HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

87.8% Overall Rating

601 out of 639 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

mahmoud masri thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and helping, the location was great, and good place to meet other travelers. Very good hot water"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 80.2% 555 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

601 out of 639 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 491 of 511 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good spot near People's Park, big dorms, lovely bar area.

Disliked: Just a small one- shower facilities were very spread out, shower near my room was out of hot water (but there was a reminder in the to check the water heater before you got in so points for that) - and the next closest showers were on the other side of the courtyard, not a fun run in the rain. There also seemed to be a lot of people living in the hostel long term.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mahmoud masri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 mahmoud would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helping, the location was great, and good place to meet other travelers. Very good hot water

Disliked: Internet is very slow..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Right next to people's park & shanghai museum and short walk to Nanjing road which is the main street to the Bund. Decent bar, little bit pricey, and staff were quite nice. Overall pretty good

Disliked: I stayed here in winter and the rooms were quite cold, you also had to walk outside in a cold corridor to get to the bathrooms which were a little on the dirty side

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, modern, cafe/bar is a great place to hang out. Wifi is available all over, and speed is decent. A great choice for a hostel!

Disliked: No outside food allowed in bar/cafe, but theres a small kitchen area where they have hot water, microwave, etc; small rooms, but thats expected.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the place is the location I would say. They also serve good food at a reasonable price.

Disliked: Beds were really uncomfortable! they are a hundred-year-old at least!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice layout, clean bunks

Disliked: have to put sheets on bed yourself

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: balcony, nice common area

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliot London

Alone

Shopping

17 December 2013 Elliot would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very friendly

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claes Lygrell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Claes would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in central Shanghai. Very nice and helpful staff and good written information in English on maps and the information file.

Disliked: None.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms could be cleaner

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas Robson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location but tough to find. Helpful staff. Would stay again

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner but OK.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Yves Lam

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Jean-Yves would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. It's really in the center of Shanghai. Nice atmosphere and also good rooms. Many showers and toilets.

Disliked: Had to ask many times for information about my friend's room (where is her room? Did she check out yet?).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, the hostel is clean and staff helpful. The room are clean and big. There are cute tiny turtles, it's a nice place.

Disliked: Slow really slow internet it took me more than a hour to book my next hostel. The showers are kind of outside easy to get the flu when it's cold...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly and helpful, they really went out of their way to assist. The bar has a lot of atmosphere, and is a really nice place to hang out, with good quality, reasonably priced food. The rooms are nice, the beds don't creak too much and you get a nice big locker. The location is unbeatable, right in the heart of the city. I stepped out of my room every morning to the Shanghai skyline, perfect. One of the best Chinese hostels I stayed in.

Disliked: The showers are a bit dingy, but seem reasonably clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Harvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. Very central location not far from the main shopping street. Lovely pond area for sitting and relaxing. Cafe looked good, but did not eat there. Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing really.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013

Liked: The location is excellent. The bund is in walking distance. The wifi in the rooms is strong and the showers are very good.

Disliked: The walls in our room were mouldy and there were massive cockroaches about. It says the hostel will help you with travel arrangements but the girl at the desk said they don't and we had to book train tickets at an office on Nanjing road.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Batchelor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, nice cafe/bar area with pretty decent breakfasts and coffee on offer and a free pool table. Rooms were clean and pleasant.

Disliked: Internet was bad even by Chinese standards. Staff were friendly but not very helpful when we asked for help with things.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Worst beds

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The silence/quiet location and the comfy barspace

Disliked: the mattress in the dorm was a little smelly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, I'll stay there the next time I'm in Shanghai. Cheap beds, pleasant bar/cafe/restaurant area, cheap beer available at reception, helpful staff, location near to the metro - ideal.

Disliked: No complaints really. My only recommendation for improvement would be to provide free toilet paper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pilar Jimenez Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Pilar would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great: friendly and helpful at every moment. The location is great, as you can walk to the city centre and the Bund. The atmosphere is great: the restaurant serves nice food and beers are not expensive!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right on peoples square so close to transport,food.free pool table,1 x desktop computer,also free.

Disliked: nothing really for the price.i stayed at the phoenix hostel upon arrival and found this one heaps better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the central location close to people's square and close to the subway. The staff is very friendly. I stayed in a double room while looking for a flat in Shanghai. When I found one, I was able to cancel the rest of my stay and the staff returned the money that I had payed in advance. Regarding the price, it is also a good choice (for example the blue mountain hostel at the corner of shanxi south and Beijing east Rd. has bigger rooms and balconies, but is also more expensive). I also liked the small restarant in front of the hostel to have some fried rice with beef when returning in the evening (they have an English menu too)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very well situated. Smiling and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, location, Common area

Disliked: I stayed 8 beds dorm. It was impossible to connect WiFi in the room.