HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

77.9% Overall Rating

935 out of 1002 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2014)

"Rooms are spacious, clean and bright with natural light from big windows. Bed-linen and towels are white and clean."

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.89
  • Breakfast USD 5.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel 79.5% 185 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.91 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.55 USD

Hostel 90.1% 163 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 76.9% 65 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

935 out of 1002 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
76.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 744 of 803 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gary Mathlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Have their own bar, staff were helpful when I needed assistance

Disliked: Aircon didn't work in my room so was sweltering. The tumble dryers are horrific! 2.5hrs and still my clothes were damo, they need replacing with ones that actually work as I refuse to hang my stuff out on a line (too many stories of people poaching clothes).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elsa Leticia Neve Ramirez Wiella

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Elsa Leticia would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was great! Staff helpful and very clean

Disliked: A little hard to get to it, but centric enough

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Gan Poh Cham

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: Just ok.

Disliked: I booked for female dorm but they let male stay in. I was pretty shocked when male entered my female dorm. When I waked up next morning an black man sleeping next bed... frightened me... luckily nothing happened.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eileen Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities

Disliked: Not much shows to watch.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are spacious, clean and bright with natural light from big windows. Bed-linen and towels are white and clean.

Disliked: The location is a little inconvenient, but okay. It would be lovely if they had satelite television in the rooms with the option of watching a film, instead of just Chinese television stations.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

06 May 2014

Liked: Close to a metro stop

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alberto Castilla Ruiz

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

05 May 2014 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central and near to a metro station

Disliked: The staff are either unexperienced or unefficient

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our bed was soft!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The restaurant is very good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Emptage

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: It is easy to get to from tansportation hubs. It is easy to get to shopping and sights by using the subway. The rooms are clean - internet works well.

Disliked: Took way too long for food to be delivered once ordered and when checking in took almost an hour to check 7 people in (they did give us coupons for half price beer while we waited though!!)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. The beds were huge and comfortable and they didnt creak every time you got in and out or moved. The whole place had a nice feel about it and the bar is a nice place to have a drink at really reasonable prices for shanghai.

Disliked: I dont like to say it but i was really disappointed by the service of the man on the desk when we wen to check in. I think we were standing there for a good 20 minutes while he checked us in and not once did he smile at us or apologise for the wait.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly,the lounge area is nice and room clean

Disliked: The location

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel environment

Disliked: They try to take money from you at every chance they get. Needed to get a cab out to Pudong Airport, hostel said they can call it for me. I would need to pay 200 RMB (and 250 RMB if it leaves before 5 AM), which is far more expensive than if you find one yourself. Was persuaded to take it before 5 AM (ended up with 2 hours too much time). The hostel kept 36% of the fees for themselves.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

pui lung chun-laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 pui lung would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are big, very good quality, very comfortable, can have good sleep. The rooms are reasonable big and have windows. The whole hostel is spacious. Good showers, Hot water drink supply. Easy to find the hostel. Decent, Pleasant hostel.

Disliked: pui lung left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caterina Zanoni

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2014 Caterina would recommend this property

Liked: there s a nice and cozy bar downstair where you can meet and share the night with all the people travelling shanghai.

Disliked: as almost all places in china the wifi connection is very low.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect, best hostel I've been to so far. Really friendly staff and nice rooms! Get cleaned every day.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, staff is nice.

Disliked: The bathrooms were ok, it wasn't dirty just worn in. Could use a paint job.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tan Yew Kiang

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Tan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Amelia even helped me to draft a letter in Mandarin. Another went out of his way in the rain to help me book a taxi.I will go back there to stay again in future.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Urbanski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the subway station so we were able to travel around the city really well. There was a bar/ restaurant in the lobby of the hotel that was reasonably priced. We stayed in the 4 person suite with a loft and had plenty of room.

Disliked: Our group was coming off 3 months in China so we were pretty clubbed out. But if you are looking for that then you will be paying a little extra in cab rides.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Close to the train station. Very clean.

Disliked: not much of an atmosphere, it says there's a tourist information but the staff could really give much information on things to do.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It offers a lot for a ridicolous price. Great atomosphere and a lot of people (both Chinese and foreigners). Great breakfast but not so cheap. Good burgers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martyna Lewandowska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Martyna would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice staff, clean

Disliked: bar and restaurant was seriously overpriced - there would be more people, if the prices would be reasonable (20Y for a beer, when it's 5Y in the shop, if it was 10, people would come) Prices for rooms at desk - 2 times more expensive, than thru hostelbookers. We were extending our stay, but had to do the booking before, couse the rates are higher if u just go and pay in frontdesk. Weird system.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location to the subway line is really good. It was decently cheap.

Disliked: They didn't supply hand soap or towels. the place was clean only where u see. if you look other places it is slightly dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, big and clean rooms! I stayed six nights in a twin room which was more like a hotel than a hostel (TV, shower gel, shampoo, proper rooms service...) and two night in a dorm room with bathroom and toilets on the floor. All clean and always hot water. Boiling water for tea, coffee etc. available. Nice bar. Pool, table football, computers available. Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet at night although there is a big road and subway quite close. Water boiler and cups in the private rooms.

Disliked: Some of the staff members don't speak proper English so it was a bit hard to get the booking confirmation for the visa and to extend the stay.