We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

83.2% Overall Rating

178 out of 189 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2015)

"This place is very central in Shanghai. Good restaurants are very close. They have a pool table and they sell beer in the bar. There are many beds and easy to longer the stay."

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

1.Our hostel only accept cash and can't credit card,pls take enough cash when you check-in! 2.Please remember to bring passport(not copy) with you when you come here. Please note If you book the dorm beds, we can't promise you will in the same room. 3. Please inform us your new arrival time by phone or email if you arrive later than the scheduled time on your booking, (we will hold your booking till 6pm if you do not note your arrival time) or else your booking would be cancelled automatically.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
11.41 USD

Hostel 88.7% 249 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.41 USD

Hostel 88.7% 582 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 79.5% 233 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
19.56 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 91.8% 92 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 84.0% 656 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

178 out of 189 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 186 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Byrne

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Straightforward. food available.

Disliked: slow wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, comfortable, clean place to stay in a very central location.

Disliked: There were no towels available at all - not even for rent.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

terry rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 terry would recommend this property

Liked: location to station and one of the main attractions in shanghai the bund

Disliked: only food on the menu was western, common room could be a bit better setup

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern private room. Very close to Nanjing Road and cheap food spots.

Disliked: Other guests smoked throughout the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Breen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is perfect. 1 street away from the main shopping area of Nanjing Rd, 5 minutes walk from the Bund, 2 minutes from a subway station. The rooms were small, but clean and very comfortable, there was 6 of us staying in one dorm and it was great, we shared 2 bathrooms with 1 other room, the showers were perfect and the beds were fine. There is a small bar area downstairs that serves drinks and western style food that's pretty good, the bar staff are more than helpful with tips about the local area, and one barman even came out with us all to a club. I'd definitely stay here again, and for the price, you can't really go wrong!

Disliked: can't say anything bad about this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location & cleanes

Disliked: space for gathering not so big

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SUNG YUAN LIAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 SUNG YUAN would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just ideal for everyone who wish to have a stroll to the bund and also enjoy the train ride to explore shanghai all in two mins walk.

Disliked: The staff don't speak much English and they are not very helpful of travel information.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, clean rooms, friendly staff

Disliked: not very helpful with booking service

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Position centrale de l'auberge, proche de tout, personnel serviable, nous recommandons

Disliked: Wi-fi non disponible dans les chambres, même dans le hall difficile à capter

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to E.Nanjing road subway which is handy for Line 2 and most of the touristy stuff. Reasonably sized area to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Bathrooms smelt quite bad, room was extremely small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Singer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, clean rooms and helpful staff.

Disliked: Wireless is horrible! They really need to improve it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good dorm rooms with individual locker rooms. separate shower room from toilet.

Disliked: staff was not friendly or helpful. several times i asked questions about getting around, sightseeing, etc, and they had no idea. they also didn't seem particularly interested in helping. when i asked about getting to the airport in the morning they just told me to take a taxi (around 200RMB). when i inquired about whether i could take the subway they weren't sure whether the subway was open at that time even though the stop was RIGHT THERE by the hostel and they could have easily looked this up for me. i ended up looking it up by myself and found that that subway was indeed open early enough and it only cost 7RMB to get to the airport. overall i found the staff to be very apathetic and ignorant about common sightseeing or tourist activities in Shanghai.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff clean rooms daily. Good common areas.

Disliked: No wifi in room. Staff are not very helpful with directions (due to limited English).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Kunze

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really great! The location is very near the bund and nanjing road, and they also provide many useful informations about the city. Very helpful staff! If you want privacy, you should take the deluxe double room, it is worth every penny with a brand new bathroom!

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, large and clean rooms, cheap rates, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff! We stayed an extra night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brouazin Anaïs

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 August 2012 Brouazin would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and lift

Disliked: room a bite small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Przemyslaw Opalka

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really nice (double bed ensuite), with really clean - in comparison to other chinese hostels. Lounge area, with pool bilard, TVs, etc. The lounge area is on each floor of the hostel, which is really convenient.

Disliked: Staff, they do not know how to get from the airport to the hostel by bus. We arrived late on the airport on Sunday, 10pm and the subway was closed. I called them to find an advice how to get to the hostel. They kept asking me why I cant take the subway (their english is really poor). After 10mins on the phone (most time they were talking between themselves in chinese trying to establish how to guide me) they said I had to take the taxi, which was not true as I managed to reach a bus to city center eventually. Moreover, their directions guidance sent after booking is confirmed, shows rather the direction from the hostel to airport/railway station than the other way around – weird! The wi-fi does not work in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, food, staff. They gave our room to someone else, but then gave us a room twice as big to make up for it! They knew right away what they had done. Great place. Loved it.

Disliked: Would not recommend the TC warriors tour. Can do it on your own. Didn't feel like it was worth the extra money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

EMMANUEL GERLIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 EMMANUEL would recommend this property

Liked: In the center, cheap

Disliked: EMMANUEL left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mairead Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Mairead would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, great place.

Disliked: Nohting

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erna Lise Snoeij

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Erna Lise would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, with large rooms. The shower is fantastic! The location is also very nice and central.

Disliked: The staff isn't that helpfull.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Paulo Borges Biscaro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2012 Joao Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: It's the cleanest and tidiest hostel I've been in China. The location is also very convenient and the short girl from the reception is incredibly helpful. She sorted out my accomodation at Huangshan mountain, bonus for her.

Disliked: Not all the staff was so helpful or could speak good English. Besides that they don't book train tickets, buses or tours which are quite the services you expect to find in a hostel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012

Liked: Location and price is good.(The windows were facing the busy street and noisy all night though.)

Disliked: Some staffs are not nice, rude and reluctant to help guests. Ex,The bar staff stopped smiling and started to ignore me without any response nor looking at me, after she had found I wasn't speaking to her to order drinks, , that was so straightforward rudeness and funny.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ame Karoly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 July 2012 Ame would recommend this property

Liked: I couldn't believe the private room was so cheap, and it was on par if not better than some hotels I've stayed at. The food in the hostel restaurant was also very good. It's in a central location so it's good for sightseeing.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find, and the taxi had trouble because some of the surrounding roads are pedestrian only. Staff had trouble understanding English, but they tried.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kal Bakash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Kal would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in the heart of Shanghai, just one block from the busiest and most exciting street in Shanghai (Nanjing Street), where you can get anything you want such as the best restaurants in town, exclusive shopping stores and many "massage" parlours if you in for the girls (100 Yuan which is about $US16 - this is a steal). The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Free lockers in your room. They provide you with a key. So there is no need to bring a lock. The price to stay at this hostel is very good. Dorm rooms are just 10US dollars per night. Excellent shower facilities with good lighting, good hot water showers and even a blow dryer to dry your hair after you shower. What more do you want? I will recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Shanghai.

Disliked: Absolutely no dislikes whatsoever/