We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

80.8% Overall Rating

956 out of 1027 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2015)

"1/ Huge hostel so room available even when booked on last minute. 2/ Not too far from the metro. 3/ Big and confortable double room"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 62.51
  • Breakfast USD 5.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 80.1% 190 reviews
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 84.2% 183 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 72 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
46.81 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
35.09 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
46.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.69 USD

Hostel 84.2% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

956 out of 1027 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 765 of 828 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just awesome! We'll go back this summer!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kirsty Ghent

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 March 2013 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: I think the atmosphere is nice in the common areas, good food and always feel safe. I've stayed here on several occasions

Disliked: I wish there was more drinks and snacks on offer at night after the bar area is closed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YI GE SHI

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 March 2013 YI GE would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here 3 years ago for 3 months. It's quite a good memory. I revisited it this month. It's still very clean and full of fun people .

Disliked: The facilities are old. And the location is not very central.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although a little far from downtown, it was very easy to take the metro from here to anywhere in Shanghai. It's also particularly good if you are coming/going from Hongqiao airport or train station since it is closer to that side of town. I know some reviewers did not care much for the breakfast, but I thought it was great, especially considering it's free. It's true that if you're looking for a western breakfast, they only have cold cereal and toast. But they also had pretty decent Chinese breakfast items like porridge, youtiao, and soy milk. The rooms are very clean (I stayed in a private room, can't comment about the dorms) and come with shampoo, toothbrush etc. like a hotel. It was also very easy to book a taxi at the front desk when we needed to head back to the railway station. Overall, a very good hostel for the price.

Disliked: The directions from the metro station to the hostel are not very clear. It is actually pretty easy to get to, but they should give more detailed directions on the website. From the Caoyang Road station, take either exit 6 or 7 and turn right onto a small street that looks like an alley, which follows the above ground metro. The next intersection will be Wuning Road. Cross the street and turn right. Turn left at the white arch into a neighborhood and the hostel will be on your right. They only provide hand towels in the bathroom, no large ones for taking showers and when I asked at the front desk, the staff member working there at the time did not understand the English word towel. Also, despite there being quiet hours clearly posted, there were guests being very loud in the hallway very late into the night, which made it difficult to sleep. I would suggest bringing earplugs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms...public bathrooms are clean as well. Big rooms that are cleaned every day, like in a hotel. Free breakfast was nothing special, but free and good enough to start the day. :)

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby and not always working, no coffee for breakfast unless you pay extra.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHOU WEIYE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 ZHOU would recommend this property

Liked: its a nice and clean hostel, 10mins walk from subway station.

Disliked: ZHOU left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. They have a nice bar area.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled a little bit funky, but otherwise no major complaints

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value, cleanliness

Disliked: Clerk! Position a little bit off

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, breakfast was good and I really appreciated them getting my train tickets for me

Disliked: The staff were ok, they seemed to be more.bothered about playing pool or smoking than helping customers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrew Hagan

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: - Location was good (i.e. close to the metro) and the place was easy to find the first time with the map provided on the hostel webpage. - Clean - Comfortable and clean rooms (single private room). Decent mattrasses. - Okay bar area - decent for a basic meal

Disliked: - Service was at times a bit ropey, especially with the bar. On a couple of days the bar/restaurant area closed early (like 1:20pm, when the sign outside says it's open until 2pm) with no explanation. That was a bit annoying when going down for a late breakfast after a good night out! ;) - The hostel could have done more to encourage interaction, e.g. on New Year's Eve (when I was there). There was apparently nothing special going on that night (so I left and went somewhere else)...but it would perhaps give it a more hostel feel if the staff tried to encourage a bit of interaction. - One night there was a load of banging and shouting going on between the staff outside my door at like 12-2am. Sounded like they were doing DIY or something. That was a little irritating, and they should perhaps have some more respect for guests who may be sleeping (I was trying to work at the time).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Campbell

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2013 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Commons are was very nice, and a great atmosphere to meet people and make friends. The breakfast was about what one should expect for $free.99, but the coffee was delicious and very reasonably priced at 12 rmb for an Americano. Much of Shanghai will charge 30 and up for a less delicious cup of the same thing. On a side note. I had missed my bus to Shanghai and had to arrive a day late. I called the night I had planned to arrive to let them know. I was fully expecting to be charged for the missed night, but lo and behold there was no charge when I arrived. I don't know if this was on purpose or a mistake on a part of the front desk staff. Either way, WIN!

Disliked: The location, while close to Shanghai railway station, is pretty out of the way. If you are comfortable with metros, it is not that big of a deal. But, there are hostels much closer to the action.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Chee Seng Wai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2012 Chee Seng would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean at the lobby and bar

Disliked: The people staying with my room is dirty and very messy and talk very loud at nite the hostel have to order them to switch off the light by midnight so noise can be reduced

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet near from the center with the metro

Disliked: The breakfast is from 7.30 to 09.30 o clock. But at 9.30 the breakfast is gone. No chance...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this hostel for six weeks in total over November and December while on an internship. The staff were absolutely fantastic to deal with, took the time to learn my name, and were always up for a laugh or a game of pool. The four bed dorms are safe and secure with great sized lockers (bring your own lock) and your own light above your bed. The showers (on the bottom floor at least) have brilliant water pressure, the food on the menu is surprisingly good, particularly the cajun chicken pizza, and there are always travellers to have a yarn with. I only booked a week initially, unsure on if it would suit my needs, but I have been so happy to call this place home for the last wee while. Wifi, laundry facilities and cleanliness were all top notch. And Mimmi the cat is lovely!

Disliked: I have seen some mentions of it being far out of town, but it's only a couple of metro stops into the heart of the city, and a measly 3 yuan. It's actually really nice to be slightly out of the hustle and bustle, and it means you discover another part of the city. They do have the music in the bar up pretty loudly, but you can't hear it in the rooms. I would definitely recommend bringing your own towel - they have ones available but they're pretty small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly when you walk in - there are books and maps and flags from around the world. People are always milling about and chatting with each other. (There is also a white cat that likes to walk around and chat with visitors, but I didn't get to meet him till the last day I was there, so maybe that's a negative....) The free breakfast isn't anything to write home about, but it's good, and it filled me up till my mid-afternoon meal, so I could get away with my cheapy two-meal-a-day travel plan.

Disliked: The 4-bed dorm-style rooms, while comfortable, lacked a bit of privacy and security. If you can bring something to curtain your bunk, do that. Also be sure to bring your own padlock, as the lockers didn't have any. And bring a towel, unless you want to buy one, like I had to!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Dort

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Einfach Super besser geht nicht

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location.

Disliked: Bad smell on the common CR on the ground floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SCHNEIDER MICHELE

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 SCHNEIDER would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rapport qualité prix. Bonne situation, proche du metro et donc facilité de déplacement. Quartier populaire et sympathique. Sommes même allés au Karaoké proche de l'auberge avec tout le groupe (12) .

Disliked: SCHNEIDER left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Dawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good bathrooms. Ping-pong (although you have to pay). Spacious dorms.

Disliked: Terrible bar/common room music and light show in the evenings. Commission for train tickets is expensive (40RMB per ticket).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable! Fun atmosphere and friendly staff.

Disliked: A little removed from the center of town

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIWON YANG

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 JIWON would recommend this property

Liked: First, staff were nice and I could many foreign travelers in there. Most of all atmosphere and cleanliness were the best. I stayed with my mom comportably and were satisfied.

Disliked: Location was a little bit uncomportable because I had to interchange the subway to go People's square.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok

Disliked: Breakfast doesn´t include hot beverages, you have to pay for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio LopezCanal

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Aunque exclusivamente pasamos dos noches, cabe comentar que la ubicación es muy buena (a 25 minutos en taxi desde el aeropuerto ~ 55¥ y en metro a unos 35 minutos también desde el aeropuerto) A pocas paradas de metro se puede visitar el templo de Budha de Jade, y si estáis cansados de comer comida china hay un Mcdonald's en la parada de metro (Canyoan Road). Además el desayuno está incluído en el precio.

Disliked: La secadora es muy cara en comparación a la lavadora: 8 minutos es 1¥ y la lavadora 10¥ el lavado ... Pero se tiene que poner unas 8-9 monedas para secar la ropa. Os recomiendo lavar por la mañana y tenderla en el patio. O bien pagar los 15¥ por kg de ropa y que se encargue el Hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very homely and everyone is very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tamsin Rose Victoria Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Tamsin Rose Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous little white cat who hangs out in the common room, showers with doors so the bathroom doesn't get wet, breakfast included.

Disliked: Tea and coffee not included with breakfast (but hot water available on seperatefloor). Music in the common room often much too loud- fine if it were a busy bar full of people, but when there are only nine guests all quietly using their laptops it doesn't make much sense and it means people can't hear each other talk.