We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

82.6% Overall Rating

169 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Irene Illa Font thinks…

"Really good location and the staff was very helpfull. Clean bathroom, very convenient number"

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.6% 574 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.1% 86 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

169 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 176 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to E.Nanjing road subway which is handy for Line 2 and most of the touristy stuff. Reasonably sized area to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Bathrooms smelt quite bad, room was extremely small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Singer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, clean rooms and helpful staff.

Disliked: Wireless is horrible! They really need to improve it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good dorm rooms with individual locker rooms. separate shower room from toilet.

Disliked: staff was not friendly or helpful. several times i asked questions about getting around, sightseeing, etc, and they had no idea. they also didn't seem particularly interested in helping. when i asked about getting to the airport in the morning they just told me to take a taxi (around 200RMB). when i inquired about whether i could take the subway they weren't sure whether the subway was open at that time even though the stop was RIGHT THERE by the hostel and they could have easily looked this up for me. i ended up looking it up by myself and found that that subway was indeed open early enough and it only cost 7RMB to get to the airport. overall i found the staff to be very apathetic and ignorant about common sightseeing or tourist activities in Shanghai.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff clean rooms daily. Good common areas.

Disliked: No wifi in room. Staff are not very helpful with directions (due to limited English).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Kunze

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really great! The location is very near the bund and nanjing road, and they also provide many useful informations about the city. Very helpful staff! If you want privacy, you should take the deluxe double room, it is worth every penny with a brand new bathroom!

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, large and clean rooms, cheap rates, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff! We stayed an extra night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brouazin Anaïs

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 August 2012 Brouazin would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and lift

Disliked: room a bite small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Przemyslaw Opalka

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really nice (double bed ensuite), with really clean - in comparison to other chinese hostels. Lounge area, with pool bilard, TVs, etc. The lounge area is on each floor of the hostel, which is really convenient.

Disliked: Staff, they do not know how to get from the airport to the hostel by bus. We arrived late on the airport on Sunday, 10pm and the subway was closed. I called them to find an advice how to get to the hostel. They kept asking me why I cant take the subway (their english is really poor). After 10mins on the phone (most time they were talking between themselves in chinese trying to establish how to guide me) they said I had to take the taxi, which was not true as I managed to reach a bus to city center eventually. Moreover, their directions guidance sent after booking is confirmed, shows rather the direction from the hostel to airport/railway station than the other way around – weird! The wi-fi does not work in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, food, staff. They gave our room to someone else, but then gave us a room twice as big to make up for it! They knew right away what they had done. Great place. Loved it.

Disliked: Would not recommend the TC warriors tour. Can do it on your own. Didn't feel like it was worth the extra money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

EMMANUEL GERLIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 EMMANUEL would recommend this property

Liked: In the center, cheap

Disliked: EMMANUEL left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mairead Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Mairead would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, great place.

Disliked: Nohting

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erna Lise Snoeij

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Erna Lise would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, with large rooms. The shower is fantastic! The location is also very nice and central.

Disliked: The staff isn't that helpfull.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Paulo Borges Biscaro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2012 Joao Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: It's the cleanest and tidiest hostel I've been in China. The location is also very convenient and the short girl from the reception is incredibly helpful. She sorted out my accomodation at Huangshan mountain, bonus for her.

Disliked: Not all the staff was so helpful or could speak good English. Besides that they don't book train tickets, buses or tours which are quite the services you expect to find in a hostel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012

Liked: Location and price is good.(The windows were facing the busy street and noisy all night though.)

Disliked: Some staffs are not nice, rude and reluctant to help guests. Ex,The bar staff stopped smiling and started to ignore me without any response nor looking at me, after she had found I wasn't speaking to her to order drinks, , that was so straightforward rudeness and funny.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ame Karoly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 July 2012 Ame would recommend this property

Liked: I couldn't believe the private room was so cheap, and it was on par if not better than some hotels I've stayed at. The food in the hostel restaurant was also very good. It's in a central location so it's good for sightseeing.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find, and the taxi had trouble because some of the surrounding roads are pedestrian only. Staff had trouble understanding English, but they tried.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kal Bakash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Kal would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in the heart of Shanghai, just one block from the busiest and most exciting street in Shanghai (Nanjing Street), where you can get anything you want such as the best restaurants in town, exclusive shopping stores and many "massage" parlours if you in for the girls (100 Yuan which is about $US16 - this is a steal). The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Free lockers in your room. They provide you with a key. So there is no need to bring a lock. The price to stay at this hostel is very good. Dorm rooms are just 10US dollars per night. Excellent shower facilities with good lighting, good hot water showers and even a blow dryer to dry your hair after you shower. What more do you want? I will recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Shanghai.

Disliked: Absolutely no dislikes whatsoever/

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious room. Comfortable bed. Excellent location. Good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Zielsdorf

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location, right off the major shopping street in Shanghai and surrounded by good Chinese restaurants with decent prices.

Disliked: If anything I'd say their bar service could be better and maybe better staffed, but it was still good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel...very clean safe and secure..well i stayed in an 2 bed ensuite..so the showers wer good the facilities wer optimum..!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eric Harnisch

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

28 June 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: location, breakfast

Disliked: room service (cleaning of the room)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luca zodio

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

28 June 2012 luca would recommend this property

Liked: la posizione vicina alla metropolitana e la struttura ricavata in un vecchio cortile tipico, molto carina

Disliked: nulla

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great value for money, comfortable dorms, good kitchen.

Disliked: Wish the female dorm had a bathroom that was separate from mixed dorms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like, that the youth hostel has a very high standard. Even the 6 bed dorms have their own bath and toilet on the rooms. The beds are big enough and the rooms have an air condition. Especially I was very supriesed, how cheap it is. 55 RMB a night. Very low price for this hostel. Even the restaurant in the lobby is very good and also very cheap. There also is free intenet access, but it doesn´t work to good in the rooms. You almost must sit in the lobby to use it.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dev Ahluwalia

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Dev would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The private rooms are well secured and the location is great!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main attractions and very new and clean.

Disliked: Stafff could be more helpful and provide maps when check in.