HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

89.4% Overall Rating

609 out of 647 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Serafina Aquilino thinks…

"Very nice building in Chinese traditional style, nice and clean room and very helpful staff. Great location, less than 10minutes walk from People's square subway station!"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.0% 176 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 83.9% 565 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.17 USD

Hostel 91.5% 238 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

609 out of 647 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 498 of 519 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: The staff is very cold. No smiles, avoided questions. It almost seemed like they wanted me to go away. I tried to switch room but they adamantly told me I cannot because I don't get to choose and they give me whatever is available. I also tried to ask about history of the hostel, totally ignored me, the conversation turned almost awkward because of the silence. Forget about internet, it's soooooo slow. Too many people at the hostel and not enough bandwidth.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dionell Chris Batoon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011

Liked: i like the ambiance. It's not a typical hostel with just a building. There's a small garden, there's a bar and you would really feel you are in China. The rooms are clean daily. I thought the wifi was really slow but even there was plenty of users esp at night, it was doing just fine.

Disliked: Nothing much. The toilet was a bit small but it's fine. For some reasons, I was trying to make my own coffee and I wanted to borrow a cup/mug but the guy at the bar wouldn't let me. There were 2 ladies who cleaned the room, maybe they could not speak quite loud as there was someone still sleeping in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere

Disliked: there was construction right outside of the hostel and it was very noisy. Especially in the morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I lover the atmosphere. The tranquillity of this palce is Brest. It 's easy to find, people/staff (May and the girls and boy running the bar) are great! Food is good and prepared fast and the coffee is wonderfull.

Disliked: Although the doors of the bar area are open you are allowed to smoke at the tables inside. And internet if terribly slow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DUNCAN SMITH

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 DUNCAN would recommend this property

Liked: The open bar/lounge up and downstairs is great, with a fish pond and terrapins. The double rooms were more like a b&b than a hostel.

Disliked: It was a little hidden away, but its worth it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic, close to the metro hub and top sights. Common area is also quite nice and they have cheap beer.

Disliked: Our room was rather small and shabby, but it was satisfying considering the price and the location. What I really disliked though were bed bugs bites the next morning...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool community area, fantastic location

Disliked: their directions to get to it are incorrect, they tell you to use exit 4 from the subway station - that doesn't exist. Use exit 8 or 11, any one will work that takes you onto West Nanjing Rd. Walk west toward the Marriott, the super tall pointy building that's lighted up near the top. Walk past Marriott, keeping Marriott on your right, road actually becomes a different road, then take first right turn past Marriott down small lane. Hostel is down lane on your left. Room smelled musty but what do you expect for a good price in a great location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very happy here. Cosy, clean rooms, with good beds, friendly staff, safe storage of belongings and it's close to the centre. Close to Huanghe food street- offering cheap and tasty breakfast/dinner options.

Disliked: Little hard to find using metro directions. I suggest locating the Marriott on the map before you get to the metro. I think that Exit 9 is actually closer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Qingya Liu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Qingya would recommend this property

Liked: It has a good atmosphere for international travelers and Chinese travelers; the cafe bar offers a good place to relax and socialize; the balcony is quiet; the bed is soft and bedding clean; the staff are very nice, though sometimes they may not give you the right direction immediately, but no big deal. I like specially the style of the hostel in an old Shanghai style house.

Disliked: Generally speaking it's very good, it's just that the cafe bar could improve on its food quality, and the price could be lower. Wifi only works in the cafe bar or near, not in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good bar, clean room, hot shower. May/Mei from the reception is very helpful and super efficient!!

Disliked: room smelt a bit damp, internet was hit and miss.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason Green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: I liked our pprivate room and 1 other privite shared a bathroom The pub downstairs is nice Helpful staff Pretty much like a hotel, good show

Disliked: Everything was fine, no compants

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: sometimes the card to enter the room didn't work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! The room had a television and tea making facilities. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and the surroundings were very pleasant.

Disliked: Can be noisy when other guests return late at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clare Allan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Really good central location, great common area, large clean and bright twin room.

Disliked: Minor quibbles: expensive bar and slow internet, but these 2 things wouldn't prevent me from staying there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katie Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: key card doors and good sized lockers.

Disliked: The food and drinks in the bar were very expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: OK

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful wonderful and charmful with very helpful staff. Some uneducated and rude travellers (thinking as Westerners that they can misbehave and get away with it, bad embassadors!) but overall met wonderful people. Location is unbeatable.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked and stayed an extra night due to train schedules and it was all very easy with no hassle. Laundry facilities good, one machine wouldn't accept the coins but a member of staff sorted it right away! There's a cafe/bar too but we didn't eat there so cannot comment on that. Bottled water and other drinks on sale at reception at excellent prices. Room was lovely and bed very comfortable. Less than 5 minutes walk from the subway/underground station which is very handy for getting around the city. We arrived about an hour before the official check-in time so our room wasn't ready but they had it cleaned up within ten minutes for us then! Good wifi.

Disliked: They don't give out free maps of the city, you have to buy it at reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommended! Perfect location! 5 mins walk from the People's Square's station and Nanjing Rd. Although it's on alley, but I felt quite secured as it's next to the Marriott hotel. The staffs are friendly and able to speak English.

Disliked: If I have to comment one thing, my room was on 3rd floor and the stairs were quite narrow and a bit steep, hard to carrying my big luggage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcelo Cárgano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at this hostel. It's in a good spot, 5 minutes from the subway and People's Square, in the heart of Shanghai. The staff (specially Mei) is very amiable (a first in China!) and really went out of their way to help me with all needs. Finally, their price is good, for both rates and breakfast/services. I actually liked it so much I am returning there next week. :)

Disliked: Not really something a problem of the hostel, but.. It was impossible to stay at the (very nice) common areas at night - I got an impression that more than half of the guests were heavy smokers. Really gave me the impression of those salaryman bars in Japan.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Preston

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent central location, great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice communal area.

Disliked: No major complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the location at the center of everything

Disliked: Nothng