HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 84%

Location 78%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.30USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 84%

Location 78%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 88%

Showing 21-30 of 34 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quite fancy atmosphere, clean room and shower(I used twin room), helpful staffs. I didn't make a reservation as I arrived Shanghai earlier than plan A, but they called every booked guests and looked for cancelled room. My friend and I really appreciated that effort. Whenever I need help, they kindly responded.

Disliked: INFORMATION was bad even if the staffs are friendly. I had a flight in the morning from Pudong Airport, and the staff noticed me there is an express airport bus from 5:30 near the hostel (express bus 3). However, I found out that it has abolished since 1st of July. (There was a notice at the bus stop) I had to expense so much taxi fee and barely got my plane. You should have known and been sensitive about this kind of information I guess!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It has a nice common area and it is very modern throughout. They have laundry machines but they also have a place for you to hang your clothes outside. The restaurant has good food.

Disliked: It's a little further out from everything that's happening. But the location is safe. The room I was put in had mold all over the wall. They said it's from the rain. I asked to move and eventually they allowed me to move without charging me the extra money for the only room that they had left which was a nicer room. The rest of the place was very clean except for the mold on this wall.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, it took me forever to find the place but the guy on reception patiently guided me there.Also they helped with train bookings. Beds are comfortable enough. Food is passable, but not great. Good value for money for Shanghai but would be too expensive elsewhere.

Disliked: Aircon in the room was weak and because it was a small room it got incredibly hot and humid, especially at night. Locker was broken and could have been opened easily. Not a great location, little interesting nearby and 20mins to the nearest useful metro station. And its a pain to find.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very nice hostel. I took a bed in a dorm. It was clean and quiet. The public area is very nice and confortable. Gives the opportunity to rest afret the noisy town.

Disliked: The dorm was a little too small. It were two bunk beds inside and when one person wanted to do something staing on the floor the rest had to leave the room or sit on his beds. But it was still ok.The lockers could be more robust. The lock in my locker could have been opened with one finger.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: - Soothing, beautiful atmosphere- Wooden tables in common area- Very hygienic and systematic - Quiet- Plenty of books

Disliked: - Staff seemed tired or grouchy all the time- Midnight staff did not seem to speak English- Staff insisted that it was easy to catch a taxi at 5am and so refused to call one for me. I was nearly late for my flight because of this.- No cold drinkable water available except bottled.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The common area is fantastic. Very relaxing place after the hustle and bustle of Shanghai.

Disliked: They could do with an area to hang washing or get another dryer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great beds, lovely cafe area to sit and use the internet with great coffees and fresh juices. Very helpful staff, always willing to answer queries.

Disliked: There was nothing I would change!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big private room, lovely communal area

Disliked: Mould on the walls in our room, there was no information displayed or brochures or tourist map for Shanghai.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Our double room was great, it felt like a hotel room. Big bed, nice bathroom and a small private terrace where you can sit outside. The communal area was great as well; breakfast and cheapish drinks available, nice garden and enough hang out space.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, wide, and good wifi!

Disliked: Rather difficult to get there.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability