HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200002

83.0% Overall Rating

166 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

Jemina Bouma thinks…

"Excellent location, great WiFi, friendly staff, comfy bed for two. Really couldn't have asked for better."

Read all Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.17 USD

Hostel 91.5% 238 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 83.9% 565 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
20.44 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
10.55 USD

Hostel 87.3% 79 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

166 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 173 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious.

Disliked: The baggage storage offered by the hotel is not very secure. The door is not locked and they do not check which bags you are dropping off or taking away.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

wu wei

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 wu would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoy my stay there,the location and facilities are great.

Disliked: it will be better if there food and drink cheaper and more activities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Hwu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best thing about this place. It is less than 5 minutes away from the Metro Line 2 station and the People's Park stop is also walk-able. The rooms (we rented double and triple rooms) were clean and roomy. They provide towels and even a kettle and cups in the room. Their prices on alcoholic drinks are awesome (from 9-pm-11pm they have buy one, get one free cocktails and they are already cheap to begin with), and they have a nice lounge area with a pool table upstairs.

Disliked: Some of the staff could have been warmer, but overall the service was great. Not much to complain about!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vinh Dang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013

Liked: The location was great, just a few minutes walking to the east nanjing road and metro station and not too far from the river bund.

Disliked: The six people room was very small. There was almost no space to move around. Once you get in the room, you need to climb onto your bed immediately so other people can move in or out. Not all the front desk staff could speak good English. They were not very helpful when asked about general travel advice. They gave very short and unenthusiastic answers. Maybe they were too shy?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has got the perfect location! Almost everything can be reached by foot. There is also a good kitchen and eating space available. On every floor there is a common area. The beds were comfortable. Some staff were really helpful and put in a lot of time and effort to help me! While there were also some who were not helpful at all. Look out for the friendly ones!

Disliked: On the shelf above my bed was a lot of dust and the room was quite dusty too. Though it was not too bad, no WiFi in the rooms and the common rooms could be chilly at night!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 March 2013

Liked: Pool, happy hour between 9 and 11pm

Disliked: Service not happy when your order drinks (too much work for them) Also, we have been disturbed twice in our room, they woke us up at 7am to wash the toilets! (they don't respect your privacy)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2013

Liked: 1. Hot water 24/7. No matter when, just open the water and you got hot water immediately. Very cozy in winter night. 2. The location is so convenient for going to the Bund, Metro and having local and cheap breakfast. 3. You can keep your luggage in the hostel and come back later even you have already checked out.

Disliked: WARNING!!!!! Be aware of these parts if you are going to stay here. 1. Grumpy staffs: The staffs were arguing with guests in the first evening we stayed. And at night they were even arguing with each others. The next morning, they argued with guest again. Anytime we went down stairs, they were arguing with someone. 2. Only cash allowed: They don't have the card machine. We didn't have cash. But we left our passport and told them that we would give them the cash next day. The next morning we were in hurry for the train. But the staffs FORCED us to pay immediately. They kept our passports and still told us to pay?!?!?! How ridiculous it was???? They forced us to walk to the bank, get the money and pay right away. Otherwise, they don't let us get into the room. In the end, we missed the train and lost money. 3. Being changed to the more expensive room without reason: They informed us that if we would be the hostel later than 6 pm, just inform them in advance. We did. However, when we arrived, they told us they changed the room and the new one was more expensive. BUT, there was a nice TV in the room. Excuse me!!! We don't even speak Chinese why do we need to watch the TV???? Totally insane 4.NO WIFI: No wifi in the bedrooms at all. Only in common room or kitchen which is very bad connection. So you can't use skype personally in the room. You have to be in the public area which is either too noisy or too quiet. When you are in pajamas and just want to check your email or msg. You must dress up and go down stairs to get wifi. Very annoying. 5. Dirty floor: Not sure about the shared room. The floor of private room was very dirty. Full of dust and muds. 6. Creepy guy walking around: An old guy walking around and stopped us to go downstairs. We just wanted to make sure if there are breakfast service. In the end, we found that it was because the staffs were arguing downstairs and the old guy didn't want guests to know about it. Actually, he tried to stop people to bother the staffs. Kind of weird. 7. Be very independent: The staffs won't tell you anything about the hostel. Right after they got your money or help you to check in, you have to figure out where are the laundry machines, kitchen, your room, and public bathroom. Well, there are a lot of papers on the wall tell you these information in bad English. You can still survive. Don't worry.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and restroom was clean and well stocked. We also liked the western style toilet. The Downstair lobby was also clean and comfortable. However, it was a bit small and was unable to accomodate multiple groups at one time. Location is always key and this place is centrally located to a metro/subway station, the Bund, shopping centers and has delicious street food practically on it's door step. The kitchen/game room has a pool table with good action night and day. It'd be nice to have a bar to compliment the kitchen.

Disliked: The staff was not as welcoming as we expected. Complimentary computers are very old and load very slow. Internet is also very slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The downstairs area is charming and they have a wide variety of drinks and food. The staff is very friendly and helpful! My room (twin on the 3rd floor) was very clean with an extremely clean and modern bathroom and the amenities were nice as well (kettle, heater, hair dryer, mugs and glasses etc). The hostel is a very short walk from the metro at East Nanjing Rd and it's very nearby to many convenience stores, restaurants, shopping malls etc.

Disliked: The wifi did not work in the room itself, only in the common room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pearl Leung

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

16 February 2013 Pearl would recommend this property

Liked: Prime location, minutes to the Bund. Good food (though slightly pricey).

Disliked: The Front Desk spoke perfect English and are helpful but is often VERY busy, leave ample time if you have questions to ask and things to get done.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nat Clark

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

24 January 2013 Nat would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that the property had a well equipped kitchen.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ensuite bathroom / close by to city center

Disliked: i wish i could have stayed longer :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Byrne

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Straightforward. food available.

Disliked: slow wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, comfortable, clean place to stay in a very central location.

Disliked: There were no towels available at all - not even for rent.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

terry rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 terry would recommend this property

Liked: location to station and one of the main attractions in shanghai the bund

Disliked: only food on the menu was western, common room could be a bit better setup

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern private room. Very close to Nanjing Road and cheap food spots.

Disliked: Other guests smoked throughout the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Breen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is perfect. 1 street away from the main shopping area of Nanjing Rd, 5 minutes walk from the Bund, 2 minutes from a subway station. The rooms were small, but clean and very comfortable, there was 6 of us staying in one dorm and it was great, we shared 2 bathrooms with 1 other room, the showers were perfect and the beds were fine. There is a small bar area downstairs that serves drinks and western style food that's pretty good, the bar staff are more than helpful with tips about the local area, and one barman even came out with us all to a club. I'd definitely stay here again, and for the price, you can't really go wrong!

Disliked: can't say anything bad about this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location & cleanes

Disliked: space for gathering not so big

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SUNG YUAN LIAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 SUNG YUAN would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just ideal for everyone who wish to have a stroll to the bund and also enjoy the train ride to explore shanghai all in two mins walk.

Disliked: The staff don't speak much English and they are not very helpful of travel information.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, clean rooms, friendly staff

Disliked: not very helpful with booking service

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Position centrale de l'auberge, proche de tout, personnel serviable, nous recommandons

Disliked: Wi-fi non disponible dans les chambres, même dans le hall difficile à capter

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to E.Nanjing road subway which is handy for Line 2 and most of the touristy stuff. Reasonably sized area to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Bathrooms smelt quite bad, room was extremely small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Singer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, clean rooms and helpful staff.

Disliked: Wireless is horrible! They really need to improve it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good dorm rooms with individual locker rooms. separate shower room from toilet.

Disliked: staff was not friendly or helpful. several times i asked questions about getting around, sightseeing, etc, and they had no idea. they also didn't seem particularly interested in helping. when i asked about getting to the airport in the morning they just told me to take a taxi (around 200RMB). when i inquired about whether i could take the subway they weren't sure whether the subway was open at that time even though the stop was RIGHT THERE by the hostel and they could have easily looked this up for me. i ended up looking it up by myself and found that that subway was indeed open early enough and it only cost 7RMB to get to the airport. overall i found the staff to be very apathetic and ignorant about common sightseeing or tourist activities in Shanghai.