We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

82.9% Overall Rating

954 out of 1024 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2015)

"1/ Huge hostel so room available even when booked on last minute. 2/ Not too far from the metro. 3/ Big and confortable double room"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.31
  • Breakfast USD 5.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
16.08 USD

Hostel 78.4% 189 reviews
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
11.25 USD

Hostel 85.3% 182 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
12.86 USD

Hostel 78.4% 71 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
12.06 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.15 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.09 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.15 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.82 USD

Hostel 83.9% 202 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

954 out of 1024 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 762 of 825 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eclectic atmosphere, nice friendly staff

Disliked: My dorm wasn't great but it was ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice range of atmospheres and a great eclectic mix of furnishings going on as well as the great music. Friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: My dorm was not so great but it was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly. Stayed there a couple of times now, i always liked it. Nothing to complain about.

Disliked: Everything was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very modern and clean with good information on trips and transport - internet and computers, food including the free breakfast, bar, lift. 5 mins walk from the Metro.

Disliked: In email correspondence when we advised we would arrive very late at around 2.30am - one member of staff told us to 'find another place to stay' in that case. We decided not to and when we arrived found that there was always someone on reception and lots of guests were milling around - the bar having only closed at 2am. Aside from this person, all other staff were very friendly and helpfu.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amos ong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 amos would recommend this property

Liked: As gathered from some of the other reviews, this place is indeed not close to the touristy places. but, the subway is really close by and its easy to get to whichever place you want to go. This hostel was more like a hotel to me because the rooms were quite comfortable and they had proper nice toilets in our room. The concierge also gave it a professional look. Because of the way it is, there is not too much interaction between the guests. So if u're looking for a hostel-hotel kindof of experience on a budget. this is probably the place. What is there to complain, when there is also a night market at the entrance almost every other night selling pretty decent stuff and good food.

Disliked: The location but it can be supplemented with the subway

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was very ideally located near a subway stop - though it is not next to any main attraction or hot spot. It is easy to find and away from the madness of the city, though close enough for you to get to any location you want to. It was clean, spacious, and there was free breakfast.

Disliked: It's location could be better, but it is what it is.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ;)

Disliked: long time waiting for food in the restaurant

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Bart van den Boomen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Bart would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room Clean Metro is close

Disliked: Always take the metro to the city centre or anything worth visiting They upped the price of the room when we wanted to book an extra night

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Wai Yin Li

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011

Liked: money saver spend 150 rmb per night for a single room with private toilet facilities.

Disliked: big cockroach in the room, bad smell toilet need to switch on fan for fresh air

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

James Gladman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area downstairs is a great idea for this hostel, it has multiple uses - breakfast room, restaurant, bar, chill-out lounge and tv/dvd room. The prices are quite respectable and the food is tasty.

Disliked: The bar/restaurant is run separately from the hostel therefore you cannot take in your own food and drink although it is only a door that divides the hostel from the bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, polite staff, cheap, great food and bar, very nice included breakfast, cheap and quick internet, tv in private rooms, easy to make friends in communal area, not too loud at night, friendly atmosphere, comfortable beds.

Disliked: The only bad thing I can think of is it is too far from Shanghai centre so you need to take a metro with a few changes plus the metro station is down a dark street which I wouldn't walk down on my own.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julija Mustafinaite

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Julija would recommend this property

Liked: Included breakfast was great, you could choose from dumplings (steamed bun), toast with jam, cereal with milk, some soups, juice was also included. The hostel was very clean, it actually looked liked a little hotel, you could find slippers in the room, tea bags, boiling water was on every floor, 24 hour hot showers, etc. Everything was great!

Disliked: Maybe the location could be better, but it was not too bad once we found the hostel :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Lawrence

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent, friendly and helpful English speaking staff. Always a happy face to say hello to. Everything you need in a place to stay and more. Very comfortable, would happily stay again.

Disliked: Breakfast buffet limited. Fruit should be included.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, cleanliness and the offered breakfast, you cant find it very often...

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean hostel with helpful staff. There are security lockers in the reception area for your valuables and a good bar to relax in after a day of sight seeing. they also had a good range of food in the bar. It is also easy to get to from the train station as it is a couple of minute walk from the tube station.

Disliked: There is little to do around the hostel itself and the included breakfast is rather limited with 2 flavours of steamed buns and cereal included in the buffet. Though, as mentioned above, the bar does good breakfast food as well and it is cheap.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lara Adamson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean & modern bathrooms. Nice continental breakfast too!!

Disliked: Location in a residential area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest and best value hostels I have ever stayed in in my life. Definitely in my top 5. Breakfast was included and it is the best included breakfast I have ever eaten with a huge range of western and chinese breakfast items. Internet access was very cheap and always available. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. Location was good as it was only a few minutes from the nearest metro. The dorm rooms were very nice and the bunk beds were very big. There were 2 movie nights a week and a bar and restaurant on site, which lent itself to a great atmosphere at night. Amazing hostel!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: my friend recommended it to me

Disliked: noisiness late in the evening and early in the morning in the hall

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room, good location (near the subway , not far from the center, big supermarket is 10 min away), helpful staff

Disliked: 1) floor in our room was not cleaned properly after previous guests

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & helpful staff. Free breakfast was a bonus. Very close to Metro too.

Disliked: I had a ground floor single room that looked out to the entrance. Couldnt really open the window without the noise from the courtyard, nor can I open the curtains without people seeing inside.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent spacious rooms

Disliked: At times the staff were quite unfriendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed there previously and also like the included breakfast. It is also quiet and close to the Metro (even though you have to walk for miles at the changeover station, is close to a variety of eating places, traditional or fast food. Staff is friendly and a few of them have better English than elsewhere. You can meet people if you wish or have peace and quiet.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monique Egan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast,toast dumplings,oj etc and its been 6 months since iv had cereal and i had a choice of cereal!! The staff were lovely so helpful, the rooms were nice and big, free internet for laptop users. Pool, movie nights. We spend most of our time out of the hostel but i would definitely stay here again.Metro is gonna be your best friend, 18 rmb for 24 hours unlimited trains,believe me you will use it.

Disliked: The chef produces great food at budget prices but With the menu, A lot of the Asian and Chinese food on the menu was blacked out, which i was a little dissapointed about. The Air con systems seem to be set to Fan and the remote and system is all chinese so i didnt know what to press.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Rubis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean with good facilities.

Disliked: No Soap

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good breakfast.

Disliked: The hostel is on the far edge of the city, but it is a short walk away from the subway. The Internet connection at the hostel is somewhat slow.