card. Cash only and a massive form to fill out.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved how friendly the staff was and how nice the hostel was. They kept things so clean and they even have air conditioning.

Disliked: The only problem I had was with the girls we roomed with. They were loud and rude but that's not the hostels fault.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability