We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.278, lane 615, ZhaoHua Road, (opposite No.551 WuYi Road), At the side of KaiYuan School Shanghai, China 200050

85.3% Overall Rating

174 out of 182 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2015)

Jennifer Menzel thinks…

"This Hostel is amazing. The common area is really huge with comfy spots everywhere and a pond in the garden. The bar makes really good breakfast and the staff is extremely helpful. The rooms are big…"

Read all Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.15 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
16.08 USD

Hostel 78.4% 189 reviews
Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)
14.47 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1024 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
12.06 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews
Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel
8.84 USD

Hostel 74.6% 111 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
12.86 USD

Hostel 78.4% 71 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongmei
34.49 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

174 out of 182 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 179 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hey, we are all here in SH to party, right? Well, during late summer at least, R+W has to be amongst the tops in the 'fun' category. Alongside very friendly and helpful staff (and owner), this hostel has a great bar, solid English breakfast, actual-sized pool table, and the beer pong is a fantastic ice-breaker. Very clean co-ed dorms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Since we can bargain at Shanghai's fake markets, can we also bargain down the hostel's left-luggage storage charges (at 5RMB a day) for semi long-term storage? Maybe 3RMB/day from the second day onwards? Some travelers like to stay a few extra days in Hangzhou, you know! ;-) Also, for better or for worse, no DVD movies or TV..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, well-established. Nice bar and hang out area.

Disliked: Maps and general information about Shanghai were not provided.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIEL MARTINEZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi, pool, laundry... Friendly staff. The staff will help you in any way they can, they recomend you places to see, to go out, etc. Games at night. Happy hour beer's ( 2x3 ). In general young and nice guests. I totally recomend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011

Liked: Really nice looking hostel, rooms are spotless.

Disliked: facilities and services at the hostel were bad. No tv or kettle in the rooms. They don't give you any information about what to do even if you ask, they tell you the right metro station but that's about all they know. Very small menu so if you don't fancy eating out there isn't much to choose from. Location is quite far from the metro, not 5 minutes as they say on the site, more like 10-15. Walls are paper thin, we could hear snoring from next door.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Drew O'Brien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar.

Disliked: World's slowest internet. Frustratingly so.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely rooms, bar area and outdoor garden/terrace. bathrooms smelt lovely compared to everwhere else in china, good food, safe and secure. very close to metro line

Disliked: nothing other than it was a bit expensive for our budget and there wernt any cheaper rooms available so we moved onto cheaper acccommodation elsewhere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean and new. Good showers/beds/dorms/ etc. Nice bar /communal area with sofas etc and outside area. Very helpful and friendly staff. All round excellent hostel and deservingly sits as one of the highest recommended/rated hostels in shanghai. Don't listen to the serial moaners on her who always comment pathetic negative feedback about places on the most trivial things. This hostel is not miles out the way or hard to find. It's 5 mins from west yunan station. The people who can't find this probably are the minds who loose their car at the shopping centre. It's actually pleasant being in a suburb of sorts. It's handy for both trainstations as requires no change on the subway for either and is only 10/15 mins into town. Taxis at night are no more than 30 yuan to here too. In short, book it, rate it, f&£k off. good hostel

Disliked: Ditch washing machines and provide a service so don't have to hang around trying to bag a machine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackson Allan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and very clean, well presented with everything you need at a hostel.

Disliked: A everyone will say it is next to a school that is very loud with announcements from about 8am onwards in the morning. Best to bring ear plugs if you want to sleep past that time. Having said that - it would probably be hard to find a hostel in Shanghai that would be a great location and very quiet. You can't have everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keely Gavin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Keely would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area was very open and great for meeting other people. Rooms were lovely, really was more like a hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: No kettle in room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's nice and clean and quite close to a metro station. Also, most visitors were from Europe so they knew English, so I had someone to communicate with.

Disliked: Those are minor ones: - It was tricky to find on the first time; I suggest you detail it's right in the middle of a side-street connecting wuyilu with a market. - There was no advance notice I noticed on the internet that they require a 100 yuan deposit.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lou stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 lou would recommend this property

Liked: more like a swish hotel than a hostel - but with a relaxed vibe!

Disliked: can't think!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safe, spacious lounge area, and good price.

Disliked: Actually nothing to complain. But location could be the one, about 10 mins walk to subway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great atmosphere with a fantastic bar/restaurant area, bustling in the evening and peaceful during the daytime.

Disliked: The locker for valuables was broken, but on the whole there was little to complain about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Cooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place with nice dorm, good facilities and good bar. It also has some good seating areas

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very comfortable, friendly hostel. Everything is quite new and clean, and the common room and (very nice!) garden are very homely and relaxed.

Disliked: A small issue: the reading lights in the rooms are quite strong, so if somebody is reading it lights up the entire room. So far all roommates switched off the light at normal times. It was a bit hard to find, but with a map you can figure it out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Kleverwal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful hostel nearby the metrostation and just fun to be at. We desided to stay longer, so that says about it I think;)

Disliked: I can't think of anything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharlyn Calder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Sharlyn would recommend this property

Liked: clean, internet always worked, good English at reception, looks cool, good air conditioning in room

Disliked: didn't see any kind of travel desk for tours or events, 10 min walk to subway and then 15 min on subway into city so location works but is a bit far, would rather stay in People's Square area with more to do and closer to city

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIA KUKKONEN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late at night and the hostel had overbooked our reservation, which was not the best welcome present at 2AM but the staff was really helpful and offered us a place on the couch for free - we accepted and eventually got to sleep in a hostel resident's room for the price we had originally paid for. Thanks to the generous man who offered us his room! Overall: really clean, hotel-like, new.

Disliked: The location is not the best possible seeing as how it's quite far from the centre and other places of interest, somewhat hard to find also (the time being night makes a difference here, though). The close metro station helps a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the French Concession. Very clean, beautiful common areas and rooms. Great bathroom facilities, lots of showers.

Disliked: Initially a bit difficult to find.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rubens Pinton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

27 September 2011 Rubens would recommend this property

Liked: New Bulding, very clean and fitted.

Disliked: Staff not more helpfull, specially a boy with glass.. :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rock and Wood is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! We were in the double ensuite room and it was more like a hotel room than a hostel! The room was huge and very clean! Free wifi (throughout) and computers in the common room was nice. The staff was more than helpful and spoke great English. Location was great, about 5-10 minute walk the subway station.

Disliked: The walls paper thin, we were woken up at 3am from an asshole next door talking on skype and smoking (Hostel is smoke free)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely atmosphere, clean and friendly. A bit out of the centre but quiet location and close enough to metro. Lots of nice extras like books to borrow, free (but slow) wifi, cafe and beautiful garden. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious, seemed like a very social hostel.

Disliked: Slow wifi, had the atmosphere of college dorms (inc drunk people staggering back to their rooms at 1 am), and no door between the bathroom and bedroom!! I honestly don't know what they were thinking. Why wouldn't you put a door to the entrance of the bathroom??