HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

77.4% Overall Rating

936 out of 1003 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

"The staff was friendly and helpful an spoke good English. The rooms were cleaned everyday + we got new towels. Easy to get everywhere from there by subway."

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.89
  • Breakfast USD 5.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel 79.5% 185 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.91 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 90.1% 163 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.58 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

936 out of 1003 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 804 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: my friend recommended it to me

Disliked: noisiness late in the evening and early in the morning in the hall

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room, good location (near the subway , not far from the center, big supermarket is 10 min away), helpful staff

Disliked: 1) floor in our room was not cleaned properly after previous guests

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & helpful staff. Free breakfast was a bonus. Very close to Metro too.

Disliked: I had a ground floor single room that looked out to the entrance. Couldnt really open the window without the noise from the courtyard, nor can I open the curtains without people seeing inside.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent spacious rooms

Disliked: At times the staff were quite unfriendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed there previously and also like the included breakfast. It is also quiet and close to the Metro (even though you have to walk for miles at the changeover station, is close to a variety of eating places, traditional or fast food. Staff is friendly and a few of them have better English than elsewhere. You can meet people if you wish or have peace and quiet.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monique Egan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast,toast dumplings,oj etc and its been 6 months since iv had cereal and i had a choice of cereal!! The staff were lovely so helpful, the rooms were nice and big, free internet for laptop users. Pool, movie nights. We spend most of our time out of the hostel but i would definitely stay here again.Metro is gonna be your best friend, 18 rmb for 24 hours unlimited trains,believe me you will use it.

Disliked: The chef produces great food at budget prices but With the menu, A lot of the Asian and Chinese food on the menu was blacked out, which i was a little dissapointed about. The Air con systems seem to be set to Fan and the remote and system is all chinese so i didnt know what to press.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Rubis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean with good facilities.

Disliked: No Soap

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good breakfast.

Disliked: The hostel is on the far edge of the city, but it is a short walk away from the subway. The Internet connection at the hostel is somewhat slow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Fulton

Alone

City break

26 April 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: All in all a good place to say. I meet some really cool people at the bar, chatted, drank and play pool until two in the morning. There is a nice relaxed atmosphere at the hostel.

Disliked: People on their laptops pretending to be busy and not making an effort to meet new people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best value for money of any hostel I have been to in China

Disliked: Staff in the dining area were not particularly friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms were as good as a hotel and clean. Good free breakfast.

Disliked: atmosphere

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good place to meet other travellers. Generally staff are helpful. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Some staff would get annoyed at being asked questions, but this seems to be common at hostels China.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean rooms, more like a hotel than hostel...which is ok by me

Disliked: Breakfast was weak -- you're better off getting something on the street nearby for a few yuan.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, the funfactor is not really high, but the free breakfast wins everything, at least for short-term-stays!

Disliked: quiet and food is overpriced as everywhere in these big hotellike hostels.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are tidy. Beds in the dormitory rooms are comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Many interesting people. Evenings in the bar are enjoyable. Free breakfast (nothing big there but still). Great value for money.

Disliked: You hear people walking an talking in the corridor during night. Hotel Bar is too expensive. Lockers in the dormitory rooms offers only symbolic security, but there are onother ones in the lobby.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Davies

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Private room just as good as a hotel room; free breakfast; excellent location for subway to bus station, train station and F1 grand prix; walking distance from Jade Buddha.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Kingston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to the metro, which was great once we got the hang of the system. It was quiet and there was lots of facilities on offer.

Disliked: The bar area was really anti social. It's not a place you'd go if you wanted to meet fellow travellers - everyone's on their computers. Maybe a few theme nights would liven the place up?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernard Wright

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Bernard would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to subway, helpful staff, extra services (library, travel, airport transport), free breakfast, elevator, great value for twin private room.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is 500 meter walk from Metro "Chao Yang Road" Line 4. First time i arrived i can fell warm and comfort atmosphere. Staffs are able to speak in English and they are being helpful in giving information. The Dorm is Quit okay, Water pressure is Good. For Breakfast they serve cereal, milk, dumpling, you tiao (Deep fried cake) , toast bread with jam. They have cozy place to hang out, Tsing tao beer is cheap, only 8 yuan per bottle. Restaurant is serving western and chinese food, cost arround 25-50 yuan. People who stayed here mostly are backpacker, expat on vacation and group traveller. i made few friends here. Will go back again to this hostel.

Disliked: Public toilet is smelly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice lobby, big double room

Disliked: hugh hostel, more like a hotel, with the eating room like a hall

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Naylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: There was a good bar facility which helped in meeting new people.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel/hotel. It is on the metro so not that inconvenient. The spacious room and facilities more than make up for that. The staff are wonderful.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, and much more comfortable than where I was currently residing in China. Water pressure in the showers was great! Really, I think I'm just thankful for the every day comforts that I had in America but lost when I came to China. Breakfast was good too! =) The lounge area is pretty amazing!

Disliked: Everything was really nice and practically free, except that it cost money to play at the pool table.. =/ haha

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel. Most staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Some staff I met on the first day was not so polite or helpful. But he's the only one to be that way. He didn't mention a word about the free buffet breakfast either, nevertheless he told the bloke ahead of me about it and I think he stayed in a private room!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms/bathrooms are clean. Even dorms are cleaned every day. Wonderful and smart choice to stay here considering the price and in Shanghai.

Disliked: It's a little bit difficult to find from the subway station, but once you find it it's ok to accept. It's like 300m away from the station if you chose the right exit and the right turn ;) But I made a mistake and the guy answered my phone was impatient and told me 'you could find your own way here'!