We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

83.2% Overall Rating

178 out of 189 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2015)

"This place is very central in Shanghai. Good restaurants are very close. They have a pool table and they sell beer in the bar. There are many beds and easy to longer the stay."

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1.Our hostel only accept cash and can't credit card,pls take enough cash when you check-in! 2.Please remember to bring passport(not copy) with you when you come here. Please note If you book the dorm beds, we can't promise you will in the same room. 3. Please inform us your new arrival time by phone or email if you arrive later than the scheduled time on your booking, (we will hold your booking till 6pm if you do not note your arrival time) or else your booking would be cancelled automatically.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
11.41 USD

Hostel 88.7% 249 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.41 USD

Hostel 88.7% 582 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 79.5% 233 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
19.56 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 91.8% 92 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 84.0% 656 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

178 out of 189 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 186 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located near West Nanjing Pedestrian Streets and Metro.

Disliked: I find the property smells like kitty litter throughout the halls.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very central in Shanghai. Good restaurants are very close. They have a pool table and they sell beer in the bar. There are many beds and easy to longer the stay.

Disliked: There are not much comunity in this place since there are almost no commen area. If you ask in the reception they hand you a faw papers for where everything is. But there is no more service, and they seldom show on a map. Neither do they know the map of Shanghai, which Metro station to go to. There are a lot of places to go, but this hostel does not know how to get you there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Han

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the dorms had a very cute design/atmosphere.City map was available if you asked for it. Hostel staff pretty nice and helpful.

Disliked: The WiFi in our rooms (2nd floor) didn't work so you either had to go to the lobby or the kitchen.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Till Hauser

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2015

Liked: Well-located in the heart of Huangpu District Clean, bright and comfortable rooms Clean bathrooms, hot showers

Disliked: The atmosphere is very unpersonal. It feels like staying in a cheap hotel and not like staying in a YHA hostel. The walls and ceiling seem extremely thin, the noise at night from outside and from other rooms was so loud that we could hardly sleep. That made the stay very unpleasant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this hostel in a double room for 4 nights. It is located right in the centre of Shanghai, near to the Bund, People's square, fake market... The room and the bathroom (!) were big and clean. So all in all it was really comfortable.

Disliked: No complains :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Mingtown Nanjing Road were so friendly and helpful. Although I speak a little Chinese their level of English made sorting out airport transfers very simple. @allstaff - thank you all so much for your help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great.

Disliked: The staff isn't friendly and patient.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUEN HUNG NEOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 YUEN HUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Best location.

Disliked: NOthing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Wells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2014 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Had a very nice stay in a convenient location

Disliked: Gregory left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Irene Illa Font

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and the staff was very helpfull. Clean bathroom, very convenient number

Disliked: The kitchen was very poor, we had to ask to the bar for spoons. Rooms very small, it was difficult to move when someone had the luggage open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The whole experience was great. The staff was really helpful.

Disliked: A smell from the bathroom was discomfortable at first, but we got used to it... keeping the door shut helped :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is the best!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, good size room and bathroom, good value laundry room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jemina Bouma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Jemina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great WiFi, friendly staff, comfy bed for two. Really couldn't have asked for better.

Disliked: No hand soap provided in bathrooms, so make sure you bring your own!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dyna Madalag

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2014 Dyna would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location...close to the subway station! I liked my room (#307, a 6 bed dorm type). I had a great time with my cute Korean roommates (they were full of energy). Thanks to the staff for allowing me to stay with other Asians. I'm thankful for the hair dryer and toilet paper that were provided. Air conditioning is great.The staff were nice. I was able to get the WiFi signal from the 4th floor. I may want to stay at the said hostel again next month.

Disliked: I wish the bedroom floor, toilet and bathroom were cleaner (maybe provide a disinfecting spray or something). I think the cleaning ladies should exert more effort in cleaning the room (like sweeping the strands of ladies' hair).

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: over all excelent place to stay

Disliked: when I checked in My change given was short of 20 yuen. I do not know was this intensional or not. I complained later, but it was not resolved . I wandered any other people has same ecperience here.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amit Veeramachaneni

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014

Liked: Location - close to subway. Walking distance to the Bund. Very easy to grab taxi if need be.

Disliked: very bad sewage smell from bathroom. We booked the "luxury" double room and we always feared returning to our room bc the smell was so bad. I dont think this was isolated as I smelled it in hall eminating from other rooms/bathrooms. We stayed at other hostels in China during this trip (also picked well rated like Ming) and did not encounter this issue. This did dampen our experience, if it wasnt for this issue - I would stay again - but it smelled too bad to return.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: Staff was completely unhelpful, did not clean our room at all and then denied it. No help, only denial. In the end, they said we were liars. There was no food available although being advertised for mealtimes, the cook could only prepare a limited part of the meals listed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and nice beds in the dorm room I stayed in. The bathrooms and toilets were also nice, modern and clean.

Disliked: The wifi didn't seem to be too reliable and disconnected a lot despite the hostel being right in the centre of Shanghai.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jack Paxton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a good location with helpful staff. Took a while for the room to be ready for us to check in though.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Layne Martin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Layne would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed

Disliked: No in-room wifi

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thong Yong Koh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Thong Yong would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Thong Yong left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014

Liked: The hostel is in an excellent location just a couple of minutes walk from East Nanjing Road subway exit 1. There were good sized lockers, reasonably comfortable beds and a good ensuite shower in the 6-bed dorm we stayed in.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit grubby but not the worst I’ve seen. The bed sheets were clean but the mattress itself was pretty stained (best to look away when putting your sheets on!) and the walls in the dorm had seen better days with crumbling paint and stains. The main problem when we were there (late March 2014) were the noisy renovations going on from around 7:30am until 8pm every day. I’m not sure if it was in the building directly next door or in the hostel itself, but it was very loud so don’t expect any lie-ins or afternoon naps! On our last day we needed to store our luggage during the day and basically had to leave the bags out in the reception area as the luggage room was full, so you may want to choose another hostel if you need luggage storage facilities and don’t trust leaving your bags out where anyone can come and pick them up if they wanted to.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Haris Saeed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2014 Haris would recommend this property

Liked: - Cheap, dorms at only 50rmb per night. - Great location, right by the bund/nanjing pedestrian street, tons of food options - Clean rooms, great shower, hot water, hair dryers even in dorms - Western beers, happy hour, laundry available, pool table - Sichuan restaurant next book is absolutely amazing - Mattress was comfortable, quilt was soft - Locker with inbuild lock was very convenient

Disliked: - Absolutely no "atmosphere" to speak off, no planned events, everyone glued to their phones/laptop in common area - Staff are ok at best, seem disinterested, no interest in anything beyond their job description - Wi-fi is really slow, especially in rooms, internet is throttled as well - Rooms really need renovating, the paint was peeling off, major holes in walls, floor had paint stains all over, very surprised by this actually - Had to make our own bed, cleaning staff was lazy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadezhda Tochinova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Nadezhda would recommend this property

Liked: Атмосфера, расположение превосходно. Уютные комнаты ща такую цену, кухня, общие залы. место очень живое:-)

Disliked: Ярких минусов нет, инет только подтормаживал частенько.

The property's response is...