HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

77.4% Overall Rating

936 out of 1003 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

"The staff was friendly and helpful an spoke good English. The rooms were cleaned everyday + we got new towels. Easy to get everywhere from there by subway."

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.89
  • Breakfast USD 5.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel 79.5% 185 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.91 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 90.1% 163 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.58 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

936 out of 1003 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 804 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very conveniently located, next to the metro. Rooms were nice and very clean.

Disliked: I'm pretty sure I paid a deposit for my room key, but I couldn't remember by the time I checked out and it wasn't on my receipt so I couldn't prove it. It's not a negative comment just make sure you check your receipt to see if the key card deposit is on it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Witecki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a dorm room. Nice big in-room lockers large enough to fit a carry on suitcase. Common areas very conducive to meeting people. Even though the hostel claims it's location is not that good, it's very close to the metro station so no issues getting around. Breakfast buffet was very good particularly the dumplings.

Disliked: Mattress was truly awful. It was a 1 inch thick piece of foam which was badly worn, you could tell because the sides were much higher than the middle. It gave me back ache for the whole time I stayed, and was difficult to sleep. I discovered at the end only top bunks had this terrible mattress, so if I was to recommend this hostel I'd say make sure it's a bottom bunk! One particular staff member had a poor attitude and acted like everything was a hassle and you should never disturb him. All the rest were great. No wifi in rooms and could be a bit spotty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and there were travelers from all over the world enjoying the lounge area and the computer area. The hot water was available at all times (and was extremely hot at that!).

Disliked: They do not provide full-sized towels, just hand towels and floor mat. Bring your own towel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciek Roszkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Maciek would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, quite good location (3 minutes by walk from sky train station) and nice atmophere.

Disliked: Maciek left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Schoenbeck

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to, very helpful and friendly staff. There is even a cleaning aervice which does your bed :)

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hotel-like beds and bathroom. could easily be mistaken as a hotel as oppsed on being a hostel. immaculately clean bed sheets, bfast is a nice touch. dining hall has character (different paintings)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carmen piters

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2013 carmen would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere!!

Disliked: The place because it's "far" away from the city central..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pavel Kristof

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2013 Pavel would recommend this property

Liked: lively hostel with really friendly staff... great value for money.

Disliked: no complanits.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the subway station. Staff is very helpful and will help you with directions and on getting cab, even wrote where I was going in Chinese so just in case the cab driver did not speak English. Hostel is very clean. The breakfast was awesome with a lot of foods to choose from. Huge hang out area.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulus van Eik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Paulus would recommend this property

Liked: clean, met great people

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Gorman

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to a metro station and in a bustling neighbourhood (even if it's not close to the centre of town). It provides a free breakfast, including genuine Chinese breakfast food, which was much appreciated and the staff were generally helpful in telling me where I could find things I needed near the hostel.

Disliked: There are only 2 showers on the ground floor, which meant I had to wait quite a while for a shower, but otherwise it was good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was really big, and beds were comfortable. The staff at the desk were freindly, and helped us with bookings etc.

Disliked: Only one little thing - neither the desk staff or the cleaning staff would give us a second towel, we stayed four nights and had booked a twin for the two of us, but only got one towel between us each day.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Big with lots of facilities, nice and clean with free breakfast.

Disliked: It could be brilliant if the staff were friendly, however everyone I came across was very grumpy and bored, not willing to help. It was a great place but because of this the atmosphere wasn't very relaxed or friendly, and you couldn't ask for advice with attractions ect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JULIONO CHANDRA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 JULIONO would recommend this property

Liked: The best choice hostel in shanghai..

Disliked: No

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Beecroft

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Room was really large and clean- more like a hotel than a hostel.Good breakfast in the morning and lots of places to sit down in common areas. Also near to subway.

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrey Tsybin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Andrey would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern rooms, close to subway, interesting enliven social life in quiet place.

Disliked: Nothing at much.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were good.

Disliked: No kitchen, no dinning room. Only a bar, where you cant access with food or drinks

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Piotr Nowak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: easy acccess..

Disliked: the night stuff is nbot so friendly....maybe cause its late but that not a reson to make fool out of people...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near railway station big living room

Disliked: wifi only in livingroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marek Piasecki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: Common area creates good atmosphere for socializing

Disliked: Problems with internet, not enough plugs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

etienne lejeune

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 etienne would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: etienne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find from metro station, staff are helpful, and the place is quite quirky. Free breakfast. Hot powerful shower. What more do you want!?

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Pritchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great, as soon as I checked in your made feel welcome. The staff are very friendly and helpfull, they have team of ladies who clean the place every morning so its spotless! Soo many good features they must take suggestions from previous guests. The rooms are good and beds are massive like having 2 double beds one on top of each other. Bathrooms are private cubicles in shared bathroom! I would defo recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: only downside is breakfast finishes at half 9, but since its free who can complain!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accomodation wise best hostel I have ever been to (private room)

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susannah Dillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were great. We liked the big self service laundry area, including a drying space outside if you don't want to pay for the tumble dryer. Staff spoke good English and are able to book taxis for you etc. Having the use of a printer was useful as we are on a long term trip and needed to get loads of paper documents printed. The bar was great and food very nice. The beds are the most comfy I've stayed in I think and rooms are clean and secure (key card access). Location is great, so close to the metro and near plenty of shops and cafes. Elevator is an added bonus. Hot water machine also very useful.

Disliked: Despite some great facilities this place lacks polite friendly staff and a good atmosphere. One member of staff was completely unhelpful and we felt like we were always bothering him, we were not made to feel welcome at all. Others seemed helpful but we werent fortunate enough to speak to them. We weren't told about the free breakfast and so missed that opportunity, nor were we directed to any of the facilities that were on offer, we found it all ourselves. If you want anything from reception be prepared to wait; it's a large busy hostel/hotel with only one staff serving at a time. This hostel is very clinical and lacks atmosphere.