HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

83.2% Overall Rating

925 out of 988 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"This was a great hostel. The beds were huge and comfortable and they didnt creak every time you got in and out or moved. The whole place had a nice feel about it and the bar is a nice place to have a drink at really…"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.74
  • Breakfast USD 5.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Shanghai Youth Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.5% 210 reviews
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.95 USD

Hostel 81.1% 184 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.79 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 89.7% 151 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.47 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

925 out of 988 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 733 of 790 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean rooms, more like a hotel than hostel...which is ok by me

Disliked: Breakfast was weak -- you're better off getting something on the street nearby for a few yuan.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, the funfactor is not really high, but the free breakfast wins everything, at least for short-term-stays!

Disliked: quiet and food is overpriced as everywhere in these big hotellike hostels.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are tidy. Beds in the dormitory rooms are comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Many interesting people. Evenings in the bar are enjoyable. Free breakfast (nothing big there but still). Great value for money.

Disliked: You hear people walking an talking in the corridor during night. Hotel Bar is too expensive. Lockers in the dormitory rooms offers only symbolic security, but there are onother ones in the lobby.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Davies

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Private room just as good as a hotel room; free breakfast; excellent location for subway to bus station, train station and F1 grand prix; walking distance from Jade Buddha.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Kingston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to the metro, which was great once we got the hang of the system. It was quiet and there was lots of facilities on offer.

Disliked: The bar area was really anti social. It's not a place you'd go if you wanted to meet fellow travellers - everyone's on their computers. Maybe a few theme nights would liven the place up?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernard Wright

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Bernard would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to subway, helpful staff, extra services (library, travel, airport transport), free breakfast, elevator, great value for twin private room.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is 500 meter walk from Metro "Chao Yang Road" Line 4. First time i arrived i can fell warm and comfort atmosphere. Staffs are able to speak in English and they are being helpful in giving information. The Dorm is Quit okay, Water pressure is Good. For Breakfast they serve cereal, milk, dumpling, you tiao (Deep fried cake) , toast bread with jam. They have cozy place to hang out, Tsing tao beer is cheap, only 8 yuan per bottle. Restaurant is serving western and chinese food, cost arround 25-50 yuan. People who stayed here mostly are backpacker, expat on vacation and group traveller. i made few friends here. Will go back again to this hostel.

Disliked: Public toilet is smelly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice lobby, big double room

Disliked: hugh hostel, more like a hotel, with the eating room like a hall

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Naylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: There was a good bar facility which helped in meeting new people.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel/hotel. It is on the metro so not that inconvenient. The spacious room and facilities more than make up for that. The staff are wonderful.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, and much more comfortable than where I was currently residing in China. Water pressure in the showers was great! Really, I think I'm just thankful for the every day comforts that I had in America but lost when I came to China. Breakfast was good too! =) The lounge area is pretty amazing!

Disliked: Everything was really nice and practically free, except that it cost money to play at the pool table.. =/ haha

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel. Most staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Some staff I met on the first day was not so polite or helpful. But he's the only one to be that way. He didn't mention a word about the free buffet breakfast either, nevertheless he told the bloke ahead of me about it and I think he stayed in a private room!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms/bathrooms are clean. Even dorms are cleaned every day. Wonderful and smart choice to stay here considering the price and in Shanghai.

Disliked: It's a little bit difficult to find from the subway station, but once you find it it's ok to accept. It's like 300m away from the station if you chose the right exit and the right turn ;) But I made a mistake and the guy answered my phone was impatient and told me 'you could find your own way here'!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Weerawan Chanprapan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Weerawan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is not far from MRT station. The hostel is clean. A staff was very helpfull. And breakfast is good and free !!!

Disliked: There's a bit cold in the room. I've book for female dorm but in a middle night, a man come into a room. The staff told me that they have only mixed dorm but finally they change a new room for him and make me feel better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for the center area. All store what you need so close.

Disliked: For me was perfect place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean and tidy hostel. Would recommend to others. Staff are super friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Enjoyed everything about this hostel, we didnt have any dislikes

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was realy clean helpful staff

Disliked: it was littel far from the City

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Fernandes Nunes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The restaurant enviroment is very good. The rooms beds are brand new and clean.

Disliked: The don't give towels to take shower. We needed to pay for it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Matos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to subway, good buffet breakfast, free internet in the room, laundry facilities

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free and GOOD breakfast, the staff is very nice and helpful and the atmosphere and decoration is great! There are many services and it is very clean (the bathroom and shower is perfect!).

Disliked: I didn't really dislike anything, except maybe that you have to pay to get on internet with the hostels' computers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great!!!! very helpful and knowledgable! Great food in the bar and loved the movie night!

Disliked: We had some VERY loud neighoburs (ie surround sound speakers blaring at 4am).....would have been nice if the hostel staff had of asked them to keep it down and try to monitor the other floors a bit more. But they did allow us to switch rooms with ease

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, neat, and metro is near

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Tanaka

Alone

City break

21 January 2011 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were wonderful, especially Fiona!

Disliked: the acrobatics show was boring - like an old fashioned British comedy, ala Benny Hill without the jokes. Don't waste your time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Nolthing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: nothing