We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

87.8% Overall Rating

186 out of 198 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2015)

"The location, the staff's helpfulness, and the affordability were all unbeatable."

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1.Our hostel only accept cash and can't credit card,pls take enough cash when you check-in! 2.Please remember to bring passport(not copy) with you when you come here. Please note If you book the dorm beds, we can't promise you will in the same room. 3. Please inform us your new arrival time by phone or email if you arrive later than the scheduled time on your booking, (we will hold your booking till 6pm if you do not note your arrival time) or else your booking would be cancelled automatically.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
11.42 USD

Hostel 88.9% 254 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.42 USD

Hostel 89.1% 583 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.63 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.79 USD

Hostel 82.4% 234 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
21.70 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
11.42 USD

Hostel 88.6% 104 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.61 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

186 out of 198 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 195 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Bryan Harley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2015

Liked: n/a

Disliked: smell

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

efrat cohen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 efrat would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, very clein

Disliked: efrat left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Graesser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds. Fresh flowers.

Disliked: Slow internet. English skills limited but ok.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff's helpfulness, and the affordability were all unbeatable.

Disliked: The multi-bed rooms are cramped and the beds are difficult to get into, the lockers are too small for a luggage bag. There were only small towels on sale, no solid soaps and the dryer takes FOREVER to leave clothes warmer but just as moist as they entered. For sleeping and laundry, the services were not sufficient to make the stay comfortable, however the rest of what was offered, especially help with taxis, was superior to other hostels I've stayed at.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and dorms have lockers with locks (you pay a deposit for the key). Great location

Disliked: Swipe card to get into room didn't work a few times so had to go to reception to get it fixed, the door of my room was very hard to enter, no explanation of hostel facilities was offered upon check-in and it was left to find bathrooms, kitchen on my own.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the private rooms are big and nice and clean.

Disliked: I didn't like the pillows, but that's just my personal problem. There is a bit of a nasty smell around the staircase, but not in the rooms. The road outside the hostel is a bit noisy (traffic, street vendors, refuse collection). I couldn't sleep with the window open, but with the windows closed it is perfectly tolerable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome

Disliked: Nothing special, but one thing was that smell was coming from the sewer in the bathroom sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tan Sherri

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Tan would recommend this property

Liked: the location is excellent

Disliked: Tan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located near West Nanjing Pedestrian Streets and Metro.

Disliked: I find the property smells like kitty litter throughout the halls.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very central in Shanghai. Good restaurants are very close. They have a pool table and they sell beer in the bar. There are many beds and easy to longer the stay.

Disliked: There are not much comunity in this place since there are almost no commen area. If you ask in the reception they hand you a faw papers for where everything is. But there is no more service, and they seldom show on a map. Neither do they know the map of Shanghai, which Metro station to go to. There are a lot of places to go, but this hostel does not know how to get you there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Han

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the dorms had a very cute design/atmosphere.City map was available if you asked for it. Hostel staff pretty nice and helpful.

Disliked: The WiFi in our rooms (2nd floor) didn't work so you either had to go to the lobby or the kitchen.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Till Hauser

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2015

Liked: Well-located in the heart of Huangpu District Clean, bright and comfortable rooms Clean bathrooms, hot showers

Disliked: The atmosphere is very unpersonal. It feels like staying in a cheap hotel and not like staying in a YHA hostel. The walls and ceiling seem extremely thin, the noise at night from outside and from other rooms was so loud that we could hardly sleep. That made the stay very unpleasant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this hostel in a double room for 4 nights. It is located right in the centre of Shanghai, near to the Bund, People's square, fake market... The room and the bathroom (!) were big and clean. So all in all it was really comfortable.

Disliked: No complains :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Mingtown Nanjing Road were so friendly and helpful. Although I speak a little Chinese their level of English made sorting out airport transfers very simple. @allstaff - thank you all so much for your help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great.

Disliked: The staff isn't friendly and patient.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUEN HUNG NEOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 YUEN HUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Best location.

Disliked: NOthing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Wells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2014 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Had a very nice stay in a convenient location

Disliked: Gregory left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Irene Illa Font

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and the staff was very helpfull. Clean bathroom, very convenient number

Disliked: The kitchen was very poor, we had to ask to the bar for spoons. Rooms very small, it was difficult to move when someone had the luggage open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The whole experience was great. The staff was really helpful.

Disliked: A smell from the bathroom was discomfortable at first, but we got used to it... keeping the door shut helped :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is the best!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, good size room and bathroom, good value laundry room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jemina Bouma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Jemina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great WiFi, friendly staff, comfy bed for two. Really couldn't have asked for better.

Disliked: No hand soap provided in bathrooms, so make sure you bring your own!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dyna Madalag

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2014 Dyna would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location...close to the subway station! I liked my room (#307, a 6 bed dorm type). I had a great time with my cute Korean roommates (they were full of energy). Thanks to the staff for allowing me to stay with other Asians. I'm thankful for the hair dryer and toilet paper that were provided. Air conditioning is great.The staff were nice. I was able to get the WiFi signal from the 4th floor. I may want to stay at the said hostel again next month.

Disliked: I wish the bedroom floor, toilet and bathroom were cleaner (maybe provide a disinfecting spray or something). I think the cleaning ladies should exert more effort in cleaning the room (like sweeping the strands of ladies' hair).

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: over all excelent place to stay

Disliked: when I checked in My change given was short of 20 yuen. I do not know was this intensional or not. I complained later, but it was not resolved . I wandered any other people has same ecperience here.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amit Veeramachaneni

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014

Liked: Location - close to subway. Walking distance to the Bund. Very easy to grab taxi if need be.

Disliked: very bad sewage smell from bathroom. We booked the "luxury" double room and we always feared returning to our room bc the smell was so bad. I dont think this was isolated as I smelled it in hall eminating from other rooms/bathrooms. We stayed at other hostels in China during this trip (also picked well rated like Ming) and did not encounter this issue. This did dampen our experience, if it wasnt for this issue - I would stay again - but it smelled too bad to return.