HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

87.8% Overall Rating

601 out of 639 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

mahmoud masri thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and helping, the location was great, and good place to meet other travelers. Very good hot water"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.26 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 80.2% 555 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.48 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

601 out of 639 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 491 of 511 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a nice cafe equally divided between smoking/non-smoking (though the non-smokers get all the really comfy couches). beer behind the bar was expensive but they had no problem with you buying 6 yuan beer at the reception and bringing it through. I didn't eat there much, but what i had good, and reasonably priced (by western standards). meeting people was a question of effort - there were always lots of people around in the cafe if you wanted to make it. internet was reliable if a little slow. when i was there they didn't have the cable tv working, but if anything that improved the atmosphere. all round, a good hostel.

Disliked: my bed was incredibly uncomfortable. i'm a pretty heavy/apathetic sleeper, but the springs digging into my back did cause me some trouble. bathroom cleanliness - there were blood clots in one of the showers one morning - and the signs on all the toilets asking you to please put the (used) toilet paper in the bin, rather than flush it - something to do with the type of toilet, but it led to a seriously disgusting bin sight, and was probably not exactly healthy. those were the only problems, however, and easily got over - this rant might exaggerate their annoyance!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Staff are friendly but had difficulty in assisting me because of language barrier. Bar/restaurant closes early and opens late.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome environment to have a stay in SHGH! This place makes you feel like being on holidays right away! Even under the rain, this place remains friendly and warm. I heavily recommend this hostel to spend some time in Shanghai

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere. Room was great and so was bar.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a 5 min walk to People's Square metro station, great location. Nice courtyard. Dorm, showers, toilets were clean.

Disliked: Good value for money.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sisi Liu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011

Liked: location is good,Small courtyard environment is very good,and,there is a lovely cat.

Disliked: noting

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located right in the centre of Shanghai. It could not be more convenient. It was also a beautiful hostel.

Disliked: What's not the like?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanna Powell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2011 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: I love the look of this hostel. It's rustic and contemporary at the same time. Great outdoor spaces as well as a wonderful bar/cafe.

Disliked: There was no where to sit or to set things in the room (dorm room) or in the bathroom area. The small counter around the sink was always wet so no place to put toiletries. Otherwise it was very comfortable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel in the center of Shanghai. We had a private room with window and ensuite bathroom. Room Service (including new towels) every day.

Disliked: Shower was a little bit mouldy (bathroom had no window) - but in a city with such high humidity mould isn't probably avoidable. I will stay in that hostel again!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011

Liked: location is convenient (though can be hard to find for the first time), electronic key-card room entry, lockers in rooms. Fairly clean dorm rooms

Disliked: reception often asks for smaller change when paying, but seldom let's you break larger bills. Not all bathroom sinks have hot water, and must bring own toilet paper. One free computer that is extremely slow with outdated Internet browsers (gmail, hotmail, and yahoo mail all load incorrectly with broken code). Deposit rates are high ($100 for check-in is pretty standard for China, but $50 for an old tattered towel). No convenient water refill for free.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the Chinese atmosphere, the simplicity and the friendliness of the staff. The place close people's square.

Disliked: Nothing really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Catharina Keil

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Catharina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is clean and nice decorated. The location is very very good. Three minutes walk to people`s square, amazing foodstreets and other attractions. The staff is always helpful. There have a nice bar. The food is overprized but okay.

Disliked: s.o.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: :) very good expirence

Disliked: :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lukasz Chornikowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Cafe/common room area is great.

Disliked: Shower/toilet outside are not good for wintertime.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a good time staying at Mingtown because it was so central and a really nice building with good rooms. Also, I met some lovely girls in my dorm which was great as I was traveling alone.

Disliked: The main common area wasn't very warm which made it not very enjoyable to want to hang out there - but it was a lovely space.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, free wi-fi, room was pretty warm and comfortable bed.

Disliked: Cafe was very expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of the hostel is excellent. It is very nearby People Square.

Disliked: No

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

SHIN JUYOUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 SHIN would recommend this property

Liked: chinese atmosphere and illy cafe on the first floor. good location. ah, specially staff knows the bus time table going to other city. it was helpful. wifi is very fast in public space. very hot water in shower room.

Disliked: but wifi doesn't contect in the room. the door is noisy when is opened and closed. shower room is terrible(but think cheap price). the door on luggage room is uncomfortable. um... the location is good but some girl who travel alone like me maybe feel not safe.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Junior

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel.

Disliked: Because this hostel is a quite open space, there are some problems with the cold in this shared/public areas... no heating in this kind of area. In the bar there is a heating and it is ok. To go to bathroom and come back to room you get to much cold...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gordon Burt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: A very good location, with easy access to the Metro system taking you anywhere in the city.Rooms are spacious and clean. The outside gardens area, are nice to return to at night and chill with a beer (residents of the hostel get 20% off)

Disliked: There wasn't a huge number of travellers staying when I was there, but that would many be due to the time of my visit rather than any fault with the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Yee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

15 November 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great for meeting people. The bar is comfortable and the lounge areas are relaxed. Even mix of domestic and foreign backpackers, mostly early 20s. Location is perfect, central, but tucked away to ensure peace when you need to sleep. Great understated deco, really impressed with value for money. Cheap and quick noodle hole in the wall next door too. Overall had a brilliant time.

Disliked: No big lights in the room makes them a little dark for my liking, but it's probably best for everyone else who wants to sleep. Stairs are also noisy (metal). No big dramas.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Arteaga Arce

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2010 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: locationstaffrooms

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice place

Disliked: nothing dislike

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The English-speaking receptionists are good and helpful. Other staff members who don't speak English usually just sit around doing nothing and staring at guests - which was quite annoying.The location is great - very easy to find!

Disliked: Our room had wall fungus!!! That was awful - and unhealthy! They should do something about it! For many reasons, I didn't sleep well there. The air conditioner was very old and stopped working in the middle of the night a few times. One staff member broke into our room at 5 o'clock in the morning - we were scared as we had no clue what he wanted - and when we received an explanation from the hostel the next day that he used the wrong key card - it wasn't very convincing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean for a hostel.

Disliked: Pricey.