HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Hostel | 55 Jiangyin road, Huangpu Dist, Shanghai, China 200003

84.7% Overall Rating

613 out of 654 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

Jang Won Choi thinks…

"It's CHEAP!!! And it's near the Renminguangchang station so you can get anywhere easily by subway."

Read all Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 76.3% 67 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.6% 574 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

613 out of 654 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 504 of 526 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, the hostel is clean and staff helpful. The room are clean and big. There are cute tiny turtles, it's a nice place.

Disliked: Slow really slow internet it took me more than a hour to book my next hostel. The showers are kind of outside easy to get the flu when it's cold...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly and helpful, they really went out of their way to assist. The bar has a lot of atmosphere, and is a really nice place to hang out, with good quality, reasonably priced food. The rooms are nice, the beds don't creak too much and you get a nice big locker. The location is unbeatable, right in the heart of the city. I stepped out of my room every morning to the Shanghai skyline, perfect. One of the best Chinese hostels I stayed in.

Disliked: The showers are a bit dingy, but seem reasonably clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Harvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. Very central location not far from the main shopping street. Lovely pond area for sitting and relaxing. Cafe looked good, but did not eat there. Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing really.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013

Liked: The location is excellent. The bund is in walking distance. The wifi in the rooms is strong and the showers are very good.

Disliked: The walls in our room were mouldy and there were massive cockroaches about. It says the hostel will help you with travel arrangements but the girl at the desk said they don't and we had to book train tickets at an office on Nanjing road.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Batchelor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, nice cafe/bar area with pretty decent breakfasts and coffee on offer and a free pool table. Rooms were clean and pleasant.

Disliked: Internet was bad even by Chinese standards. Staff were friendly but not very helpful when we asked for help with things.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Worst beds

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The silence/quiet location and the comfy barspace

Disliked: the mattress in the dorm was a little smelly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, I'll stay there the next time I'm in Shanghai. Cheap beds, pleasant bar/cafe/restaurant area, cheap beer available at reception, helpful staff, location near to the metro - ideal.

Disliked: No complaints really. My only recommendation for improvement would be to provide free toilet paper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pilar Jimenez Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Pilar would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great: friendly and helpful at every moment. The location is great, as you can walk to the city centre and the Bund. The atmosphere is great: the restaurant serves nice food and beers are not expensive!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right on peoples square so close to transport,food.free pool table,1 x desktop computer,also free.

Disliked: nothing really for the price.i stayed at the phoenix hostel upon arrival and found this one heaps better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the central location close to people's square and close to the subway. The staff is very friendly. I stayed in a double room while looking for a flat in Shanghai. When I found one, I was able to cancel the rest of my stay and the staff returned the money that I had payed in advance. Regarding the price, it is also a good choice (for example the blue mountain hostel at the corner of shanxi south and Beijing east Rd. has bigger rooms and balconies, but is also more expensive). I also liked the small restarant in front of the hostel to have some fried rice with beef when returning in the evening (they have an English menu too)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very well situated. Smiling and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, location, Common area

Disliked: I stayed 8 beds dorm. It was impossible to connect WiFi in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION. RIGHT NEXT DOOR TO THE MARRIOTT DOWN A LITTLE ROAD- LOCATED ON NANJING ROAD WITH SHOPPING AND THE BUND SO CLOSE BY FANTASTIC ROOF TERRACE AND LOTS OF SEATING AREAS TO UNWIND AND RELAX.

Disliked: 1 SHOWER AND 1 TOILET ON 1ST FLOOR FOR A LOT OF ROOMS!!!! NO AC REMOTE CONTROL IN THE ROOMS SO HAD TO KEEP ASKING RECEPTION TO SWITCH AC ON AND OFF OR ADJUST. BED LINEN COULD BE UPDATED AND FOOD QUITE EXPENSIVE FOR QUALITY.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thi Thuy Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Thi Thuy would recommend this property

Liked: The bar is very pretty, as well as the hostel itself.

Disliked: The bathrooms smelled really bad, and my room was really humid and smelled humid too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location, good english-speaking and friendly staff. Very cheap beer also.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIAO LIN

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 May 2013 XIAO would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome, 5 mins walk to the subway station People's Square. There is actually a 4-people dorm.If you are lucky when you arrive, you might change to the 4-dorm. The cafe downstairs is very comfy, which also serves good food in a reasonable price. I would definitely stay there again when i go back to Shanghai!

Disliked: It would be nicer that the kitchen is more well facilitated .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shu-An Liu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Shu-An would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff at the front desk, good location and nice common room.

Disliked: Wifi only in the common area, water was not really hot and I would not recommand to stay there in winter (hallway with the shared bathrooms is open to the courtyard).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very nice and the location can't be beat!

Disliked: I have stayed here before and I don't remember it being so self-service (make your own bed etc.) I can accept that if it will keep prices down.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

joshua wiffen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 joshua would recommend this property

Liked: excellent common space/bar which facilitates an easy environment to meet other travellers, learn about the areas people have been to and conspire about activities

Disliked: the showers are small individual cubicles leading onto the main hall, this means that whilst getting changed you have to gymnastically manoeuvre your body in order to avoid having your clothes saturated from the shower floor and walls

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Bergthaler

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean hostel, good location

Disliked: overpriced bar, better buy your beer at the reception

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location which allowed for sightseeing, you can walk to the Bund from the Hostel and its not too far plus its also close to other areas of interest. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The staff were really helpful and went over and above to help us when we'd forgotten an adapter for our electrical items. A lot of the rooms also have multi- voltage sockets so you dont actually need adapters!

Disliked: Absolutly nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michael Queree

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and really nice old-style feel. A great contrast to the massive skyscrapers next door. Café was nice too!

Disliked: Staff could have been more helpful and seemed a little edgy at times.