HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

87.8% Overall Rating

601 out of 639 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

mahmoud masri thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and helping, the location was great, and good place to meet other travelers. Very good hot water"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.91 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
8.91 USD

Hostel 81.0% 554 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.29 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.53 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.50 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

601 out of 639 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 491 of 511 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice cozy place. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is also ok.

Disliked: Toilet paper would be a plus. :)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a really nice bar/ lounge area with comfy seats and a chilled atmosphere. Bar staff were especially helpful with advice about shanghai.

Disliked: Unfortunately our room had problems with our air conditioning breaking down and in an 8 bed dorm and the recent hot sticky weather, it was impossible to sleep. We spoke to staff each night for three nights until it became obvious that they weren't actually bothering to fix the problem. One night they promised to bring a pedestal fan into the room but this never arrived. However they did eventually agree to move us into a different dorm after we complained again. When we moved rooms we were very comfortable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location!

Disliked: in building , that quite near, some women sign very load (artist) - so we can't sleep (at 2pm)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paulus Pera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2010 Paulus would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: uninterested staff

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is just a nice hostel...rather looks like a hotel!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and relax house hidden in the middle of skyscrapers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i got robbed in hong kong and showed up at this hostel without any money but with a reservation. but they let me stay until i got stuff figured out with my money. they are very very friendly and met some terrific people and some weird ones but where don't you meet weird ones?

Disliked: nothing really. just that the stairs are pretty annoying and don't walk around the place tripping acid. it's like a maze that'll never end

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, good location, friendly people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: Mold was growing on the wall

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Shopping

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good furniture

Disliked: Hard to find, staff is not helpful, not giving the receipt

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

JISOOK CHOI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2010

Liked: hot

Disliked: bad

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, calm and peaceful !! I love it!

Disliked: not at all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Rumley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 July 2010 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Right by People's Square.

Disliked: I got a little lost looking for this place, but only because I didn't have a map. I asked a local where it was and he walked me to the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Staff not very helpfull. Computers not working

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No need to say, it has a great location. It is easy to find even if you are new in China and have no idea about the Chinese language. Also, this hostel provides a free space, a terrace, for your own refreshments. This means, you do not have to pay a fortune to bars and restaurants. Grap your sandwiches and beers from the local markets and enjoy them in this beautiful terrace!

Disliked: Toilets are exactly clean but so small. Breathing is even difficult when you close the door.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Minyou Rek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Minyou would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double room with a shared bathroom and what i really liked is that the shared bathroom was only with two other double rooms. The sharing was well organized

Disliked: Minyou left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephen Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2010 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: great location. decent food and prices with 20% discount for guests.

Disliked: beer is expensive and weak.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location (300 m from metro), nice bar/restaurant, you can hang out here, they serve many types of food. Helpfull, english speaking staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and beautiful hostel, so well-located ! Foreigns people and chinese on the same place, good prices ^^

Disliked: The bar is sooo expensive, and it's the one place to meet with people without been eaten by mosquitos, usually hostels should have a common room no ?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really well located and the place was simply beautiful!

Disliked: I just was one night, so I could not see anything wrong!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mary Molteni

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2010 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, bar and sitting space are comfortable, the room setup (with a suite including two rooms, separate shower stalls and toilet/sink for each suite) is quite nice.

Disliked: I stayed at this property when it first opened in 2006 and again in 2009 - back then there were fewer amenities, but the location was excellent and the rates were reasonable. Since then, the price has almost doubled, from 55 RMB/night to almost 100 RMB/night with no considerable change in quality. The staff was not particularly friendly, although they did answer questions. Mold is beginning to grow on the walls in the stairwells, which is not healthy. There was a random, deconstructed table in the common area in my room - on past stays there was a table. The music in the bar area on the first night, including the upstairs, was turned up so loudly that some people chose to leave the bar and could not have conversations. The food section closed quite early and a roommate who came in after 7 pm could not get food at the hostel. The atmosphere was better on my previous stays. The location really can't be beat, but I think the hostel should do more to improve its service and amenities - next time I will stay somewhere else since I'm not sure the room was really worth the 98 RMB/night I paid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awseome place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The layout and design of the hostel is very attractive. It is pleasing to know that the hostel is not only a place to pass by and rest in, it creates an atmosphere that makes it's customers feel very welcomed and special. Though it's rooms and toilets are relatively small, it's cleaniness has made up for it.

Disliked: Due to the presence of ponds and potted plants, there were many mosquitoes. It caused some sleepness nights due to the itch. Also, though the staff were knowledgeable, they should put on a smile more often so that the customers will feel that they are sincere in providing help.