HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

85.6% Overall Rating

612 out of 652 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

"For what I paid for it, it was very nicely located. The property was old, but everything looked clean! I would stay there again without a second thought. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with arranging my…"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.4% 178 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 85.6% 567 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.18 USD

Hostel 92.6% 241 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

612 out of 652 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 502 of 524 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Rumley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 July 2010 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Right by People's Square.

Disliked: I got a little lost looking for this place, but only because I didn't have a map. I asked a local where it was and he walked me to the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Staff not very helpfull. Computers not working

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No need to say, it has a great location. It is easy to find even if you are new in China and have no idea about the Chinese language. Also, this hostel provides a free space, a terrace, for your own refreshments. This means, you do not have to pay a fortune to bars and restaurants. Grap your sandwiches and beers from the local markets and enjoy them in this beautiful terrace!

Disliked: Toilets are exactly clean but so small. Breathing is even difficult when you close the door.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Minyou Rek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Minyou would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double room with a shared bathroom and what i really liked is that the shared bathroom was only with two other double rooms. The sharing was well organized

Disliked: Minyou left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephen Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2010 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: great location. decent food and prices with 20% discount for guests.

Disliked: beer is expensive and weak.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location (300 m from metro), nice bar/restaurant, you can hang out here, they serve many types of food. Helpfull, english speaking staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and beautiful hostel, so well-located ! Foreigns people and chinese on the same place, good prices ^^

Disliked: The bar is sooo expensive, and it's the one place to meet with people without been eaten by mosquitos, usually hostels should have a common room no ?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really well located and the place was simply beautiful!

Disliked: I just was one night, so I could not see anything wrong!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mary Molteni

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2010 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, bar and sitting space are comfortable, the room setup (with a suite including two rooms, separate shower stalls and toilet/sink for each suite) is quite nice.

Disliked: I stayed at this property when it first opened in 2006 and again in 2009 - back then there were fewer amenities, but the location was excellent and the rates were reasonable. Since then, the price has almost doubled, from 55 RMB/night to almost 100 RMB/night with no considerable change in quality. The staff was not particularly friendly, although they did answer questions. Mold is beginning to grow on the walls in the stairwells, which is not healthy. There was a random, deconstructed table in the common area in my room - on past stays there was a table. The music in the bar area on the first night, including the upstairs, was turned up so loudly that some people chose to leave the bar and could not have conversations. The food section closed quite early and a roommate who came in after 7 pm could not get food at the hostel. The atmosphere was better on my previous stays. The location really can't be beat, but I think the hostel should do more to improve its service and amenities - next time I will stay somewhere else since I'm not sure the room was really worth the 98 RMB/night I paid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awseome place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The layout and design of the hostel is very attractive. It is pleasing to know that the hostel is not only a place to pass by and rest in, it creates an atmosphere that makes it's customers feel very welcomed and special. Though it's rooms and toilets are relatively small, it's cleaniness has made up for it.

Disliked: Due to the presence of ponds and potted plants, there were many mosquitoes. It caused some sleepness nights due to the itch. Also, though the staff were knowledgeable, they should put on a smile more often so that the customers will feel that they are sincere in providing help.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to subway line 2 connecting well to all kinds of places.Quiet location like this in densely population area is rare.Nice decoration.

Disliked: Showers not the newest, but clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Iris Hiddink

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010 Iris would recommend this property

Liked: we had a very nice stay here! It's in the middle of the city centre, clean and nice!

Disliked: Iris left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, I got everything I wanted

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and really good atmosphere. Price was pretty reasonable considering other options in Shanghai.

Disliked: Food and drink very expensive for a hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location - just near Nuning shooping street and close to metro.room with private shower - not small at all, hot wate, and air-con.easy to access from the airport with shuttle bus#5. not easy to return since the bus doesn't have a pickup station nearby on it's way to airport so yo need to go to the train station bus stop or use the train. there's a taxe station located just out side the hostel. 70% of the time there're taxi's just waiting for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal space though restaurant set up made interactions limited. Great facilities and value for money though

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mingtown Etour is overall an amazing hostel. I have no complaints considering the value, location, amenities and character. As a designer, I appreciated the details of the bricks, tiles and layout of the common areas and the reception. The rooms are clean and comfortable as are the hallways and bathrooms. I didn't bring my laptop so I can't speak for the speed of the internet (and so I am not sure if there is wifi), but the internet on the 2 computers you could use for free are sufficient for checking and sending email (not sure about receiving documents). The location is great (you're right beside the Marriot) and you're no more than a 10 minute easy (no hills or stairs) from the People's Square station and park. Close to loads of upscale and local eateries and shopping district. The environment is calm, chill and very enjoyable (patios, fish pond, white cat, couches, bamboo, trees, lanterns). It's a great place to call 'home' away from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Linh Dinh

15 June 2010 Linh would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very nice. I asked so many questions and they answered all of them !!!

Disliked: Linh left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kirsten Bell

15 June 2010 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very cute.... not what you'd expect from the street... You walk into this old church like entrance and then through a corridor to discover a hidden garden with a very cute little cafe.... The rooms are all around the courtyard. Only downside is that some of the rooms overview the neighboring Wine bar that likes to play rather loud but tasteful music... This was turned down and then off around midnight....

Disliked: Kirsten left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoy the nice bar with a lot of exterior table

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, loved the garden, good size double rooms, only problem that the walls were too thin so we could hear everything from next door, from upstairs and from downstairs rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: within the 5 ast months everything has been renovated. Prices are higher (many thanks to the Expo...) but this hostel is now a "high end hostel", with a bar, restaurant with good western food, snooker...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.