HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

77.4% Overall Rating

936 out of 1003 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

"The staff was friendly and helpful an spoke good English. The rooms were cleaned everyday + we got new towels. Easy to get everywhere from there by subway."

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.87
  • Breakfast USD 5.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel 79.5% 185 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.90 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 90.1% 163 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.57 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.33 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

936 out of 1003 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 804 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIWON YANG

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 JIWON would recommend this property

Liked: First, staff were nice and I could many foreign travelers in there. Most of all atmosphere and cleanliness were the best. I stayed with my mom comportably and were satisfied.

Disliked: Location was a little bit uncomportable because I had to interchange the subway to go People's square.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok

Disliked: Breakfast doesn´t include hot beverages, you have to pay for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio LopezCanal

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Aunque exclusivamente pasamos dos noches, cabe comentar que la ubicación es muy buena (a 25 minutos en taxi desde el aeropuerto ~ 55¥ y en metro a unos 35 minutos también desde el aeropuerto) A pocas paradas de metro se puede visitar el templo de Budha de Jade, y si estáis cansados de comer comida china hay un Mcdonald's en la parada de metro (Canyoan Road). Además el desayuno está incluído en el precio.

Disliked: La secadora es muy cara en comparación a la lavadora: 8 minutos es 1¥ y la lavadora 10¥ el lavado ... Pero se tiene que poner unas 8-9 monedas para secar la ropa. Os recomiendo lavar por la mañana y tenderla en el patio. O bien pagar los 15¥ por kg de ropa y que se encargue el Hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very homely and everyone is very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tamsin Rose Victoria Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Tamsin Rose Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous little white cat who hangs out in the common room, showers with doors so the bathroom doesn't get wet, breakfast included.

Disliked: Tea and coffee not included with breakfast (but hot water available on seperatefloor). Music in the common room often much too loud- fine if it were a busy bar full of people, but when there are only nine guests all quietly using their laptops it doesn't make much sense and it means people can't hear each other talk.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean, safe, and secure. The beds are very comfortable.

Disliked: The internet is HORRIBLE. It seems like they have a residential internet connection for the use of everyone in the 100 room hotel - it is slow and extremely unreliable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Room was okay (Triple), very clean, Hairdryer available, Wifi (slow),

Disliked: The Restaurant was absolutely ridiculous. We ate there twice (or we tried) we had to wait for the food for 2 hours the first time and then to fight for half an hour with the bartender that we actually ordered. Second time was similar we ordered and paid 3 hours later when we asked where our food is he said, there is no more food. Service is terrible, the worst restaurant i've been to ever...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Karissa Barlow

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2012 Karissa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hutong location close to many things。 Great character。Powerful airconditiioning was much appreciated!

Disliked: Staff was friendly but speak very little English。 It is an old building with thin walls。 Don't expect anything fancy!The towels were so worn they had holes in them。 The kettle leaked but they were happy to get us a new one。 Very clean but old。

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matt Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms have aircon and nicely sized lockers. The public computers they have are super cheap to use too (1 yuan for 15 mins). The subway is quite close (7 mins walk).

Disliked: What bothered me most was that the whole place smells like smoke. Breakfast only consists of basic cereal, dumplings, orange juice, bread and jam. I went to the bar for dinner one night where I paid and waited 40 mins only to find my meal order hadnt been placed with kitchen staff. So I took back my money and went to Macdonalds. Wirless internet cuts in and out a lot. There are no locks on shower doors. Also, please note if you are travelling by taxi at night, expect to pay 80 yuan to get to the hostel from Hongqiao Airport rather than 40-50 as they state on their info page.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The atmosphere let you feel right at home. Also located very near a metro station, so convenient to find initially and return to during the day/night.

Disliked: Can't think of anything of the top of my had---no complaints about this stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and quite new, the staff is speaking English very well and they offer a good service (there were no single rooms available anymore, so they gave each person a double room), there is also a nice bar in the hostel, ......

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcel Will

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

27 July 2012 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel gave you more the feeling of a hotel, and offered good service. The staff were friendly, and the rooms are quite comfortable.

Disliked: There was no WiFi on the rooms, but you could use internet via wire at the rooms. The breakfast could have been somewhat better, especially the selection was kind of disappointing. Moreover, it was not allowed to sit in the restaurant/hall room without ordering something.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Langinieux

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I lived for 3 months in there last year, and come back every time I stop in Shanghai. The shared showers are numerous, non-mixed, spacious and clean, which is really appreciated. The bar restaurant is super chill. Free breakfast in the morning. And definitly the only hostel I know with a midget groom.

Disliked: In spite of the name, the location is not really "central". However it is really close to the subway station - takes 30min to get to People Square, 20min to Jing An temple, 10 to Zhongshan Park. And by bus it is close to Moganshan which I strongly recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Treacy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of space in the lobby, welcoming staff with a great level of English, clean and cool rooms, an elevator!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: they ask to pay to get a map of the city...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

QIN LI

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 July 2012 QIN would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a nice place for people to stay. and the location is also good. It's just closed to the subway station.

Disliked: QIN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kuo hui chun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 kuo would recommend this property

Liked: none

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew iovane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: the midget that helps every one

Disliked: Nout

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

David Gómez Romano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Las habitaciones estan bien.

Disliked: Esta muy lejos del centro y de noche no puedes volver en metro.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIA LI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 JIA would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast is nice and the bar is comfotable, plus there are many public toilets which is very convenient.

Disliked: JIA left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were clean, and had a nice A/C!

Disliked: the staff was extremely cold - I think there was this one guy who was fed up of his job, and di not care about guests anymore!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Leczynski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean with all the extras was more like a stay in a hotel the hostel, good bar and lounge area great facilites and loved the pool table

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and convenient accommodation for the lowest price I could find in Shanghai

Disliked: You need to bring your own lock, no keys for the lockers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro

Disliked: Internet is very slow. Unable to link to wi-fi, which is only available on first floor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

matthew gibb

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2012 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to subway lines 3,4 and 11.The atmosphere is mostly Westerners on holiday.Many stay out on the balcony or in the lobby drinking late into the night.If this appeals to you it is perfect.There was an excellent bright light above my bed for reading. An excellent subway map is available on the counter as you walk in.It is your cheap ticket to the cities extensive sights and attractions.

Disliked: The downstairs showers were poorly lit and the doors don't lock.The doors swing out,which could lead to an embarrassing moment.The top beds feature thin matressess,which I was unaccustomed to.The benefits of location and atmosphere make up for any minor inconviences.