HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

82.6% Overall Rating

155 out of 163 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"The hostel is in an excellent location just a couple of minutes walk from East Nanjing Road subway exit 1. There were good sized lockers, reasonably comfortable beds and a good ensuite shower in the 6-bed dorm we…"

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.53 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
8.91 USD

Hostel 81.0% 554 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.29 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.65 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.10 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.50 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

155 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 160 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014

Liked: The hostel is in an excellent location just a couple of minutes walk from East Nanjing Road subway exit 1. There were good sized lockers, reasonably comfortable beds and a good ensuite shower in the 6-bed dorm we stayed in.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit grubby but not the worst I’ve seen. The bed sheets were clean but the mattress itself was pretty stained (best to look away when putting your sheets on!) and the walls in the dorm had seen better days with crumbling paint and stains. The main problem when we were there (late March 2014) were the noisy renovations going on from around 7:30am until 8pm every day. I’m not sure if it was in the building directly next door or in the hostel itself, but it was very loud so don’t expect any lie-ins or afternoon naps! On our last day we needed to store our luggage during the day and basically had to leave the bags out in the reception area as the luggage room was full, so you may want to choose another hostel if you need luggage storage facilities and don’t trust leaving your bags out where anyone can come and pick them up if they wanted to.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Haris Saeed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2014 Haris would recommend this property

Liked: - Cheap, dorms at only 50rmb per night. - Great location, right by the bund/nanjing pedestrian street, tons of food options - Clean rooms, great shower, hot water, hair dryers even in dorms - Western beers, happy hour, laundry available, pool table - Sichuan restaurant next book is absolutely amazing - Mattress was comfortable, quilt was soft - Locker with inbuild lock was very convenient

Disliked: - Absolutely no "atmosphere" to speak off, no planned events, everyone glued to their phones/laptop in common area - Staff are ok at best, seem disinterested, no interest in anything beyond their job description - Wi-fi is really slow, especially in rooms, internet is throttled as well - Rooms really need renovating, the paint was peeling off, major holes in walls, floor had paint stains all over, very surprised by this actually - Had to make our own bed, cleaning staff was lazy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadezhda Tochinova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Nadezhda would recommend this property

Liked: Атмосфера, расположение превосходно. Уютные комнаты ща такую цену, кухня, общие залы. место очень живое:-)

Disliked: Ярких минусов нет, инет только подтормаживал частенько.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Almost center of the city. Close to metro stations. Tons of local restaurants around. I stayed in a dorm bed then enough shared showers and toilets. I had never waited to have it. Each dorm bed has a lighting and a power plug. Very convenient. I went to Shanghai to see Rolling Stones concert. And when I check-in, I was wearing a famous Stones tongue t-shirt. A reception girl found it and she turned music in reception area to Stones. I love it. :-)

Disliked: My 6 persons dorm room was very small. While my 3 nights staying, my room was not full. At most 4 persons. But I felt small even then.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIDIA BIZHIK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 LIDIA would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved staying at this hostel! The room was supposed to be "mixed" but they placed only girls in there so I felt more comfortable. There is a personal light and two sockets for every person. It's very convenient. There's also a kitchen with a fridge, microwave and even toaster (for me it's important). You can always have hot water also. Every morning the lady would come and do basic cleaning of the bathroom and toilet. When I was there - there was always toilet paper and they divided the bathroom so that now there's separate bathroom, toilet and sink - so I guess that is much better!! There's wifi (I could get wifi in my room also). The location is just perfect! I will stay there again - it's great! I stayed in many hostels in Europe also and this hostel is one of the best I stayed in!!!

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly but they were also NOT rude. So for me it's ok! Wifi worked but sometimes it was inpossible to do anything via Internet.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jonathan Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It was really well located in the center of Shanghai

Disliked: Could have been cleaner

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Comfortable beds. Clean.

Disliked: Elevator working only to the 4th floor, must walk to upper floor.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HongGyu Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 HongGyu would recommend this property

Liked: 除了水压以外都很好。

Disliked: 水压太弱了。

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, close to main shopping street and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Everyone in the hostel seemed to have a stick to yourself vibe, the hostel was very modern looking which I think contributed to this. The wifi is bad in the rooms and downstairs.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located at a very convenient location and is very near the metro.

Disliked: Nil

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Bukman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 December 2013 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: Very good localization and cheaper! Excelent for backpackers!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: My room is beside the elevator so very noisy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and large rooms. Clean rooms and shared areas.

Disliked: kitchen looks really old and dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hyemin yoon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 hyemin would recommend this property

Liked: I just stayed 1 day. I recommend this hostel! the price is reasonable. the staff was not very kind, but the facilities was so good. It's location and secure was good, too. great :)

Disliked: friendliness staff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lilia Jap

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2013 Lilia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a perfect location right next to the busy East Nanjing Road. It's only a short stroll away from the Bund and conveniently located neat several metro stations which makes it easy to get around the city. The room was spacious, clean and all facilities were well maintained.

Disliked: There was no wifi in the room. All common areas have wifi although this is a hassle if you want to use wifi past 1am as you need to go down to the ground floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious.

Disliked: The baggage storage offered by the hotel is not very secure. The door is not locked and they do not check which bags you are dropping off or taking away.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

wu wei

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 wu would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoy my stay there,the location and facilities are great.

Disliked: it will be better if there food and drink cheaper and more activities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Hwu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best thing about this place. It is less than 5 minutes away from the Metro Line 2 station and the People's Park stop is also walk-able. The rooms (we rented double and triple rooms) were clean and roomy. They provide towels and even a kettle and cups in the room. Their prices on alcoholic drinks are awesome (from 9-pm-11pm they have buy one, get one free cocktails and they are already cheap to begin with), and they have a nice lounge area with a pool table upstairs.

Disliked: Some of the staff could have been warmer, but overall the service was great. Not much to complain about!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vinh Dang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013

Liked: The location was great, just a few minutes walking to the east nanjing road and metro station and not too far from the river bund.

Disliked: The six people room was very small. There was almost no space to move around. Once you get in the room, you need to climb onto your bed immediately so other people can move in or out. Not all the front desk staff could speak good English. They were not very helpful when asked about general travel advice. They gave very short and unenthusiastic answers. Maybe they were too shy?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has got the perfect location! Almost everything can be reached by foot. There is also a good kitchen and eating space available. On every floor there is a common area. The beds were comfortable. Some staff were really helpful and put in a lot of time and effort to help me! While there were also some who were not helpful at all. Look out for the friendly ones!

Disliked: On the shelf above my bed was a lot of dust and the room was quite dusty too. Though it was not too bad, no WiFi in the rooms and the common rooms could be chilly at night!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 March 2013

Liked: Pool, happy hour between 9 and 11pm

Disliked: Service not happy when your order drinks (too much work for them) Also, we have been disturbed twice in our room, they woke us up at 7am to wash the toilets! (they don't respect your privacy)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2013

Liked: 1. Hot water 24/7. No matter when, just open the water and you got hot water immediately. Very cozy in winter night. 2. The location is so convenient for going to the Bund, Metro and having local and cheap breakfast. 3. You can keep your luggage in the hostel and come back later even you have already checked out.

Disliked: WARNING!!!!! Be aware of these parts if you are going to stay here. 1. Grumpy staffs: The staffs were arguing with guests in the first evening we stayed. And at night they were even arguing with each others. The next morning, they argued with guest again. Anytime we went down stairs, they were arguing with someone. 2. Only cash allowed: They don't have the card machine. We didn't have cash. But we left our passport and told them that we would give them the cash next day. The next morning we were in hurry for the train. But the staffs FORCED us to pay immediately. They kept our passports and still told us to pay?!?!?! How ridiculous it was???? They forced us to walk to the bank, get the money and pay right away. Otherwise, they don't let us get into the room. In the end, we missed the train and lost money. 3. Being changed to the more expensive room without reason: They informed us that if we would be the hostel later than 6 pm, just inform them in advance. We did. However, when we arrived, they told us they changed the room and the new one was more expensive. BUT, there was a nice TV in the room. Excuse me!!! We don't even speak Chinese why do we need to watch the TV???? Totally insane 4.NO WIFI: No wifi in the bedrooms at all. Only in common room or kitchen which is very bad connection. So you can't use skype personally in the room. You have to be in the public area which is either too noisy or too quiet. When you are in pajamas and just want to check your email or msg. You must dress up and go down stairs to get wifi. Very annoying. 5. Dirty floor: Not sure about the shared room. The floor of private room was very dirty. Full of dust and muds. 6. Creepy guy walking around: An old guy walking around and stopped us to go downstairs. We just wanted to make sure if there are breakfast service. In the end, we found that it was because the staffs were arguing downstairs and the old guy didn't want guests to know about it. Actually, he tried to stop people to bother the staffs. Kind of weird. 7. Be very independent: The staffs won't tell you anything about the hostel. Right after they got your money or help you to check in, you have to figure out where are the laundry machines, kitchen, your room, and public bathroom. Well, there are a lot of papers on the wall tell you these information in bad English. You can still survive. Don't worry.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and restroom was clean and well stocked. We also liked the western style toilet. The Downstair lobby was also clean and comfortable. However, it was a bit small and was unable to accomodate multiple groups at one time. Location is always key and this place is centrally located to a metro/subway station, the Bund, shopping centers and has delicious street food practically on it's door step. The kitchen/game room has a pool table with good action night and day. It'd be nice to have a bar to compliment the kitchen.

Disliked: The staff was not as welcoming as we expected. Complimentary computers are very old and load very slow. Internet is also very slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The downstairs area is charming and they have a wide variety of drinks and food. The staff is very friendly and helpful! My room (twin on the 3rd floor) was very clean with an extremely clean and modern bathroom and the amenities were nice as well (kettle, heater, hair dryer, mugs and glasses etc). The hostel is a very short walk from the metro at East Nanjing Rd and it's very nearby to many convenience stores, restaurants, shopping malls etc.

Disliked: The wifi did not work in the room itself, only in the common room.