HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.278, lane 615, ZhaoHua Road, (opposite No.551 WuYi Road), At the side of KaiYuan School Shanghai, China 200050

89.7% Overall Rating

146 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2014)

"cheap bar and restarunt a pool table a lundery room. nice bartender . they helped us at the front desk to book the train tickets For beijing and took just a faw RMB for the service ."

Read all Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.79 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.47 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.95 USD

Hostel 81.1% 184 reviews
Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)
6.47 USD

Hostel 83.2% 988 reviews
Le Tour Shanghai Youth Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.5% 210 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

146 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 128 of 148 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious, seemed like a very social hostel.

Disliked: Slow wifi, had the atmosphere of college dorms (inc drunk people staggering back to their rooms at 1 am), and no door between the bathroom and bedroom!! I honestly don't know what they were thinking. Why wouldn't you put a door to the entrance of the bathroom??

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic common area, good rooms, good staff, decent grub.

Disliked: No complaints to think of.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was really good and the bedrooms were nice and clean

Disliked: It doesnt have elevators so if you are travelling with a lot of luggage you better think about it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one free beer per night; sunday: Ladies Night actually they do pizza very well

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Crosbie

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in one of the deluxe ensuite double rooms, which are actually separate from the main building, in the garden next to the pond with the pretty fish, and it was really lovely: extremely clean, spacious, and beautifully designed, with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. It was more like a very nice hotel room than a hostel, and I would not have questioned it if they'd stuck a three or four star rating on it and charged three times as much. It was that nice. The bar in the main building was full of people every night, and so there was always someone to chat to or have a drink with (and the drinks are cheap - 10 kuai for a big bottle of Tsingtao - when the hostel could have easily overcharged) but everyone was chilled out and noise was never a problem. Staff are really helpful, smiley and friendly, and speak perfect English. In short, we had a really fun and relaxing time here, and wished we could have stayed longer. I totally recommend it!

Disliked: As some other people have mentioned, the one downside to this hostel is its location. It's a good fifteen-minute walk to Zhongshan Park metro station, and after a long day walking around Shanghai that can feel much longer. But having said that, Zhongshan Park itself is on Metro Line 2, which is the line most useful for sightseeing and getting into the city centre, and which is also connected directly to Pudong Airport, so it didn't bother us too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Woszczak

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It's a new hostel, I absolutely loved the room's decor. Both inside and outside common areas are supernice. Location was quite nice, I liked the people workin there as well.

Disliked: Nothing much to pick at, maybe a bit overpriced breakfast at the bar..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Schofield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, very clean, good bar and fast Internet. All facilities of a very high standard.

Disliked: Not in a great location and is difficult to find. I had one meal there which I thought was very average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great clean and new feel to the whole building. The food was great and what an awesome lounge / bar area provided. The private rooms are so clean and comfy - even though they are small it was our best stay in china.

Disliked: Nothing really - i guess our room was a really close to the main stairs whcih proved a bit noisy when we were trying to sleep - but not a big problem at all. If we were staying another night, we would have requested to move rooms away from the stairs where i think it would have been alot quieter.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunk beds are huge, the matress is very nice and you can seat properly in the lower beds without being afraid of bumping your head. Cheap beer and food, the internet conection works great in every floor.

Disliked: if you are phisically handicapped don't come here, there are stairs everywhere. it's even difficult to carry your suitcase all the floors up

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Zen Garden

Disliked: na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It could probably be described as a Designer Youth Hostel

Disliked: nothing really to dislike -- a bit difficult to find at first, perhaps

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Dixon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly, and the beds SO comfortable. Great atmosphere at night too - aided by the buy two get one free TsingTao!

Disliked: It was a bit out of the way but using the metro isn't really a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Erratt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: They have thought of everything.

Disliked: Full of Westerners.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robb Pritchard

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 August 2011 Robb would recommend this property

Liked: Liked this places as soon as I came in the door. REALLY helpful staff, a lovely place to stay

Disliked: The only thing was the cleaning ladies. I'm not sure that spitting on th floor helps clean it.. ))

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's quite new, clean, comfortable, close to 2,3 and 4 metro lines

Disliked: they didnt provide a towel and no lift

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and nice people

Disliked: ok location, near metro

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern and well maintained facilities. Lovely double room with bathroom. Cheap refreshments to buy. Good local places to eat and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing; if we were to be picky it had weak wifi in outside bedrooms and a little way from centre, however it did not take long by metro.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Junker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice common areas. Decent wifi. Very comfortable beds. Large lockers. Fun!

Disliked: Food was not that great. Hard to find the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola King

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Great homely atmosphere and very clean!!

Disliked: Nothing - rooms are small but that is standard

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: todo. este hostal esta genial, parece un hotelito muy familiar, super moderno y myu muy limpio. la habitacion con baño estupenda. si vuelvo a Shanghai me volvere alojar aqui.

Disliked: la cocina la cierran muy opronto. a las 9 ya no hacen cenas. pero el resto muy bien

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice localization close to the metro station, local food market, groceries. The hostel is new and comfortable. Great beds, toilets and showers. Really nice patio however it there could be more light. Really cheap but I heard it's just a promotion for a business start. They have a fridge for public use.

Disliked: One of our beds was still occupied when we arrived at 4PM even if the checkout time is 1PM. It turned out that one of the staff member lived in that room. We asked for cleaning all her They had to call her and we was waiting another hour to get this bed. Unfortunately she decided to put all her stuff into the locker which should be free for us as it was included in the price! After another complaint the locker got emptied but still there were several things left on the desk and under the bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: greatist place in shang hai garden, cozy home

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David, O'Brien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 David, would recommend this property

Liked: on the road for the last 7 weeks and its the best hostel i've stayed in by a stretch. very clean, showers and toilet facilities are excellant and the dorms were spacious enough and very secure in my opinion. very nice relaxed bar/ common area and the cost of the drinks are by far the cheapest you'll pay in shanghai! staff were very friendly and helpful, even helped me get my hair cut!! top marks all round

Disliked: not much! the area where the free pc's are can get very warm when you are using the pc's but that is a real nit-pick really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever!

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

phoebe webster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, modern, wifi worked well, good place to meet people

Disliked: it was a little bit hard to find at first