We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

77.9% Overall Rating

941 out of 1009 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"The bed I had was extremely comfortable, like melting into the mattress, but my sister had a hard bed, not sure why they are different. It was somewhat like a hotel in that the staff tidied the rooms every morning…"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.97
  • Breakfast USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 79.4% 186 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 90.5% 169 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 76.3% 67 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.65 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.39 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

941 out of 1009 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 750 of 810 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anne morris

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 anne would recommend this property

Liked: most wonderful...great value...single room contains dbl bed, telephone,tv, internet cable plus internet free, own bath, free breakfast, wonderful dining area and small fee for airport pick up/drp off..staff very approachable..on the whole l would stay here again

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenny Mechelmans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice rooms. Close to the metro

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, nice little bar, close to the metro

Disliked: Bit far from the main sites in Shanghai but the metro is fast and cheap.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda McMillan

Alone

Shopping

10 November 2011 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: I always stay here because the people at the front desk act like they know me and like me. They are very friendly and have never failed to help me when asked. It's the staff that make this a wonderful hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is clean, convenient, good value. Buffet breakfast is adequate but could be better. Highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Desk staff was a little condescending but helped anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william christopher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 william would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at three hostels in Shanghai and this is clearly THE BEST HOSTEL IN SHANGHAI. It's new and super clean; and modern in style, with great community rooms and a bar/lounge to meet others; it's also close to the Metro and major spots to visit in Shanghai. One of the best hostels during a 2-month trip through Europe and Asia.

Disliked: Nothing, really

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near metro, supermarket and malls. Clean and safe. Breakfast included is ok.

Disliked: Slow internet. Can be noisy at night, as some guests dont respect the period of silence

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean and spacious (with a kind of Travelodge feel). There's a big communical area which houses a cafe/bar and is a great place to meet people! Breakfast was free and of a good standard, which made the hostel excellent value for money. Staff speak excellent English and are really helpful. If you're booking trips etc. through the hostel check exactly what you're getting and make sure it meets your expectations. Overall it's a great place to stay.

Disliked: It's not in the centre of the city but transport links are excellent so it's no big problem. The metro, which is both reliable and cheap, is a few minutes walk away making all of the sights easily accessible. The hostel itself is located down a scary looking alley but we had no problems and felt perfectly safe. The building is also incredibly ugly from the outside, but once you get in it's great. We booked a number of flights, buses and a river cruise through the hostel for our ongoing journey, the initial quote was widly expensive at £3,000 (way beyond anything a backpack on our budget could afford!) but they did come up with some more affordable options totalling £1,300 which we went ahead and booked. The flights were fine but sadly, the 3 day Yangtze river cruise was a disaster, the boat was dirty and falling apart, all of the other passangers were local and noone spoke English (including the guide). There was also confusion about our transfers ... maybe it's a lesson of 'you get what you pay for' but our expectations were certainly not managed. If you do book trips through the hostel I would urge you to be absolutely clear on what to expect. That aside, it was a great place to stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. the sitting area with the sofas which gives the cozy feeling of an hostel. 2. the breakfast!!! yam yam

Disliked: when checking in i didn't have enough Chinese money, so i was forced to leave a 100 US dollars deposit until i paid, as if i was going to run away..... But they did write down the serial number of the note to make sure i don't get back a fake one.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lauren Juliff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people, awesome bar and restaurant.

Disliked: The directions to the hostel online said to exit the subway station via exit 3. however when I got to the station there was NO exit 3. I asked 5 people and they all said there were only exits 1,2,4,5,6,7... And no 3?! I had to pick a random number and subsequently wandered around the streets of shanghai for 3 hours completely lost at 10pm at night. Exit via exit 7!!! There was also a homeless woman living in the lobby of the hostel as she couldn't afford a room, who kept trying to beg me to let her sleep in my bed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Godfried Dillen

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Godfried would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, close to metro. Quite. Athmospere. A place to meet people

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Godfried Dillen

With a large group / tour

Shopping

25 September 2011 Godfried would recommend this property

Liked: Location Nice athmosphere A place to meet othe rpeople

Disliked: none

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011

Liked: 24h reception and the rooms were cleaned everyday. The location was good being near shops and metro station.

Disliked: It was noisey and didn't have a good atmosphere between people staying there. This is not a hostel for backpackers as it tends to be used by people studying in China.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, because is very near to metro station. Restaurant on the first floor is good. The booking service they provide is excellent and helpful.

Disliked: The free internet in each room is horrible. Too slow. However, the internet of the first floor - payed computers it's fast. Very weird, ah?

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011

Liked: The rooms are very big and has got windows and nice bathrooms.

Disliked: The atmosphere isn't cosy. It is a very big hostel, with 150 rooms. There are many english young students. You don't get contact with other visitors. The hostel isn't that interesting for backpackers to meet other travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: not really in the city centre but a nice base away from the centre of Shanghai. It is more like a hotel than a hostel (meant to describe the size rather than the service) and the free/included breakfast is fine, the staff are generally friendly unless you tell them something has gone wrong! one of the washers and dryers where not working properly and instead of admitting it they tried to say we had loaded them incorrectly! eventually we got some money back and also the pc's in the reception have headsets but none of them seem to work either, I dont understand why they wouldn't remove them rather than have queue's of customers asking for a refund everytime they use the pc's?

Disliked: we stayed in a 4 bed dorm and there is a male and female bathroom at the end of each floor with 2 toilets and 2 showers and 2 sinks for about 30 to 40 people on each floor which is not enough. Also if you don't smoke the bar area has no open windows and is full of smoke so both you and your clothes will stink.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities available (i.e laundry service) were great. Good food and value for money. Welcoming and friendly staff. All rooms and showers/bathrooms were clean

Disliked: N/A

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty awesome that you get a free breakfast, especially when you're on a budget. The rooms were small but ok,

Disliked: Paying for the internet @ that rate. It might be just me, but I think backpackers should supply it for free. There could have been more areas for sitting and chilling out - movie area and such... + the clothes drier didn't work properly (may need to be serviced) and it was just taking my money.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms were really nice though perhaps a little on the small side. The beds were comfortable with your own lamp. The bathrooms were clean and well stocked with soap and tissue. The bins were changed regularly. There was a hairdryer available. The buffet breakfast was adequate and the bar was nice. Plenty of books to swap from and plenty of computers available. Nice, friendly environment~!

Disliked: The internet wasnt free and you couldnt lock your lockers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size rooms, clean, comfortable, good value, bar, helpful staff

Disliked: located quite far outside of the city centre

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed atmosphere. Had a great time at the " dumpling party" the hostel hosted, met a lot of other travelers!!!

Disliked: There was no where mentioned that towels weren't offered, so I did not bring one. If I had known this then I would have brought one. I was not about to buy one for one night either.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, organized hostel. Room and bathroom is great!

Disliked: none

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Munoz gregorio

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Munoz would recommend this property

Liked: in general,its good

Disliked: staff its not enough friendly,but not always

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Panakom Santayanon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2011 Panakom would recommend this property

Liked: i like bar and Big Qingtao beer only cost 8 yuan. 10 yuan for an hour of pool game. free internet (LAN cable) in private room which is awesome and offer strong signal. Best place to rock Shanghai with proper budget. Luggage room is safe.

Disliked: only the towel is quite small.. hahahaha

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ariel Nause

Alone

Business / conference

27 August 2011 Ariel would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are nice and clean, the food in the restaurant is good and not too expensive. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Charging extra for almost anything - soap (no soap or shampoo in the rooms), towels (you get just the small ones and need to add 20 Yuan for shower towels). Shame.