HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

87.8% Overall Rating

602 out of 640 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2014)

"This is what I consider a 5 star hostel...beautiful facilities and amazing value given the prime location. The double rooms are a good deal and well furnished and the bathrooms are shared with only 1-2 other rooms. The…"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 80.2% 555 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 94.3% 232 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

602 out of 640 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 492 of 512 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The layout and design of the hostel is very attractive. It is pleasing to know that the hostel is not only a place to pass by and rest in, it creates an atmosphere that makes it's customers feel very welcomed and special. Though it's rooms and toilets are relatively small, it's cleaniness has made up for it.

Disliked: Due to the presence of ponds and potted plants, there were many mosquitoes. It caused some sleepness nights due to the itch. Also, though the staff were knowledgeable, they should put on a smile more often so that the customers will feel that they are sincere in providing help.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to subway line 2 connecting well to all kinds of places.Quiet location like this in densely population area is rare.Nice decoration.

Disliked: Showers not the newest, but clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Iris Hiddink

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010 Iris would recommend this property

Liked: we had a very nice stay here! It's in the middle of the city centre, clean and nice!

Disliked: Iris left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, I got everything I wanted

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and really good atmosphere. Price was pretty reasonable considering other options in Shanghai.

Disliked: Food and drink very expensive for a hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location - just near Nuning shooping street and close to metro.room with private shower - not small at all, hot wate, and air-con.easy to access from the airport with shuttle bus#5. not easy to return since the bus doesn't have a pickup station nearby on it's way to airport so yo need to go to the train station bus stop or use the train. there's a taxe station located just out side the hostel. 70% of the time there're taxi's just waiting for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal space though restaurant set up made interactions limited. Great facilities and value for money though

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mingtown Etour is overall an amazing hostel. I have no complaints considering the value, location, amenities and character. As a designer, I appreciated the details of the bricks, tiles and layout of the common areas and the reception. The rooms are clean and comfortable as are the hallways and bathrooms. I didn't bring my laptop so I can't speak for the speed of the internet (and so I am not sure if there is wifi), but the internet on the 2 computers you could use for free are sufficient for checking and sending email (not sure about receiving documents). The location is great (you're right beside the Marriot) and you're no more than a 10 minute easy (no hills or stairs) from the People's Square station and park. Close to loads of upscale and local eateries and shopping district. The environment is calm, chill and very enjoyable (patios, fish pond, white cat, couches, bamboo, trees, lanterns). It's a great place to call 'home' away from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Linh Dinh

15 June 2010 Linh would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very nice. I asked so many questions and they answered all of them !!!

Disliked: Linh left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kirsten Bell

15 June 2010 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very cute.... not what you'd expect from the street... You walk into this old church like entrance and then through a corridor to discover a hidden garden with a very cute little cafe.... The rooms are all around the courtyard. Only downside is that some of the rooms overview the neighboring Wine bar that likes to play rather loud but tasteful music... This was turned down and then off around midnight....

Disliked: Kirsten left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoy the nice bar with a lot of exterior table

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, loved the garden, good size double rooms, only problem that the walls were too thin so we could hear everything from next door, from upstairs and from downstairs rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: within the 5 ast months everything has been renovated. Prices are higher (many thanks to the Expo...) but this hostel is now a "high end hostel", with a bar, restaurant with good western food, snooker...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well located. It has a sunny courtyard with a cool bar with pool table. I stayed two nights in a 6 beds dormitory. No windows but it was roomy. The showers were clean and usually free.Ok value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! Very central and nice hostel. No complaints, definitely best value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to People's Square and a train station.Atmosphere is good and a favorite courtyard is especially good!We stayed twin with private bathroom. There were neither soap nor a shampoo. There was a pot and TV. In the hostel there are some cats. Please take care about the cat allergy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy place, OK food, good value for your money. Beer seems to have got more expensive since last visits in 2008 and 09, but thats Shanghai. Great location makes up for everything else.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 April 2010

Liked: I USED to love this place. Had great character, fun place to meet people, awesome location. Now, only the location is great. They've upgraded the interior bar/restaurant area and added import Belgian brews, but i find now lacks the funky charm of before.TAKE NOTE: Prices are going WAY up as of Apr 29 2010. Not a modest increase as one could tolerate, but the cheapest dorm from RMB55 to 80, cheapest private room from 180 to 249! That's robbery, as there's been no increase or improvement in service.If u do stay here, definitely don't eat here! The kitchen staff is dysfunctional. My friend ordered a British breakfast this morning. The waitress asked 'Fried or scrambled?' My friend said 'Fried.' Then she asked 'Fried on one side or two?' My friend said 'One'. A minute later the waitress came back and said 'We don't have fried on one side; fry on two ok?' I asked 'Then why did you ask me one side or two?' She said 'Well, we can try one side but it might not come out good.' Ridiculous. Also, they demand pre-payment for food! I guess that says it all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The laundry services need to be improved. There is only one working washer and drier. However to dry your clothes they need to be done two or three times in the drier, which takes 3-4.5hours! They have dvd players, but they are rarely available. Otherwise, it was a nice hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 April 2010

Liked: i booked it via you as i did the one in Xian (which was really nice and enjoyable) by the rating as well as "good price", which was later changed (see comment under 2). it was "again" after chnaging in ownership recommended by lonely planet; but to me it held not what i expected, especially after the really enjoyable one in Xian (i repeat myself).. but after a long night's journey on the train, i took it afterall, otherwise i think i would have changed, as the "sharing bath/toilet"-business anoyed me. and the friendliness i missed later.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location very central and style of building and surroundings

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to people's park, therefore the hostel really is a great place to visit shanghai... staff wasn't too friendly and the rooms were quite cold...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marques Zak

18 March 2010 Marques would recommend this property

Liked: Great location by the museums and the Bund. Also, very close to People's Square and a train station. Part of hostel (bathroom and toiler) are open air outside of the room, so be advised so you can plan according to your preferences.

Disliked: Marques left no negative feedback.