HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.278, lane 615, ZhaoHua Road, (opposite No.551 WuYi Road), At the side of KaiYuan School Shanghai, China 200050

89.9% Overall Rating

161 out of 166 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Laura-Elise Roesicke thinks…

"Perfect place to experience busy Shanghai. Great modern, relaxed and comfy hostel. Something like a little island in this huge city. Location looked a bit far away on the map but the metro connection…"

Read all Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.92 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 79.4% 186 reviews
Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)
12.98 USD

Hostel 76.1% 1006 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.55 USD

Hostel 85.8% 653 reviews
Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel
8.11 USD

Hostel 70.7% 107 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 76.6% 66 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

161 out of 166 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 140 of 163 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safe, spacious lounge area, and good price.

Disliked: Actually nothing to complain. But location could be the one, about 10 mins walk to subway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great atmosphere with a fantastic bar/restaurant area, bustling in the evening and peaceful during the daytime.

Disliked: The locker for valuables was broken, but on the whole there was little to complain about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Cooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place with nice dorm, good facilities and good bar. It also has some good seating areas

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very comfortable, friendly hostel. Everything is quite new and clean, and the common room and (very nice!) garden are very homely and relaxed.

Disliked: A small issue: the reading lights in the rooms are quite strong, so if somebody is reading it lights up the entire room. So far all roommates switched off the light at normal times. It was a bit hard to find, but with a map you can figure it out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Kleverwal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful hostel nearby the metrostation and just fun to be at. We desided to stay longer, so that says about it I think;)

Disliked: I can't think of anything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharlyn Calder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Sharlyn would recommend this property

Liked: clean, internet always worked, good English at reception, looks cool, good air conditioning in room

Disliked: didn't see any kind of travel desk for tours or events, 10 min walk to subway and then 15 min on subway into city so location works but is a bit far, would rather stay in People's Square area with more to do and closer to city

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIA KUKKONEN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late at night and the hostel had overbooked our reservation, which was not the best welcome present at 2AM but the staff was really helpful and offered us a place on the couch for free - we accepted and eventually got to sleep in a hostel resident's room for the price we had originally paid for. Thanks to the generous man who offered us his room! Overall: really clean, hotel-like, new.

Disliked: The location is not the best possible seeing as how it's quite far from the centre and other places of interest, somewhat hard to find also (the time being night makes a difference here, though). The close metro station helps a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the French Concession. Very clean, beautiful common areas and rooms. Great bathroom facilities, lots of showers.

Disliked: Initially a bit difficult to find.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rubens Pinton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

27 September 2011 Rubens would recommend this property

Liked: New Bulding, very clean and fitted.

Disliked: Staff not more helpfull, specially a boy with glass.. :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rock and Wood is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! We were in the double ensuite room and it was more like a hotel room than a hostel! The room was huge and very clean! Free wifi (throughout) and computers in the common room was nice. The staff was more than helpful and spoke great English. Location was great, about 5-10 minute walk the subway station.

Disliked: The walls paper thin, we were woken up at 3am from an asshole next door talking on skype and smoking (Hostel is smoke free)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely atmosphere, clean and friendly. A bit out of the centre but quiet location and close enough to metro. Lots of nice extras like books to borrow, free (but slow) wifi, cafe and beautiful garden. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious, seemed like a very social hostel.

Disliked: Slow wifi, had the atmosphere of college dorms (inc drunk people staggering back to their rooms at 1 am), and no door between the bathroom and bedroom!! I honestly don't know what they were thinking. Why wouldn't you put a door to the entrance of the bathroom??

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic common area, good rooms, good staff, decent grub.

Disliked: No complaints to think of.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was really good and the bedrooms were nice and clean

Disliked: It doesnt have elevators so if you are travelling with a lot of luggage you better think about it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one free beer per night; sunday: Ladies Night actually they do pizza very well

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Crosbie

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in one of the deluxe ensuite double rooms, which are actually separate from the main building, in the garden next to the pond with the pretty fish, and it was really lovely: extremely clean, spacious, and beautifully designed, with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. It was more like a very nice hotel room than a hostel, and I would not have questioned it if they'd stuck a three or four star rating on it and charged three times as much. It was that nice. The bar in the main building was full of people every night, and so there was always someone to chat to or have a drink with (and the drinks are cheap - 10 kuai for a big bottle of Tsingtao - when the hostel could have easily overcharged) but everyone was chilled out and noise was never a problem. Staff are really helpful, smiley and friendly, and speak perfect English. In short, we had a really fun and relaxing time here, and wished we could have stayed longer. I totally recommend it!

Disliked: As some other people have mentioned, the one downside to this hostel is its location. It's a good fifteen-minute walk to Zhongshan Park metro station, and after a long day walking around Shanghai that can feel much longer. But having said that, Zhongshan Park itself is on Metro Line 2, which is the line most useful for sightseeing and getting into the city centre, and which is also connected directly to Pudong Airport, so it didn't bother us too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Woszczak

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It's a new hostel, I absolutely loved the room's decor. Both inside and outside common areas are supernice. Location was quite nice, I liked the people workin there as well.

Disliked: Nothing much to pick at, maybe a bit overpriced breakfast at the bar..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Schofield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, very clean, good bar and fast Internet. All facilities of a very high standard.

Disliked: Not in a great location and is difficult to find. I had one meal there which I thought was very average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great clean and new feel to the whole building. The food was great and what an awesome lounge / bar area provided. The private rooms are so clean and comfy - even though they are small it was our best stay in china.

Disliked: Nothing really - i guess our room was a really close to the main stairs whcih proved a bit noisy when we were trying to sleep - but not a big problem at all. If we were staying another night, we would have requested to move rooms away from the stairs where i think it would have been alot quieter.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunk beds are huge, the matress is very nice and you can seat properly in the lower beds without being afraid of bumping your head. Cheap beer and food, the internet conection works great in every floor.

Disliked: if you are phisically handicapped don't come here, there are stairs everywhere. it's even difficult to carry your suitcase all the floors up

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Zen Garden

Disliked: na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It could probably be described as a Designer Youth Hostel

Disliked: nothing really to dislike -- a bit difficult to find at first, perhaps

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Dixon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly, and the beds SO comfortable. Great atmosphere at night too - aided by the buy two get one free TsingTao!

Disliked: It was a bit out of the way but using the metro isn't really a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Erratt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: They have thought of everything.

Disliked: Full of Westerners.