HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mingtown Etour International Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No.55, Jiangyin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 76%

Location 98%

Safety 87%

Staff 76%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.82USD

Important Information

1. Check-in Time: 14:00 ~23:00
Check-out Time: 7:00~ 12:00
English Service Time: 7:00~23:00
Please inform the reception one day early if you need to check-in or check-out at other times, or it may cause NO REFUND.
2. All Children under 12 years old are not permitted in shared dorm accommodations � they must be with guardians in private accommodations. All Children under 18 years old must be accompanied by legal guardian. The guests are not allowed to bring unregistered visitors into the Hostel or the Dorm Rooms!!! This can result in the guest being asked to leave the Hostel immediately with NO REFUND!!! And the visitors need to leave the hostel before 23:00.
3. The hostel doesn't provide disposable toiletries.
4. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. Smoking inside the rooms can result in smokers being asked to leave the Hostel immediately with NO REFUND!!! If guests need cooking, ironing, using any high temperature devices and using any high power devices, please consult the reception first.
5. Only some of the rooms can add an extra bed. Please inform the reception if you need one. Whether or not the extra bed needs to be added, each room only can stay one more person (adult or baby). The person taller than 110 cm treats as an adult, who needs to be charged the extra bed rate. The person shorter than 90 cm is free to stay. The extra bed rate is the same with the dorm bed room fee.
6. The dorm bed (bunk beds) is only for individual. Unless you book a private room, there is no guarantee that you and your group will stay in same room. We will always try our best to put you together in the same room, but keep in mind this is a hostel and that's not always possible!
7. The dorm linens need to be return to the reception before checking out. And all the borrowed items need to be return to the reception too.
8. Maximum length of stay in the dorm room is 7 consecutive days.
9. There's a mandatory CNY 100.00 returnable deposit for each room key.
10. The hostel has 3 floors, please note there is no elevator in the building. Payment is due upon arrival by cash only, please. Credit cards are not accepted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 76%

Location 98%

Safety 87%

Staff 76%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Great location, quiet and nice public areas with outdoor space. Tranquility in the centre of Shanghai

Disliked: The sprung mattress was pretty clapped out.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: close to the center

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating


19 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Location was great. 24hr reception booked a taxi for me in the middle of the night.

Disliked: Not great wifi - not available in bedrooms at all. No loo paper

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Terrific location. It's a really nice hostel with a cosy bar area, and they're currently renovating to improve it even more. I've stayed in a few hostels in Shanghai and this is definitely one of the better ones. I'd stay there again.

Disliked: The staff come in and turn the heaters on in the evening and they take the remote controls with them so you can't turn them off or down during the night. It was too hot. Otherwise, it ticked all the boxes for a decent and cheap place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The location is very convenient. A couple minutes walk from People's Square MRT station and in the shadow of Tomorrow Square and nanjing street.

Disliked: The staff were very lazy and seemed bothered to help others. Never smiled and just gave off a bad attitude. When I checked out there was no one at the front desk except for an IT worker. He called the front desk staff who were all having lunch and asked her to come check me out. She complained that she was eating and how annoying it was to leave her lunch. (I could understand both of the Chinese speakers) At 8am every morning there was construction 2-3 meters from our dorm room. They would start using hammers, drill and screaming at each other while the entire dorm tried to sleep. The internet went out on the last day of my visit. I would not recommend staying at this hostel, despite the other good reviews that lead me to book.


The property's response is

There was construction going on during my stay. The cafe/bar was closed on Saturday.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and very friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Convenience Location, good price Shanghai style house and lovely garden. Almost facilities are for rent. 55위앤의 6인 도미토리 묵엇는데,,, 위치. 가격. 옛 상해 건물 디자인 및 카페 라운지 모두 만족스러움. 잠만 자기엔 문제없는 듯.데스크에 락커열쇠, 수건, 슬리퍼 등 렌트하여 사용할 수 잇음.오래된건물이니 최근 수도꼭지와 세면대 및 변기 새것으로 교체된듯함. 샤워부스는 노후하나 사용에 문제없음.체크인때 침대 및 이불 시트를 받주며, 직접 씌우고 체크아웃때 다시 벗겨 반납함.1-2분거리 편의점과 과일가게가 잇어 필요한것 대부분 살 수 있음.주변에 상점 쇼핑몰 많음.인민광장역에서 걸어서4-5분

Disliked: shower room was not clean.Upper side of bunk bed is hot and dry because of temperature controller. No lift.엘리베이터없음.샤워부스 내부는 좀 노후함(어느 유스호스텔이나 그렇듯..)이층침대의 윗칸 중에 히터쪽과 가까운 경우 덥고 건조함.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's CHEAP!!!And it's near the Renminguangchang station so you can get anywhere easily by subway.

Disliked: The shower rooms were unacceptably dirty. There was a huge mosquito greeting me when I went into the room. It made me take a real quick shower. Come to think of it, it might be their own way of saving water.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very close to Metro/Subway/Underground. Lovely Character and lovely reception ladies.

Disliked: Horrible Bar staff, not able to accommodate the slightest bit for a vegetarian, male staff in reception too busy to help sadly. Internet not in rooms, communal areas only.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: For what I paid for it, it was very nicely located. The property was old, but everything looked clean! I would stay there again without a second thought. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with arranging my taxi and bus to the airport. I thought I would have to pay for a taxi but they told me about the airport bus and got me there in time ^_^. Wifi worked great, and the community area looked really nice, I wish I'd had time to go to the small restaurant and bar located at the hotel. But it looked like it had a really nice atmosphere. Also they had some of the best directions I'd ever seen for any hostel on their website! Kudos for that :) despite the fact that it was a bit hidden down that side street I managed to find it with the directions no problem.

Disliked: For me it was really fine, my general requirements for a cheap place to stay are that it is clean, safe, and has wifi. Mingtown more than covered that. But if you're a bit finnicky, it might not be the place for you. As I mentioned a lot of things were old. The toilet seat was clean, but had cracks in it, and the sheets were also clean and handed to me neatly washed and pressed at the front desk, but there were some stains on them. They were out of towels at the front desk so no rental towels -_-, and there was no toilet paper in the shared bathroom (but that seems to be pretty normal in most of Asia, and there was a sign that said I could get some at the front desk.) All in all I wish I had more time to stay in Shanghai and would have been happy to stay there long-term.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability