HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mingtown Etour International Youth Hostel Shanghai

Hostel

No.55, Jiangyin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 74%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 76%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.89USD

Important Information

1. Check-in Time: 14:00 ~01:00 (next day)
Check-out Time: 7:00~ 12:00
English Service Time: 7:00~01:00 (next day)
Please inform the reception one day early if you need to check-in or check-out at other times, or it may cause NO REFUND.
2. All Children under 12 years old are not permitted in shared dorm accommodations – they must be with guardians in private accommodations. All Children under 18 years old must be accompanied by legal guardian. The guests are not allowed to bring unregistered visitors into the Hostel or the Dorm Rooms!!! This can result in the guest being asked to leave the Hostel immediately with NO REFUND!!! And the visitors need to leave the hostel before 23:00.
3. The hostel doesn't provide disposable toiletries.
4. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. Smoking inside the rooms can result in smokers being asked to leave the Hostel immediately with NO REFUND!!! If guests need cooking, ironing, using any high temperature devices and using any high power devices, please consult the reception first.
5. Only some of the rooms can add an extra bed. Please inform the reception if you need one. Whether or not the extra bed needs to be added, each room only can stay one more person (adult or baby). The person taller than 110 cm treats as an adult, who needs to be charged the extra bed rate. The person shorter than 90 cm is free to stay. The extra bed rate is the same with the dorm bed room fee.
6. The dorm bed (bunk beds) is only for individual. Unless you book a private room, there is no guarantee that you and your group will stay in same room. We will always try our best to put you together in the same room, but keep in mind this is a hostel and that's not always possible!
7. The dorm linens need to be return to the reception before checking out. And all the borrowed items need to be return to the reception too.
8. Maximum length of stay in the dorm room is 7 consecutive days.
9. There's a mandatory CNY 100.00 returnable deposit for each room key.
10. The hostel has 3 floors, please note there is no elevator in the building. Payment is due upon arrival by cash only, please. Credit cards are not accepted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 74%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 76%

Value 84%

Showing 81-50 of 50 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Greta location in the centre of the heart, great facilities, great bar, really cheap

Disliked: When I was there, the people werent that great, but thats just personal, the rest just fine!!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: lovely roof bar. Awesome location

Disliked: the double room was very noisy and a hole in the window let the mozzies in.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, good breakfast

Disliked: we stayed twice our first room 222, the bed sank in the middle. Our second room was much nicer for the same price.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: The staff is very cold. No smiles, avoided questions. It almost seemed like they wanted me to go away. I tried to switch room but they adamantly told me I cannot because I don't get to choose and they give me whatever is available. I also tried to ask about history of the hostel, totally ignored me, the conversation turned almost awkward because of the silence. Forget about internet, it's soooooo slow. Too many people at the hostel and not enough bandwidth.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was perfect. It is very close to the metro station, people's square, which runs three lines of metro, and located in the heart of shanghai so that you can actually go many famous places by walk.

Disliked: The building itself is a very traditional building so it looks good but very old. Plus this hostel is one of the largest hostel I've ever stayed so the reception was always busy. People working in this hostel were mostly kind but some have had somewhat limited English speaking abilities. Worstly, there was so toilet paper in toilets.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: You have to order rather expensive drinks or foods everytime you stay in the common room.


The property's response is

we are looking forward to seeing you again,best wishes

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: i like the ambiance. It's not a typical hostel with just a building. There's a small garden, there's a bar and you would really feel you are in China. The rooms are clean daily. I thought the wifi was really slow but even there was plenty of users esp at night, it was doing just fine.

Disliked: Nothing much. The toilet was a bit small but it's fine. For some reasons, I was trying to make my own coffee and I wanted to borrow a cup/mug but the guy at the bar wouldn't let me. There were 2 ladies who cleaned the room, maybe they could not speak quite loud as there was someone still sleeping in the room.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and atmosphere

Disliked: there was construction right outside of the hostel and it was very noisy. Especially in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I lover the atmosphere. The tranquillity of this palce is Brest. It 's easy to find, people/staff (May and the girls and boy running the bar) are great! Food is good and prepared fast and the coffee is wonderfull.

Disliked: Although the doors of the bar area are open you are allowed to smoke at the tables inside. And internet if terribly slow.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability