HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

82.4% Overall Rating

926 out of 989 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"This was a great hostel. The beds were huge and comfortable and they didnt creak every time you got in and out or moved. The whole place had a nice feel about it and the bar is a nice place to have a drink at really…"

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.72
  • Breakfast USD 5.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Shanghai Youth Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.5% 210 reviews
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.94 USD

Hostel 81.1% 184 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 90.1% 152 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 640 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.46 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

926 out of 989 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 733 of 790 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Big with lots of facilities, nice and clean with free breakfast.

Disliked: It could be brilliant if the staff were friendly, however everyone I came across was very grumpy and bored, not willing to help. It was a great place but because of this the atmosphere wasn't very relaxed or friendly, and you couldn't ask for advice with attractions ect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JULIONO CHANDRA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 JULIONO would recommend this property

Liked: The best choice hostel in shanghai..

Disliked: No

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Beecroft

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Room was really large and clean- more like a hotel than a hostel.Good breakfast in the morning and lots of places to sit down in common areas. Also near to subway.

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrey Tsybin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Andrey would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern rooms, close to subway, interesting enliven social life in quiet place.

Disliked: Nothing at much.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were good.

Disliked: No kitchen, no dinning room. Only a bar, where you cant access with food or drinks

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Piotr Nowak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: easy acccess..

Disliked: the night stuff is nbot so friendly....maybe cause its late but that not a reson to make fool out of people...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near railway station big living room

Disliked: wifi only in livingroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marek Piasecki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: Common area creates good atmosphere for socializing

Disliked: Problems with internet, not enough plugs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

etienne lejeune

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 etienne would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: etienne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find from metro station, staff are helpful, and the place is quite quirky. Free breakfast. Hot powerful shower. What more do you want!?

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Pritchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great, as soon as I checked in your made feel welcome. The staff are very friendly and helpfull, they have team of ladies who clean the place every morning so its spotless! Soo many good features they must take suggestions from previous guests. The rooms are good and beds are massive like having 2 double beds one on top of each other. Bathrooms are private cubicles in shared bathroom! I would defo recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: only downside is breakfast finishes at half 9, but since its free who can complain!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accomodation wise best hostel I have ever been to (private room)

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susannah Dillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were great. We liked the big self service laundry area, including a drying space outside if you don't want to pay for the tumble dryer. Staff spoke good English and are able to book taxis for you etc. Having the use of a printer was useful as we are on a long term trip and needed to get loads of paper documents printed. The bar was great and food very nice. The beds are the most comfy I've stayed in I think and rooms are clean and secure (key card access). Location is great, so close to the metro and near plenty of shops and cafes. Elevator is an added bonus. Hot water machine also very useful.

Disliked: Despite some great facilities this place lacks polite friendly staff and a good atmosphere. One member of staff was completely unhelpful and we felt like we were always bothering him, we were not made to feel welcome at all. Others seemed helpful but we werent fortunate enough to speak to them. We weren't told about the free breakfast and so missed that opportunity, nor were we directed to any of the facilities that were on offer, we found it all ourselves. If you want anything from reception be prepared to wait; it's a large busy hostel/hotel with only one staff serving at a time. This hostel is very clinical and lacks atmosphere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

graham tanfield

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 March 2013 graham would recommend this property

Liked: It's got a spacious reception area and bar where you can smoke!

Disliked: only there isn't much of a view but that's nobody's fault.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly,helpful staff and their ability to understand English. It is close to the Metro system, large communal dining area.

Disliked: The wet area required cleaning with some bleach before I would use it, once done no other problems apart from some very noisy French travelles whom kept their activities until the very early hours of the day to perform thus waking the rest of the hostels clients . 3 & 4 am not good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly what I was looking for as a college student traveling

Disliked: The food isn't the best

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Beasley

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The entire staff went out of their way to do more than required, lovely people, too many to thank by name, but Little David and Grace stand out in my memory. So close to the rail network, western supermarket, This is not the first time at this hostel, love the place.

Disliked: While the rooms are cleaned daily a little bleach or disinfectant in the bathrooms would be a plus.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Crystal Sherman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: The nice bar area and free breakfast.

Disliked: The shared bathroom on the floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just awesome! We'll go back this summer!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kirsty Ghent

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 March 2013 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: I think the atmosphere is nice in the common areas, good food and always feel safe. I've stayed here on several occasions

Disliked: I wish there was more drinks and snacks on offer at night after the bar area is closed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YI GE SHI

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 March 2013 YI GE would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here 3 years ago for 3 months. It's quite a good memory. I revisited it this month. It's still very clean and full of fun people .

Disliked: The facilities are old. And the location is not very central.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although a little far from downtown, it was very easy to take the metro from here to anywhere in Shanghai. It's also particularly good if you are coming/going from Hongqiao airport or train station since it is closer to that side of town. I know some reviewers did not care much for the breakfast, but I thought it was great, especially considering it's free. It's true that if you're looking for a western breakfast, they only have cold cereal and toast. But they also had pretty decent Chinese breakfast items like porridge, youtiao, and soy milk. The rooms are very clean (I stayed in a private room, can't comment about the dorms) and come with shampoo, toothbrush etc. like a hotel. It was also very easy to book a taxi at the front desk when we needed to head back to the railway station. Overall, a very good hostel for the price.

Disliked: The directions from the metro station to the hostel are not very clear. It is actually pretty easy to get to, but they should give more detailed directions on the website. From the Caoyang Road station, take either exit 6 or 7 and turn right onto a small street that looks like an alley, which follows the above ground metro. The next intersection will be Wuning Road. Cross the street and turn right. Turn left at the white arch into a neighborhood and the hostel will be on your right. They only provide hand towels in the bathroom, no large ones for taking showers and when I asked at the front desk, the staff member working there at the time did not understand the English word towel. Also, despite there being quiet hours clearly posted, there were guests being very loud in the hallway very late into the night, which made it difficult to sleep. I would suggest bringing earplugs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms...public bathrooms are clean as well. Big rooms that are cleaned every day, like in a hotel. Free breakfast was nothing special, but free and good enough to start the day. :)

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby and not always working, no coffee for breakfast unless you pay extra.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHOU WEIYE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 ZHOU would recommend this property

Liked: its a nice and clean hostel, 10mins walk from subway station.

Disliked: ZHOU left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. They have a nice bar area.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled a little bit funky, but otherwise no major complaints