HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

89.4% Overall Rating

609 out of 647 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Serafina Aquilino thinks…

"Very nice building in Chinese traditional style, nice and clean room and very helpful staff. Great location, less than 10minutes walk from People's square subway station!"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.72 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 83.0% 176 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.34 USD

Hostel 84.2% 566 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.72 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.15 USD

Hostel 91.5% 238 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.51 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

609 out of 647 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 498 of 519 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Junior

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel.

Disliked: Because this hostel is a quite open space, there are some problems with the cold in this shared/public areas... no heating in this kind of area. In the bar there is a heating and it is ok. To go to bathroom and come back to room you get to much cold...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gordon Burt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: A very good location, with easy access to the Metro system taking you anywhere in the city.Rooms are spacious and clean. The outside gardens area, are nice to return to at night and chill with a beer (residents of the hostel get 20% off)

Disliked: There wasn't a huge number of travellers staying when I was there, but that would many be due to the time of my visit rather than any fault with the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Yee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

15 November 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great for meeting people. The bar is comfortable and the lounge areas are relaxed. Even mix of domestic and foreign backpackers, mostly early 20s. Location is perfect, central, but tucked away to ensure peace when you need to sleep. Great understated deco, really impressed with value for money. Cheap and quick noodle hole in the wall next door too. Overall had a brilliant time.

Disliked: No big lights in the room makes them a little dark for my liking, but it's probably best for everyone else who wants to sleep. Stairs are also noisy (metal). No big dramas.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Arteaga Arce

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2010 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: locationstaffrooms

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice place

Disliked: nothing dislike

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The English-speaking receptionists are good and helpful. Other staff members who don't speak English usually just sit around doing nothing and staring at guests - which was quite annoying.The location is great - very easy to find!

Disliked: Our room had wall fungus!!! That was awful - and unhealthy! They should do something about it! For many reasons, I didn't sleep well there. The air conditioner was very old and stopped working in the middle of the night a few times. One staff member broke into our room at 5 o'clock in the morning - we were scared as we had no clue what he wanted - and when we received an explanation from the hostel the next day that he used the wrong key card - it wasn't very convincing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean for a hostel.

Disliked: Pricey.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Work / volunteering
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You couldn't find a better location. Close to the Bund, great shopping and the metro.

Disliked: They did not reserve a room that both my friend and I could stay in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel march

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent character, very quiet.

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kay Chan

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Kay would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel coffee shop is a nice place !!! and hostel with a goooood location ,,and nearby shanghai museum .

Disliked: Kay left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rish Kant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 Rish would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & comfortable dorms, central location (very close to People's Square train station) and quite a nice building...

Disliked: Needs a proper common room instead of the little outdoor area, especially during cold weather... Or at least lower bar prices in the restaurant where you had to buy expensive food/drinks to sit there...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere of the hostel with the fish/turtle pond and a lovely white cat.

Disliked: the bathrooms can be cleaner, less smelly; too many people (including the hostel staff) smoked.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JUDE GHWEE

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 October 2010 JUDE would recommend this property

Liked: The people working there were great, people staying were greater, overall my stay was an unforgettable one.

Disliked: The internet connection was unavailable in rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel very beautiful, close to People Square and the subway.Breakfast and food are good too !Nice staffnothing bad !!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the hotel it was nice.

Disliked: nothing really, it was pretty cool.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Wells

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for four nights in a private double room with a shared bathroom. The bathrooms were always immaculate and available, the room was a good size and the bed comfy. The location of this hostel is great: it's a sanctuary in busy Shanghai. Easy walk to Nanjing road, the Bund and the French Concession: Xintiandi is about ten minutes away. The sitting area is peaceful and the food at the restaurant great. Would stay here again in a second!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and hostel itself were very nice. It's on a residential area but still very close to about everything.

Disliked: The restaurant is a bit over priced and the food (western style) was not very good. Vegetarians beware - there was some surprising ham on the garden salad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rakpoom Sangkhamars

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2010 Rakpoom would recommend this property

Liked: - Near to Nanjing Rd. So it is easy to take a subway to visit interesting places in Shanghai- Quiet during my staying

Disliked: Rakpoom left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, almost hotel like.

Disliked: Almost no Chinese food. Food too pricey, especially breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and careful attention to decor

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Panek

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely superb. Literally 5 minutes from the People's Square for such a low price is really amazing. The fish and turtles are great. :) And the staff is really helpful. I totally recommend this hostel!

Disliked: The wi-fi signal ended just in my room so I had troubles getting online from my bed. :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location near People's Square and multiple subway lines, museums, theater, restaurants. Walking distance to Nanjing shopping street and all the way to the Bund or Shanghai Old Street if you are in good shape. Nice open air courtyard with fish pond and 2nd floor outdoor seating area.

Disliked: We stayed in room 118, a private room with two twin beds and ensuite bath. It is a large room by China standards which was nice. However it shares a common wall with the hostel's bar as well as one wall along an alleyway, so there was loud music up until at least 11pm every night as well as people talking, spitting, smoking, etc. on the street. There were always people smoking in the courtyard/outdoor balcony as well, so not very enjoyable to sit there to read or surf the (free!) internet. In spite of all this, we did extend our stay for a total of four nights to allow plenty of time to explore Shanghai, go to the Expo, and plan the remainder of our travels in China.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Benoit Horth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2010 Benoit would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to the metro station, well located and very calm. Also the hostel is just beautiful.

Disliked: One of the wall in the entrance to go to our room was almost all covert with moisture so the smell in the entrance and in our room was not great. The bed was probably one of the worst we had (hard mattress and bad pillow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good english, nice bar

Disliked: no elevator, shared bathroom

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

PAWEL STEZYCKI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2010 PAWEL would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms

Disliked: More of a hotel than hostel with no good common space for people to meet