HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

89.4% Overall Rating

609 out of 647 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Serafina Aquilino thinks…

"Very nice building in Chinese traditional style, nice and clean room and very helpful staff. Great location, less than 10minutes walk from People's square subway station!"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 76.9% 65 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.7% 175 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 83.9% 565 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.17 USD

Hostel 92.8% 237 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

609 out of 647 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 498 of 519 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good central locationEnglish speaking and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THe location was excelent. Easy to find and a good connecting point.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great lounge area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with character, close to everything and generally a great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matt Johnson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2010 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has an excellent location: a block from Nanjing Rd W and no more than 10minutes walk from Peoples' Square metro station. The area that surrounds this place is a pocket of old buildings and laneways, complete with pet market! Staff were great and the cafe food was pretty good value too.

Disliked: shower area was a bit grubby, but pretty standard for Asia [pack your thongs/sandals/flip-flops].

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has an excellent communal area, has a great fish pond with terrapins and a lovely white cat. Rooms are small, but more than adequate for the price, we had a shared toilet/2 showers between 3 rooms and this was clean and worked perfectly well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was very clean, western bathroom. Showers could be nicer but Ok. The location was great and very convinient. Very easy to get to (actually easier to get by the subway which is not mentioned on the website).

Disliked: The staff in general was NOT helpful. There was one particular girl that was always with a guy at reception which was helpful, however the other girl was NOT helpful at all. The staff at the restaurant was NOT helpful. They say they offer photocopies but they don't, they say they offer printing but they don't, they don't have a map of the area of the hostal or of Shanghai, they have a book with information on touristic places that is very outdated (they suggest taking taxi drives which according to them cost 12RMB when instead they cost 30RMB). The restaurant is way too expensive for a traveler's budget. You can't sit inside the place with AC unless you buy food or drinks from them (coke costs three times as much as on the street), etc... The location is good and the place is clean, other than that it's not good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice cozy place. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is also ok.

Disliked: Toilet paper would be a plus. :)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a really nice bar/ lounge area with comfy seats and a chilled atmosphere. Bar staff were especially helpful with advice about shanghai.

Disliked: Unfortunately our room had problems with our air conditioning breaking down and in an 8 bed dorm and the recent hot sticky weather, it was impossible to sleep. We spoke to staff each night for three nights until it became obvious that they weren't actually bothering to fix the problem. One night they promised to bring a pedestal fan into the room but this never arrived. However they did eventually agree to move us into a different dorm after we complained again. When we moved rooms we were very comfortable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location!

Disliked: in building , that quite near, some women sign very load (artist) - so we can't sleep (at 2pm)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paulus Pera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2010 Paulus would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: uninterested staff

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is just a nice hostel...rather looks like a hotel!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and relax house hidden in the middle of skyscrapers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i got robbed in hong kong and showed up at this hostel without any money but with a reservation. but they let me stay until i got stuff figured out with my money. they are very very friendly and met some terrific people and some weird ones but where don't you meet weird ones?

Disliked: nothing really. just that the stairs are pretty annoying and don't walk around the place tripping acid. it's like a maze that'll never end

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, good location, friendly people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: Mold was growing on the wall

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Shopping

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good furniture

Disliked: Hard to find, staff is not helpful, not giving the receipt

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

JISOOK CHOI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2010

Liked: hot

Disliked: bad

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, calm and peaceful !! I love it!

Disliked: not at all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Rumley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 July 2010 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Right by People's Square.

Disliked: I got a little lost looking for this place, but only because I didn't have a map. I asked a local where it was and he walked me to the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Staff not very helpfull. Computers not working

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No need to say, it has a great location. It is easy to find even if you are new in China and have no idea about the Chinese language. Also, this hostel provides a free space, a terrace, for your own refreshments. This means, you do not have to pay a fortune to bars and restaurants. Grap your sandwiches and beers from the local markets and enjoy them in this beautiful terrace!

Disliked: Toilets are exactly clean but so small. Breathing is even difficult when you close the door.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Minyou Rek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Minyou would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double room with a shared bathroom and what i really liked is that the shared bathroom was only with two other double rooms. The sharing was well organized

Disliked: Minyou left no negative feedback.