HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

87.8% Overall Rating

602 out of 640 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2014)

"This is what I consider a 5 star hostel...beautiful facilities and amazing value given the prime location. The double rooms are a good deal and well furnished and the bathrooms are shared with only 1-2 other rooms. The…"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 64 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 80.2% 555 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 94.3% 232 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

602 out of 640 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 492 of 512 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible location, the room was clean and the atmosphere was great

Disliked: Had a little trouble finding it first, staff werent very helpful when i tried to call and get directions.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012

Liked: Location cannot be beaten

Disliked: Some, not all of the staff, were pretty rude, unhelpful and tried to rip make some extra cash on the "side" whenever possible. On catching my cab to the aiport the guy watching the night desk tried to extort money before letting me leave. Great start to my day.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Javier Blaustein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and bar

Disliked: No hot water!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christine Luong

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: the localisation, the calm atmosphere, the decoration, the little garden and coffee shop

Disliked: All staff don't speak English and some of them were not very welcoming Not clearly explained when we have to pay and about diposites for card, towels...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Location, bar area, staff, atmosphere

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is incredibly good and I'm a 60+yr backpacker. The beds are semi-soft which is rare in China, the location is ideal for sightseeing, great lounge/bar with pool table and WiFi , microwave available, TV and kettle in twin room and the price is great. Top marks!

Disliked: The lounge was a bit chilly at the tables, but that was a small factor in an otherwise ideal hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar area, friendly staff, clean, comfortable dorm rooms... shame about the loudly snoring man in the bed next to mine!

Disliked: The lack of locks on the lockers doors in the rooms. I'm pretty sure the hostel supplied locks last time I was there...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Snogdal-Bech

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 January 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff was helpfull when there was problems with our booking. Good stay!

Disliked: One of the windows in our dorm was broken, and there was no paper and soap in the toilet. The resturant was quite expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff with good English.

Disliked: Hard to find, but have been here before so it was easier this time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kelsey Rumley

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 December 2011 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Mingtown Etour is super comfortable and feels very safe. The staff is very friendly and helpful - most are very fluent English speakers.

Disliked: On my second stay here I had to make up my own bed when I got in. It wasn't a huge deal but it was midnight and I had been traveling for a day and a half, so I ended up sleeping on top of everything in a huge pile because I was too tired to care!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Laura Nicholson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011

Liked: Not alot, nice common area although not allowed outside food or drink.

Disliked: The 'self service revolution'. Make your own bed, but your not allowed the remote for the air-conditioning? No toilet paper or soap provided. The bar area closed earlier than the appointed time everynight. Staff were not very helpful with booking train tickets unlike every other hostel we have stayed at. The hot water was temperamental.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: unfriendly staff, expecially the bartender

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dimitri de bon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2011 dimitri would recommend this property

Liked: Greta location in the centre of the heart, great facilities, great bar, really cheap

Disliked: When I was there, the people werent that great, but thats just personal, the rest just fine!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guy Cocks

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2011 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: Unbeatable location a short walk from People's Square metro, helpful and patient team, really clean and a chilled out bar area with lots of character. Doubt you can find a better value hostel in Shanghai. Their mini library of books you can borrow is a nice touch.

Disliked: The bar could do with a heater!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is perfectly located next to peoples square.

Disliked: The fact that they don't sell refreschments at the reception even though they are 24 hours 'open'.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clem slatter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Clem would recommend this property

Liked: lovely roof bar. Awesome location

Disliked: the double room was very noisy and a hole in the window let the mozzies in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susan Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast

Disliked: we stayed twice our first room 222, the bed sank in the middle. Our second room was much nicer for the same price.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. It is very close to the metro station, people's square, which runs three lines of metro, and located in the heart of shanghai so that you can actually go many famous places by walk.

Disliked: The building itself is a very traditional building so it looks good but very old. Plus this hostel is one of the largest hostel I've ever stayed so the reception was always busy. People working in this hostel were mostly kind but some have had somewhat limited English speaking abilities. Worstly, there was so toilet paper in toilets.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: The staff is very cold. No smiles, avoided questions. It almost seemed like they wanted me to go away. I tried to switch room but they adamantly told me I cannot because I don't get to choose and they give me whatever is available. I also tried to ask about history of the hostel, totally ignored me, the conversation turned almost awkward because of the silence. Forget about internet, it's soooooo slow. Too many people at the hostel and not enough bandwidth.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dionell Chris Batoon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011

Liked: i like the ambiance. It's not a typical hostel with just a building. There's a small garden, there's a bar and you would really feel you are in China. The rooms are clean daily. I thought the wifi was really slow but even there was plenty of users esp at night, it was doing just fine.

Disliked: Nothing much. The toilet was a bit small but it's fine. For some reasons, I was trying to make my own coffee and I wanted to borrow a cup/mug but the guy at the bar wouldn't let me. There were 2 ladies who cleaned the room, maybe they could not speak quite loud as there was someone still sleeping in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere

Disliked: there was construction right outside of the hostel and it was very noisy. Especially in the morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I lover the atmosphere. The tranquillity of this palce is Brest. It 's easy to find, people/staff (May and the girls and boy running the bar) are great! Food is good and prepared fast and the coffee is wonderfull.

Disliked: Although the doors of the bar area are open you are allowed to smoke at the tables inside. And internet if terribly slow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DUNCAN SMITH

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 DUNCAN would recommend this property

Liked: The open bar/lounge up and downstairs is great, with a fish pond and terrapins. The double rooms were more like a b&b than a hostel.

Disliked: It was a little hidden away, but its worth it.