We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

84.2% Overall Rating

191 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2015)

Helen Deeny thinks…

"Really easy to get to from train or plane as it is just round the corner from exit 1 East Nanjing Rd. I felt very safe and welcomed. The staff arranged a taxi for me at 5.00am and it was early for a…"

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1.Our hostel only accept cash and can't credit card,pls take enough cash when you check-in! 2.Please remember to bring passport(not copy) with you when you come here. Please note If you book the dorm beds, we can't promise you will in the same room. 3. Please inform us your new arrival time by phone or email if you arrive later than the scheduled time on your booking, (we will hold your booking till 6pm if you do not note your arrival time) or else your booking would be cancelled automatically.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
11.72 USD

Hostel 87.7% 258 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 90.4% 587 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
35.08 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 82.3% 235 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
20.78 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 90.3% 109 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
46.80 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

191 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 202 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sujeong Lim

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Sujeong would recommend this property

Liked: East Nanjing Road Station in five minutes on foot, Good location!

Disliked: The air conditioning is too weak, and the Wi-Fi connection has not been going well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Deeny

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2015 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Really easy to get to from train or plane as it is just round the corner from exit 1 East Nanjing Rd. I felt very safe and welcomed. The staff arranged a taxi for me at 5.00am and it was early for a great transfer to Pu Dong airport which took about an hour and cost 220 yuan. Superb service from all the staff. Thank you very much.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. No long term stay which is good to avoid bunch of Chinese students/workers invading the building

Disliked: As usual in Chinese hostels, not all the staff can speak proper English and some aren't really helpful

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Céline Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2015

Liked: Good location

Disliked: DO NOT BOOK THIS HOSTEL. I checked in this hostel on june 18th, put my belongings inside the locker of my dorm and locked it before going out. Returned a few hours later: the locker was still closed but my passport and money were missing. I don't know who stole my stuff, someone from the staff who had the key or a girl from my dorm, anyway, I would not recommend this place. The guy at the reception took me to the police station and told the agent that some girl my room must have opened my locker with her key by mistake even though the locks are different. I left the hostel the very same day and had a refund of my reservation. I asked them help later to make a statement of temporary address to help me to get a new passport and they weren't helpful at all, just told me that they didn't know what it was and couldn't to it for me.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charalampos PAPOUTSAKIS

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 July 2015 Charalampos would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location !!

Disliked: There is no TV in our room, although there was one in the room we stayed, at Mingtown ..., last year:-(

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sonia Sereno

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 June 2015

Liked: Elejimos este sitio porque decian que recomendaban muchos lugares para ir sugerian actividades o excursiones para hacer, nada de eso sucedio en contra en nuestras camas habia chinches y no nos cambiaron de habitacion hasta la tercera noche. Cuando escojes un albergue para alojarte lo haces justamente por la atmosfera y por la capacidad de recimendarte lugares que ver actividades que hacer y un ambiente distendido. No hablaban bien Ingles y era muy dificil lograr recomendaciones e indicaciones.

Disliked: Sin duda las chinches y que al decirlo, si que es verdad que lo hicimos por la tarde/noche, no kos cambiaran hasta el dia siguiente.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Bryan Harley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2015

Liked: n/a

Disliked: smell

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

efrat cohen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 efrat would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, very clein

Disliked: efrat left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Graesser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds. Fresh flowers.

Disliked: Slow internet. English skills limited but ok.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff's helpfulness, and the affordability were all unbeatable.

Disliked: The multi-bed rooms are cramped and the beds are difficult to get into, the lockers are too small for a luggage bag. There were only small towels on sale, no solid soaps and the dryer takes FOREVER to leave clothes warmer but just as moist as they entered. For sleeping and laundry, the services were not sufficient to make the stay comfortable, however the rest of what was offered, especially help with taxis, was superior to other hostels I've stayed at.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and dorms have lockers with locks (you pay a deposit for the key). Great location

Disliked: Swipe card to get into room didn't work a few times so had to go to reception to get it fixed, the door of my room was very hard to enter, no explanation of hostel facilities was offered upon check-in and it was left to find bathrooms, kitchen on my own.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the private rooms are big and nice and clean.

Disliked: I didn't like the pillows, but that's just my personal problem. There is a bit of a nasty smell around the staircase, but not in the rooms. The road outside the hostel is a bit noisy (traffic, street vendors, refuse collection). I couldn't sleep with the window open, but with the windows closed it is perfectly tolerable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome

Disliked: Nothing special, but one thing was that smell was coming from the sewer in the bathroom sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tan Sherri

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Tan would recommend this property

Liked: the location is excellent

Disliked: Tan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located near West Nanjing Pedestrian Streets and Metro.

Disliked: I find the property smells like kitty litter throughout the halls.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very central in Shanghai. Good restaurants are very close. They have a pool table and they sell beer in the bar. There are many beds and easy to longer the stay.

Disliked: There are not much comunity in this place since there are almost no commen area. If you ask in the reception they hand you a faw papers for where everything is. But there is no more service, and they seldom show on a map. Neither do they know the map of Shanghai, which Metro station to go to. There are a lot of places to go, but this hostel does not know how to get you there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Han

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the dorms had a very cute design/atmosphere.City map was available if you asked for it. Hostel staff pretty nice and helpful.

Disliked: The WiFi in our rooms (2nd floor) didn't work so you either had to go to the lobby or the kitchen.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Till Hauser

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2015

Liked: Well-located in the heart of Huangpu District Clean, bright and comfortable rooms Clean bathrooms, hot showers

Disliked: The atmosphere is very unpersonal. It feels like staying in a cheap hotel and not like staying in a YHA hostel. The walls and ceiling seem extremely thin, the noise at night from outside and from other rooms was so loud that we could hardly sleep. That made the stay very unpleasant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this hostel in a double room for 4 nights. It is located right in the centre of Shanghai, near to the Bund, People's square, fake market... The room and the bathroom (!) were big and clean. So all in all it was really comfortable.

Disliked: No complains :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Mingtown Nanjing Road were so friendly and helpful. Although I speak a little Chinese their level of English made sorting out airport transfers very simple. @allstaff - thank you all so much for your help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great.

Disliked: The staff isn't friendly and patient.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUEN HUNG NEOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 YUEN HUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Best location.

Disliked: NOthing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Wells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2014 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Had a very nice stay in a convenient location

Disliked: Gregory left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Irene Illa Font

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and the staff was very helpfull. Clean bathroom, very convenient number

Disliked: The kitchen was very poor, we had to ask to the bar for spoons. Rooms very small, it was difficult to move when someone had the luggage open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The whole experience was great. The staff was really helpful.

Disliked: A smell from the bathroom was discomfortable at first, but we got used to it... keeping the door shut helped :)