HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

82.4% Overall Rating

926 out of 989 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"This was a great hostel. The beds were huge and comfortable and they didnt creak every time you got in and out or moved. The whole place had a nice feel about it and the bar is a nice place to have a drink at really…"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.72
  • Breakfast USD 5.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Shanghai Youth Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.5% 210 reviews
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.94 USD

Hostel 81.1% 184 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 90.1% 152 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.46 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

926 out of 989 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 733 of 790 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. The beds were huge and comfortable and they didnt creak every time you got in and out or moved. The whole place had a nice feel about it and the bar is a nice place to have a drink at really reasonable prices for shanghai.

Disliked: I dont like to say it but i was really disappointed by the service of the man on the desk when we wen to check in. I think we were standing there for a good 20 minutes while he checked us in and not once did he smile at us or apologise for the wait.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly,the lounge area is nice and room clean

Disliked: The location

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel environment

Disliked: They try to take money from you at every chance they get. Needed to get a cab out to Pudong Airport, hostel said they can call it for me. I would need to pay 200 RMB (and 250 RMB if it leaves before 5 AM), which is far more expensive than if you find one yourself. Was persuaded to take it before 5 AM (ended up with 2 hours too much time). The hostel kept 36% of the fees for themselves.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

pui lung chun-laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 pui lung would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are big, very good quality, very comfortable, can have good sleep. The rooms are reasonable big and have windows. The whole hostel is spacious. Good showers, Hot water drink supply. Easy to find the hostel. Decent, Pleasant hostel.

Disliked: pui lung left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caterina Zanoni

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2014 Caterina would recommend this property

Liked: there s a nice and cozy bar downstair where you can meet and share the night with all the people travelling shanghai.

Disliked: as almost all places in china the wifi connection is very low.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect, best hostel I've been to so far. Really friendly staff and nice rooms! Get cleaned every day.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, staff is nice.

Disliked: The bathrooms were ok, it wasn't dirty just worn in. Could use a paint job.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tan Yew Kiang

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Tan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Amelia even helped me to draft a letter in Mandarin. Another went out of his way in the rain to help me book a taxi.I will go back there to stay again in future.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Urbanski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the subway station so we were able to travel around the city really well. There was a bar/ restaurant in the lobby of the hotel that was reasonably priced. We stayed in the 4 person suite with a loft and had plenty of room.

Disliked: Our group was coming off 3 months in China so we were pretty clubbed out. But if you are looking for that then you will be paying a little extra in cab rides.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Close to the train station. Very clean.

Disliked: not much of an atmosphere, it says there's a tourist information but the staff could really give much information on things to do.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It offers a lot for a ridicolous price. Great atomosphere and a lot of people (both Chinese and foreigners). Great breakfast but not so cheap. Good burgers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martyna Lewandowska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Martyna would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice staff, clean

Disliked: bar and restaurant was seriously overpriced - there would be more people, if the prices would be reasonable (20Y for a beer, when it's 5Y in the shop, if it was 10, people would come) Prices for rooms at desk - 2 times more expensive, than thru hostelbookers. We were extending our stay, but had to do the booking before, couse the rates are higher if u just go and pay in frontdesk. Weird system.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location to the subway line is really good. It was decently cheap.

Disliked: They didn't supply hand soap or towels. the place was clean only where u see. if you look other places it is slightly dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, big and clean rooms! I stayed six nights in a twin room which was more like a hotel than a hostel (TV, shower gel, shampoo, proper rooms service...) and two night in a dorm room with bathroom and toilets on the floor. All clean and always hot water. Boiling water for tea, coffee etc. available. Nice bar. Pool, table football, computers available. Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet at night although there is a big road and subway quite close. Water boiler and cups in the private rooms.

Disliked: Some of the staff members don't speak proper English so it was a bit hard to get the booking confirmation for the visa and to extend the stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quet away from traffic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and restaurant, free wifi!

Disliked: The beds were quite hard - not uncomfortable necessarily, and given the price extremely good value for money.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the metro and several food markets. Awesome noodles from a tiny street market nearby. Beds were very comfortable and cozy.

Disliked: Certain staff members were a bit snobby at times. Property is fine but so big that it can be hard to meet people- changes the atmosphere of a hostel when they're that large. Bathroom cleanliness definitely needed some work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large communal area with loads of books, quiet area, not too far from metro station

Disliked: Quite far from the main area, bund etc. no free map

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and spacious with good size beds. 24 hour reception was good.

Disliked: Sinks were dirty most of the time. Bathrooms smelt a little, showers weren't very powerful. Staff did the job, but weren't very friendly. Felt impersonal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, good location, helpful staff.

Disliked: Previously we have always been impressed by the free breakfast on offer, but were disappointed to see that this is no longer offered. Also, we were required to fill in deposit paperwork just to borrow a hairdryer, which seemed a bit over the top.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Neil Faulkner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013

Liked: I think the look of the place is quite nice and the rooms are what you expect for a hostel. If you are going to stay here my advice is this; don't eat here or encounter too much of the staff service.

Disliked: Service here is very slow and frustrating. There are an abundance of staff but only a few who either a) do any work or b) know what they're doing. A noted most days that the owners or members of management will regularly sit around relaxing, playing pool in the bar or gossiping by the main entrance. Behind reception there are normally 3 or 4 regular staff, of which one of them does all the processing while the others stand around telling people to wait or taking payment for water from the fridge. The processing to check in and check out is slow and large crowds will build up. At this point you will notice nationals push by foreigners to the front of the queue. Both myself and my mate ate at the bar for the first three days out of connivance, DONT! We both got food poisoning. Our orders where regularly wrong and late, and I don't mean lost in translation. Even when pointing directly on the menu for the correct size portion I still received the wrong one. I noticed others around me in the bar encountering the same problems; others with a lot less patience than we had. Other things I noted; -don't by snacks from the desk, they are at least one third or double the price of that in the shops along the main road outside. -the wifi is very slow because so many people are using it. I noted the admin routers around the rest of the building have the same password so use them, they have less traffic flowing through them. -I was advised that a taxi from reception to Shanghai South would be 200RMB, it was in fact 49RMB when we got there. I'd advise hailing a cab off the street. -I noticed the reception was going to charge a customer 10RMB per ticket for 3 train tickets through the front desk. Spend 3RMB and get the tube three stops to the station and book them yourself.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very comfortable place but still a hostel, so good. Well organized, clean,lots of room and a nice common area that might be too comfortable for Internet. I travelled alone so I like to meet other people. This did not happen automatically. .

Disliked: The location isn't good but also not that bad. The dryers are not good.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Foster

Alone

City break

21 September 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near the metro.

Disliked: The 'restaurant' food was overpriced and portions were small. I also felt the staff looked grumpy and very serious all the time.. didn't seem liked they enjoyed their job so much!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe environment and bar on site

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good quality. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...