HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

84.7% Overall Rating

613 out of 654 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

Jang Won Choi thinks…

"It's CHEAP!!! And it's near the Renminguangchang station so you can get anywhere easily by subway."

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 76.3% 67 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.6% 574 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

613 out of 654 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 504 of 526 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and careful attention to decor

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Panek

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely superb. Literally 5 minutes from the People's Square for such a low price is really amazing. The fish and turtles are great. :) And the staff is really helpful. I totally recommend this hostel!

Disliked: The wi-fi signal ended just in my room so I had troubles getting online from my bed. :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location near People's Square and multiple subway lines, museums, theater, restaurants. Walking distance to Nanjing shopping street and all the way to the Bund or Shanghai Old Street if you are in good shape. Nice open air courtyard with fish pond and 2nd floor outdoor seating area.

Disliked: We stayed in room 118, a private room with two twin beds and ensuite bath. It is a large room by China standards which was nice. However it shares a common wall with the hostel's bar as well as one wall along an alleyway, so there was loud music up until at least 11pm every night as well as people talking, spitting, smoking, etc. on the street. There were always people smoking in the courtyard/outdoor balcony as well, so not very enjoyable to sit there to read or surf the (free!) internet. In spite of all this, we did extend our stay for a total of four nights to allow plenty of time to explore Shanghai, go to the Expo, and plan the remainder of our travels in China.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Benoit Horth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2010 Benoit would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to the metro station, well located and very calm. Also the hostel is just beautiful.

Disliked: One of the wall in the entrance to go to our room was almost all covert with moisture so the smell in the entrance and in our room was not great. The bed was probably one of the worst we had (hard mattress and bad pillow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good english, nice bar

Disliked: no elevator, shared bathroom

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

PAWEL STEZYCKI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2010 PAWEL would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms

Disliked: More of a hotel than hostel with no good common space for people to meet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good central locationEnglish speaking and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THe location was excelent. Easy to find and a good connecting point.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great lounge area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with character, close to everything and generally a great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matt Johnson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2010 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has an excellent location: a block from Nanjing Rd W and no more than 10minutes walk from Peoples' Square metro station. The area that surrounds this place is a pocket of old buildings and laneways, complete with pet market! Staff were great and the cafe food was pretty good value too.

Disliked: shower area was a bit grubby, but pretty standard for Asia [pack your thongs/sandals/flip-flops].

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has an excellent communal area, has a great fish pond with terrapins and a lovely white cat. Rooms are small, but more than adequate for the price, we had a shared toilet/2 showers between 3 rooms and this was clean and worked perfectly well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was very clean, western bathroom. Showers could be nicer but Ok. The location was great and very convinient. Very easy to get to (actually easier to get by the subway which is not mentioned on the website).

Disliked: The staff in general was NOT helpful. There was one particular girl that was always with a guy at reception which was helpful, however the other girl was NOT helpful at all. The staff at the restaurant was NOT helpful. They say they offer photocopies but they don't, they say they offer printing but they don't, they don't have a map of the area of the hostal or of Shanghai, they have a book with information on touristic places that is very outdated (they suggest taking taxi drives which according to them cost 12RMB when instead they cost 30RMB). The restaurant is way too expensive for a traveler's budget. You can't sit inside the place with AC unless you buy food or drinks from them (coke costs three times as much as on the street), etc... The location is good and the place is clean, other than that it's not good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice cozy place. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is also ok.

Disliked: Toilet paper would be a plus. :)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a really nice bar/ lounge area with comfy seats and a chilled atmosphere. Bar staff were especially helpful with advice about shanghai.

Disliked: Unfortunately our room had problems with our air conditioning breaking down and in an 8 bed dorm and the recent hot sticky weather, it was impossible to sleep. We spoke to staff each night for three nights until it became obvious that they weren't actually bothering to fix the problem. One night they promised to bring a pedestal fan into the room but this never arrived. However they did eventually agree to move us into a different dorm after we complained again. When we moved rooms we were very comfortable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location!

Disliked: in building , that quite near, some women sign very load (artist) - so we can't sleep (at 2pm)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paulus Pera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2010 Paulus would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: uninterested staff

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is just a nice hostel...rather looks like a hotel!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and relax house hidden in the middle of skyscrapers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i got robbed in hong kong and showed up at this hostel without any money but with a reservation. but they let me stay until i got stuff figured out with my money. they are very very friendly and met some terrific people and some weird ones but where don't you meet weird ones?

Disliked: nothing really. just that the stairs are pretty annoying and don't walk around the place tripping acid. it's like a maze that'll never end

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, good location, friendly people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: Mold was growing on the wall

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Shopping

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good furniture

Disliked: Hard to find, staff is not helpful, not giving the receipt