HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

89.4% Overall Rating

609 out of 647 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Serafina Aquilino thinks…

"Very nice building in Chinese traditional style, nice and clean room and very helpful staff. Great location, less than 10minutes walk from People's square subway station!"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.72 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 83.0% 176 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.34 USD

Hostel 84.2% 566 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.72 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.15 USD

Hostel 91.5% 238 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.51 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

609 out of 647 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 498 of 519 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely designed place and nice central area. Very close to the US consulate if you have business there, and also good for downtown Shanghai. Nice that you can reserve a double bed, and nice quiet side-street.

Disliked: The shared bathroom was a little dingy. Mingtown's other hostel in Shanghai has a much nicer private bath for the same price, but with no window. When we arrived the staff originally thought they didn't have our room ready (at 7:30 at night), but this turned out to be a mistake.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: average hostel. decent location

Disliked: they do not supply toilet paper nor soap which is pretty gross :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kuo hui chun

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 kuo would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: looked nice. did its job.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Bar and restaurant expensive for a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun place.

Disliked: directions were difficult and led me around the block with my backpacket a few times. Safe deposit box also not very secure.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a nice cafe equally divided between smoking/non-smoking (though the non-smokers get all the really comfy couches). beer behind the bar was expensive but they had no problem with you buying 6 yuan beer at the reception and bringing it through. I didn't eat there much, but what i had good, and reasonably priced (by western standards). meeting people was a question of effort - there were always lots of people around in the cafe if you wanted to make it. internet was reliable if a little slow. when i was there they didn't have the cable tv working, but if anything that improved the atmosphere. all round, a good hostel.

Disliked: my bed was incredibly uncomfortable. i'm a pretty heavy/apathetic sleeper, but the springs digging into my back did cause me some trouble. bathroom cleanliness - there were blood clots in one of the showers one morning - and the signs on all the toilets asking you to please put the (used) toilet paper in the bin, rather than flush it - something to do with the type of toilet, but it led to a seriously disgusting bin sight, and was probably not exactly healthy. those were the only problems, however, and easily got over - this rant might exaggerate their annoyance!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Staff are friendly but had difficulty in assisting me because of language barrier. Bar/restaurant closes early and opens late.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome environment to have a stay in SHGH! This place makes you feel like being on holidays right away! Even under the rain, this place remains friendly and warm. I heavily recommend this hostel to spend some time in Shanghai

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere. Room was great and so was bar.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a 5 min walk to People's Square metro station, great location. Nice courtyard. Dorm, showers, toilets were clean.

Disliked: Good value for money.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sisi Liu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011

Liked: location is good,Small courtyard environment is very good,and,there is a lovely cat.

Disliked: noting

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located right in the centre of Shanghai. It could not be more convenient. It was also a beautiful hostel.

Disliked: What's not the like?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanna Powell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2011 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: I love the look of this hostel. It's rustic and contemporary at the same time. Great outdoor spaces as well as a wonderful bar/cafe.

Disliked: There was no where to sit or to set things in the room (dorm room) or in the bathroom area. The small counter around the sink was always wet so no place to put toiletries. Otherwise it was very comfortable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel in the center of Shanghai. We had a private room with window and ensuite bathroom. Room Service (including new towels) every day.

Disliked: Shower was a little bit mouldy (bathroom had no window) - but in a city with such high humidity mould isn't probably avoidable. I will stay in that hostel again!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011

Liked: location is convenient (though can be hard to find for the first time), electronic key-card room entry, lockers in rooms. Fairly clean dorm rooms

Disliked: reception often asks for smaller change when paying, but seldom let's you break larger bills. Not all bathroom sinks have hot water, and must bring own toilet paper. One free computer that is extremely slow with outdated Internet browsers (gmail, hotmail, and yahoo mail all load incorrectly with broken code). Deposit rates are high ($100 for check-in is pretty standard for China, but $50 for an old tattered towel). No convenient water refill for free.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the Chinese atmosphere, the simplicity and the friendliness of the staff. The place close people's square.

Disliked: Nothing really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Catharina Keil

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Catharina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is clean and nice decorated. The location is very very good. Three minutes walk to people`s square, amazing foodstreets and other attractions. The staff is always helpful. There have a nice bar. The food is overprized but okay.

Disliked: s.o.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: :) very good expirence

Disliked: :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lukasz Chornikowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Cafe/common room area is great.

Disliked: Shower/toilet outside are not good for wintertime.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a good time staying at Mingtown because it was so central and a really nice building with good rooms. Also, I met some lovely girls in my dorm which was great as I was traveling alone.

Disliked: The main common area wasn't very warm which made it not very enjoyable to want to hang out there - but it was a lovely space.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, free wi-fi, room was pretty warm and comfortable bed.

Disliked: Cafe was very expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of the hostel is excellent. It is very nearby People Square.

Disliked: No

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

SHIN JUYOUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 SHIN would recommend this property

Liked: chinese atmosphere and illy cafe on the first floor. good location. ah, specially staff knows the bus time table going to other city. it was helpful. wifi is very fast in public space. very hot water in shower room.

Disliked: but wifi doesn't contect in the room. the door is noisy when is opened and closed. shower room is terrible(but think cheap price). the door on luggage room is uncomfortable. um... the location is good but some girl who travel alone like me maybe feel not safe.