HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

82.6% Overall Rating

169 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Irene Illa Font thinks…

"Really good location and the staff was very helpfull. Clean bathroom, very convenient number"

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 91.8% 243 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 85.6% 568 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.33 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 81.3% 230 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.71 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 88.5% 82 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.58 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

169 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 176 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Irene Illa Font

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and the staff was very helpfull. Clean bathroom, very convenient number

Disliked: The kitchen was very poor, we had to ask to the bar for spoons. Rooms very small, it was difficult to move when someone had the luggage open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The whole experience was great. The staff was really helpful.

Disliked: A smell from the bathroom was discomfortable at first, but we got used to it... keeping the door shut helped :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is the best!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, good size room and bathroom, good value laundry room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jemina Bouma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Jemina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great WiFi, friendly staff, comfy bed for two. Really couldn't have asked for better.

Disliked: No hand soap provided in bathrooms, so make sure you bring your own!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dyna Madalag

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2014 Dyna would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location...close to the subway station! I liked my room (#307, a 6 bed dorm type). I had a great time with my cute Korean roommates (they were full of energy). Thanks to the staff for allowing me to stay with other Asians. I'm thankful for the hair dryer and toilet paper that were provided. Air conditioning is great.The staff were nice. I was able to get the WiFi signal from the 4th floor. I may want to stay at the said hostel again next month.

Disliked: I wish the bedroom floor, toilet and bathroom were cleaner (maybe provide a disinfecting spray or something). I think the cleaning ladies should exert more effort in cleaning the room (like sweeping the strands of ladies' hair).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: over all excelent place to stay

Disliked: when I checked in My change given was short of 20 yuen. I do not know was this intensional or not. I complained later, but it was not resolved . I wandered any other people has same ecperience here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amit Veeramachaneni

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014

Liked: Location - close to subway. Walking distance to the Bund. Very easy to grab taxi if need be.

Disliked: very bad sewage smell from bathroom. We booked the "luxury" double room and we always feared returning to our room bc the smell was so bad. I dont think this was isolated as I smelled it in hall eminating from other rooms/bathrooms. We stayed at other hostels in China during this trip (also picked well rated like Ming) and did not encounter this issue. This did dampen our experience, if it wasnt for this issue - I would stay again - but it smelled too bad to return.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: Staff was completely unhelpful, did not clean our room at all and then denied it. No help, only denial. In the end, they said we were liars. There was no food available although being advertised for mealtimes, the cook could only prepare a limited part of the meals listed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and nice beds in the dorm room I stayed in. The bathrooms and toilets were also nice, modern and clean.

Disliked: The wifi didn't seem to be too reliable and disconnected a lot despite the hostel being right in the centre of Shanghai.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jack Paxton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a good location with helpful staff. Took a while for the room to be ready for us to check in though.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Layne Martin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Layne would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed

Disliked: No in-room wifi

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thong Yong Koh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Thong Yong would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Thong Yong left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014

Liked: The hostel is in an excellent location just a couple of minutes walk from East Nanjing Road subway exit 1. There were good sized lockers, reasonably comfortable beds and a good ensuite shower in the 6-bed dorm we stayed in.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit grubby but not the worst I’ve seen. The bed sheets were clean but the mattress itself was pretty stained (best to look away when putting your sheets on!) and the walls in the dorm had seen better days with crumbling paint and stains. The main problem when we were there (late March 2014) were the noisy renovations going on from around 7:30am until 8pm every day. I’m not sure if it was in the building directly next door or in the hostel itself, but it was very loud so don’t expect any lie-ins or afternoon naps! On our last day we needed to store our luggage during the day and basically had to leave the bags out in the reception area as the luggage room was full, so you may want to choose another hostel if you need luggage storage facilities and don’t trust leaving your bags out where anyone can come and pick them up if they wanted to.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Haris Saeed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2014 Haris would recommend this property

Liked: - Cheap, dorms at only 50rmb per night. - Great location, right by the bund/nanjing pedestrian street, tons of food options - Clean rooms, great shower, hot water, hair dryers even in dorms - Western beers, happy hour, laundry available, pool table - Sichuan restaurant next book is absolutely amazing - Mattress was comfortable, quilt was soft - Locker with inbuild lock was very convenient

Disliked: - Absolutely no "atmosphere" to speak off, no planned events, everyone glued to their phones/laptop in common area - Staff are ok at best, seem disinterested, no interest in anything beyond their job description - Wi-fi is really slow, especially in rooms, internet is throttled as well - Rooms really need renovating, the paint was peeling off, major holes in walls, floor had paint stains all over, very surprised by this actually - Had to make our own bed, cleaning staff was lazy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadezhda Tochinova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Nadezhda would recommend this property

Liked: Атмосфера, расположение превосходно. Уютные комнаты ща такую цену, кухня, общие залы. место очень живое:-)

Disliked: Ярких минусов нет, инет только подтормаживал частенько.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Almost center of the city. Close to metro stations. Tons of local restaurants around. I stayed in a dorm bed then enough shared showers and toilets. I had never waited to have it. Each dorm bed has a lighting and a power plug. Very convenient. I went to Shanghai to see Rolling Stones concert. And when I check-in, I was wearing a famous Stones tongue t-shirt. A reception girl found it and she turned music in reception area to Stones. I love it. :-)

Disliked: My 6 persons dorm room was very small. While my 3 nights staying, my room was not full. At most 4 persons. But I felt small even then.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIDIA BIZHIK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 LIDIA would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved staying at this hostel! The room was supposed to be "mixed" but they placed only girls in there so I felt more comfortable. There is a personal light and two sockets for every person. It's very convenient. There's also a kitchen with a fridge, microwave and even toaster (for me it's important). You can always have hot water also. Every morning the lady would come and do basic cleaning of the bathroom and toilet. When I was there - there was always toilet paper and they divided the bathroom so that now there's separate bathroom, toilet and sink - so I guess that is much better!! There's wifi (I could get wifi in my room also). The location is just perfect! I will stay there again - it's great! I stayed in many hostels in Europe also and this hostel is one of the best I stayed in!!!

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly but they were also NOT rude. So for me it's ok! Wifi worked but sometimes it was inpossible to do anything via Internet.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jonathan Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It was really well located in the center of Shanghai

Disliked: Could have been cleaner

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Comfortable beds. Clean.

Disliked: Elevator working only to the 4th floor, must walk to upper floor.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HongGyu Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 HongGyu would recommend this property

Liked: 除了水压以外都很好。

Disliked: 水压太弱了。

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, close to main shopping street and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Everyone in the hostel seemed to have a stick to yourself vibe, the hostel was very modern looking which I think contributed to this. The wifi is bad in the rooms and downstairs.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located at a very convenient location and is very near the metro.

Disliked: Nil

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Bukman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 December 2013 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: Very good localization and cheaper! Excelent for backpackers!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: My room is beside the elevator so very noisy.