We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

82.7% Overall Rating

171 out of 181 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Irene Illa Font thinks…

"Really good location and the staff was very helpfull. Clean bathroom, very convenient number"

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.6% 575 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
15.59 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 91.5% 91 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

171 out of 181 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 178 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Fechtor

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Our three person bedroom was clean, spacious, and--with all the lamps turned on--well lit. The bathroom, also clean, had a western toilet and a big shower, which was more than we expected. Downstairs there is a nice sitting area where you can use your laptop or eat breakfast, which is served all day (though as we did not have any I cannot say whether it was good or even included in the price).

Disliked: There is very little to complain about. I suppose it would have been nice if there had been hand soap in the bathroom or tea or coffee, since the room came with a water boiler. Other than those minor details, the room was a good deal.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi is good. There were lots of space to hang out. Kitchen and hot water!

Disliked: The dorms were really small. 6 beds in a room, there wasn't any place to put our backpacks. Once you enter the room, you can touch your bed. Also, there were many long term people who stays at the hostel so their stuff is all over the room. I recommend the staff to make sure that guests are treating the dorms like their private room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria corazon abcede

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 maria corazon would recommend this property

Liked: it has a kitchen where you can cook. and to mu surprise, cooking oil and salt is provided, as well as kitchen utensils, dish washing soap, etc.

Disliked: elevator does not operate in between 11pm to 7 am. we arrived at the hotel at 2 a m. and we had luggages we hand carried to the 5th floor, that was exhausting

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good, close to train stations and a nice walk to the Bund.

Disliked: I was placed in a room with long term Chinese guests, it was a little more like staying in someone else's bedroom than a dorm room. There was very little space to move around between the beds. Staff were unsure about directions to Qi Boa, which is in the top recommended places to visit in Shanghai.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

veranio concepcion

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2012 veranio would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It is just a few steps away from Nanjing Shopping Paradise, very near the Metro/Subway and a short walk from the Bund. It is also safe since the Police Station is just a few buildings in front of it. The price is very reasonable. Great staff too. In fact, i will stay at this hostel again this december.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinne Winch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location, good facilities in the room

Disliked: Not the easiest place to meet people, could just be the people in the room on this occassion though

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas, the location, the hot showers!

Disliked: Our bathroom didn't get a new roll of toilet paper for two days

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Timothy Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location - only a couple of minutes walk to the Bund, right near Nanjing Rd shops and metro station, and an easy walk to People's Square. The bar downstairs, while a little small, is good for using wifi and mingling.

Disliked: The great reviews for this property can be a bit deceptive - the dorms are functional and secure, but they are incredibly small, so when it's full occupancy it can be pretty overwhelming in terms of luggage, clothes and smell. Bathrooms weren't always clean either and there was a lingering smell all through the 3rd floor for the few days I was there. You also can't bring your own food to the downstairs area which is really where everyone hangs out - there is an upstairs 'common room' but it was mostly empty and dark while I was there, and the wifi doesn't work up there. This hostel isn't bad - but its not as good as some of the reviews would suggest...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shannon Coleman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. The girls at reception were incredibly helpful when we were booking train tickets and translations in general. We stayed in private double which was more than big enough for the two of us.

Disliked: The atmosphere (at no fault of the management however).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, only around the block from the East Nanjing Subway. The rooms are very spacious and the heating keeps everything very warm.

Disliked: The staff didn't seem that helpful when I tried to book a taxi and quoted me nearly double what it should've been/ended up paying...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a double ensuite room. It was spacious, clean, and I had a decent wifi signal in the room. I was really happy with it.

Disliked: Some noise through the walls from the rooms next door but not too bad didn't bother me.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 January 2012

Liked: It's very central and the rooms are clean

Disliked: I could hear rats living in the walls; they were so loud that they woke me up in the middle of the night with their scampering and scurrying. It was creepy. And the wifi never worked when there were more than 10 people using it, ie most evenings

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is central and close to transit. The room was clean and exactly like the photos, no surprises. The cafe downstairs is nice and cosy with lots to offer. There are books in the main level too. Date change had no penalty.

Disliked: Wifi a bit unreliable and no desserts in the cafe. The heating was good but took a few days to figure out how to use it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HAN SOL

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 HAN would recommend this property

Liked: Here is the perfect hostel to enjoy Shanghai! It's nearby Nanjing dong lu, I can get anything what I want around the hostel. And I recommend, most of restaurants around it are cheap and delicious. You'll never be hungry.

Disliked: Almost good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Raju

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 January 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Lovely atmosphere. Spacious and clean!Location is central.

Disliked: The lift/ opening (door) is a bit too small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

SANDRA NG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 SANDRA would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, great kitchen should you want to cook, hot water all the time

Disliked: dorms toliet stank, no free towels.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a private double room with ensuite and it was exactly what I needed having shared a room for the previous month. It was clean, tidy, spacious, and the shower had clean towels and a shower with good pressure. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Only small thing was that occasionally the bathroom had a strange sewage smell about it that must come up through the vents in the floor but it didn't really linger and wasn't all that bad. Definitely a very small problem that barely registered.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Belinda Allan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

25 December 2011 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: Location is brilliant for everything Nanjing/Bund also the subway/metro is so easy to get anywhere around town (English on ticket machines). Room was quiet and warm with AC going :D brilliant stay. Private room shower was fantastic and new looking!

Disliked: Little lift stops at 11pm but stairs are always open. Oh pillows were well hard! But apart from that - great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lay Kun Chan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2011 Lay Kun would recommend this property

Liked: The room is very spacious, despite the fact that we had an extra bed and 3 suitcases in the room (we booked a family room for 3), we could still walk in the room comfortably. Water pressure and temperature is absolutely fantastic. I love the bathroom. Overall, very clean and beds are comfortable. Great location it is located near the pedestrian street with shopping malls and plenty of shops, and only 3 mins walk to the nearest subway station (Nanjing East Road). You could also walk, about 25 minutes, to The Bund. We get to meet great people who stay there too! There are kitchen too to cook and others facilities although we didn't use much (too much of activities, too little time). Definitely value for money and you get discount too if you are a YHA member. Highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, in walking distance of both People's Square and the Bund and also super close to a metro station. Very clean rooms and bathrooms, dorms are simple but sufficient, and the kitchen/laundry/other living facilities are excellent.

Disliked: Perhaps not the best choice for lone travellers looking to meet other people, lacking a backpacker vibe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janssen DIaz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Janssen would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a double ensuite and loved it. The room was very large and clean. The location of the hostel could not be better. You are walking distance from the bund, nanjing road, and the subway.

Disliked: Its not the best place to meet other travellers as the common rooms were usually empty when I was there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really ideal, super close to a major subway line, and near many restaurants and stores both local and global. Also their cleaning staff is superb. They seem to clean twice a day, once early in the morning before you even awake.

Disliked: Slow Internet, super cold common areas.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location for walking to the Bund. Very close to metro line for easy access elsewhere around town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and quoality of the room. Value of money

Disliked: Little noisy because of traffic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aron le Fevre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011

Liked: Absolutely everything.. Staff extremely friendly, nice rooms, good bathrooms, cheap, Internet, location..

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike..