We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

77.8% Overall Rating

946 out of 1015 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2015)

Daniel Jones thinks…

"The hostel does state in its profile on Hostelbookers that is not located near to tourist attractions, however they are so easily accessible by public transport and taxi that shouldn't put you off.…"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 65.38
  • Breakfast USD 5.72

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
14.71 USD

Hostel 79.4% 186 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
52.31 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
11.44 USD

Hostel 84.9% 179 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel 76.8% 69 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel 84.0% 656 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.96 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.70 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.96 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

946 out of 1015 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 755 of 816 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice room,comfortable lobby and lounge.

Disliked: People smoking in the lounge, but thats china.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Jones

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel does state in its profile on Hostelbookers that is not located near to tourist attractions, however they are so easily accessible by public transport and taxi that shouldn't put you off. The hostel is on the same Metro line as both the Shanghai Railway Station and Shanghai South Railway Station so that is a huge positive if you're taking a train. The hostel staff are very friendly and were able to point me in the direction of all the major sights. Good breakfast options, nice bar with a pool table and plenty of seats for socialising with new friends.

Disliked: Its a little far from the Bund but that is easily accessed by the Metro station located two minutes walk from the Hostel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015

Liked: Room was okay and the beer in the bar was cheap.

Disliked: We were staying for NY and nothing was arranged at the hostel, no atmosphere at all. And when we asked about things to do the staff weren´t very helpful. Overall a below average hostel, I would try somewhere else first.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dominic Wong

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi & good lobby

Disliked: No wardrove

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a good location and has a nice bar and lounge area and decent toilets and bathrooms on every floor.

Disliked: When I arrived the staff was not very friendly. The hostel is maybe a bit too large for my liking and the beer was expensive compared to other Chinese hostels i've stayed in.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed I had was extremely comfortable, like melting into the mattress, but my sister had a hard bed, not sure why they are different. It was somewhat like a hotel in that the staff tidied the rooms every morning (which was nice). It was basic, but quite large in terms of the space. There were several stupid foreigners wandering around (as we do, finding out info and asking ridiculous questions) and the staff was more than helpful in accomodating. I don't know why other people are giving bad reviews about that. Anyways, the staff arranged airport drop off. The common room had a decent atmosphere, spacious, comfortable, the food was decent. Most hostel food is accomodating for the "western diet" and is therefore overpriced. Get over it if you have qualms with the price.

Disliked: The only problem was (and it was minute) that some of the area's are a bit confusing as to where to go in Shanghai since it is such a large city and the staff were all from other provinces or cities in China so the subway stops were wrong.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benedikt Jakobi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Benedikt would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. There were a lot of people in the hostel at the time, and it was easy getting to talk to new people in the bar - which is fairly big and has a pool table too. There was a member of staff on hand to help with travel arrangments and he was really helpful in getting me from the hostel to the site I wanted to see - finding the bus routes online and directing me to the stop. The hostel is pretty conveniently located if you want to go to Shanghai's art district, which I did, so I was happy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great bar/restaurant/hang out area, clean rooms.

Disliked: A little far from the city center, but the metro is so clean, cheap, and easy to navigate that I had no problems getting around.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014

Liked: Good size resturant area.

Disliked: Room was dirty and full of previous occupants rubbish, and smelt of damp from a leaking air-con unit. Showers and toilets hadn't been cleaned in a long time, there was a layer of something or other around the toilet seats. The whole place seemed fairly run down. Staff seemed unfriendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful an spoke good English. The rooms were cleaned everyday + we got new towels. Easy to get everywhere from there by subway.

Disliked: When we came there our room was really smoky and guests were allowed to smoke everywhere in the hostel. Although I have to add that when we asked for a new room we got one a few hours later.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gary Mathlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Have their own bar, staff were helpful when I needed assistance

Disliked: Aircon didn't work in my room so was sweltering. The tumble dryers are horrific! 2.5hrs and still my clothes were damo, they need replacing with ones that actually work as I refuse to hang my stuff out on a line (too many stories of people poaching clothes).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elsa Leticia Neve Ramirez Wiella

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Elsa Leticia would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was great! Staff helpful and very clean

Disliked: A little hard to get to it, but centric enough

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Gan Poh Cham

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: Just ok.

Disliked: I booked for female dorm but they let male stay in. I was pretty shocked when male entered my female dorm. When I waked up next morning an black man sleeping next bed... frightened me... luckily nothing happened.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eileen Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities

Disliked: Not much shows to watch.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are spacious, clean and bright with natural light from big windows. Bed-linen and towels are white and clean.

Disliked: The location is a little inconvenient, but okay. It would be lovely if they had satelite television in the rooms with the option of watching a film, instead of just Chinese television stations.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

06 May 2014

Liked: Close to a metro stop

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alberto Castilla Ruiz

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

05 May 2014 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central and near to a metro station

Disliked: The staff are either unexperienced or unefficient

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our bed was soft!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The restaurant is very good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Emptage

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: It is easy to get to from tansportation hubs. It is easy to get to shopping and sights by using the subway. The rooms are clean - internet works well.

Disliked: Took way too long for food to be delivered once ordered and when checking in took almost an hour to check 7 people in (they did give us coupons for half price beer while we waited though!!)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. The beds were huge and comfortable and they didnt creak every time you got in and out or moved. The whole place had a nice feel about it and the bar is a nice place to have a drink at really reasonable prices for shanghai.

Disliked: I dont like to say it but i was really disappointed by the service of the man on the desk when we wen to check in. I think we were standing there for a good 20 minutes while he checked us in and not once did he smile at us or apologise for the wait.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly,the lounge area is nice and room clean

Disliked: The location

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel environment

Disliked: They try to take money from you at every chance they get. Needed to get a cab out to Pudong Airport, hostel said they can call it for me. I would need to pay 200 RMB (and 250 RMB if it leaves before 5 AM), which is far more expensive than if you find one yourself. Was persuaded to take it before 5 AM (ended up with 2 hours too much time). The hostel kept 36% of the fees for themselves.