HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No. 258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 98%

Safety 85%

Staff 79%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light

Important Information

1.Our hostel only accept cash and can't credit card,pls take enough cash when you check-in!
2.Please remember to bring passport(not copy) with you when you come here. Please note If you book the dorm beds, we can't promise you will in the same room.
3. Please inform us your new arrival time by phone or email if you arrive later than the scheduled time on your booking, (we will hold your booking till 6pm if you do not note your arrival time) or else your booking would be cancelled automatically.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 98%

Safety 85%

Staff 79%

Value 87%

Showing 21-30 of 63 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Elejimos este sitio porque decian que recomendaban muchos lugares para ir sugerian actividades o excursiones para hacer, nada de eso sucedio en contra en nuestras camas habia chinches y no nos cambiaron de habitacion hasta la tercera noche. Cuando escojes un albergue para alojarte lo haces justamente por la atmosfera y por la capacidad de recimendarte lugares que ver actividades que hacer y un ambiente distendido. No hablaban bien Ingles y era muy dificil lograr recomendaciones e indicaciones.

Disliked: Sin duda las chinches y que al decirlo, si que es verdad que lo hicimos por la tarde/noche, no kos cambiaran hasta el dia siguiente.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place, very clein

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: DO NOT BOOK THIS HOSTEL. I checked in this hostel on june 18th, put my belongings inside the locker of my dorm and locked it before going out. Returned a few hours later: the locker was still closed but my passport and money were missing. I don't know who stole my stuff, someone from the staff who had the key or a girl from my dorm, anyway, I would not recommend this place.The guy at the reception took me to the police station and told the agent that some girl my room must have opened my locker with her key by mistake even though the locks are different. I left the hostel the very same day and had a refund of my reservation. I asked them help later to make a statement of temporary address to help me to get a new passport and they weren't helpful at all, just told me that they didn't know what it was and couldn't to it for me.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location, the staff's helpfulness, and the affordability were all unbeatable.

Disliked: The multi-bed rooms are cramped and the beds are difficult to get into, the lockers are too small for a luggage bag. There were only small towels on sale, no solid soaps and the dryer takes FOREVER to leave clothes warmer but just as moist as they entered. For sleeping and laundry, the services were not sufficient to make the stay comfortable, however the rest of what was offered, especially help with taxis, was superior to other hostels I've stayed at.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfy beds. Fresh flowers.

Disliked: Slow internet. English skills limited but ok.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is awesome

Disliked: Nothing special, but one thing was that smell was coming from the sewer in the bathroom sometimes.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very spacious and dorms have lockers with locks (you pay a deposit for the key). Great location

Disliked: Swipe card to get into room didn't work a few times so had to go to reception to get it fixed, the door of my room was very hard to enter, no explanation of hostel facilities was offered upon check-in and it was left to find bathrooms, kitchen on my own.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is excellent

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great and the private rooms are big and nice and clean.

Disliked: I didn't like the pillows, but that's just my personal problem. There is a bit of a nasty smell around the staircase, but not in the rooms. The road outside the hostel is a bit noisy (traffic, street vendors, refuse collection). I couldn't sleep with the window open, but with the windows closed it is perfectly tolerable.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Conveniently located near West Nanjing Pedestrian Streets and Metro.

Disliked: I find the property smells like kitty litter throughout the halls.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability