HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No. 258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 70%

Location 98%

Safety 81%

Staff 76%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light

Important Information

1.Our hostel only accept cash and can't credit card,pls take enough cash when you check-in!
2.Please remember to bring passport(not copy) with you when you come here. Please note If you book the dorm beds, we can't promise you will in the same room.
3. Please inform us your new arrival time by phone or email if you arrive later than the scheduled time on your booking, (we will hold your booking till 6pm if you do not note your arrival time) or else your booking would be cancelled automatically.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 70%

Location 98%

Safety 81%

Staff 76%

Value 86%

Showing 41-50 of 66 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Awesome location...close to the subway station! I liked my room (#307, a 6 bed dorm type). I had a great time with my cute Korean roommates (they were full of energy). Thanks to the staff for allowing me to stay with other Asians. I'm thankful for the hair dryer and toilet paper that were provided. Air conditioning is great.The staff were nice. I was able to get the WiFi signal from the 4th floor. I may want to stay at the said hostel again next month.

Disliked: I wish the bedroom floor, toilet and bathroom were cleaner (maybe provide a disinfecting spray or something). I think the cleaning ladies should exert more effort in cleaning the room (like sweeping the strands of ladies' hair).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: Staff was completely unhelpful, did not clean our room at all and then denied it. No help, only denial. In the end, they said we were liars. There was no food available although being advertised for mealtimes, the cook could only prepare a limited part of the meals listed.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location - close to subway. Walking distance to the Bund.Very easy to grab taxi if need be.

Disliked: very bad sewage smell from bathroom. We booked the "luxury" double room and we always feared returning to our room bc the smell was so bad. I dont think this was isolated as I smelled it in hall eminating from other rooms/bathrooms.We stayed at other hostels in China during this trip (also picked well rated like Ming) and did not encounter this issue. This did dampen our experience, if it wasnt for this issue - I would stay again - but it smelled too bad to return.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location and nice beds in the dorm room I stayed in. The bathrooms and toilets were also nice, modern and clean.

Disliked: The wifi didn't seem to be too reliable and disconnected a lot despite the hostel being right in the centre of Shanghai.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean and a good location with helpful staff. Took a while for the room to be ready for us to check in though.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable bed

Disliked: No in-room wifi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: - Cheap, dorms at only 50rmb per night.- Great location, right by the bund/nanjing pedestrian street, tons of food options- Clean rooms, great shower, hot water, hair dryers even in dorms- Western beers, happy hour, laundry available, pool table- Sichuan restaurant next book is absolutely amazing- Mattress was comfortable, quilt was soft- Locker with inbuild lock was very convenient

Disliked: - Absolutely no "atmosphere" to speak off, no planned events, everyone glued to their phones/laptop in common area- Staff are ok at best, seem disinterested, no interest in anything beyond their job description - Wi-fi is really slow, especially in rooms, internet is throttled as well- Rooms really need renovating, the paint was peeling off, major holes in walls, floor had paint stains all over, very surprised by this actually- Had to make our own bed, cleaning staff was lazy.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is in an excellent location just a couple of minutes walk from East Nanjing Road subway exit 1. There were good sized lockers, reasonably comfortable beds and a good ensuite shower in the 6-bed dorm we stayed in.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit grubby but not the worst I’ve seen. The bed sheets were clean but the mattress itself was pretty stained (best to look away when putting your sheets on!) and the walls in the dorm had seen better days with crumbling paint and stains.The main problem when we were there (late March 2014) were the noisy renovations going on from around 7:30am until 8pm every day. I’m not sure if it was in the building directly next door or in the hostel itself, but it was very loud so don’t expect any lie-ins or afternoon naps!On our last day we needed to store our luggage during the day and basically had to leave the bags out in the reception area as the luggage room was full, so you may want to choose another hostel if you need luggage storage facilities and don’t trust leaving your bags out where anyone can come and pick them up if they wanted to.


The property's response is

we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Атмосфера, расположение превосходно. Уютные комнаты ща такую цену, кухня, общие залы. место очень живое:-)

Disliked: Ярких минусов нет, инет только подтормаживал частенько.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

Check Availability