HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel

Hostel | No. 450 Middle Jiangxi Road, Shanghai, China 200002

77.0% Overall Rating

723 out of 775 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Haris Saeed thinks…

"I stayed in a Double room (private washroom). The bed was one of the softest/most comfortable beds I have slept in a longggg time, well done! Washroom was clean and shower had decent pressure. Staff…"

Read all Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 82.9% 11 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 81.0% 554 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.48 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

723 out of 775 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 536 of 569 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Haris Saeed

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 April 2014 Haris would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a Double room (private washroom). The bed was one of the softest/most comfortable beds I have slept in a longggg time, well done! Washroom was clean and shower had decent pressure. Staff were pretty friendly and helpful. Social atmosphere was much better than other hostels (e.g. Mingtown Nanjing/Blue Mountain). Laundry and hot water available on floor. Price was acceptable. Can't beat the location, few minutes walk to bund/nanjing lu. Room had fan and A/C, which was great.

Disliked: Cleanliness could be improved, double rooms need renovating. The walls were dirty (needs fresh paint), sofa was slightly dirty, sheets had a ink stain. If I'm paying 250rmb for a private room, I expect toothpaste/toothbrush/shampoo/body wash, which was not available. No 24hour hot water, set times (although not too bad). Noise from street spills into the room (Chinese ppl are rather....noisy lol).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cool old building, bar on site.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

pui lung chun-laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014

Liked: the location.

Disliked: This hostel has many small rooms, like bees cubes. The dormitory is extremely unhuman small, no place to put luggage, very bad air, have to open door to get air. The beds are tiny and bad quality, pillows yellow, bad small, dirty, the room floor is dirty too. Limit hot water supply for showers, in the afternoon and late night no hot water, so it is very inconvenient. The common room and restaurant sofas have bugs, so when I sat there, felt itchy, have to sit wooden chairs to avoid bugs. The downstairs lobby and restaurant do not have airconditioner, so it is very cold to stay there, but wifi only available there. The whole hostel is quite dark. It is a suffering to stay in this hostel, because owner only want to save electricity, provide very small unhuman rooms, to get maximum profit, therefore, the owner has 8 hostels with ming name.. The hostel gives poorest quality with high price. Bad value!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such an amazing location, literally steps away from the Bund. Great value for the accommodation provided. Rooms are relatively secure for a hostel, equipped with personal locker and key. The bed linens are provided fresh upon arrival, requiring you to make up your own bed. Shared public toilets, showers, and washing area. Overall a nice clean hostel in an amazing location and very affordable.

Disliked: Lacks adequate space for luggage, only a very small suitcase can fit snugly inside. Beds were required to be made up by themselves which is annoying. No toilet paper provided in the toilets. Very dim lighting in the room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Also try their coffee, it's not bad, and half the price of Starbucks!

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013

Liked: Location to the Bund.

Disliked: Staff was unable to give the closest metro location, instead gave one further away and was defensive when I discovered and told them about the closer one. Hard to get sanitized water for brushing teeth. Door lock did not work--had to be replaced.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Downstairs communal area/restaurant and bar had a great atmosphere with free pool table and excellent food for a reasonable price.

Disliked: Small room with no widow and dim lights. Whole place had dim lighting.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Petya Petkova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013 Petya would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the window :)

Disliked: Petya left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: a bit gloomy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Till Immanuel Hauser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2013 Till Immanuel would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed here so many times. The location within walking distance to the subway, East Nanjing Road and the Bund are great. The atmosphere in the evening is very enjoyable and the cheapest Tsingtao Beer in Shanghai round up the place.

Disliked: Occasional power blackouts during the night hours. Tea and coffee are relatively expensive.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They clean the toilet often.

Disliked: The bed was not comfortable and the room had no window. Be prepared to use earplug (like many other places in China) when you sleep because the walls are thin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice relaxing place to come back to, with plenty of comfy seating downstairs to rest and have a drink before retiring to your room for the evening. It was in a great location - close to some sights and the subway, and several restaurants and shops nearby.

Disliked: There was no tv while we were there. We were told that the whole block was outof tv for theweekend, but that was obviously a fib, as we watched tv at the restaurant next door at dinner. Other than that, it was a good stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rachel Johnson

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013

Liked: Good location near Nanjing East metro

Disliked: Really noisy! Lots of street noise and shouting through the night! Difficult to sleep. Rooms had a weird smoky smell. No lift so be prepared to drag your luggage upstairs!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julia Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location near Nanjing Road East. Cafe downstairs can be useful for getting a bite to eat or a few drinks. The bathroom areas were always clean.

Disliked: The hostel can get very noisy in the evenings and I didn't get a good nights sleep. The bathrrom area needs a door on it to keep the noise to a minimum, especially the hairdryers. The staff were quite friendly, but could have made more of an effort. When we complained about the noise, they were very unhelpful when we asked if we could change to another room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Abigail Kenyon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2013

Liked: Its location is good

Disliked: It was the noisiest hostel i have ever stayed in, i had to move rooms after the first night, the third floor is much quieter. The four bed dorm rooms are very cramped too.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013

Liked: A little close to the Bund and Metro - although still a 5-10 minute walk to both.

Disliked: Massively overpriced - both the room and restaurant. Also, it had no atmosphere as most guests were Chinese. Wanted to charge for left luggage, even though we were returning a day later. Only luke warm water in showers and this was only at designated times of day. Dirty public washroom. Unhelpful staff, with no knowledge of Shanghai. A/C didn't work, nearly froze our butts off. TV had 3 blurry channels.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Philip Deaton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: A LOT! 1) They claim 24 hour hot water when booking. However they only have it for a few hours in the morning and evening and by their own admission, it's not really hot between 9-11am. Actually we never hot a truly hot shower. 2) There was a curfew, which was not mentioned when booking. 3) The toilets were often full of vomit and faeces. Also there was rarely any toilet paper and never any soap or hand dryer. 4) The A/C was faulty so the room was either +33 or +2 - hot or freezing. 5) Beer was 18Y for a 296ml local beer, imported beer was from 22Y to 45Y - easily the most expensive in hostels in China. The food was equally extortionate. Fried rice was 38Y. 6) The majority of guests were Chinese. Thus the atmosphere sucked and also their personal hygeine was recognisable throughout the hostel - i.e. listening to them clearing their throats in the shower, washing their hair in the sinks and leaving them an utter mess, not flushing toilets etc. 7) The staff barely spoke English and had no information - they didn't even know there would be fireworks on the Bund for NYE! 8) The double room picture shows an outside window - there was no outside window, just one to a corridor. The room was a small box. 9) For 180Y for a double room without bathroom, this was the most expensive hostel room we have stayed in, in China. We have lived here for 4 years and travelled here over the last 7 years on and off. An absolute and utter trip off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, very clean, amazing location and cheapcheap :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constan Jackie Cantero

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Constan Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: The property was convenient to public transportation and the hotspots around shanghai.

Disliked: Some of the staff had difficulty communicating in english.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Short walk to the underground train and the Bund, being the highlight of the city really. The twin room we stayed in was large and we felt very comfortable.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, large clean room, warm in winter, umbrellas provided for the rain.

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, very little English spoken, restaurant exorbitantly priced.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liam Rodden

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, a few minutes to the Bund. Nice bar and large communal area.

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cheap beer, staff helpful

Disliked: 50yuan dorms are very small, this was okay for us as we were a group of friends but may be a bit too cosy if you were sharing with people you do not know