HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

85.6% Overall Rating

612 out of 652 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

"For what I paid for it, it was very nicely located. The property was old, but everything looked clean! I would stay there again without a second thought. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with arranging my…"

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.4% 178 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 85.6% 567 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.18 USD

Hostel 92.6% 241 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

612 out of 652 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 502 of 524 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location a few minutes from People's Square Metro stop. Nice bar with good coffee and food.

Disliked: The beds were uncomfortable, a wire mesh with a thin cover. The hostel atmosphere was lacking, the only common area is the bar and while I was there people kept to themselves.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tiziano Ciaffone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Tiziano would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and very nice hostel with a lovely courtyard cafe to hang out...

Disliked: there are locker facilities for every bed in the dorm but you need to bring your own lock.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Alfes

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Ein sehr gutes Hostel mit einem super Preis-Leistungs Verhältnis! Das Personal ist sehr nett und hilfsbereit und die Lage ist perfekt, da man von hier alles zu Fuß oder mit Bus und Metro erreichen kann. Auch von beiden Flughäfen ist das Hostel mit der Metro Linie 2 (Platz des Volkes, Ausgang 11) sehr gut zu erreichen!

Disliked: Da gibt es nichts!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: You have to order rather expensive drinks or foods everytime you stay in the common room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Jeins

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff friendliness and assistance.

Disliked: I stayed on an 8 bed form where I was awoken every night by inconsiderate dorm mates who thought nothing about putting on the light or slamming the door. The drawback I guess for such a large dorm!

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

perez molina julia m.

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

31 May 2012 perez molina would recommend this property

Liked: Me gusto lo bien situado k estaba cerca del metro.las camas son comodas

Disliked: Al llegar lo primero k vi fue una cucaracha a la puerta de la habitacion me dio mucho asco .la ducha con los bordes negros de moho . Desconchones en la pared de la habitacion.no habia jabon ni gel en dormitoriolas camas se las hace uno mismo y no limpian las habitaciones ni cambian toallas a menos k lo pidas el personal eficiente pero nada amable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The localisation in the city.

Disliked: Few computers available with internet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and lovely courtyard

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niall Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Niall would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and excellent cafe. Rooms were clean and comfortable

Disliked: Was quite noisy at night due to nearby restaurant

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Janet Mackay

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price was great - only having 6 beds in a dorm was good too.

Disliked: Everyone sort of kept to themselves - not overly 'friendly'. Directions to the hostel weren't completely accurate - the exit from the People's Square metro was exit 12, not directed as on the site.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible location, the room was clean and the atmosphere was great

Disliked: Had a little trouble finding it first, staff werent very helpful when i tried to call and get directions.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012

Liked: Location cannot be beaten

Disliked: Some, not all of the staff, were pretty rude, unhelpful and tried to rip make some extra cash on the "side" whenever possible. On catching my cab to the aiport the guy watching the night desk tried to extort money before letting me leave. Great start to my day.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Javier Blaustein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and bar

Disliked: No hot water!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christine Luong

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: the localisation, the calm atmosphere, the decoration, the little garden and coffee shop

Disliked: All staff don't speak English and some of them were not very welcoming Not clearly explained when we have to pay and about diposites for card, towels...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Location, bar area, staff, atmosphere

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is incredibly good and I'm a 60+yr backpacker. The beds are semi-soft which is rare in China, the location is ideal for sightseeing, great lounge/bar with pool table and WiFi , microwave available, TV and kettle in twin room and the price is great. Top marks!

Disliked: The lounge was a bit chilly at the tables, but that was a small factor in an otherwise ideal hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar area, friendly staff, clean, comfortable dorm rooms... shame about the loudly snoring man in the bed next to mine!

Disliked: The lack of locks on the lockers doors in the rooms. I'm pretty sure the hostel supplied locks last time I was there...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Snogdal-Bech

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 January 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff was helpfull when there was problems with our booking. Good stay!

Disliked: One of the windows in our dorm was broken, and there was no paper and soap in the toilet. The resturant was quite expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff with good English.

Disliked: Hard to find, but have been here before so it was easier this time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kelsey Rumley

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 December 2011 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Mingtown Etour is super comfortable and feels very safe. The staff is very friendly and helpful - most are very fluent English speakers.

Disliked: On my second stay here I had to make up my own bed when I got in. It wasn't a huge deal but it was midnight and I had been traveling for a day and a half, so I ended up sleeping on top of everything in a huge pile because I was too tired to care!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Laura Nicholson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011

Liked: Not alot, nice common area although not allowed outside food or drink.

Disliked: The 'self service revolution'. Make your own bed, but your not allowed the remote for the air-conditioning? No toilet paper or soap provided. The bar area closed earlier than the appointed time everynight. Staff were not very helpful with booking train tickets unlike every other hostel we have stayed at. The hot water was temperamental.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: unfriendly staff, expecially the bartender

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dimitri de bon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2011 dimitri would recommend this property

Liked: Greta location in the centre of the heart, great facilities, great bar, really cheap

Disliked: When I was there, the people werent that great, but thats just personal, the rest just fine!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guy Cocks

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2011 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: Unbeatable location a short walk from People's Square metro, helpful and patient team, really clean and a chilled out bar area with lots of character. Doubt you can find a better value hostel in Shanghai. Their mini library of books you can borrow is a nice touch.

Disliked: The bar could do with a heater!