HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

82.6% Overall Rating

155 out of 163 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"The hostel is in an excellent location just a couple of minutes walk from East Nanjing Road subway exit 1. There were good sized lockers, reasonably comfortable beds and a good ensuite shower in the 6-bed dorm we…"

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 80.2% 555 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.26 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.48 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

155 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 160 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good room and ensuite setup. Free use of Internet and computers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near East Nanjing Road. Lots of restaurants nearby. Near the Subway Lines 2 and 10

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Finnin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel. Unbeatable location at this price, clean rooms with bedside lamps and individual plug sockets. New beds too with comfortable bedding. Nice common areas, very safe and secure. Excellent showers and bathrooms are cleaned regularly.

Disliked: Staff could be a little friendlier and lacked a great atmosphere

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, comfy beds, helpful staff and great location. Good value!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Gujan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double room incl. private bathroom which was cleaned every day and the bathroom was really nice and modern. Very helpful staff and the location was great...only 3 min. to the subway and the main shopping road.

Disliked: There might should be a little bit more space to hang up the laundry.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeri Dawne Eckdahl

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 April 2012 Jeri Dawne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is SO helpful and one of the front desk attendants even walked with me across the street to help me purchase a phone card to add money to my cell phone. The "luxury/deluxe" room is an amazing value for the money and the seating area for the cafe/lounge on the first floor is comfortable & spacious w/ nice interior design. Best of all, the showers in this hostel are INCREDIBLE! very modern with good water pressure and super clean bathroom facilities in the rooms - I would recommend this hostel for anyone

Disliked: The cleaning staff caused a little bit of a disturbance by having conversations at normal/high volume in the hallway outside my room first thing in the morning - and there is some extra noise from outside because the hostel is located near a busy street. Otherwise everything was great!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Seemed new. Not run down. Good atmosphere

Disliked: No soap or shampoo in rooms. Must buy downstairs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yin Chai Darryl Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2012 Yin Chai Darryl would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, the room was fantastic, amazing location.

Disliked: There were definitely rats in the walls!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great.

Disliked: In the bar they sell one average slice of toast for 4 yuan.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Wheeler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Room was big and bright, bathroom was modern and clean. The hostel was much nicer than I had expected it to be. Location was also perfect.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first experience staying in a hostel for my vacation. The experience was beyond my expectation as Mingtown Nanjing Road gave me a very comfortable stay during my five days in Shanghai. More important, it gave my two tennage sons a very good experience to stay in a hostel. The location is fantastic, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable, the comforter kept us very warm as Shanghai is still very cold now, the hot water shower gave us a very shower, washing machine, dryer, kitchen, reading room, wifi enable us a very comfortable & convenience stay and meeting genuine friendly guests especially seeing young people learning each other's culture. I like the YHA's mission - not a budget hotel but proving yong people an opportunity to travel and also conscious of our environment. Thank you. I am not young but I will now want to travel in China staying in the Youth Hostel(YHA)

Disliked: Improve cleaners‘ standard of cleaning。

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Fechtor

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Our three person bedroom was clean, spacious, and--with all the lamps turned on--well lit. The bathroom, also clean, had a western toilet and a big shower, which was more than we expected. Downstairs there is a nice sitting area where you can use your laptop or eat breakfast, which is served all day (though as we did not have any I cannot say whether it was good or even included in the price).

Disliked: There is very little to complain about. I suppose it would have been nice if there had been hand soap in the bathroom or tea or coffee, since the room came with a water boiler. Other than those minor details, the room was a good deal.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi is good. There were lots of space to hang out. Kitchen and hot water!

Disliked: The dorms were really small. 6 beds in a room, there wasn't any place to put our backpacks. Once you enter the room, you can touch your bed. Also, there were many long term people who stays at the hostel so their stuff is all over the room. I recommend the staff to make sure that guests are treating the dorms like their private room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria corazon abcede

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 maria corazon would recommend this property

Liked: it has a kitchen where you can cook. and to mu surprise, cooking oil and salt is provided, as well as kitchen utensils, dish washing soap, etc.

Disliked: elevator does not operate in between 11pm to 7 am. we arrived at the hotel at 2 a m. and we had luggages we hand carried to the 5th floor, that was exhausting

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good, close to train stations and a nice walk to the Bund.

Disliked: I was placed in a room with long term Chinese guests, it was a little more like staying in someone else's bedroom than a dorm room. There was very little space to move around between the beds. Staff were unsure about directions to Qi Boa, which is in the top recommended places to visit in Shanghai.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

veranio concepcion

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2012 veranio would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It is just a few steps away from Nanjing Shopping Paradise, very near the Metro/Subway and a short walk from the Bund. It is also safe since the Police Station is just a few buildings in front of it. The price is very reasonable. Great staff too. In fact, i will stay at this hostel again this december.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinne Winch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location, good facilities in the room

Disliked: Not the easiest place to meet people, could just be the people in the room on this occassion though

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas, the location, the hot showers!

Disliked: Our bathroom didn't get a new roll of toilet paper for two days

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Timothy Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location - only a couple of minutes walk to the Bund, right near Nanjing Rd shops and metro station, and an easy walk to People's Square. The bar downstairs, while a little small, is good for using wifi and mingling.

Disliked: The great reviews for this property can be a bit deceptive - the dorms are functional and secure, but they are incredibly small, so when it's full occupancy it can be pretty overwhelming in terms of luggage, clothes and smell. Bathrooms weren't always clean either and there was a lingering smell all through the 3rd floor for the few days I was there. You also can't bring your own food to the downstairs area which is really where everyone hangs out - there is an upstairs 'common room' but it was mostly empty and dark while I was there, and the wifi doesn't work up there. This hostel isn't bad - but its not as good as some of the reviews would suggest...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shannon Coleman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. The girls at reception were incredibly helpful when we were booking train tickets and translations in general. We stayed in private double which was more than big enough for the two of us.

Disliked: The atmosphere (at no fault of the management however).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, only around the block from the East Nanjing Subway. The rooms are very spacious and the heating keeps everything very warm.

Disliked: The staff didn't seem that helpful when I tried to book a taxi and quoted me nearly double what it should've been/ended up paying...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a double ensuite room. It was spacious, clean, and I had a decent wifi signal in the room. I was really happy with it.

Disliked: Some noise through the walls from the rooms next door but not too bad didn't bother me.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 January 2012

Liked: It's very central and the rooms are clean

Disliked: I could hear rats living in the walls; they were so loud that they woke me up in the middle of the night with their scampering and scurrying. It was creepy. And the wifi never worked when there were more than 10 people using it, ie most evenings

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is central and close to transit. The room was clean and exactly like the photos, no surprises. The cafe downstairs is nice and cosy with lots to offer. There are books in the main level too. Date change had no penalty.

Disliked: Wifi a bit unreliable and no desserts in the cafe. The heating was good but took a few days to figure out how to use it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HAN SOL

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 HAN would recommend this property

Liked: Here is the perfect hostel to enjoy Shanghai! It's nearby Nanjing dong lu, I can get anything what I want around the hostel. And I recommend, most of restaurants around it are cheap and delicious. You'll never be hungry.

Disliked: Almost good.