HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No. 258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 70%

Location 98%

Safety 81%

Staff 76%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light

Important Information

1.Our hostel only accept cash and can't credit card,pls take enough cash when you check-in!
2.Please remember to bring passport(not copy) with you when you come here. Please note If you book the dorm beds, we can't promise you will in the same room.
3. Please inform us your new arrival time by phone or email if you arrive later than the scheduled time on your booking, (we will hold your booking till 6pm if you do not note your arrival time) or else your booking would be cancelled automatically.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 70%

Location 98%

Safety 81%

Staff 76%

Value 86%

Showing 11-20 of 66 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Second time staying here. Great hostel, great location (literally two minutes away from Nanjing Road East metro station). Rooms are clean, wi-fi is decent and the staff are very very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really easy to get to from train or plane as it is just round the corner from exit 1 East Nanjing Rd. I felt very safe and welcomed. The staff arranged a taxi for me at 5.00am and it was early for a great transfer to Pu Dong airport which took about an hour and cost 220 yuan. Superb service from all the staff. Thank you very much.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: East Nanjing Road Station in five minutes on foot, Good location!

Disliked: The air conditioning is too weak, and the Wi-Fi connection has not been going well.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location.No long term stay which is good to avoid bunch of Chinese students/workers invading the building

Disliked: As usual in Chinese hostels, not all the staff can speak proper English and some aren't really helpful

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Excellent location !!

Disliked: There is no TV in our room, although there was one in the room we stayed, at Mingtown ..., last year:-(

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: n/a

Disliked: smell

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Elejimos este sitio porque decian que recomendaban muchos lugares para ir sugerian actividades o excursiones para hacer, nada de eso sucedio en contra en nuestras camas habia chinches y no nos cambiaron de habitacion hasta la tercera noche. Cuando escojes un albergue para alojarte lo haces justamente por la atmosfera y por la capacidad de recimendarte lugares que ver actividades que hacer y un ambiente distendido. No hablaban bien Ingles y era muy dificil lograr recomendaciones e indicaciones.

Disliked: Sin duda las chinches y que al decirlo, si que es verdad que lo hicimos por la tarde/noche, no kos cambiaran hasta el dia siguiente.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place, very clein

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: DO NOT BOOK THIS HOSTEL. I checked in this hostel on june 18th, put my belongings inside the locker of my dorm and locked it before going out. Returned a few hours later: the locker was still closed but my passport and money were missing. I don't know who stole my stuff, someone from the staff who had the key or a girl from my dorm, anyway, I would not recommend this place.The guy at the reception took me to the police station and told the agent that some girl my room must have opened my locker with her key by mistake even though the locks are different. I left the hostel the very same day and had a refund of my reservation. I asked them help later to make a statement of temporary address to help me to get a new passport and they weren't helpful at all, just told me that they didn't know what it was and couldn't to it for me.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location, the staff's helpfulness, and the affordability were all unbeatable.

Disliked: The multi-bed rooms are cramped and the beds are difficult to get into, the lockers are too small for a luggage bag. There were only small towels on sale, no solid soaps and the dryer takes FOREVER to leave clothes warmer but just as moist as they entered. For sleeping and laundry, the services were not sufficient to make the stay comfortable, however the rest of what was offered, especially help with taxis, was superior to other hostels I've stayed at.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability