HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

82.4% Overall Rating

926 out of 989 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"This was a great hostel. The beds were huge and comfortable and they didnt creak every time you got in and out or moved. The whole place had a nice feel about it and the bar is a nice place to have a drink at really…"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.70
  • Breakfast USD 5.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Shanghai Youth Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.5% 210 reviews
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.94 USD

Hostel 79.5% 185 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.76 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 90.1% 152 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.51 USD

Hostel 87.8% 640 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.45 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

927 out of 990 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 735 of 792 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHOU WEIYE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 ZHOU would recommend this property

Liked: its a nice and clean hostel, 10mins walk from subway station.

Disliked: ZHOU left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. They have a nice bar area.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled a little bit funky, but otherwise no major complaints

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value, cleanliness

Disliked: Clerk! Position a little bit off

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, breakfast was good and I really appreciated them getting my train tickets for me

Disliked: The staff were ok, they seemed to be more.bothered about playing pool or smoking than helping customers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrew Hagan

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: - Location was good (i.e. close to the metro) and the place was easy to find the first time with the map provided on the hostel webpage. - Clean - Comfortable and clean rooms (single private room). Decent mattrasses. - Okay bar area - decent for a basic meal

Disliked: - Service was at times a bit ropey, especially with the bar. On a couple of days the bar/restaurant area closed early (like 1:20pm, when the sign outside says it's open until 2pm) with no explanation. That was a bit annoying when going down for a late breakfast after a good night out! ;) - The hostel could have done more to encourage interaction, e.g. on New Year's Eve (when I was there). There was apparently nothing special going on that night (so I left and went somewhere else)...but it would perhaps give it a more hostel feel if the staff tried to encourage a bit of interaction. - One night there was a load of banging and shouting going on between the staff outside my door at like 12-2am. Sounded like they were doing DIY or something. That was a little irritating, and they should perhaps have some more respect for guests who may be sleeping (I was trying to work at the time).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Campbell

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2013 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Commons are was very nice, and a great atmosphere to meet people and make friends. The breakfast was about what one should expect for $free.99, but the coffee was delicious and very reasonably priced at 12 rmb for an Americano. Much of Shanghai will charge 30 and up for a less delicious cup of the same thing. On a side note. I had missed my bus to Shanghai and had to arrive a day late. I called the night I had planned to arrive to let them know. I was fully expecting to be charged for the missed night, but lo and behold there was no charge when I arrived. I don't know if this was on purpose or a mistake on a part of the front desk staff. Either way, WIN!

Disliked: The location, while close to Shanghai railway station, is pretty out of the way. If you are comfortable with metros, it is not that big of a deal. But, there are hostels much closer to the action.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Chee Seng Wai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2012 Chee Seng would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean at the lobby and bar

Disliked: The people staying with my room is dirty and very messy and talk very loud at nite the hostel have to order them to switch off the light by midnight so noise can be reduced

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet near from the center with the metro

Disliked: The breakfast is from 7.30 to 09.30 o clock. But at 9.30 the breakfast is gone. No chance...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this hostel for six weeks in total over November and December while on an internship. The staff were absolutely fantastic to deal with, took the time to learn my name, and were always up for a laugh or a game of pool. The four bed dorms are safe and secure with great sized lockers (bring your own lock) and your own light above your bed. The showers (on the bottom floor at least) have brilliant water pressure, the food on the menu is surprisingly good, particularly the cajun chicken pizza, and there are always travellers to have a yarn with. I only booked a week initially, unsure on if it would suit my needs, but I have been so happy to call this place home for the last wee while. Wifi, laundry facilities and cleanliness were all top notch. And Mimmi the cat is lovely!

Disliked: I have seen some mentions of it being far out of town, but it's only a couple of metro stops into the heart of the city, and a measly 3 yuan. It's actually really nice to be slightly out of the hustle and bustle, and it means you discover another part of the city. They do have the music in the bar up pretty loudly, but you can't hear it in the rooms. I would definitely recommend bringing your own towel - they have ones available but they're pretty small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly when you walk in - there are books and maps and flags from around the world. People are always milling about and chatting with each other. (There is also a white cat that likes to walk around and chat with visitors, but I didn't get to meet him till the last day I was there, so maybe that's a negative....) The free breakfast isn't anything to write home about, but it's good, and it filled me up till my mid-afternoon meal, so I could get away with my cheapy two-meal-a-day travel plan.

Disliked: The 4-bed dorm-style rooms, while comfortable, lacked a bit of privacy and security. If you can bring something to curtain your bunk, do that. Also be sure to bring your own padlock, as the lockers didn't have any. And bring a towel, unless you want to buy one, like I had to!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Dort

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Einfach Super besser geht nicht

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location.

Disliked: Bad smell on the common CR on the ground floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SCHNEIDER MICHELE

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 SCHNEIDER would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rapport qualité prix. Bonne situation, proche du metro et donc facilité de déplacement. Quartier populaire et sympathique. Sommes même allés au Karaoké proche de l'auberge avec tout le groupe (12) .

Disliked: SCHNEIDER left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Dawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good bathrooms. Ping-pong (although you have to pay). Spacious dorms.

Disliked: Terrible bar/common room music and light show in the evenings. Commission for train tickets is expensive (40RMB per ticket).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable! Fun atmosphere and friendly staff.

Disliked: A little removed from the center of town

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIWON YANG

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 JIWON would recommend this property

Liked: First, staff were nice and I could many foreign travelers in there. Most of all atmosphere and cleanliness were the best. I stayed with my mom comportably and were satisfied.

Disliked: Location was a little bit uncomportable because I had to interchange the subway to go People's square.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok

Disliked: Breakfast doesn´t include hot beverages, you have to pay for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio LopezCanal

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Aunque exclusivamente pasamos dos noches, cabe comentar que la ubicación es muy buena (a 25 minutos en taxi desde el aeropuerto ~ 55¥ y en metro a unos 35 minutos también desde el aeropuerto) A pocas paradas de metro se puede visitar el templo de Budha de Jade, y si estáis cansados de comer comida china hay un Mcdonald's en la parada de metro (Canyoan Road). Además el desayuno está incluído en el precio.

Disliked: La secadora es muy cara en comparación a la lavadora: 8 minutos es 1¥ y la lavadora 10¥ el lavado ... Pero se tiene que poner unas 8-9 monedas para secar la ropa. Os recomiendo lavar por la mañana y tenderla en el patio. O bien pagar los 15¥ por kg de ropa y que se encargue el Hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very homely and everyone is very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tamsin Rose Victoria Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Tamsin Rose Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous little white cat who hangs out in the common room, showers with doors so the bathroom doesn't get wet, breakfast included.

Disliked: Tea and coffee not included with breakfast (but hot water available on seperatefloor). Music in the common room often much too loud- fine if it were a busy bar full of people, but when there are only nine guests all quietly using their laptops it doesn't make much sense and it means people can't hear each other talk.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean, safe, and secure. The beds are very comfortable.

Disliked: The internet is HORRIBLE. It seems like they have a residential internet connection for the use of everyone in the 100 room hotel - it is slow and extremely unreliable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Room was okay (Triple), very clean, Hairdryer available, Wifi (slow),

Disliked: The Restaurant was absolutely ridiculous. We ate there twice (or we tried) we had to wait for the food for 2 hours the first time and then to fight for half an hour with the bartender that we actually ordered. Second time was similar we ordered and paid 3 hours later when we asked where our food is he said, there is no more food. Service is terrible, the worst restaurant i've been to ever...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Karissa Barlow

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2012 Karissa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hutong location close to many things。 Great character。Powerful airconditiioning was much appreciated!

Disliked: Staff was friendly but speak very little English。 It is an old building with thin walls。 Don't expect anything fancy!The towels were so worn they had holes in them。 The kettle leaked but they were happy to get us a new one。 Very clean but old。

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matt Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms have aircon and nicely sized lockers. The public computers they have are super cheap to use too (1 yuan for 15 mins). The subway is quite close (7 mins walk).

Disliked: What bothered me most was that the whole place smells like smoke. Breakfast only consists of basic cereal, dumplings, orange juice, bread and jam. I went to the bar for dinner one night where I paid and waited 40 mins only to find my meal order hadnt been placed with kitchen staff. So I took back my money and went to Macdonalds. Wirless internet cuts in and out a lot. There are no locks on shower doors. Also, please note if you are travelling by taxi at night, expect to pay 80 yuan to get to the hostel from Hongqiao Airport rather than 40-50 as they state on their info page.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The atmosphere let you feel right at home. Also located very near a metro station, so convenient to find initially and return to during the day/night.

Disliked: Can't think of anything of the top of my had---no complaints about this stay.