HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No. 258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 98%

Safety 84%

Staff 78%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light

Important Information

1.Our hostel only accept cash and can't credit card,pls take enough cash when you check-in!
2.Please remember to bring passport(not copy) with you when you come here. Please note If you book the dorm beds, we can't promise you will in the same room.
3. Please inform us your new arrival time by phone or email if you arrive later than the scheduled time on your booking, (we will hold your booking till 6pm if you do not note your arrival time) or else your booking would be cancelled automatically.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 98%

Safety 84%

Staff 78%

Value 86%

Showing 41-50 of 64 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location is the best!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The whole experience was great. The staff was really helpful.

Disliked: A smell from the bathroom was discomfortable at first, but we got used to it... keeping the door shut helped :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location, great WiFi, friendly staff, comfy bed for two. Really couldn't have asked for better.

Disliked: No hand soap provided in bathrooms, so make sure you bring your own!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: over all excelent place to stay

Disliked: when I checked in My change given was short of 20 yuen.I do not know was this intensional or not.I complained later, but it was not resolved .I wandered any other people has same ecperience here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic staff, good size room and bathroom, good value laundry room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Awesome location...close to the subway station! I liked my room (#307, a 6 bed dorm type). I had a great time with my cute Korean roommates (they were full of energy). Thanks to the staff for allowing me to stay with other Asians. I'm thankful for the hair dryer and toilet paper that were provided. Air conditioning is great.The staff were nice. I was able to get the WiFi signal from the 4th floor. I may want to stay at the said hostel again next month.

Disliked: I wish the bedroom floor, toilet and bathroom were cleaner (maybe provide a disinfecting spray or something). I think the cleaning ladies should exert more effort in cleaning the room (like sweeping the strands of ladies' hair).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: Staff was completely unhelpful, did not clean our room at all and then denied it. No help, only denial. In the end, they said we were liars. There was no food available although being advertised for mealtimes, the cook could only prepare a limited part of the meals listed.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location - close to subway. Walking distance to the Bund.Very easy to grab taxi if need be.

Disliked: very bad sewage smell from bathroom. We booked the "luxury" double room and we always feared returning to our room bc the smell was so bad. I dont think this was isolated as I smelled it in hall eminating from other rooms/bathrooms.We stayed at other hostels in China during this trip (also picked well rated like Ming) and did not encounter this issue. This did dampen our experience, if it wasnt for this issue - I would stay again - but it smelled too bad to return.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location and nice beds in the dorm room I stayed in. The bathrooms and toilets were also nice, modern and clean.

Disliked: The wifi didn't seem to be too reliable and disconnected a lot despite the hostel being right in the centre of Shanghai.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean and a good location with helpful staff. Took a while for the room to be ready for us to check in though.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability