HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

76.1% Overall Rating

938 out of 1006 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"The atmosphere was great. There were a lot of people in the hostel at the time, and it was easy getting to talk to new people in the bar - which is fairly big and has a pool table too. There was a member of staff on…"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.90
  • Breakfast USD 5.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 79.4% 186 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.92 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.55 USD

Hostel 89.9% 166 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.55 USD

Hostel 85.8% 653 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

938 out of 1006 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 748 of 807 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and convenient accommodation for the lowest price I could find in Shanghai

Disliked: You need to bring your own lock, no keys for the lockers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro

Disliked: Internet is very slow. Unable to link to wi-fi, which is only available on first floor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

matthew gibb

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2012 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to subway lines 3,4 and 11.The atmosphere is mostly Westerners on holiday.Many stay out on the balcony or in the lobby drinking late into the night.If this appeals to you it is perfect.There was an excellent bright light above my bed for reading. An excellent subway map is available on the counter as you walk in.It is your cheap ticket to the cities extensive sights and attractions.

Disliked: The downstairs showers were poorly lit and the doors don't lock.The doors swing out,which could lead to an embarrassing moment.The top beds feature thin matressess,which I was unaccustomed to.The benefits of location and atmosphere make up for any minor inconviences.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Perrott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great value, nice staff

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabelle van Duijl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2012 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good enough for us. Metro (line 3 and 4) is nearby, like 4 min walking from the hostel. Grocery store, shops, restaurants on the corner. We had a private room with our own bathroom, so it didn't feel like we were in a hostel, but more like a hotel. That's also why we think the price you pay is very good! Staff speaks englisch good enough to answer your questions (not many people in Shanghai do).

Disliked: Only 2 things.. Breakfast is not so good. They do have european breakfast and chinese also. But there's not much choise and it's not very tasty. But no problem for us, we just got our grocery's at Wuning Lu (road). Cleaners coming every day, to make up your bed and clean bathroom, clean towels etc. But it looked like they didn't clean the rest of the room so it was a bit dusty. Their information said they change sheets every 3 days, but in the 2 weeks we were at the hostel, I think they only changed twice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Fontenot

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and right by metro

Disliked: 100 yuan key deposit

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite. Clean and friendly.

Disliked: Direction to get to the hostel from underground is not clearly stated after booking. Underground line 2 is the most busy line. We arrived at the South Train Station from Hangzhou by train. We took line 2 to Zhongshan park and had to change either the line 3 or 4 to arrive at Caoyang Road then went to exit 7 turned right onto a road leading to Wunning Road where the hostel is. We experienced difficulty to take our baggages from below ground level to 3 floors above owing to the lack of lifts or escalator for passengers with heavy lugguages. I eventually found different route to get to Pudong Airport by taking line 4 to Centry Road then took line 2 to the airport because there was no problem taking heavy lugguages until we had to change to line 2 and we had to ask a staff at the customer service for allowing us to use the lift (you have to ask) to the platform for line 2.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was a big perk for the great price! The bathrooms were cleaned often and rooms were very comfy. We didn't mind the location either even if it was not in the downtown area. I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Disliked: I liked everything about the hostel! Good stuff!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me it was almost like staying in a hotel, I was very pleased with all the facilities and the helpful, friendliness of the staff. I would certainly recommend it as a place to stay.

Disliked: The bed was a bit on the hard side, but as I had a twin room to myself I used the available linen/thick mattress liner to soften the hard bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allyn stillman

Alone

City break

28 March 2012 allyn would recommend this property

Liked: Many services available at reasonable cost, laurndy, free breakfast, internet everywhere,

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about this place, of the several I have stayed at in Shanghai, this is the best.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CAROL LINCOLN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 CAROL would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful with my baggage, bookings, writing in Chinese for taxi drivers to read regarding my destination and pleasant at all times. The place was clean, cheerful and breakfast was free. This is my second stay here. Although it is not in the main part of the city, it is a 5 minute walk to the subway. It is quiet and the dining/bar area is pleasant for just hanging out and using wifi. No wifi in rooms but 1Rmb gives you 15 minutes on one of the 4 hostel computers. I would highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: It didn't look like a hostel at all; more like a hotel. The room size was spacious, a nice en suite bathroom, free breakfast - a really nice place to stay. Next time I'm in Shanghai, I know exactly where to stay. Great value for money!

Disliked: Celia left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpfull. The facilities were clean and handy. It is a bit far away from Pudong airport but with the metro you can get quite easy to the touristy areas. Daily roomservice.

Disliked: The towels were pretty small. I was freezing a bit in the hotel and had to keep on my coat all time. But Shanghai is not a nice place to visit in winter anyway.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice common area and the staff is very friendly. The bunk beds are also pretty ok.

Disliked: It's very cold during winter.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Thomas

Alone

City break

15 February 2012 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great restaurant and full service bar with reasonable prices for Shanghai. The internet is okay, and wireless is only available in public spaces. The staff speaks excellent English. The hostel is about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the Caoyang metro station.

Disliked: They do not provide any soap or towels. Not even hand soap for the sink. The free buffet is pretty bad. They had a few cereals, some baozi, and little else.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Their English is good and they help you well. the joint space where you can have a drink or you can eat something is really nice.

Disliked: The location is not very good. it is far from the city center

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicholas Parry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel were always helpful,plus also the price was very reasonable.Also the hostel was pretty easy to find which was a help as i had just travelled for a day to get to Shanghai

Disliked: If there was one thing i would have to say the hostel was a fair distance away from the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Aaron Palmer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 December 2011 Richard Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: I like this place. Stayed here on arrival in China, and it was the only place I looked to when I flew out. Location is great. Not in the middle of everything, but close to a subway station (what really counts) and in a good part of town.

Disliked: I have nothing to say here. Wait... online description should mention that subway exit number 6 is the most convenient. The one with the McDonalds. Then take a right as you go outside and you can't miss the hostel. Somewhat unclear directions. That's my critique.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and services

Disliked: Location a bit off from the center

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a quite a bargain considering the living standard in Shanghai and the its quality and services.

Disliked: No wifi inside the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011

Liked: Helpful staff. Good Internet. Free breakfast. Clean rooms. Close to the metro with easy to follow directions and signage. All around a great place to stay in Shanghai.

Disliked: nAda

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were quite spacious. The window has a fly screen which is really convenient. Nice glass shower cabin which is rare in China! The bar has daily special offers like "20% off all pizzas" or "welcome cocktail" which means you pay 18 RMB for one cocktail. It's not that far from the city center and the metro is really close. There is also a big Carrefour down the street.

Disliked: When we asked the staff for a screwpull they told us that it is not allowed to bring drinks to the common area and that we should stay in the room then. I can understand that for hotel restaurants, but should budget travellers stay isolated in their room if they cannot afford the hostels drinks every day?!? In other hostels I experienced travellers gathering together in the bar or common space while bringing their own food and drinks... it's about atmosphere!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROLANDO BELTRAMINI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 ROLANDO would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosmopolitan and lively......clean, friendly, very good place to stay, good value for money too....

Disliked: ROLANDO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anne morris

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 anne would recommend this property

Liked: most wonderful...great value...single room contains dbl bed, telephone,tv, internet cable plus internet free, own bath, free breakfast, wonderful dining area and small fee for airport pick up/drp off..staff very approachable..on the whole l would stay here again

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenny Mechelmans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice rooms. Close to the metro

Disliked: Nothing