HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of City Central International Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 74%

Location 78%

Safety 83%

Staff 74%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 60.14USD
  • Breakfast 5.26USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 74%

Location 78%

Safety 83%

Staff 74%

Value 82%

Showing 51-60 of 62 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location to the subway line is really good. It was decently cheap.

Disliked: They didn't supply hand soap or towels. the place was clean only where u see. if you look other places it is slightly dirty.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The bar and restaurant, free wifi!

Disliked: The beds were quite hard - not uncomfortable necessarily, and given the price extremely good value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Quet away from traffic.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Large communal area with loads of books, quiet area, not too far from metro station

Disliked: Quite far from the main area, bund etc. no free map

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room was clean and spacious with good size beds. 24 hour reception was good.

Disliked: Sinks were dirty most of the time. Bathrooms smelt a little, showers weren't very powerful. Staff did the job, but weren't very friendly. Felt impersonal.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great value for money, good location, helpful staff.

Disliked: Previously we have always been impressed by the free breakfast on offer, but were disappointed to see that this is no longer offered. Also, we were required to fill in deposit paperwork just to borrow a hairdryer, which seemed a bit over the top.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice, big and clean rooms! I stayed six nights in a twin room which was more like a hotel than a hostel (TV, shower gel, shampoo, proper rooms service...) and two night in a dorm room with bathroom and toilets on the floor. All clean and always hot water. Boiling water for tea, coffee etc. available. Nice bar. Pool, table football, computers available. Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet at night although there is a big road and subway quite close. Water boiler and cups in the private rooms.

Disliked: Some of the staff members don't speak proper English so it was a bit hard to get the booking confirmation for the visa and to extend the stay.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I think the look of the place is quite nice and the rooms are what you expect for a hostel. If you are going to stay here my advice is this; don't eat here or encounter too much of the staff service.

Disliked: Service here is very slow and frustrating. There are an abundance of staff but only a few who either a) do any work or b) know what they're doing. A noted most days that the owners or members of management will regularly sit around relaxing, playing pool in the bar or gossiping by the main entrance. Behind reception there are normally 3 or 4 regular staff, of which one of them does all the processing while the others stand around telling people to wait or taking payment for water from the fridge. The processing to check in and check out is slow and large crowds will build up. At this point you will notice nationals push by foreigners to the front of the queue.Both myself and my mate ate at the bar for the first three days out of connivance, DONT! We both got food poisoning. Our orders where regularly wrong and late, and I don't mean lost in translation. Even when pointing directly on the menu for the correct size portion I still received the wrong one. I noticed others around me in the bar encountering the same problems; others with a lot less patience than we had.Other things I noted;-don't by snacks from the desk, they are at least one third or double the price of that in the shops along the main road outside.-the wifi is very slow because so many people are using it. I noted the admin routers around the rest of the building have the same password so use them, they have less traffic flowing through them.-I was advised that a taxi from reception to Shanghai South would be 200RMB, it was in fact 49RMB when we got there. I'd advise hailing a cab off the street.-I noticed the reception was going to charge a customer 10RMB per ticket for 3 train tickets through the front desk. Spend 3RMB and get the tube three stops to the station and book them yourself.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A very comfortable place but still a hostel, so good. Well organized, clean,lots of room and a nice common area that might be too comfortable for Internet. I travelled alone so I like to meet other people. This did not happen automatically..

Disliked: The location isn't good but also not that bad.The dryers are not good.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

hello thanks for your comments.and i am happy that you like this hostel and we will try our best to make it much bertter,have a nice day

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location, near the metro.

Disliked: The 'restaurant' food was overpriced and portions were small. I also felt the staff looked grumpy and very serious all the time.. didn't seem liked they enjoyed their job so much!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

hello,dear guest .thanks for your comments,for your words we will try to change it and make it much better,we sincerely hope that you will stay here next time.

Check Availability