HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

75.3% Overall Rating

937 out of 1005 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

"The staff was friendly and helpful an spoke good English. The rooms were cleaned everyday + we got new towels. Easy to get everywhere from there by subway."

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 65.02
  • Breakfast USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
14.63 USD

Hostel 79.4% 186 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
52.01 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.57 USD

Hostel 89.8% 165 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.38 USD

Hostel 85.6% 651 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.68 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.41 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.68 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.3%

Overall Rating

937 out of 1005 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 747 of 806 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accomodation wise best hostel I have ever been to (private room)

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susannah Dillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were great. We liked the big self service laundry area, including a drying space outside if you don't want to pay for the tumble dryer. Staff spoke good English and are able to book taxis for you etc. Having the use of a printer was useful as we are on a long term trip and needed to get loads of paper documents printed. The bar was great and food very nice. The beds are the most comfy I've stayed in I think and rooms are clean and secure (key card access). Location is great, so close to the metro and near plenty of shops and cafes. Elevator is an added bonus. Hot water machine also very useful.

Disliked: Despite some great facilities this place lacks polite friendly staff and a good atmosphere. One member of staff was completely unhelpful and we felt like we were always bothering him, we were not made to feel welcome at all. Others seemed helpful but we werent fortunate enough to speak to them. We weren't told about the free breakfast and so missed that opportunity, nor were we directed to any of the facilities that were on offer, we found it all ourselves. If you want anything from reception be prepared to wait; it's a large busy hostel/hotel with only one staff serving at a time. This hostel is very clinical and lacks atmosphere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

graham tanfield

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 March 2013 graham would recommend this property

Liked: It's got a spacious reception area and bar where you can smoke!

Disliked: only there isn't much of a view but that's nobody's fault.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly,helpful staff and their ability to understand English. It is close to the Metro system, large communal dining area.

Disliked: The wet area required cleaning with some bleach before I would use it, once done no other problems apart from some very noisy French travelles whom kept their activities until the very early hours of the day to perform thus waking the rest of the hostels clients . 3 & 4 am not good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly what I was looking for as a college student traveling

Disliked: The food isn't the best

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Beasley

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The entire staff went out of their way to do more than required, lovely people, too many to thank by name, but Little David and Grace stand out in my memory. So close to the rail network, western supermarket, This is not the first time at this hostel, love the place.

Disliked: While the rooms are cleaned daily a little bleach or disinfectant in the bathrooms would be a plus.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Crystal Sherman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: The nice bar area and free breakfast.

Disliked: The shared bathroom on the floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just awesome! We'll go back this summer!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kirsty Ghent

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 March 2013 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: I think the atmosphere is nice in the common areas, good food and always feel safe. I've stayed here on several occasions

Disliked: I wish there was more drinks and snacks on offer at night after the bar area is closed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YI GE SHI

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 March 2013 YI GE would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here 3 years ago for 3 months. It's quite a good memory. I revisited it this month. It's still very clean and full of fun people .

Disliked: The facilities are old. And the location is not very central.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although a little far from downtown, it was very easy to take the metro from here to anywhere in Shanghai. It's also particularly good if you are coming/going from Hongqiao airport or train station since it is closer to that side of town. I know some reviewers did not care much for the breakfast, but I thought it was great, especially considering it's free. It's true that if you're looking for a western breakfast, they only have cold cereal and toast. But they also had pretty decent Chinese breakfast items like porridge, youtiao, and soy milk. The rooms are very clean (I stayed in a private room, can't comment about the dorms) and come with shampoo, toothbrush etc. like a hotel. It was also very easy to book a taxi at the front desk when we needed to head back to the railway station. Overall, a very good hostel for the price.

Disliked: The directions from the metro station to the hostel are not very clear. It is actually pretty easy to get to, but they should give more detailed directions on the website. From the Caoyang Road station, take either exit 6 or 7 and turn right onto a small street that looks like an alley, which follows the above ground metro. The next intersection will be Wuning Road. Cross the street and turn right. Turn left at the white arch into a neighborhood and the hostel will be on your right. They only provide hand towels in the bathroom, no large ones for taking showers and when I asked at the front desk, the staff member working there at the time did not understand the English word towel. Also, despite there being quiet hours clearly posted, there were guests being very loud in the hallway very late into the night, which made it difficult to sleep. I would suggest bringing earplugs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms...public bathrooms are clean as well. Big rooms that are cleaned every day, like in a hotel. Free breakfast was nothing special, but free and good enough to start the day. :)

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby and not always working, no coffee for breakfast unless you pay extra.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHOU WEIYE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 ZHOU would recommend this property

Liked: its a nice and clean hostel, 10mins walk from subway station.

Disliked: ZHOU left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. They have a nice bar area.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled a little bit funky, but otherwise no major complaints

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value, cleanliness

Disliked: Clerk! Position a little bit off

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, breakfast was good and I really appreciated them getting my train tickets for me

Disliked: The staff were ok, they seemed to be more.bothered about playing pool or smoking than helping customers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrew Hagan

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: - Location was good (i.e. close to the metro) and the place was easy to find the first time with the map provided on the hostel webpage. - Clean - Comfortable and clean rooms (single private room). Decent mattrasses. - Okay bar area - decent for a basic meal

Disliked: - Service was at times a bit ropey, especially with the bar. On a couple of days the bar/restaurant area closed early (like 1:20pm, when the sign outside says it's open until 2pm) with no explanation. That was a bit annoying when going down for a late breakfast after a good night out! ;) - The hostel could have done more to encourage interaction, e.g. on New Year's Eve (when I was there). There was apparently nothing special going on that night (so I left and went somewhere else)...but it would perhaps give it a more hostel feel if the staff tried to encourage a bit of interaction. - One night there was a load of banging and shouting going on between the staff outside my door at like 12-2am. Sounded like they were doing DIY or something. That was a little irritating, and they should perhaps have some more respect for guests who may be sleeping (I was trying to work at the time).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Campbell

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2013 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Commons are was very nice, and a great atmosphere to meet people and make friends. The breakfast was about what one should expect for $free.99, but the coffee was delicious and very reasonably priced at 12 rmb for an Americano. Much of Shanghai will charge 30 and up for a less delicious cup of the same thing. On a side note. I had missed my bus to Shanghai and had to arrive a day late. I called the night I had planned to arrive to let them know. I was fully expecting to be charged for the missed night, but lo and behold there was no charge when I arrived. I don't know if this was on purpose or a mistake on a part of the front desk staff. Either way, WIN!

Disliked: The location, while close to Shanghai railway station, is pretty out of the way. If you are comfortable with metros, it is not that big of a deal. But, there are hostels much closer to the action.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Chee Seng Wai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2012 Chee Seng would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean at the lobby and bar

Disliked: The people staying with my room is dirty and very messy and talk very loud at nite the hostel have to order them to switch off the light by midnight so noise can be reduced

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet near from the center with the metro

Disliked: The breakfast is from 7.30 to 09.30 o clock. But at 9.30 the breakfast is gone. No chance...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this hostel for six weeks in total over November and December while on an internship. The staff were absolutely fantastic to deal with, took the time to learn my name, and were always up for a laugh or a game of pool. The four bed dorms are safe and secure with great sized lockers (bring your own lock) and your own light above your bed. The showers (on the bottom floor at least) have brilliant water pressure, the food on the menu is surprisingly good, particularly the cajun chicken pizza, and there are always travellers to have a yarn with. I only booked a week initially, unsure on if it would suit my needs, but I have been so happy to call this place home for the last wee while. Wifi, laundry facilities and cleanliness were all top notch. And Mimmi the cat is lovely!

Disliked: I have seen some mentions of it being far out of town, but it's only a couple of metro stops into the heart of the city, and a measly 3 yuan. It's actually really nice to be slightly out of the hustle and bustle, and it means you discover another part of the city. They do have the music in the bar up pretty loudly, but you can't hear it in the rooms. I would definitely recommend bringing your own towel - they have ones available but they're pretty small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly when you walk in - there are books and maps and flags from around the world. People are always milling about and chatting with each other. (There is also a white cat that likes to walk around and chat with visitors, but I didn't get to meet him till the last day I was there, so maybe that's a negative....) The free breakfast isn't anything to write home about, but it's good, and it filled me up till my mid-afternoon meal, so I could get away with my cheapy two-meal-a-day travel plan.

Disliked: The 4-bed dorm-style rooms, while comfortable, lacked a bit of privacy and security. If you can bring something to curtain your bunk, do that. Also be sure to bring your own padlock, as the lockers didn't have any. And bring a towel, unless you want to buy one, like I had to!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Dort

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Einfach Super besser geht nicht

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location.

Disliked: Bad smell on the common CR on the ground floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SCHNEIDER MICHELE

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 SCHNEIDER would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rapport qualité prix. Bonne situation, proche du metro et donc facilité de déplacement. Quartier populaire et sympathique. Sommes même allés au Karaoké proche de l'auberge avec tout le groupe (12) .

Disliked: SCHNEIDER left no negative feedback.