HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No. 258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 70%

Location 98%

Safety 81%

Staff 76%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light

Important Information

1.Our hostel only accept cash and can't credit card,pls take enough cash when you check-in!
2.Please remember to bring passport(not copy) with you when you come here. Please note If you book the dorm beds, we can't promise you will in the same room.
3. Please inform us your new arrival time by phone or email if you arrive later than the scheduled time on your booking, (we will hold your booking till 6pm if you do not note your arrival time) or else your booking would be cancelled automatically.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 70%

Location 98%

Safety 81%

Staff 76%

Value 86%

Showing 51-60 of 66 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location. Almost center of the city. Close to metro stations. Tons of local restaurants around.I stayed in a dorm bed then enough shared showers and toilets. I had never waited to have it.Each dorm bed has a lighting and a power plug. Very convenient.I went to Shanghai to see Rolling Stones concert. And when I check-in, I was wearing a famous Stones tongue t-shirt. A reception girl found it and she turned music in reception area to Stones. I love it. :-)

Disliked: My 6 persons dorm room was very small.While my 3 nights staying, my room was not full. At most 4 persons. But I felt small even then.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really loved staying at this hostel! The room was supposed to be "mixed" but they placed only girls in there so I felt more comfortable. There is a personal light and two sockets for every person. It's very convenient. There's also a kitchen with a fridge, microwave and even toaster (for me it's important). You can always have hot water also. Every morning the lady would come and do basic cleaning of the bathroom and toilet. When I was there - there was always toilet paper and they divided the bathroom so that now there's separate bathroom, toilet and sink - so I guess that is much better!!There's wifi (I could get wifi in my room also).The location is just perfect!I will stay there again - it's great! I stayed in many hostels in Europe also and this hostel is one of the best I stayed in!!!

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly but they were also NOT rude. So for me it's ok! Wifi worked but sometimes it was inpossible to do anything via Internet.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again~

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was really well located in the center of Shanghai

Disliked: Could have been cleaner

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again~

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location. Comfortable beds. Clean.

Disliked: Elevator working only to the 4th floor, must walk to upper floor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again~

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: 除了水压以外都很好。

Disliked: 水压太弱了。

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

谢谢您对我们旅舍的评价哦~我们会努力改进,欢迎您的再次入住~

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice location, close to main shopping street and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Everyone in the hostel seemed to have a stick to yourself vibe, the hostel was very modern looking which I think contributed to this. The wifi is bad in the rooms and downstairs.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Located at a very convenient location and is very near the metro.

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very good localization and cheaper! Excelent for backpackers!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location

Disliked: My room is beside the elevator so very noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location and large rooms. Clean rooms and shared areas.

Disliked: kitchen looks really old and dirty

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability