HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

83.2% Overall Rating

925 out of 988 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"This was a great hostel. The beds were huge and comfortable and they didnt creak every time you got in and out or moved. The whole place had a nice feel about it and the bar is a nice place to have a drink at really…"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.74
  • Breakfast USD 5.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Shanghai Youth Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.5% 210 reviews
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.95 USD

Hostel 81.1% 184 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.79 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 89.7% 151 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.47 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

925 out of 988 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 733 of 790 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Langinieux

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I lived for 3 months in there last year, and come back every time I stop in Shanghai. The shared showers are numerous, non-mixed, spacious and clean, which is really appreciated. The bar restaurant is super chill. Free breakfast in the morning. And definitly the only hostel I know with a midget groom.

Disliked: In spite of the name, the location is not really "central". However it is really close to the subway station - takes 30min to get to People Square, 20min to Jing An temple, 10 to Zhongshan Park. And by bus it is close to Moganshan which I strongly recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Treacy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of space in the lobby, welcoming staff with a great level of English, clean and cool rooms, an elevator!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: they ask to pay to get a map of the city...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

QIN LI

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 July 2012 QIN would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a nice place for people to stay. and the location is also good. It's just closed to the subway station.

Disliked: QIN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kuo hui chun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 kuo would recommend this property

Liked: none

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew iovane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: the midget that helps every one

Disliked: Nout

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

David Gómez Romano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Las habitaciones estan bien.

Disliked: Esta muy lejos del centro y de noche no puedes volver en metro.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIA LI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 JIA would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast is nice and the bar is comfotable, plus there are many public toilets which is very convenient.

Disliked: JIA left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were clean, and had a nice A/C!

Disliked: the staff was extremely cold - I think there was this one guy who was fed up of his job, and di not care about guests anymore!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Leczynski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean with all the extras was more like a stay in a hotel the hostel, good bar and lounge area great facilites and loved the pool table

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and convenient accommodation for the lowest price I could find in Shanghai

Disliked: You need to bring your own lock, no keys for the lockers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro

Disliked: Internet is very slow. Unable to link to wi-fi, which is only available on first floor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

matthew gibb

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2012 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to subway lines 3,4 and 11.The atmosphere is mostly Westerners on holiday.Many stay out on the balcony or in the lobby drinking late into the night.If this appeals to you it is perfect.There was an excellent bright light above my bed for reading. An excellent subway map is available on the counter as you walk in.It is your cheap ticket to the cities extensive sights and attractions.

Disliked: The downstairs showers were poorly lit and the doors don't lock.The doors swing out,which could lead to an embarrassing moment.The top beds feature thin matressess,which I was unaccustomed to.The benefits of location and atmosphere make up for any minor inconviences.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Perrott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great value, nice staff

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabelle van Duijl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2012 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good enough for us. Metro (line 3 and 4) is nearby, like 4 min walking from the hostel. Grocery store, shops, restaurants on the corner. We had a private room with our own bathroom, so it didn't feel like we were in a hostel, but more like a hotel. That's also why we think the price you pay is very good! Staff speaks englisch good enough to answer your questions (not many people in Shanghai do).

Disliked: Only 2 things.. Breakfast is not so good. They do have european breakfast and chinese also. But there's not much choise and it's not very tasty. But no problem for us, we just got our grocery's at Wuning Lu (road). Cleaners coming every day, to make up your bed and clean bathroom, clean towels etc. But it looked like they didn't clean the rest of the room so it was a bit dusty. Their information said they change sheets every 3 days, but in the 2 weeks we were at the hostel, I think they only changed twice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Fontenot

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and right by metro

Disliked: 100 yuan key deposit

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite. Clean and friendly.

Disliked: Direction to get to the hostel from underground is not clearly stated after booking. Underground line 2 is the most busy line. We arrived at the South Train Station from Hangzhou by train. We took line 2 to Zhongshan park and had to change either the line 3 or 4 to arrive at Caoyang Road then went to exit 7 turned right onto a road leading to Wunning Road where the hostel is. We experienced difficulty to take our baggages from below ground level to 3 floors above owing to the lack of lifts or escalator for passengers with heavy lugguages. I eventually found different route to get to Pudong Airport by taking line 4 to Centry Road then took line 2 to the airport because there was no problem taking heavy lugguages until we had to change to line 2 and we had to ask a staff at the customer service for allowing us to use the lift (you have to ask) to the platform for line 2.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was a big perk for the great price! The bathrooms were cleaned often and rooms were very comfy. We didn't mind the location either even if it was not in the downtown area. I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Disliked: I liked everything about the hostel! Good stuff!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me it was almost like staying in a hotel, I was very pleased with all the facilities and the helpful, friendliness of the staff. I would certainly recommend it as a place to stay.

Disliked: The bed was a bit on the hard side, but as I had a twin room to myself I used the available linen/thick mattress liner to soften the hard bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allyn stillman

Alone

City break

28 March 2012 allyn would recommend this property

Liked: Many services available at reasonable cost, laurndy, free breakfast, internet everywhere,

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about this place, of the several I have stayed at in Shanghai, this is the best.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CAROL LINCOLN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 CAROL would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful with my baggage, bookings, writing in Chinese for taxi drivers to read regarding my destination and pleasant at all times. The place was clean, cheerful and breakfast was free. This is my second stay here. Although it is not in the main part of the city, it is a 5 minute walk to the subway. It is quiet and the dining/bar area is pleasant for just hanging out and using wifi. No wifi in rooms but 1Rmb gives you 15 minutes on one of the 4 hostel computers. I would highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: It didn't look like a hostel at all; more like a hotel. The room size was spacious, a nice en suite bathroom, free breakfast - a really nice place to stay. Next time I'm in Shanghai, I know exactly where to stay. Great value for money!

Disliked: Celia left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpfull. The facilities were clean and handy. It is a bit far away from Pudong airport but with the metro you can get quite easy to the touristy areas. Daily roomservice.

Disliked: The towels were pretty small. I was freezing a bit in the hotel and had to keep on my coat all time. But Shanghai is not a nice place to visit in winter anyway.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice common area and the staff is very friendly. The bunk beds are also pretty ok.

Disliked: It's very cold during winter.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Thomas

Alone

City break

15 February 2012 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great restaurant and full service bar with reasonable prices for Shanghai. The internet is okay, and wireless is only available in public spaces. The staff speaks excellent English. The hostel is about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the Caoyang metro station.

Disliked: They do not provide any soap or towels. Not even hand soap for the sink. The free buffet is pretty bad. They had a few cereals, some baozi, and little else.