HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.278, lane 615, ZhaoHua Road, (opposite No.551 WuYi Road), At the side of KaiYuan School Shanghai, China 200050

90.1% Overall Rating

158 out of 163 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Matthew Ireland thinks…

"Friendly and helpful staff, it took me forever to find the place but the guy on reception patiently guided me there.Also they helped with train bookings. Beds are comfortable enough. Food is…"

Read all Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.89 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.57 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel 79.5% 185 reviews
Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)
11.35 USD

Hostel 77.9% 1002 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel
8.11 USD

Hostel 70.7% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

158 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 160 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Ireland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, it took me forever to find the place but the guy on reception patiently guided me there.Also they helped with train bookings. Beds are comfortable enough. Food is passable, but not great. Good value for money for Shanghai but would be too expensive elsewhere.

Disliked: Aircon in the room was weak and because it was a small room it got incredibly hot and humid, especially at night. Locker was broken and could have been opened easily. Not a great location, little interesting nearby and 20mins to the nearest useful metro station. And its a pain to find.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Gajewski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 June 2014 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. I took a bed in a dorm. It was clean and quiet. The public area is very nice and confortable. Gives the opportunity to rest afret the noisy town.

Disliked: The dorm was a little too small. It were two bunk beds inside and when one person wanted to do something staing on the floor the rest had to leave the room or sit on his beds. But it was still ok. The lockers could be more robust. The lock in my locker could have been opened with one finger.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Soothing, beautiful atmosphere - Wooden tables in common area - Very hygienic and systematic - Quiet - Plenty of books

Disliked: - Staff seemed tired or grouchy all the time - Midnight staff did not seem to speak English - Staff insisted that it was easy to catch a taxi at 5am and so refused to call one for me. I was nearly late for my flight because of this. - No cold drinkable water available except bottled.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area is fantastic. Very relaxing place after the hustle and bustle of Shanghai.

Disliked: They could do with an area to hang washing or get another dryer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doran Parry-Lamb

Alone

City break

19 May 2014 Doran would recommend this property

Liked: Great beds, lovely cafe area to sit and use the internet with great coffees and fresh juices. Very helpful staff, always willing to answer queries.

Disliked: There was nothing I would change!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big private room, lovely communal area

Disliked: Mould on the walls in our room, there was no information displayed or brochures or tourist map for Shanghai.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our double room was great, it felt like a hotel room. Big bed, nice bathroom and a small private terrace where you can sit outside. The communal area was great as well; breakfast and cheapish drinks available, nice garden and enough hang out space.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, wide, and good wifi!

Disliked: Rather difficult to get there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was spacious and clean and the common area was very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved some people I met there, it for sure made the hostel better

Disliked: The rooms weren't the cleanest, the receptionist wasn't very helpful and spoke little English.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap bar and restarunt a pool table a lundery room. nice bartender . they helped us at the front desk to book the train tickets For beijing and took just a faw RMB for the service .

Disliked: the toilet can be better . toilet paper is only outside the toilets. and the shower has hot water but the shower head is small and like a tab.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pandora Rupert

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Pandora would recommend this property

Liked: By far the BEST hostel I have ever stayed at in China!!!

Disliked: Pandora left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great lobby and really nice staff.

Disliked: Dorm rooms feel crowded.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are very helpful. the hostel gives a homey feel. big private rooms for a budget hostel.

Disliked: no elevator available

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Hancox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice garden area.

Disliked: A bit of a hotel feel about it but sometimes people want that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Horne

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

05 September 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, good friendly/helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raashad Hasan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Raashad would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely atmosphere. Carp pond outside, really airy, and large lounge area. Good breakfast, free computers. Lots of friendly pets (big dog, small dog with broken leg, giant rabbit, cat to name a few...) Staff were very helpful Shower curtain in shower meant whole bathroom didn't get flooded. Other hostels take note!

Disliked: Nothing! Little bit out of town, but near metro

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Brown

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best out of four hostels I've stayed at on this China trip so far, and the closest to the standards travelers at well-rated European hostels will have become accustomed to. It's clean, full featured, and the locker setup gives each guest enough storage for valuables. The beds are long enough, even for a tall visitor, the staff is nice, and the hostel's restaurant is quite good.

Disliked: The "no outside food" policy is a drag. The hostel still has a few things that will be familiar annoyances to travelers in China: Slow, censored internet, and plumbing that requires you to throw your toilet paper into a trash bin. Oh, and watch out for those sneaky laundry machines. Have all your coins ready, 'cause after 30 seconds the credit resets to 0 if you haven't put it all in. But really, this is the best hostel I've encountered in China yet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer McGee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: A very new hostel that is super clean. It is like an oasis in Shanghai. Although its a little further out its very near the metro so you get anywhere quick enough. It has a great big lounge area with food and sei k at a reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The staff on reception were unfriendly and we felt like an inconvenience when we asked questions. This was a shame as the hostel itself is great and this put a bit of a damper on the stay.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the metro, people there were often friendly.

Disliked: Even though the kitchen only serves food during certains times, you're not allowed to eat outside food around there. They'll make you move to the reception area. Our air conditionner didn't work and was leaking water. When we complained, their way of fixing it was to come in repeatedly late at night and turn on the lights to wipe a towel on the floor. There are no dorm rooms lower than the 3rd floor, so it's hard if you have heavy luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The downstairs area is open and friendly with lovely surroundings. The hostel is clean and comfy, the beds are so comfortable and the aircon works terrifically. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christian Seiffert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The room was totally awesome, it was really Rock and Wood. The bathroom was very big and had enough space for two persons. The overall atmosphere had a big Zen feeling.

Disliked: They should clean the dust more properly, all the surfaces were a little dusty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Gajewska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The place was great - clean and nice. Good food and staff who speaks English :)

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gail Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2013 Gail would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, upbeat environment. Clean and comfortable private rooms. Great lounge areas. Good, tasty food for sale. Fantastic staff who are really helpful and kind.

Disliked: Gail left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, got the deluxe double room, lovely place!

Disliked: nothing