We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

84.7% Overall Rating

613 out of 654 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

Jang Won Choi thinks…

"It's CHEAP!!! And it's near the Renminguangchang station so you can get anywhere easily by subway."

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 76.3% 67 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.7% 181 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.6% 574 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 79.4% 186 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

613 out of 654 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 504 of 526 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jang Won Choi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014

Liked: It's CHEAP!!! And it's near the Renminguangchang station so you can get anywhere easily by subway.

Disliked: The shower rooms were unacceptably dirty. There was a huge mosquito greeting me when I went into the room. It made me take a real quick shower. Come to think of it, it might be their own way of saving water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brent Swann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Brent would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Metro/Subway/Underground. Lovely Character and lovely reception ladies.

Disliked: Horrible Bar staff, not able to accommodate the slightest bit for a vegetarian, male staff in reception too busy to help sadly. Internet not in rooms, communal areas only.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014

Liked: 위치가 환상입니다. 상해 가장 중심에 있어서 어디를 가든 편합니다. 조금만 걸으면 바로 난징동루가 펼쳐집니다

Disliked: 트윈룸에 묵었는데 건물이 오래되서 그런지 퀘퀘한 냄새가 심하게 났습니다. 에어컨을 켜도 해결되지 않았고 냄새가 심해서 힘들었습니다. 알러지가 있는 분은 아마 콧물흘리는것은 각오해야 할 것입니다.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For what I paid for it, it was very nicely located. The property was old, but everything looked clean! I would stay there again without a second thought. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with arranging my taxi and bus to the airport. I thought I would have to pay for a taxi but they told me about the airport bus and got me there in time ^_^. Wifi worked great, and the community area looked really nice, I wish I'd had time to go to the small restaurant and bar located at the hotel. But it looked like it had a really nice atmosphere. Also they had some of the best directions I'd ever seen for any hostel on their website! Kudos for that :) despite the fact that it was a bit hidden down that side street I managed to find it with the directions no problem.

Disliked: For me it was really fine, my general requirements for a cheap place to stay are that it is clean, safe, and has wifi. Mingtown more than covered that. But if you're a bit finnicky, it might not be the place for you. As I mentioned a lot of things were old. The toilet seat was clean, but had cracks in it, and the sheets were also clean and handed to me neatly washed and pressed at the front desk, but there were some stains on them. They were out of towels at the front desk so no rental towels -_-, and there was no toilet paper in the shared bathroom (but that seems to be pretty normal in most of Asia, and there was a sign that said I could get some at the front desk.) All in all I wish I had more time to stay in Shanghai and would have been happy to stay there long-term.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Joy Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014

Liked: Good location. That's about it.

Disliked: Wifi cut out every now and then in my room. Bad service. Was like talking to a brick wall. While I was waiting for service a girl asked them how to get to the bund and the lady at the front counter told her to look it up on the Internet. Similarly I asked them if I could extend my stay, each time they told me to come back the next day to ask (for some unknown reason they couldn't help me look this up). I ended up going to a different hostel. There is also a lack of atmosphere compared to a lot of other hostels I stayed at. While the communal area/bar was nice but everyone kept to themselves. Next door to the room I was staying at was actually a family who had a baby and I was often woken up by the sound of baby crying coming through paper thin walls. Surprised me that a backpackers hostel had just general Chinese families staying at.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The comon area is quite nice. Big, with sofas, slow internet, billar, spensive bar and restaurant ... The location is perfect just a few steps from People Square's subway station. This is their only value. But the rooms and the shared bathrooms are hawful. All smells mold and the walls and the bed are really dirty.

Disliked: The rooms are not worth for the money that you pay. They don't clean the room during our stay at all. I could even have died in this room and they didn't realized till one week later.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Kelland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, excellent character property

Disliked: Staff at times couldn't be bothered

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Kelland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the fish!

Disliked: Quite a walk from the main touristic areas of town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the bar.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Serafina Aquilino

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2014 Serafina would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building in Chinese traditional style, nice and clean room and very helpful staff. Great location, less than 10minutes walk from People's square subway station!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, house. 전철역 접근성이 좋고 중국 가옥의 분위기를 느낄 수 있다. 호스텔 안의 카페 음식과 음료는 가격대비 좋다. 전반적으로 깨끗한 편이다.

Disliked: 숙박했던 101호는 골목길과 인접해 있어 창문을 열 수 없고 커텐을 치고 있어야 했고 방의 조명이 어두운 편. 햇빛이 잘 들지 않아 방안이 눅눅하다. 옆방 102호와 샤워,화장실의 나눠 사용하는데 배수가 아주 잘 되지 않아 물냄새가 나고 수압이 조금 낮다.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff & the location

Disliked: They didn't give me the room that i booked in hostelword!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is what I consider a 5 star hostel...beautiful facilities and amazing value given the prime location. The double rooms are a good deal and well furnished and the bathrooms are shared with only 1-2 other rooms. The neighborhood is perfectly convenient right off prestigious E Nanjing Road and accessible to everywhere. It is located in a little atmospheric local neighborhood just behind the big modern buildings where you can find super cheap street food and massages. There are both expensive and cheap malls around the corner where you can access fast food (and expensive) restaurants.

Disliked: Bathrooms might be slightly smelly given that you're supposed to leave toilet paper in the bins but they were regularly cleaned.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good spot near People's Park, big dorms, lovely bar area.

Disliked: Just a small one- shower facilities were very spread out, shower near my room was out of hot water (but there was a reminder in the to check the water heater before you got in so points for that) - and the next closest showers were on the other side of the courtyard, not a fun run in the rain. There also seemed to be a lot of people living in the hostel long term.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mahmoud masri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 mahmoud would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helping, the location was great, and good place to meet other travelers. Very good hot water

Disliked: Internet is very slow..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Right next to people's park & shanghai museum and short walk to Nanjing road which is the main street to the Bund. Decent bar, little bit pricey, and staff were quite nice. Overall pretty good

Disliked: I stayed here in winter and the rooms were quite cold, you also had to walk outside in a cold corridor to get to the bathrooms which were a little on the dirty side

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, modern, cafe/bar is a great place to hang out. Wifi is available all over, and speed is decent. A great choice for a hostel!

Disliked: No outside food allowed in bar/cafe, but theres a small kitchen area where they have hot water, microwave, etc; small rooms, but thats expected.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the place is the location I would say. They also serve good food at a reasonable price.

Disliked: Beds were really uncomfortable! they are a hundred-year-old at least!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice layout, clean bunks

Disliked: have to put sheets on bed yourself

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: balcony, nice common area

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliot London

Alone

Shopping

17 December 2013 Elliot would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very friendly

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claes Lygrell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Claes would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in central Shanghai. Very nice and helpful staff and good written information in English on maps and the information file.

Disliked: None.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms could be cleaner

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas Robson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location but tough to find. Helpful staff. Would stay again

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner but OK.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Yves Lam

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Jean-Yves would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. It's really in the center of Shanghai. Nice atmosphere and also good rooms. Many showers and toilets.

Disliked: Had to ask many times for information about my friend's room (where is her room? Did she check out yet?).