We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)

Hostel | No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China 200063

77.7% Overall Rating

942 out of 1010 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/11/2014)

"Hostel is in a good location and has a nice bar and lounge area and decent toilets and bathrooms on every floor."

Read all Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.97
  • Breakfast USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 79.4% 186 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 89.6% 170 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 76.3% 67 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.65 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

942 out of 1010 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
74.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 751 of 811 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tan Yew Kiang

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Tan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Amelia even helped me to draft a letter in Mandarin. Another went out of his way in the rain to help me book a taxi.I will go back there to stay again in future.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Urbanski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the subway station so we were able to travel around the city really well. There was a bar/ restaurant in the lobby of the hotel that was reasonably priced. We stayed in the 4 person suite with a loft and had plenty of room.

Disliked: Our group was coming off 3 months in China so we were pretty clubbed out. But if you are looking for that then you will be paying a little extra in cab rides.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Close to the train station. Very clean.

Disliked: not much of an atmosphere, it says there's a tourist information but the staff could really give much information on things to do.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It offers a lot for a ridicolous price. Great atomosphere and a lot of people (both Chinese and foreigners). Great breakfast but not so cheap. Good burgers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martyna Lewandowska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Martyna would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice staff, clean

Disliked: bar and restaurant was seriously overpriced - there would be more people, if the prices would be reasonable (20Y for a beer, when it's 5Y in the shop, if it was 10, people would come) Prices for rooms at desk - 2 times more expensive, than thru hostelbookers. We were extending our stay, but had to do the booking before, couse the rates are higher if u just go and pay in frontdesk. Weird system.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location to the subway line is really good. It was decently cheap.

Disliked: They didn't supply hand soap or towels. the place was clean only where u see. if you look other places it is slightly dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, big and clean rooms! I stayed six nights in a twin room which was more like a hotel than a hostel (TV, shower gel, shampoo, proper rooms service...) and two night in a dorm room with bathroom and toilets on the floor. All clean and always hot water. Boiling water for tea, coffee etc. available. Nice bar. Pool, table football, computers available. Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet at night although there is a big road and subway quite close. Water boiler and cups in the private rooms.

Disliked: Some of the staff members don't speak proper English so it was a bit hard to get the booking confirmation for the visa and to extend the stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quet away from traffic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and restaurant, free wifi!

Disliked: The beds were quite hard - not uncomfortable necessarily, and given the price extremely good value for money.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the metro and several food markets. Awesome noodles from a tiny street market nearby. Beds were very comfortable and cozy.

Disliked: Certain staff members were a bit snobby at times. Property is fine but so big that it can be hard to meet people- changes the atmosphere of a hostel when they're that large. Bathroom cleanliness definitely needed some work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large communal area with loads of books, quiet area, not too far from metro station

Disliked: Quite far from the main area, bund etc. no free map

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and spacious with good size beds. 24 hour reception was good.

Disliked: Sinks were dirty most of the time. Bathrooms smelt a little, showers weren't very powerful. Staff did the job, but weren't very friendly. Felt impersonal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, good location, helpful staff.

Disliked: Previously we have always been impressed by the free breakfast on offer, but were disappointed to see that this is no longer offered. Also, we were required to fill in deposit paperwork just to borrow a hairdryer, which seemed a bit over the top.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Neil Faulkner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013

Liked: I think the look of the place is quite nice and the rooms are what you expect for a hostel. If you are going to stay here my advice is this; don't eat here or encounter too much of the staff service.

Disliked: Service here is very slow and frustrating. There are an abundance of staff but only a few who either a) do any work or b) know what they're doing. A noted most days that the owners or members of management will regularly sit around relaxing, playing pool in the bar or gossiping by the main entrance. Behind reception there are normally 3 or 4 regular staff, of which one of them does all the processing while the others stand around telling people to wait or taking payment for water from the fridge. The processing to check in and check out is slow and large crowds will build up. At this point you will notice nationals push by foreigners to the front of the queue. Both myself and my mate ate at the bar for the first three days out of connivance, DONT! We both got food poisoning. Our orders where regularly wrong and late, and I don't mean lost in translation. Even when pointing directly on the menu for the correct size portion I still received the wrong one. I noticed others around me in the bar encountering the same problems; others with a lot less patience than we had. Other things I noted; -don't by snacks from the desk, they are at least one third or double the price of that in the shops along the main road outside. -the wifi is very slow because so many people are using it. I noted the admin routers around the rest of the building have the same password so use them, they have less traffic flowing through them. -I was advised that a taxi from reception to Shanghai South would be 200RMB, it was in fact 49RMB when we got there. I'd advise hailing a cab off the street. -I noticed the reception was going to charge a customer 10RMB per ticket for 3 train tickets through the front desk. Spend 3RMB and get the tube three stops to the station and book them yourself.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very comfortable place but still a hostel, so good. Well organized, clean,lots of room and a nice common area that might be too comfortable for Internet. I travelled alone so I like to meet other people. This did not happen automatically. .

Disliked: The location isn't good but also not that bad. The dryers are not good.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Foster

Alone

City break

21 September 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near the metro.

Disliked: The 'restaurant' food was overpriced and portions were small. I also felt the staff looked grumpy and very serious all the time.. didn't seem liked they enjoyed their job so much!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe environment and bar on site

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good quality. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Jongebloed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is massive; plenty of other travellers staying there. The common area is fairly large too so easy enough to meet others. Rooms and bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: I wouldn't eat the food there, average quality and took ages to prepare. There are many good Chinese places to eat on a street nearby. The location isn't amazing but the Shanghai metro station is efficient enough that you never feel far from anything.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Bryant

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 July 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: It had a lovely atmosphere, very clean and building was really nice. It was right next to a great night market, easy to get the subway into town

Disliked: We got off at exit 3 instead of exit 6 and walked for over 1.5 hours looking for the place. Wish they had included that information in the directions!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

S A

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 S would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything. Reasonable location, helpful staff. The rooms were fantastic.

Disliked: No wifi in private rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Udziela

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: room very clean, good location near metro station,

Disliked: everything ok

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Alistair Steele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013

Liked: nice bar area

Disliked: They tried to charge us twice and management refused to see us or speak to us. Ruined the experience.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice cafe area to eat breakfast.

Disliked: one often has to wait a while to be helped at the front desk. the hostel is large and the desk is understaffed.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of travellers, really easy to meet people if travelling solo. Always people in the bar.

Disliked: Most of the people who live there are working in Shanghai

The property's response is...