We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

77.9% Overall Rating

941 out of 1009 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"The bed I had was extremely comfortable, like melting into the mattress, but my sister had a hard bed, not sure why they are different. It was somewhat like a hotel in that the staff tidied the rooms every morning…"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.97
  • Breakfast USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 79.4% 186 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 90.5% 169 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 76.3% 67 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.65 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

941 out of 1009 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 750 of 810 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed I had was extremely comfortable, like melting into the mattress, but my sister had a hard bed, not sure why they are different. It was somewhat like a hotel in that the staff tidied the rooms every morning (which was nice). It was basic, but quite large in terms of the space. There were several stupid foreigners wandering around (as we do, finding out info and asking ridiculous questions) and the staff was more than helpful in accomodating. I don't know why other people are giving bad reviews about that. Anyways, the staff arranged airport drop off. The common room had a decent atmosphere, spacious, comfortable, the food was decent. Most hostel food is accomodating for the "western diet" and is therefore overpriced. Get over it if you have qualms with the price.

Disliked: The only problem was (and it was minute) that some of the area's are a bit confusing as to where to go in Shanghai since it is such a large city and the staff were all from other provinces or cities in China so the subway stops were wrong.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benedikt Jakobi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Benedikt would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. There were a lot of people in the hostel at the time, and it was easy getting to talk to new people in the bar - which is fairly big and has a pool table too. There was a member of staff on hand to help with travel arrangments and he was really helpful in getting me from the hostel to the site I wanted to see - finding the bus routes online and directing me to the stop. The hostel is pretty conveniently located if you want to go to Shanghai's art district, which I did, so I was happy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great bar/restaurant/hang out area, clean rooms.

Disliked: A little far from the city center, but the metro is so clean, cheap, and easy to navigate that I had no problems getting around.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014

Liked: Good size resturant area.

Disliked: Room was dirty and full of previous occupants rubbish, and smelt of damp from a leaking air-con unit. Showers and toilets hadn't been cleaned in a long time, there was a layer of something or other around the toilet seats. The whole place seemed fairly run down. Staff seemed unfriendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful an spoke good English. The rooms were cleaned everyday + we got new towels. Easy to get everywhere from there by subway.

Disliked: When we came there our room was really smoky and guests were allowed to smoke everywhere in the hostel. Although I have to add that when we asked for a new room we got one a few hours later.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gary Mathlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Have their own bar, staff were helpful when I needed assistance

Disliked: Aircon didn't work in my room so was sweltering. The tumble dryers are horrific! 2.5hrs and still my clothes were damo, they need replacing with ones that actually work as I refuse to hang my stuff out on a line (too many stories of people poaching clothes).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elsa Leticia Neve Ramirez Wiella

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Elsa Leticia would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was great! Staff helpful and very clean

Disliked: A little hard to get to it, but centric enough

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Gan Poh Cham

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: Just ok.

Disliked: I booked for female dorm but they let male stay in. I was pretty shocked when male entered my female dorm. When I waked up next morning an black man sleeping next bed... frightened me... luckily nothing happened.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eileen Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities

Disliked: Not much shows to watch.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are spacious, clean and bright with natural light from big windows. Bed-linen and towels are white and clean.

Disliked: The location is a little inconvenient, but okay. It would be lovely if they had satelite television in the rooms with the option of watching a film, instead of just Chinese television stations.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

06 May 2014

Liked: Close to a metro stop

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alberto Castilla Ruiz

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

05 May 2014 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central and near to a metro station

Disliked: The staff are either unexperienced or unefficient

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our bed was soft!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The restaurant is very good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Emptage

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: It is easy to get to from tansportation hubs. It is easy to get to shopping and sights by using the subway. The rooms are clean - internet works well.

Disliked: Took way too long for food to be delivered once ordered and when checking in took almost an hour to check 7 people in (they did give us coupons for half price beer while we waited though!!)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. The beds were huge and comfortable and they didnt creak every time you got in and out or moved. The whole place had a nice feel about it and the bar is a nice place to have a drink at really reasonable prices for shanghai.

Disliked: I dont like to say it but i was really disappointed by the service of the man on the desk when we wen to check in. I think we were standing there for a good 20 minutes while he checked us in and not once did he smile at us or apologise for the wait.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly,the lounge area is nice and room clean

Disliked: The location

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel environment

Disliked: They try to take money from you at every chance they get. Needed to get a cab out to Pudong Airport, hostel said they can call it for me. I would need to pay 200 RMB (and 250 RMB if it leaves before 5 AM), which is far more expensive than if you find one yourself. Was persuaded to take it before 5 AM (ended up with 2 hours too much time). The hostel kept 36% of the fees for themselves.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

pui lung chun-laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 pui lung would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are big, very good quality, very comfortable, can have good sleep. The rooms are reasonable big and have windows. The whole hostel is spacious. Good showers, Hot water drink supply. Easy to find the hostel. Decent, Pleasant hostel.

Disliked: pui lung left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caterina Zanoni

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2014 Caterina would recommend this property

Liked: there s a nice and cozy bar downstair where you can meet and share the night with all the people travelling shanghai.

Disliked: as almost all places in china the wifi connection is very low.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect, best hostel I've been to so far. Really friendly staff and nice rooms! Get cleaned every day.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, staff is nice.

Disliked: The bathrooms were ok, it wasn't dirty just worn in. Could use a paint job.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tan Yew Kiang

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Tan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Amelia even helped me to draft a letter in Mandarin. Another went out of his way in the rain to help me book a taxi.I will go back there to stay again in future.

Disliked: None