HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

83.9% Overall Rating

927 out of 990 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Robert Emptage thinks…

"It is easy to get to from tansportation hubs. It is easy to get to shopping and sights by using the subway. The rooms are clean - internet works well."

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.72
  • Breakfast USD 5.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Shanghai Youth Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.5% 210 reviews
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.94 USD

Hostel 79.5% 185 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 90.1% 152 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 640 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.46 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

927 out of 990 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 735 of 792 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice common area and the staff is very friendly. The bunk beds are also pretty ok.

Disliked: It's very cold during winter.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Thomas

Alone

City break

15 February 2012 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great restaurant and full service bar with reasonable prices for Shanghai. The internet is okay, and wireless is only available in public spaces. The staff speaks excellent English. The hostel is about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the Caoyang metro station.

Disliked: They do not provide any soap or towels. Not even hand soap for the sink. The free buffet is pretty bad. They had a few cereals, some baozi, and little else.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Their English is good and they help you well. the joint space where you can have a drink or you can eat something is really nice.

Disliked: The location is not very good. it is far from the city center

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicholas Parry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel were always helpful,plus also the price was very reasonable.Also the hostel was pretty easy to find which was a help as i had just travelled for a day to get to Shanghai

Disliked: If there was one thing i would have to say the hostel was a fair distance away from the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Aaron Palmer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 December 2011 Richard Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: I like this place. Stayed here on arrival in China, and it was the only place I looked to when I flew out. Location is great. Not in the middle of everything, but close to a subway station (what really counts) and in a good part of town.

Disliked: I have nothing to say here. Wait... online description should mention that subway exit number 6 is the most convenient. The one with the McDonalds. Then take a right as you go outside and you can't miss the hostel. Somewhat unclear directions. That's my critique.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and services

Disliked: Location a bit off from the center

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a quite a bargain considering the living standard in Shanghai and the its quality and services.

Disliked: No wifi inside the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011

Liked: Helpful staff. Good Internet. Free breakfast. Clean rooms. Close to the metro with easy to follow directions and signage. All around a great place to stay in Shanghai.

Disliked: nAda

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were quite spacious. The window has a fly screen which is really convenient. Nice glass shower cabin which is rare in China! The bar has daily special offers like "20% off all pizzas" or "welcome cocktail" which means you pay 18 RMB for one cocktail. It's not that far from the city center and the metro is really close. There is also a big Carrefour down the street.

Disliked: When we asked the staff for a screwpull they told us that it is not allowed to bring drinks to the common area and that we should stay in the room then. I can understand that for hotel restaurants, but should budget travellers stay isolated in their room if they cannot afford the hostels drinks every day?!? In other hostels I experienced travellers gathering together in the bar or common space while bringing their own food and drinks... it's about atmosphere!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROLANDO BELTRAMINI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 ROLANDO would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosmopolitan and lively......clean, friendly, very good place to stay, good value for money too....

Disliked: ROLANDO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anne morris

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 anne would recommend this property

Liked: most wonderful...great value...single room contains dbl bed, telephone,tv, internet cable plus internet free, own bath, free breakfast, wonderful dining area and small fee for airport pick up/drp off..staff very approachable..on the whole l would stay here again

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenny Mechelmans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice rooms. Close to the metro

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, nice little bar, close to the metro

Disliked: Bit far from the main sites in Shanghai but the metro is fast and cheap.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda McMillan

Alone

Shopping

10 November 2011 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: I always stay here because the people at the front desk act like they know me and like me. They are very friendly and have never failed to help me when asked. It's the staff that make this a wonderful hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is clean, convenient, good value. Buffet breakfast is adequate but could be better. Highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Desk staff was a little condescending but helped anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william christopher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 william would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at three hostels in Shanghai and this is clearly THE BEST HOSTEL IN SHANGHAI. It's new and super clean; and modern in style, with great community rooms and a bar/lounge to meet others; it's also close to the Metro and major spots to visit in Shanghai. One of the best hostels during a 2-month trip through Europe and Asia.

Disliked: Nothing, really

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near metro, supermarket and malls. Clean and safe. Breakfast included is ok.

Disliked: Slow internet. Can be noisy at night, as some guests dont respect the period of silence

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean and spacious (with a kind of Travelodge feel). There's a big communical area which houses a cafe/bar and is a great place to meet people! Breakfast was free and of a good standard, which made the hostel excellent value for money. Staff speak excellent English and are really helpful. If you're booking trips etc. through the hostel check exactly what you're getting and make sure it meets your expectations. Overall it's a great place to stay.

Disliked: It's not in the centre of the city but transport links are excellent so it's no big problem. The metro, which is both reliable and cheap, is a few minutes walk away making all of the sights easily accessible. The hostel itself is located down a scary looking alley but we had no problems and felt perfectly safe. The building is also incredibly ugly from the outside, but once you get in it's great. We booked a number of flights, buses and a river cruise through the hostel for our ongoing journey, the initial quote was widly expensive at £3,000 (way beyond anything a backpack on our budget could afford!) but they did come up with some more affordable options totalling £1,300 which we went ahead and booked. The flights were fine but sadly, the 3 day Yangtze river cruise was a disaster, the boat was dirty and falling apart, all of the other passangers were local and noone spoke English (including the guide). There was also confusion about our transfers ... maybe it's a lesson of 'you get what you pay for' but our expectations were certainly not managed. If you do book trips through the hostel I would urge you to be absolutely clear on what to expect. That aside, it was a great place to stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. the sitting area with the sofas which gives the cozy feeling of an hostel. 2. the breakfast!!! yam yam

Disliked: when checking in i didn't have enough Chinese money, so i was forced to leave a 100 US dollars deposit until i paid, as if i was going to run away..... But they did write down the serial number of the note to make sure i don't get back a fake one.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lauren Juliff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people, awesome bar and restaurant.

Disliked: The directions to the hostel online said to exit the subway station via exit 3. however when I got to the station there was NO exit 3. I asked 5 people and they all said there were only exits 1,2,4,5,6,7... And no 3?! I had to pick a random number and subsequently wandered around the streets of shanghai for 3 hours completely lost at 10pm at night. Exit via exit 7!!! There was also a homeless woman living in the lobby of the hostel as she couldn't afford a room, who kept trying to beg me to let her sleep in my bed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Godfried Dillen

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Godfried would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, close to metro. Quite. Athmospere. A place to meet people

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Godfried Dillen

With a large group / tour

Shopping

25 September 2011 Godfried would recommend this property

Liked: Location Nice athmosphere A place to meet othe rpeople

Disliked: none

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011

Liked: 24h reception and the rooms were cleaned everyday. The location was good being near shops and metro station.

Disliked: It was noisey and didn't have a good atmosphere between people staying there. This is not a hostel for backpackers as it tends to be used by people studying in China.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, because is very near to metro station. Restaurant on the first floor is good. The booking service they provide is excellent and helpful.

Disliked: The free internet in each room is horrible. Too slow. However, the internet of the first floor - payed computers it's fast. Very weird, ah?

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011

Liked: The rooms are very big and has got windows and nice bathrooms.

Disliked: The atmosphere isn't cosy. It is a very big hostel, with 150 rooms. There are many english young students. You don't get contact with other visitors. The hostel isn't that interesting for backpackers to meet other travellers.